• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A Singapore without Singaporeans

Saturday, April 09, 2005
A Singapore without Singaporeans

A Singapore without Singaporeans, A Nation without Nationhood. That's where we are heading to.

There are people who commented that Singapore is just a "Merchant City and a Hotel" to them. They are in their twenties but they are already planning their exits, migrating to somewhere more comfortable to live in.

They are not entirely "wrong" to think this way. Look at it this way, when you
start to see those in the forties, losing jobs and not able to get employed with a decent wage, would you worry for yourself? Worst of all, the govt is seeking to raise the retirement age when it is obvious that those in their forties find it hard to get a job!

It is apparent that for those who have been caught by the "Asset Enhancement Scheme", they will not have enough money for retirement! And all PAP thinks about is whether this group of people would burden their coffers! That's how medisave come about.

Those in their forties and planning for retirement will have no choice but to
cash out and retire somewhere. They must face the reality that they have come to the end of their productive life and the state is not going to take care of them. For all the myths they have believed so dearly, democratic socialism or asset enhancement, they have been disillusioned and there isn't going to be enough money for them to retire in Singapore. There will be no farewell party for them when they leave. It would be "good" if they no longer pose a "financial burden" to the govt anymore!

For the twenties they saw what happen to the forties. They will also plan their exit and realize that they would only be "useful" when they are at their peak of productive life cycle. It is no wonder the PAP is beginning to woo at them nowadays. But there are still many migrated out. So the FT policy is in place to fill up the holes left behind. But these FTs may just remain forever Foreign.

When a nation is filled with people, both young and middle aged, thinking about migrating out of the country all the time, there isn't an existence of a Nation in essence anymore. Singapore is just a temporary refuge to their being. And there is no doubt what will happen to these people if there is to be an eminent threat to Singapore as Nation.

Nationhood has not been firmly forged for the past 39 years of nation building. Those national day parades that we have had for the past have lost its appeals when the reality of PAP govt policies set in.

Goh Meng Seng

http://singaporealternatives.blogspot.com/2005/04/singapore-without-singaporeans.html

In short, PAP has failed Singaporeans after 50 years of rule. The leadership has gone from bad to worse.

50 years of HDB - homeless rate are still rising and affordability is in question.
50 years of CPF - we still have to work until 85 years old
50 years of MOE - we still do not have talent and have to rely on cheap import

50 years of PAP - Singapore is still not yet a nation
50 years of PAP - Singapore is still not yet a country
50 years of PAP - Singapore pledge is still a dream and aspiration
50 years of PAP - LKY & family still hold on to power
50 years of PAP - Leadership renewal is a fake
50 years of PAP - The rich becomes richer, the poor becomes poorer
50 years of PAP - more Singaporean emigrate, lower birth rate
50 years of PAP - People action party becomes PEOPLE ARROGANT PARTY
50 years of PAP - It becomes the people versus the PAP.
50 years of PAP - PAP called Singaporan a lesser mortal
50 years of PAP - PAP children called Singaporean a pot crack, economy refugee
50 years of PAP - They lose billions of our hard earned, and still get paid millions
50 years of PAP - from compassion to arrogance.
50 years of PAP - Singapaoreans feedback was branded as champion grumbler

50 years of PAP is leading Singapore to doom!

Who is responsible for "50 years of PAP":eek:

You, your parents, your relatives, your friends, your colleagues, your schoolmates... that's who. :rolleyes:

This is what happens when you have an 80+ old fossil in charge.

Many of my relatives, friends,.... have left Spore for good. Many never even had a chance to vote :rolleyes:

This is what happens when you have an 80+ old fossil in charge.
Many of my relatives, friends,.... have left Spore for good. Many never even had a chance to vote :rolleyes:

Tell that to the sinkies. They are the ones who let that happens.

Actually I feel that even right up to 1985, we Singaporeans never had it so good.

Then the dreaded word 'Recession' entered our Local Vocabulary.

People who bought HDB flats when they were REAL cheap are true beneficiaries of Asset Appreciation.

Subsequent changes to CPF/HDB rules & artifical 'Asset Inflation', artificial bubble etc, real estate gains are illusory.

And from 1997 Asian Financial Crisis onwards, the innate sorry nature of our economy floundered under one crisis/recession after another non stop...
dot-com bust, 9-11, SARS, subprime, H1N1 ....

Looking back, before 1985, Singapore is like heaven then...

Singapore will go the way of Venice

Spore is in worst shape lah

True that there are similarities. Venice is literally sinking, Spore is sinking in foreigners

However, in Venice although the natives can't afford the cost they can retreated to the hinterland. In Spore where can you go, JB?, Batam?.

Main difference is that Venice is facing a natural problem whereas Spore its a PAP created problem :rolleyes:

They will simply give certain foreigners citizenship and there will be a new influx of "singaporeans".
They will also remind you that your father, grandfather or great grandfather were also migrants from other countries.

the garmen is telling the ppl "who cares about u all. I'm going to suck u dry."

Brother Scroobal,

Just a couple of days ago, I was told that this article was quoted by some foreign researchers writing papers on National Identity development. Strange enough, I saw you posting this article again here today.

Although the article was written about 6 years ago, but the essence of it is getting much stronger within me. It was written before all surveys or studies on what the younger generations think about migration. It was written in the midst of a rapid growth of FT intake into our society... before general sentiments come to a peak of their tolerance level.

It still hurts me today to see so many people leaving this place or people who express disappointment/disillusion with Singapore as a Nation. Especially so when young people are expressing openly that they will plan for their eventual migration and matured people telling good stories of living abroad.

It is going to be a very challenging years ahead for a tiny city state like Singapore to cope with the reality of globalization. More and more people are either working overseas or traveling very frequently for their work. These people have slowly realized that it is not a bad idea to live abroad after all.

Singapore will fade in their memories save and except the reminder of the passports they hold. I have been traveling very frequently and I have found that the feeling of "it's so good to be back home" is getting weaker each time I touch down at Changi Airport.

I could not find any roots of heritage here in Singapore anymore. My primary school has been shut down, secondary school has changed beyond recognition. JC still there but getting very alien to me. University... beyond my recognition as well...My childhood playgrounds at Toa Payoh has either changed or disappeared...

To make it worse, this place has been stuffed with people who does not look nor talk like me.. as a Singaporean. They don't even speak Singlish!

Well maybe we should all "upgrade" ourselves into "international citizenship". Roam the world and find our resting place as and when we need one.

Goh Meng Seng

I lifted this article and intentionally had the date in bold. Firstly that this article is many years old and secondly and more importantly that the situation has not improved and has indeed gotten worse. It has nothing to do with urban renewal, progress or even rejuvenation. The quality of life is deteriorating, the young are finding it difficult to set up home and the middle aged are worried about their job, that is those who haven't lost it yet. I am told that many Singaporean males are shy to report that they are jobless and rely on their wives to hold on to their families. Many are holding jobs well below their qualifications and these are not even captured in the stats. What a feeling when these chaps see gainfully foreigners setting up home here.

What a sad country.

Although the article was written about 6 years ago, but the essence of it is getting much stronger within me. It was written before all surveys or studies on what the younger generations think about migration. It was written in the midst of a rapid growth of FT intake into our society... before general sentiments come to a peak of their tolerance level.

Allow me to question your thread 'title'.

is it Leeapore without Singaporean? if thats the case i think theres no mistake in the 'title'.

its only right that the people of Leeapore be known as Leeaporeans [NOT singaporeans]

Now that's an excellent question! Where are the smarty pants, chest thumping. vote the PAP out 75% majority? Any decent, honest Chink out there? Hello? Mentismortis - fucking sure you are reading this:

"We have a practical people whose culture tells them that contention for the sake of contention leads to disaster. I have said this on many a previous occasion; that had the mix in Singapore been different, had it been 75% Indians, 15% Malays and the rest Chinese, it would not have worked. Because they believe in the politics of contention, of opposition. But because the culture was such that the populace sought a practical way out of their difficulties, therefore it has worked." Lee Kuan Yew in Parliament, 1985.

Now that's an excellent question! Where are the smarty pants, chest thumping. vote the PAP out 75% majority? Any decent, honest Chink out there? Hello? Mentismortis - fucking sure you are reading this:

"We have a practical people whose culture tells them that contention for the sake of contention leads to disaster. I have said this on many a previous occasion; that had the mix in Singapore been different, had it been 75% Indians, 15% Malays and the rest Chinese, it would not have worked. Because they believe in the politics of contention, of opposition. But because the culture was such that the populace sought a practical way out of their difficulties, therefore it has worked." Lee Kuan Yew in Parliament, 1985.

Sir yellow, why are you picking on Mentimortis?

We ARE THE ONE WHO MAKE THEM..........WAKE UP...........