• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A S'porean's guide to shopping in KL

metalslug

http://www.asiaone.com/Travel/Tips/Story/A1Story20090408-134185.html

Thu, Apr 09, 2009
AsiaOne

20090409.003305_20090408-a1-klshop-a.jpg

A S'porean's guide to shopping in KL (Part 1)

by Daisy Chiu, Contributor

Taking into account the favourable currency exchange rate, cost-savvy Singaporeans will head to Malaysia to shop.

The economic crisis will not dampen shoppers' mood as Malaysian retailers have the right merchandise mix and pricing. The range and quality of goods in the malls is fantastic and with new, refurbished and extended shopping malls, there's more on offer.

Kuala Lumpur (KL) City Centre has the greatest shopping choices whilst in the suburbs, malls like One Utama, Mid Valley Mega Mall, The Gardens, Sunway Pyramid and The Curve are equally packed, especially on weekends.

Most of these malls are a pleasure to wander around in, with adequate parking lots and above all, bargains galore. Some of the suburban malls also have adjoining hotels which make them one-stop "stay and shop" destinations.

This is my guide to the malls in the Klang Valley. A Singaporean's perspective.

One Utama

20090409.003305_20090408-a1-klshop-b.jpg

Size
6 retail floors spreading over 2 million sq. ft.

Shopping experience
Anchor tenants are Jusco, Parkson and Cold Storage. There is basically something for everyone in this mall, from midrange-priced shops in the old wing to avant garde attractions on the new wing, abundant entertainment options, and a wide selection of F&B outlets. If you are a DIY person, a visit to the AEONS Centre is a must.

Directional signs
The interactive directory is user-friendly, clear and precise. However, if you are staying at the One World Hotel, the interactive menu has no directions to the hotel. Likewise, there are no directional signages to the hotel from the new wing.

Comfort and ambience
The shops are neatly laid out on both sides, hence navigating around the mall is a breeze. The mall is extremely crowded on weekends - there is always something happening at the Centre Court, where all the events and launches are. On weekdays, it is pretty pleasant to walk around.

Advice
Put on a good pair of walking shoes. If you see something you like in a particular shop, grab it before you regret as you may not be able to find your way back to the shop or rather you have to walk miles back to the shop.

Do not try waiting for a taxi along the roadside, get to the designated taxi stand located outside the old wing and at the main entrance to the new wing. Always ensure that is someone manning the taxi booth otherwise no taxis will come.

Carparks
With close to 10,000 carpark bays, shoppers can opt to park at the multi-storey car park, open-air car park or at the office towers and One World Hotel which are linked to the mall.

However, the parking charges at the office tower and One World Hotel are higher than the multi-storey car park and open air car park. The only setback getting to the mall is that the ingress and egress roads are poorly maintained and perpetually jammed. The traffic is horrendous during peak hours.

Toilets
Being in a 5-star shopping mall, the toilets are pretty run down in the old wing. However, the toilets in the new wing are much cleaner and better kept. For mothers with infants, please note that there is no nursery room in the mall.

Overall Rating
4/5

KLCC

20090409.003305_20090408-a1-klshop-d.jpg

Size
6 levels of retail outlets

Shopping experience
This mall houses mainly international designer brands including some midrange-priced shops.nThe anchor tenants are Isetan, Parkson Grand and Kinokuniya. Parkson Grand has a higher quality range of products as compared to other Parkson outlets.

If you are into designer brands, this mall is a "must go". You can get good bargains at Coach, Burberrys, Bally and others when they have sales. Besides fashion, one can find a good range of Japanese groceries from the Isetan supermarket.

Food-wise, Madam Kwan's (nonya food) is a must try place for Singaporeans. Apart from shopping and food, Petrosains Discovery Centre (similar to the Science Centre in Singapore) is a good educational place for kids to spend their time.

If you have time, hop over to the Aquaria, equivalent to the underwater world in Sentosa, but on a much attractive scale. So make this place a day's out for everybody.

Directional signs
The directory on each level is pretty good. However, there are no directional signs to the LRT station even when you are on the lower ground level until you get near to the exit to the station.

Comfort and ambience
The two food courts are perpetually crowded, at all times of the day. The shops are neatly categorised and hence it is easy to navigate through the mall.

Advice
Remember to bring your credit cards if you are an avid designer brand shopper.

Carparks
There are few entries and exits to the car parking. So remember where you park. The lifts at the car parks to the shopping mall are extremely slow due to heavy traffic. Take the escalators, they are much faster.

Toilets
Only the toilet on the ground level charges an entry fee of RM2, whereby you can pamper yourself to a clean and dry environment and some Marks & Spencer products. The other toilets on the upper levels are free but not particularly clean. There is a nursery room (baby change room) on the concourse level but it's nothing to shout about.

Overall Rating
4/5

The Curve, Ikea, Ikano Power Centre & Cineleisure

20090409.003305_20090408-a1-klshop-c.jpg

Size
This is a montage of 4 centres, The Curve, Ikea, Ikano Power Centre and Cineleisure.

Shopping experience
Prides itself as Malaysia's first open air style shopping mall. Be spoilt for choice with close to 180 retail outlets. Anchored by retailers like IKEA, Tesco hypermarket and Cineleisure.

All these are connected to The Curve by all weather walkways. Enjoy shopping from a plethora of renowned outlets including Metrojaya, MNG, Padini Concept Store, Borders and others.

I like the big open space in The Curve for the children to run about. The Curve's unique attraction lies in its amazing array of over 50 food and beverage outlets.

Comfort and ambience
Enjoy the alfresco style and outdoor dining. Because of its large open space, the design is such that the shops are everywhere, some are hidden in corners and it takes a bit of effort in navigating around.

Advice
Beware of pickpockets. Due to its many exits, you may have a problem with people with sticky fingers but be warned, not all are men.

Toilets
Toilets are clean but sometimes carry a stench due to the heavy usage. The nursery rooms are located in the Ikano Power centre.

Carparks
Car parking is always a breeze at The Curve. The only problem you have is on weekends, especially at Ikano and Tesco.

Overall Rating
3/5

Daisy Chiu is a Director of Corporate Real Estate at Hall Chadwick Asia Sdn Bhd. She is a Singaporean, living in Kuala Lumpur and is a self-professed mall rat.

*The ratings and reviews above are strictly the views of the author and not endorsed by AsiaOne Travel.

» WATCH OUT for part two of "A S'porean's guide to shopping in KL" tomorrow (April 10, Friday)!

Like to share your travel tales and tips of a place you have been to recently? Write in to [email protected], and send us your holiday snapshots, too!

KL for shopping
what a rubbish idea.

Tokyo, NYC and London, these are shopping place i go.

If you are still alive if you can get there safely, NO go.

these places r 4 $$$$ ppl, maybe sungei rd is a better option

where got such things. anybody who work and have relative average salary, can plan shopping trip to such cities. i am sure more than 3/4 of the forummers here can afford shopping trips to Tokyo,NYC and London, maybe they are not interested or have PRC mistress to support, that is another matter.

a fresh grad like on newspaper 3.5k per month, if you save 1k per month, 1 year + bonus, you can save 11k sing dollar, not enough to go to NYC for shopping meh???

You must also factor in the the travel time of 12 hours to get to NY & 12 hours to return. Going to BKK or KL is faster & cheaper. :rolleyes:

please dun compare apple to orange.

i have been to BKK and NYC before, and please dun compare shopping experience with NYC with bangkok.

surely quality is more important than price.

life is short, save all the money for fxxk, look at some of the old fxxk in singapore who save money in fixed deposit, in the end the banker con them in some bond which cause them to lose everything.

they could have gone to shopping in NYC, london and Tokyo.
they would enjoy it, nice memories.

now, kena con by not nigerian, but singapore bankers. save for what?
saving is must but dun overdo it.

Just want to mention one nice department store in NYC, MACY. much improvement, i been there 10 yrs ago and this year, new management new investment, very good now.

... Taking into account the favourable currency exchange rate, cost-savvy Singaporeans will head to Malaysia to shop. ...
ah daisy ...

u muz b joking! ...

sg is no 1 shopping paradise 4 tourist ... go kl 4 wat? ...

please dun compare apple to orange.

i have been to BKK and NYC before, and please dun compare shopping experience with NYC with bangkok.

surely quality is more important than price.

I mail order stuff from the US :smile:

Actually the best deals are found in the factory outlet stores usually located miles from the big cities. These places have the big name brand with everyday low prices. You can find these factory outles in Texas, California, Nevada, etc

Remember getting Timberland, Guess, etc for the cheap :smile:

metalslug

http://www.asiaone.com/Travel/Tips/Story/A1Story20090410-134556.html

Fri, Apr 10, 2009
AsiaOne

20090410.165653_20090410-a1-shopguide-a.jpg

A S'porean's guide to shopping in KL (Part 2)

In part two, contributor Daisy Chiu shares tips and reviews regarding three malls, and tells you which are her favourites.

» Missed part one? Read it here.

Mid Valley Megamall

Size
5 floors of retail space including the lower ground floor, which is linked to The Gardens.

Shopping experience
Anchored by Jusco, Metrojaya and Carrefour together with 430 retail shops, this is one leisure experience you won’t want to miss. The megamall is the place to shop for the latest from international brands like Jeep, Guess, Topshop, Zara, and local names like Salabianca and Risis. Not forgetting my favourite - Crocs.

This mall has an activity for everyone, including an 18‐screen cinema, bowling alley and gym. If your legs are tired from walking around, there are good foot reflexology centres around and a must-try is the Kenko reflexology & fish spa. I have to say - the services here are cheaper than what you can get in Singapore.

The Nose and Vinci shop are favourite haunts for Singaporeans for their latest designs at reasonable prices. Moreover, the Megamall offers wide varieties of gourmet food that will surely suit every taste bud.

Directional signs
One of the best. Signs are upgraded frequently to match new offerings at the mall.

Comfort and ambience
It is always crowded as there are offices, residences and two hotels attached to it. Walking shoes are a must. A favourite mall among Singaporeans as you can practically find everything under one roof. But parts of the mall don’t seem to have adequate air conditioning.

Advice
Being a closed mall and always crowded, don’t leave your handbag or phone on the table. Keep them close to you, as there may be snatch thieves or pickpockets about.

Carparks
The carparks are perpetually full. The mall is always crowded. There are ample lots but you just have to be patient and wait, or drive all the way up. An irritating part is that there are barricades everywhere, so from one section, you cannot go across to the other section.

A better bet is to go in the early mornings before 11.30am and can avoid the traffic at the entry and exit roads as well.

Toilets
The toilets are not particularly clean due to the heavy usage. The nursery room is located inside Jusco itself but not particularly pleasant to be in. It is no way comparable to Singapore’s Takashimaya or Centrepoint. Hot water is provided in thermos flasks.

Overall Rating
3.5/5

The Gardens

20090410.165653_20090410-a1-shopguide-b.jpg

Size
This is an up-market addition to Mid Valley Megamall, with six levels of retail, and 9.7 acres of development within the mid valley city. There are 2 linked walkways (on the lower ground and 1st level) connecting the Megamall and The Gardens.

Shopping Experience
This is an avant garde style shopping gallery, offering middle- to high-end branded products. Anchor tenants are Robinsons, Isetan and Cold Storage supermarket together with 200 other branded boutiques and restaurants.

Tired with shopping? You can either relax in Cocoon on the 4th level, a secluded and dedicated area which comes complete with spas, wellness centres, hair and nail salons or catch the latest movie releases in the most premier seats and services in the Golden Screen Cineplex.

There are many nice eateries around. Even the Food Garden (food court) is a very comfortable place to have a nice and reasonably priced meal. The place is clean and not as crowded as the food courts in Megamall.

Directional signs
The interactive directory is very user-friendly, and on a large touch screen. The signs to lifts, car parks and toilets are clear. It is easy to navigate around the mall as the shops are neatly laid out and while standing on the aisles you can locate your directions easily. The IT shops are all conveniently located on the top level.

Comfort and ambience
It is comfortable to walk around the mall as it is less crowded compared to Mid Valley Megamall. One can feel the difference immediately, especially so when both malls are side by side. The Gardens features nice seats and sofas on every level, to rest your weary feet. The concierge service is also very professional.

Advice
Be it rainy or sunny days, please bring along a jacket as the air conditioning is extremely cold. You can get ‘frozen’ in here. The restaurants are crowded on weekends with queues.

Carparks
First challenge is to navigate through the heavy throng of cars to find the entrance to The Gardens car park, somewhere in the back lane. It is easier to get a lot in The Gardens car park as compared to Mid Valley Megamall. There is also Premier parking whereby you are assured of getting a lot but the charges are significantly more expensive. The rates, however, are still affordable and cheap by Singaporean standards.

Toilets
For a price of RM5, enjoy and relax in a ‘6-star’ toilet, which is located on the ground floor. Otherwise go up to the first level and the toilets are free. The toilets here are in much better condition than those in the Mid Valley Mall. The nursery rooms are on the 2nd level but still no way comparable in standard to those in Singapore’s up-market malls.

Overall Rating
3.5/5

Sunway Pyramid

20090410.165653_20090410-a1-shopguide-c.jpg

Size
1.7 million sq ft of retail space.

Shopping Experience
The mall is seamlessly connected at all 4 floors by a loop corridor, with shops on both sides, offering a 360 degree splendour to shoppers, with no dead ends and blind spots.

Be spoilt for choice as you have Jusco and Parksons as the anchor stores as well as brand names like Marks & Spencer, MNG, Naf Naf, Miss Selfridge, Aldo, Forever 21, Calvin Klein, Raoul, Timberland, just to name some.

Check out the Marrakesh zone, with quaint alleyways and unique interiors inspired by the exotic bazaars and ‘souks’ of Morroco where you can get some knick knacks, antique pipes, leather goods, etc.

The kidz zone is also a one-stop convenient zone with specialty stores for expecting mothers and babies. The 21,000 sq ft one-stop IT centre with over 50 retailers is a must visit for IT savvy individuals.

Select from a wide variety of international and local cuisines after a long day’s walk. For entertainment and fun, the mall houses a 48-lane bowling alley, indoor ice‐skating rink as well as a 12-screen Cineplex. There is definitely something for everyone.

Directional signs
There are not enough mall directories around, hence navigating around the mall is bit tough. The concierge is located all the way at the far end in the blue zone, so do not try looking for an information counter. There are no signs indicating the directions to the hotel and convention centre till you are near them.

Comfort and ambience
With more than 700 specialty shops and benches along the corridor to rest your tired feet, it offers shoppers comfort and convenience. Pleasant to walk around as the shops are neatly laid out and the tenant mix is good.

Advice
Most of the F&B outlets are located in the red zone, so plan your route well. Put on a good pair of walking shoes. The mall is extremely crowded on weekends, so please be early if you do not want to be caught in a human jam.

Toilets
The toilets are clean, neat and modern. Parents, nurse your infants in the nursery rooms located on G (red zone), LG1 & LG2 (orange zone). Here, they are well equipped with baby wash, baby lotion, hand soap, hot water dispenser and diaper changing pen. There are also children friendly toilets on every floor throughout the mall. This is a great shopping mall suitable for all ages.

Carparks
The car parks are brightly lit but have no signage to indicate where the lift lobbies are. I was lost in the car park as the exit or Keluar signs lead to nowhere. The ingress and egress roads leading to the mall are poorly designed and jammed.

Overall Rating
4/5

Conclusion

Besides the sales, the nice thing about shopping in KL is that you can enjoy some retail brands and eateries that cannot be found in Singapore. My personal favourites are One Utama (cheap parking and you can spend up to 6 hours at RM1 per entry walking about without having to worry about increasing parking charges), KLCC and Sunway Pyramid.

One piece of advice is to take care of your handbags and belongings. Beware of snatch thieves on the street and pickpockets in the malls. This advice is similarly applicable for Jakarta, Bangkok and Manila.

Daisy Chiu is a Director of Corporate Real Estate at Hall Chadwick Asia Sdn Bhd. She is a Singaporean, living in Kuala Lumpur and is a self-professed mall rat.

*The ratings and reviews above are strictly the views of the author and not endorsed by AsiaOne Travel.

Like to share your travel tales and tips of a place you have been to recently? Write in to [email protected], and send us your holiday snapshots, too!

Flawed review, if I was a Sporean I wouldn't be driving in KL because a Sporean car is too expensive to risk on Malaysian roads :smile:

Mid Valley Mall is a good place to go if you are a Sporean without a car because it is accessible by the LRT, only 2 stops from Sentral.

The Mid Valley Mall is also within walking distance from The Garden, connected by an underground passageway full of shops. Mid Valley has a very, very large MPH.