• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat 84 Year-Old Sinkie Ah Ma Uplorry From Covid! Only 12 Dead In Singapore So Far! Majulah PAP!

Seriously if the day comes my uncle will go hawker centers restoran 7-11 etc to inspect and pickup the cleanest food for consumption KNN fyi 7-11 has this practice to dump their sealed frozen food on the last date of expiry meaning is not expired but left a day for expiry so it is very safe to consume gai KNN
Better yr uncle n u soylent Green. Bcos of dumbfucks like yr kind the whole cuntry is on lock down bcos of the flu. Anyone advocating a lockdown is a retard or benefitting from the lock down at others expense. U cant see it. U are a bigger retard than I thought

11 years ago while I am working in a MNC, 2 of my colleagues were found to get cancer. One of them is an operations manager (male) another is a senior accounts assistant (old female). Both of them worked very long hours for money. There was one medical reviews for all employee to renew the corporate insurance found out that these 2 are diagnosed cancer.

They were surprised :eek:

Our old senior accounts assistant cried :cry: telling us that next time when people said that you are not hardworking, you need not go all out to prove them wrong and never work too hard for a salary. Very sad instead :frown: her boss still managed keep her for another 1 years before removing her.

The operations manager was very unlucky to have a heartless senior management :devilish: they paid him a 6 months compensation and asked him to leave immediately :frown:

Yes, No money = starvation only apply to low income people or poor people that don't know how to manage their money.

We are people of certain age and had been working for years liao we should be very streetwise in money management :thumbsup:

Health and well-being > money :unsure:

My message to all silly people out there is "Never slog too hard for money" because you are very likely to regret one day :thumbsdown:
I will regret even more when I slog hard n no money. If I have cancer n given 6 months compensation. I will go get my bucket list fulfilled. Settle all my matters b4 I move on. I rather go on my own choosing than grow old be invalid b depending on others to wipe my shit n living without dignity. Got cancer I will opt for no treatment except to manage pain n not extended life. There is no cure for cancer. Better to move on. If a person diagnosed with cancer n no medical intervention. 6 months left is around the ball park. Those with cancer and go for treatment..most end up with a cure worse than the disease.

11 years ago while I am working in a MNC, 2 of my colleagues were found to get cancer. One of them is an operations manager (male) another is a senior accounts assistant (old female). Both of them worked very long hours for money. There was one medical reviews for all employee to renew the corporate insurance found out that these 2 are diagnosed cancer.

They were surprised :eek:

Our old senior accounts assistant cried :cry: telling us that next time when people said that you are not hardworking, you need not go all out to prove them wrong and never work too hard for a salary. Very sad instead :frown: her boss still managed keep her for another 1 years before removing her.

The operations manager was very unlucky to have a heartless senior management :devilish: they paid him a 6 months compensation and asked him to leave immediately :frown:

Yes, No money = starvation only apply to low income people or poor people that don't know how to manage their money.

We are people of certain age and had been working for years liao we should be very streetwise in money management :thumbsup:

Health and well-being > money :unsure:

My message to all silly people out there is "Never slog too hard for money" because you are very likely to regret one day :thumbsdown:
KNN this one have to give you many likes KNN problem is many existing healthy people thought that they won't be the one :cautious: KNN usually companies won't be so heartless to ask someone that just been diagnosed to fo immediately KNN they would monitor the situation first KNN rast time 1 of my uncle's team mates at 34 got it and during first few mths of monitoring he didn't make it so the company doesn't rook bad KNN

That fellow is about 37 last time too bad back then we all worked for the wrong people :devilish:

But nevertheless we grew up wiser :sneaky:

tkytxPg.png

Judy Sim is proven right again! Diaperhead president should give her a PBM. :cool:

Do u guys ever had meaningful conversation with these FWs before? Their quality of life maybe lower than Singaporeans now but if they work hard, don't gamble or drinks, find side jobs and regularly send money home. After 8-12 years, they have the chance to have better quality of life than most Singaporeans when they return home.
I knew a few who already here over a decade, all brought farmlands, are landlords, sent their children to school and rebuilt their home. One even brought wife and daughter to singapore during India school holidays for a.few weeks. He arranged lodging for them so that he can make up lost time with his wife. He even bring them to universal studios. I met his family too and I get to know him after he helped me with home improvement project. His success also attract his relatives here to follow his success. Another guy run a car washing syndicate at hdb car park on top of his regular job. He too a landowner who tenants farming his lands. His family is living in a landed property technically while most Singaporeans are living in a pigeonhole.
Yes I have had meaningful conversations with them. And you are right about those responsible ones who saved and are frugal. I befriended a few of them through the years, but kept in touch with two of them. They have gone back to Banglaland and are land owners, farming their own land. I have told them previously they are better off than most of us here because they get to buy and own land.

tkytxPg.png

Judy Sim is proven right again! Diaperhead president should give her a PBM. :cool:
Well said. If only more ppl have common sense. But she needs to practice wat she preach. When she old she need to volunteer to soylent Green. So as not to be a burden on herself, her family n to society as a whole

Also if due to lockdown you suffer business loss and wants to unlock then is not the correct human nature becas every business comes with a risk KNN else everyone also will want to do business and there won't be employees KNN also my uncle still bet horse and soccer to win some makan money but that is different moral and concept as the operators KNN
Tell tat to the ppl who lost their jobs
Retrenchments and withdrawn job offers: Singapore's labour market shows signs of COVID-19 strain
FILE PHOTO: An office worker wearing a protective face mask walks past closed restaurants at Boat Quay, during the first day of “circuit breaker” measures to curb the coronavirus outbreak (COVID-19), in the central business district, in Singapore, April 7, 2020. REUTERS/Edgar Su/File photoBookmark
SINGAPORE: It was painful but seemingly inevitable. In mid-March, Mr Tan was retrenched from his role as a manager at a business tourism company.
International travel has plunged since the onset of the COVID-19 pandemic at the start of 2020. Changi Airport passenger traffic fell by 98 per cent year-on-year in the last week of March.
Worldwide, the World Travel and Tourism Council predicted that 75 million tourism sector workers could lose their jobs, with close to two-thirds of them in the Asia-Pacific.
READ: Business travel sector to lose US$820 billion in revenue on coronavirus hit - Industry group
Mr Tan, who asked for his full name not to be used, was with the company for five-and-a-half years, taking home about S$5,000 a month.
His morale has taken a hit, the 55-year-old said, while pressure at home underscores the challenges he faces.
Besides two teenage sons to take care of, he has his 89-year-old mum’s kidney dialysis treatment to pay for, as well as two domestic helpers - one to take care of his 88-year-old dad, who has prostate cancer and dementia.
“No one knows when this virus will be gone,” Mr Tan said, adding that he now wonders how long it will take to find a suitable job with a decent salary with the current state of the industry.
Many others have lost their jobs due to the economic crisis caused by the global spread of COVID-19 and there may soon be many more.
READ: ‘Circuit breaker’ rules to incur more pain for Singapore economy, job market - Experts

According to the Ministry of Manpower (MOM), the number of retrenched workers has increased since January, based on the mandatory retrenchment notifications filed up until Mar 30.
The figure is expected to continue rising in the coming months, MOM added in its response to CNA's queries.
This comes even as the Government rolled out measures specifically designed to protect jobs, such as a wage subsidy of between 25 and 75 per cent, and foreign worker levy rebates.
On Tuesday (Apr 21), Deputy Prime Minister Heng Swee Keat said that the levy rebates and 75 per cent wage subsidy for firms in all sectors would be extended until the end of the "circuit breaker" period on Jun 1.
In an Apr 6 note, Maybank economists Chua Hak Bin and Lee Ju Ye predicted 150,000 to 200,000 job losses in Singapore this year, even with fiscal aid from the Government.
In comparison, there were 10,690 retrenchments in 2019, according to an MOM report published in March.
Half of the layoffs are expected to affect foreigners, as the Government’s stimulus is targeted at saving local jobs, they wrote, adding that the unemployment rate is expected to spike above 5 per cent - higher than 4.1 per cent during the 2008 global financial crisis and 4.5 per cent during the Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome outbreak.
Still, while economists are forecasting job losses, only 1 per cent of 232 companies in Mercer’s Pay & Bonus Survey said they were considering retrenchments, the company’s career products leader for Singapore and frontier markets Kulapalee Tobing said. The companies were surveyed in March.
However, another 8 per cent have either implemented or are considering a salary cut, which could be an indicator of retrenchments, she said. Also, 47 per cent of the organisations said they are reducing their recruitment budgets and 22 per cent are planning to freeze hiring.
“As the full economic impact becomes clearer, companies are likely to review and adjust strategies accordingly," said Ms Tobing.
FURLOUGHS AND WITHDRAWN JOB OFFERS
A layoff is one possible outcome of the economic fallout on the jobs market. But the pandemic has resulted in other employment issues cropping up, such as furloughs, salary reductions and rescinded job offers.
In March, Singapore Airlines said it would take several cost-cutting measures, including pay cuts for executives and no-pay leave, that would affect 10,000 employees. BreadTalk also announced cuts to middle and senior management’s pay, among them 137 staff members in Southeast Asia.
READ: SIA to implement COVID-19 cost-cutting measures, up to 7 days no-pay leave a month for pilots

Sng Xu Jie was supposed to start his new guest relations role at a consultancy on Apr 1, but about two days before, they told him they had to pull the offer.
Fortunately, the 26-year-old, who has been unemployed for two-and-a-half months, has some savings and family members to lean on, he said.
“I was disappointed (but) I also understand what they are facing,” Mr Sng said. “I lost my job, but their entire business has been disrupted.”
Labour experts have observed a growing trend of similar issues.
Lawyer Muntaz Zainuddin said that in February and March, she received a 50 per cent increase in employment enquiries, both from firms and workers. Most asked about settlement agreements, no-pay leave and salary cuts. Some were new hires whose companies stopped contacting them.
READ: COVID-19: Law firms see rise in queries on employee rights, employer obligations as economy slows
In such cases where a company “ghosts” the incoming employee, she said, “being uncertain itself is putting (the worker) in a lot of difficulty”.
“They aren’t sure whether they should pursue (the case) further and risk losing the job eventually or just keep quiet for one month,” the IRB Law partner said.
Avodah People Solutions' career coach Gerald Tan said he has heard about people being forced to go on unpaid leave or students who had gotten their internships or job offers rescinded.
He said he has not seen an uptick in formal consultations yet as companies are probably trying to hold on to their workers using the government subsidies. But he said: "I think we are just at the beginning and the employment landscape is going to change drastically.”
BRACING YOURSELF
Individuals who have job woes are encouraged to look beyond the monetary assistance available, said Mr Tan, who has been conducting COVID-19-related career webinars. Sign up for training courses or take on temporary jobs, he added.
READ: Firms must report cost-saving measures that affect employees’ salaries - MOM

As retrenchments rise, so could unfair dismissals, he pointed out.
One method of “disguised retrenchment” is by compelling workers to leave on their own accord - either by asking them to resign or transferring them to another department with a significant wage cut. This way, the company can save on severance packages.
Before there is a chance of getting axed unfairly, read through the employment act and talk to a lawyer about your rights, said Ms Muntaz.
And if you think you have been dealt a bad hand, keep in mind that there is a deadline of one month to file a wrongful dismissal claim if you wish to pursue this with the tripartite alliance.
Anyone is at risk of an unlawful termination, she added. “You should always be prepared to protect your own rice bowl.”

Better to be dead than to end up in age care and living in indignity. Cant take care of themselves and having others clean their shit,,,better off dead,.,,

Aged care operators defend coronavirus lockdown as Premier, Prime Minister urge facilities to relax visit bans
By Claire Moodie
Updated 32 minutes ago

Older woman sitting in wheelchair holds up sign addressed to her daughter, saying she is missing herPHOTO: Yuk Yin Chew holds up a message to her family from Concorde Aged Care, which has been in lockdown since mid-March. (Supplied: Hall & Prior)
RELATED STORY: 'Don't lock residents away': Calls for aged care facilities to change visitor rules
RELATED STORY: Aged care facilities sticking to restrictions, despite Prime Minister's advice
RELATED STORY: Coronavirus has infected 2,000 UK care homes but their deaths aren't included in the daily tally
A major aged care provider in Western Australia and New South Wales has defended the sector's lockdown of nursing homes in the face of criticism from the highest levels, saying operators had to move quickly to keep residents alive.

Key points:
  • Providers say they had little choice but to implement lockdowns
  • The PM and WA Premier have urged facilities to ease restrictions on visitors
  • Seniors' rights group Advocare says it is fielding many complaints

The sector has been under enormous pressure, with WA Premier Mark McGowan and Prime Minister Scott Morrison both criticising the moves to exclude all visitors as excessive.

Graeme Prior, whose company Hall & Prior runs 26 facilities across the two states, said COVID-19 had been extremely stressful for the industry and locking down facilities a month ago was the "right decision".

"In 25 years, this by far the most challenging thing we have faced … how we keep our residents safe and alive." Mr Prior said.

"No-one understood it [COVID-19], so we were dealing with a foreign enemy.

"They are extremely vulnerable people — they come to us for care, they come to us to live, they don't come to us to be infected."
Man in suit sits at table with hand on chinPHOTO: Graeme Prior said aged care providers had to make a quick decision to protect vulnerable residents. (ABC News: Jon Sambell)

Mr Prior, who is also the president of the Toronto-based International Federation on Ageing, said the sector was used to challenges like the flu season, but that it had little choice but to limit visitors when the coronavirus hit.

"COVID came in unannounced," he said.

"The authorities didn't know what was going on initially.

"We have to be able to control our environment."

Coronavirus update: Follow the latest news in our daily wrap.

Single case in home 'chilling'
Mr Prior said the company had a case of coronavirus at one of its NSW facilities, but thankfully the man had survived.

"It was the most chilling thing I have been through in my time in care," he said.

"We were working closely with health authorities, they were just tremendous and together we got through it.

"But controlling the environment was paramount to his survival."
Although Mr Prior has confirmed his network of facilities will lift its lockdowns soon, other major providers of aged care are resisting.

Patricia Sparrow of the group, Aged & Community Services Australia, said they believed preventative lockdowns were the only way to guarantee residents' safety.

"Our members are 100 per cent focussed on keeping people safe and for many of them, they have made an assessment that the best way they can achieve that is by going further than what the Commonwealth and states have recommended," she said.

Group of older people hold up laminated messages to their familiesPHOTO: Residents at St Luke's residential home in Subiaco hold up messages to their families from the facility's balcony. (ABC News: Jon Sambell)

Leaders urge more compassion
The situation prompted Mr McGowan to come out strongly today against the lockdowns, echoing sentiments by Mr Morrison earlier this week.

"A lot of retirement villages, or aged care homes, are going far beyond what was recommended by the Government," he told ABC Radio Perth.

"They're locking family members out of visiting and that is not right and that is not what the guidelines say."
Mr McGowan said family members should be allowed to visit as long as guidelines were followed.

WA COVID-19 snapshot
  • Confirmed cases so far: 546
  • Deaths: 7
  • Tested negative: 31,604
Latest information from the WA Health Department

"What some of these retirement homes are doing at the moment is frankly wrong," Mr McGowan said.

He speculated it was as a result of an "over-abundance of caution" due to a number of deaths at aged care facilities in New South Wales.

"But that's affecting the mental health of older people, many of whom live to see their children or their grandchildren," he said.

Window offers access to loved ones
Elizabeth Pell has been visiting her mother, Loreto, every day at her nursing home in the Perth suburb of Mosman Park since the lockdown in mid-March.

The pair have tried to communicate through a window, known as a "window of love" set up by the operator, Hall & Prior, to ease the distress being caused by the restrictions.

Older woman sits in armchair in front of window with a younger woman behind it, smiling at each otherPHOTO: Elizabeth Pell visits her mother, Loreto, every day at the 'window of love' at her Perth nursing home. (ABC News: Claire Moodie)

Fighting back tears, Ms Pell said it had been a difficult time for both her and her 83-year-old mother, who has dementia.

"I would like to go in and hug her, but I know for safety reasons it's for the best," Ms Pell said.

"I think with what's happening in the world, for her health and wellbeing, it's the best place for her to be.
"I'm very grateful that I can see her every day."

Complaints rising as lockdowns drag on
Other families have been relying on technology to stay in contact.

Jan Laing talked to her brother, 72-year-old Geoff, on social media twice a week, but said she missed being able to visit him face-to-face and help with his lunch.

"I accept the reason for [the lockdown]," she said. "Last year, we had a flu outbreak and we couldn't visit then.

"I'm fully aware of the consequences if it [coronavirus] gets in there."
head and shoulders shot of Jan LaingPHOTO: Jan Laing hasn't been able to see her brother Geoff, who is in aged care, for a month due to the COVID lockdown. (ABC News: Jon Sambell)

But Diedre Timms of seniors' rights group Advocare said she was receiving complaints from families about the blanket lockdowns.

"We actually had a complaint from a family member who wanted to see their other family member who was in palliative care and they were told when that person went into a coma they could see them," she said.

"I guess what we need to be reminded of is that [it] wasn't that long ago that the royal commission into aged care quality and safety demonstrated that not all residential facilities are the same, not all of them have great practise."

What the experts are saying about coronavirus:

Easing of lockdown coming
Ms Timms called on operators to reconsider their bans on visitors.

"Those connections are so important and visitors are more than prepared to go through any sort of infection control process and limit their visits and limit the number, but just a blanket no is really out of the question," she said.

Coronavirus questions answered
Breaking down the latest news and research to understand how the world is living through an epidemic, this is the ABC's Coronacast.

"Now I know we need to keep older people safe and everybody is doing their best under the pandemic circumstances, but that doesn't mean that they need to be completely excluded.

"It means that we need to find safe ways. Maybe facilities need additional resources to actually be able to do that."

Mr Prior said 99 per cent of families with relatives at his facilities had been comfortable with the lockdown, but that he respected and understood the concerns from the state and federal governments.

"Let's gently end the lockdown over the next, very short period of time," Mr Prior said.

"The beauty of this is that it has heightened the level of awareness of viruses of any description.

"COVID has made a permanent mark on the aged care sector."

Where are all the hundreds and thousands of death due to the virus?? The lockdowns justified? and If one speaks out against this lockdown, sure kenna wack by the fuckwits on this forum and the world over...a load of crap advocated by retards,,,no wonder pap can win forever

Sky News host Andrew Bolt says the Australian public are being fed “absolute porkies about this coronavirus” with the latest “whopper” being delivered to scare everyone even further. Mr Bolt said when he again raises the point now is the time to relax “some of the less useful” social distancing bans, he is often subject to criticism. “They say, it's precisely because of the bans that the infection rate is so low, and I should shut up with my dangerous talk,” he said. Mr Bolt said while he believes some measures are important, the threat of coronavirus, “which is real … has been wildly exaggerated”. He said, “models that our politicians were listening to a month ago when they freaked, 150,000 could die, were plainly wrong”. Australians must “start asking questions of our politicians” such as “why did you panic and when, please when, will you stop?” he said.

Sky News host Andrew Bolt says Australian politicians simply “don’t have the courage” to admit the “coronavirus crisis was exaggerated” in the country. Mr Bolt said Prime Minister Scott Morrison continues to keep “refusing to give up on any of these stay home rules” as the government continues to enforce the measures in a bid to stem the spread of the disease. On Tuesday, it was revealed elective surgeries, including IVF, will gradually be phased back in as the government moves to lift some coronavirus restrictions. Mr Morrison had told reporters while he is pleased with the decreasing rate of infection within Australia, it’s important the government does not lift restrictions too soon or risk an outbreak of community coronavirus infections. “I'm in despair… this coronavirus overreaction has come at such a shocking price,” Mr Bolt said. Mr Bolt dismissed earlier predictions that 150,000 Australians would die due to the virus under worst case scenarios where no mitigation strategies were implemented. He said coronavirus modelling had “panicked the politicians and excited the media” over potential COVID-19 predictions. “Our leaders are now scared of relaxing bans that are hurting us more than help”.