• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Ah Nan” issued public apology for offensive remark

streetcry

John Cheng aka “Ah Nan” issued public apology for offensive remark while PAP minister and MP remain in “hiding”

An artiste of Jack Neo’s entertainment group John Cheng aka “Ah Nan” had issued a public apology today in the two Chinese evening tabloids Lianhe Wanbao and Shin Min Daily for the offensive remarks he made about women a few weeks ago.

In the aftermath of Jack Neo’s press conference, “Ah Nan” allegedly told the media that it is “normal” for “men to play around with women” to defend his boss Jack’s infidelity.

Jack Neo was embroiled in a series of sex scandals lately when his affair with a 22 year old model Wendy Chong was leaked to the press.

“Ah Nan”’s insensitive remarks were widely publicized in the media and sparked a massive outcry among Singapore women, many of whom condemned him for his remarks including feminist NGO AWARE.

In an interview with both Wanbao and Shin Min today, “Ah Nan” offered his apologies to the women who had been offended by his remarks and reiterated that his words have been “quoted out of context”.

“Ah Nan”’s behavior contrasts that of two PAP MPs – Foreign Minister George Yeo and Marine Parade GRC MP Lim Biow Chuan who have yet to apologize for their callous remarks made about the Jack Neo affair.

George Yeo wrote on his blog immediately after the scandal erupted to call on Singaporeans to “rally” around Jack Neo and his family. He praised Jack for “admitting his fault and accepting responsibility” for his actions and did not condemn his infidelity. In his interview with Shin Min Daily last week, Mr Lim insinuated that it is “unavoidable” for successful men like Jack Neo to have extramarital affairs: “Over the years, to me, Jack Neo is a good son, father and also a good husband. Since he is remorseful over this incident, he should be forgiven. Actually, a man who has good career development would find such scenarios unavoidable,” Mr Lim was quoted as saying.

Mr Lim subsequently posted on his Facebook and STOMP claiming that he had been “misquoted” by the media. He has not made any further comments on the matter or retract his initial statements.

On the other hand, George Yeo has flown off to Hong Kong for an official visit as if nothing has happened. His insensitive remarks caused a furore among netizens with many female bloggers lampooning him for it.

One irate mother wrote on her blog:

“George Yeo should lose his tongue instead. How can a Minister schooled in foreign diplomacy be quite so undiplomatic in this matter?”

Both Mr Yeo and Mr Lim should take a leaf out of “Ah Nan”’s example – be a man, admit to what you have said and apologize instead of running away when confronted or hide in one corner and act blur like sissies.

Ah Nan, i say that you are sinkie means you are a sinkie. Why make apology when what you say is true.. Knn... If you dun apologise, i might still respect you even you are a sinkie but now all that is thrown away.

Good NAN to you!! If what you say is the truth, then be strong about it. Dun be balless.

do wrong why don't apologise:confused:

same like owe $ must pay back lah. like that not right meh:confused:

PAP MP Lim Biow Chuan’s clarification to irate female netizen about his “misquoted” comments on the Jack Neo sex scandal

Background:

Below is reply from PAP MP Lim Biow Chuan to a female netizen Jessica Tan who posted on his Facebook questioning his remarks made in Shin Min Daily last week on the Jack Neo scandal.

MP Lim was quoted as saying:

“Over the years, to me, Jack Neo is a good son, father and also a good husband. Since he is remorseful over this incident, he should be forgiven. Actually, a man who has good career development would find such scenarios unavoidable,”

His comments sparked a massive outcry in cyberspace, prompting him to post a clarification on his Facebook and STOMP a day later that he had been “misquoted” by the journalist

————————————————————————————————

Subject: MP Lim BC’s reply on JN’s affair

Lim Bc March 16 at 12:07am

Thanks Jessica for writing to me. Please allow me to clarify. My remarks were misquoted by the reporter from Shin Min.

For your information, the interview was done by the reporter in Mandarin and I replied part in Mandarin and part in English (as my Mandarin was not very good).

It started with the reporter asking whether I think Jack Neo ought to be forgiven. My reply was that it was not my business but if he had apologised to the wife and his wife had forgiven him, the rest of us should also forgive. The
intention was to be pro-family and promote reconciliation and forgiveness.

The reporter next asked me what was my impression of Jack Neo. My reply was that I don’t know him personally but I have heard that he was a good father, a filial son and a good husband.

The reporter did not quote the full remarks that I made during the interview. In all likelihood, the reporter did not get the essence of what I said or misunderstood my Mandarin. Her question to me in Mandarin was whether I thought that a man with such good career development would find such a scenario unavoidable.

I repeated her question in Mandarin; and replied in part Mandarin and English that if a person who had attain such a good career with such status and influence had succumbed to temptation, it is so sad and pitiful (hanyu pinyin is ‘kexi’).

I have spoken to her to clarify since and Shin Min had also carried another report with my full remarks stated on 9 March 2010.

I do not agree with the behaviour of Mr Jack Neo and am of the view that it is clearly wrong. However, as a Christian leader and an MP, I do not feel that we should simply condemn the man for his misconduct.

If he has acknowledged that he had erred in his ways and is prepared to change, we should do what we can to promote healing and reconciliation amongst all the parties involved. For the family to break up because of the affair, it would hurt his wife and children as much as it would hurt Mr Jack Neo.

At the time when I made the 1st comment, I did not know that the circumstances would become so complicating as the report only said that Jack Neo had an affair with his colleague and that his wife had forgiven him.

Lim Biow Chuan

[Source: Lim Biow Chuan's Facebook]

Ah Nan is the man. He simply said sorry & admitted that he was wrong! The other tried to explain and explain. It really made things seem worse.:D
So complicating & long-winded. :rolleyes:

tiger woods tulan ah jack and ah nan hog the limelight.

he just announced his comeback.:p

It's fantastic when pappy mps have to explain at length about things.
Most of the time, they are just making motherhood statements.

Ever wonder why well paid minion yeo and lackey lim defended disgraced Jack Arse?

Both minion yeo and lackey lim immediately know if Jack Arse is further disgraced, the idiot who recommended him for some silly wayang PBM award will find it difficult to collect his fat cat pay cheque. Minion Yeo and lackey Lim will surely help their own kind.

Jack Arse is indeed an arse, tiger and clinton faced e venomous press by themselves but Jack Arse enlist an entourage of pastors, supporters and his wife to cover his arse!