• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

7th Month Ghost Stories...

Reaction score
Teenager hears his sister urging him to hurry to her room, only to realise she was not home in the first place – The Independent News
theindependent.sg

xb748d2bcc5d52bd5b159310e5186084a.jpg.pagespeed.ic.4qjrnhXw16.webp

The seventh month of the lunar calendar – also known as the ghost month – began on Thursday (1 Aug) and has prompted many Singaporeans to share their paranormal encounters with others. One particularly chilling incident that purportedly occurred to a teenager is trending online.

Netizen u/krnrd shared his story on Reddit and said that the following encounter happened when he was around the age of 17 and was living in a semi-detached home with his parents and sister.

One day, the teenager met up with a friend and the pair decided to go to the teenager’s house to play playstation. The boys reached the home around 10pm, found that no one else was home and proceeded to play videogames.

An hour later, as the boys were still playing their game, the teenager heard his sister shouting for him, urging him to join her at the second level of the house. The netizen said:

“I immediately turned my head towards the staircase where her voice was coming from. There was a dim light at the staircase but the second level was dark as no one was home except us. She was shouting in Hokkien, “mynickname*, faster come up! Faster come up!”

““Ah-nickname, ka kin ki lai, ka kin ki lai!” She sounded very desperate and urgent, as if something is very wrong and wanted me to come up immediately.

“But it’s very weird, because my sis and I spoke hokkien to each other only when we are young. As we grow up and started primary/ secondary school, we started speaking English/ mandarin to each other.”

The teenager had a feeling that the voice somehow did not belong to his sister, even though it sounded like her. After a short pause, the voice shouted again and asked the boy to come up immediately.

The netizen recounted: “I immediately put down the controller and gestured to my buddy to go to the kitchen, which is at the back of the living room, opposite of the stairs. Once we are at the kitchen, both of us was dumbfounded. I don’t know what to say and he was silent too.”

He claimed that somehow, the was not totally freaked out but just felt a little creeped out by the voice. A short while later, the shouts stopped and the boys returned to their game.

Later that night, past midnight, the teenager’s parents came home with his sister in tow.

The netizen wrote: “I only told my sis about this incident after we moved out of the semi D, and she was creeped out…For me, I guess that’s the closest I’ve ever experienced with regards to the supernatural. I would say that I’m an atheist, but this incident really makes me wonder what to believe.”

He added: “And it’s definitely not hallucination as both my and my friend hear it clearly. Sometime I wonder what will happen if I really rushed upstairs.”

After his family moved out of the house, they started sharing stories of other weird experiences they had there and realised the house may not have been “clean”.
Revealing that his family’s domestic helper would hear knocking on the window in the middle of the night from time to time, the netizen wrote that his mother had a creepy experience with the house even before they moved in:

“She and my dad was viewing houses to buy that time. When they are at the house, from the outside, she saw a lot of workers in the house. However when the agent reached and brought them in, she realised there was nobody inside at all. That was in the afternoon.”

In another occasion, the netizen’s mother saw a scrawny man crouched in the kitchen while the netizen was in the kitchen with his friends:

“There’s another time a group of my friends, around 5-6 ppl came over. We happen to be in the kitchen making food and sitting around chatting. Then my mum came down to the kitchen and saw us. Some of my old friends know my mum and a few are new friends which my mum have never seen before. So after the greetings and such, my mum left.
“After we moved out she told me during that time when she came into the kitchen, there was one scrawny man squatting near the exit of the kitchen (the exit of the kitchen will lead to the backdoor which is a small narrow lane beside the house leading to the garden). When my mum came in she saw him but the guy immediately stand up and left the kitchen by the back door. She thought it was weird but kept quiet that time as she had a feeling it’s not my friend.”

Malaysians Share Their Spookiest Hungry Ghost Month Tales
www.star2.com

str2_mctghost_mt-265x160.jpg

This year, the seventh Chinese lunar month, also called the Hungry Ghost Month, falls from Aug 11 to Sept 9. During this period, a common sight will be roadside offerings of food, candles and joss sticks, to fete the wandering spirits. Makeshift tents are set up for the same purpose.

Chinese elders advise the young not to offend these spirits of the nether world which will be set free to roam the earth for a month. And everyone is advised not to stay out too late.

But the Hungry Ghost month isn’t exclusive when it comes to ghost sightings. Ghostly encounters and paranormal activities can occur anytime and anywhere without warning.

Ghost from the mortuary

In mid-February 2015, writer *Eddy R, 51, went to a mortuary to look at a body after getting a lead on a rape and murder case. Later that evening, he felt a strange presence whizz past him in the office. He had the goosebumps but quickly finished his work before driving home.

Feeling uneasy that “something” from the mortuary had followed him home – possibly the spirit of the dead girl – he had a bath outside his home, wet his clothes, towelled up and entered his home. (It is believed that one can ward off spirits with water).

He then performed another cleansing ritual. He warmed his palms over the stove fire and put them to his face and then his shoulders.

The face of a ghost

Photographer *Yeop, 48, had a ghostly encounter in 1995. He was riding his motorcycle home from Petaling Jaya to Taman Sri Gombak in Kuala Lumpur, after the graveyard shift.

It was 2am and drizzling when he drove past a deserted stretch with big and shady trees in Sentul.

“I saw a long-haired girl dressed in white sitting on a highway guardrail with her head facing the ground. I stopped my bike to find out what she was doing at such an ungodly hour,” he recalled.

“Suddenly, she lifted her head up, I freaked out and sped off.”

The girl’s face was horrific – corpse-like with bloodshot eyes.

He said: “I had fever for three days! My neck, hands and thighs had long scratches as if someone had clawed me!”

Three weeks later, he spoke to some people at a kenduri (feast) near the vicinity where he had seen the ghost.

“Residents told me that many people had seen the ghost of the girl, a hit-and-run victim, who was waiting for her boyfriend,” he said.

Shadow man

Retired wholesale manager C.B. Chiew, 79, related how he and a group of nine primary school boys had a bizarre sighting at their school in Kampar, Perak, in the early 1950s.

The sighting came after they heard three mournful calls by a bird, which they thought was a crow.

“We stopped playing basketball to investigate after we heard the bird. We saw a black shadow under a mango tree. It then moved towards a lit office where it vanished. The boys ran helter skelter when someone shouted, ‘Ghost!’”

The next day, the boys told a teacher.

“We were told that the office was a military police office during the Japanese Occupation. A short distance away, anti-Japanese captives were executed by hanging from a mango tree. The shadow was probably the ghost of a dead captive,” said the teacher.

The shaking tree

In 2005, a teacher and ghost researcher Augustine Towonsing, 49, was conducting ghost research for the first time on a calm and quiet night in a cemetery in Sungai Petani, Kedah.

“While walking around, a tree nearby suddenly started to shake very hard even though there was no wind. I felt a bit scared when the tree continued shaking. After I had apologised and introduced myself, the tree stopped shaking. I went to check out that tree and found a nameless tombstone.”

Towonsing’s scariest experience as a ghost researcher was at Bukit Hijau in Baling, Kedah.

“It was midnight and I was at the place for just five minutes when I heard a movement nearby but saw nothing. Prior to leaving, I took a snapshot at the place where I felt the movement. When the film was developed later, an elephant apparition was captured on it.

Midnight visitor

In 1956, Chiew and some boys from Malaya went to study in Singapore. In October that year, a Form One classmate died from head injuries during a clash with the guards sent to disperse student protestors during a demonstration. Soon after a month long curfew was imposed and some of the boys returned to Malaya.

When the curfew was lifted, Chew was the first among his classmates to return to Singapore.

“That night, around midnight, I was woken by a chilling wind in our rented room. The wooden windows creaked and I wanted to close them, thinking a thunderstorm was brewing.

“When I opened my eyes, I saw the silhouette of my dead classmate sitting next to me on my mattress on the floor. I spoke to him with my inner voice urging him not to disturb me and went back to sleep.”

The mischievious dwarf

In 2015, student *Nadia Sufi, 22, and her family experienced paranormal activities in their home in Delhi, India.

She said: “I was in the kitchen heating and stirring two pots of food on the stove for dinner. When I heard my mum calling from the hallway, I turned around to look. When I turned back, the pots were empty!” Her mother later found the food in a dustbin.
A few days later, Nadia was in her room studying. When it was getting dark, she got off her bed to switch on the light.

“I saw a man staring at me through the window. He was a dwarf, very short, and had a beard. After a few seconds, he walked away. It really freaked me out because my room was on the first floor.”

The previous night her mother woke up at 2am to make tea.

“While in the kitchen, she heard a sound behind her and turned around to find a man standing in the doorway – the same dwarf I had seen outside my window!” she said.
The family also had other scary encounters – the stove fire switching on and off by itself, plates and jugs being thrashed against the walls, seeing a family member in two different locations and writing on the walls close to the ceiling!

It took four months to cleanse the house. Nadia and her family moved to Malaysia soon after and “things have been good!”

Blurred vision

Twenty years ago, a former cafe owner *Sammy Yen, 51, went on a family trip to Bali. Soon after returning, Yen’s husband, a paediatrician, experienced blurred vision, pain and tearing of the eyes under sunlight. Eye doctors and specialists could find nothing wrong with him. So, Yen’s late mother took him to see a medium who said that he had stepped on something “dirty” (and was thus under an evil spell).

“At night, I placed a talisman across both his eyes and a towel over it to secure it. That night I could see him panting as if he was fighting with an evil spirit. I grabbed a broomstick and flicked the talisman away from his eyes. Shortly after, he woke up and his vision was clear again.

Haunted resort

Five years ago, Yen’s two sons bought a family holiday package to Bali. Spooked by what happened to her husband on a previous vacation, Yen’s sister told her to burn incense to cleanse the resort home they were staying in.

“Just before sleeping, we heard the shower turn on. When we went to check, it stopped. It started again after we walked away. Then, the air conditioner began switching on and off. Annoyed, my husband shouted at the spirit to stop it and we went to sleep.”

Soon after, Yen could hear the crackling sounds of a plastic container (in which she stored the incense) being opened and closed. Feeling bushed, she too, fell asleep.
At breakfast time, Yen, her husband and her two sons, in their 20s, were in the hall when they heard foosteps scrambling up the staircase. They also heard the sounds of food storage plastic bags near them being opened and closed. Feeling scared, they decided to move to another place to stay. The resort’s driver later told Yen that the spirits were angry as she had burnt incense to drive them away.

Ghost children

Some 33 years ago, graphic artist *Kay Bee, 51, heard children’s voices outside her chalet while holidaying with friends in Johor.

“We were playing gim rummy at night and I heard children laughing and playing by the waterfall. I walked towards the window and peered out. The voices stopped and there was no one at the well-lit waterfall,” she said.

After she walked away from the window, she heard the children’s voices again.

“The next day, I confronted my friends – all of whom had heard the children’s voices. They may have been spirits of children who drowned at the waterfall,” she said.

Strange bedfellows

Ten years ago, account executive *Kelly Ho, 29, said her friend’s roommate woke up because she felt choked.

“I saw an apparition kneeling over another student who was asleep, trying to strangle her. The apparition jumped from bed to bed trying to strangle the other girls sleeping on double-decker bunker beds,” said the friend’s roommate of her spine-chilling experience in a school hostel in Kuala Lumpur.

* Names of the interviewees have been changed on request.

This scary true S'pore story that occurred during Hungry Ghost Festival would remind us something

This-scary-true-story-that-.jpg

“Goodnight Mummy,” I said as my 10-year-old self headed back into the bedroom of my family’s 5-room flat in Yew Tee, ready to drift into dreamland. 1AM wasn’t the normal bedtime that a girl my age should be sleeping at but my parents were never strict on trivial things like that.

As the day’s occurrences ran through my mind like a homevideo, I closed my eyes and was prepared to be knocked out the minute my head grazed my pillow. Almost immediately, I heard a shrill, high-pitched laughter belonging to a woman right next to my ear. Thinking that it was my younger brother playing a prank on me, I opened my eyes and sat up, looking behind and under my bed for my annoying brother who was supposed to be asleep in the next room. He had a tendency of doing silly things like that so I won’t be surprised if I were to find him behind my bed, grinning at me.

But strange enough, he wasn’t in the room.

“My room isn’t that big. He can’t have hid himself anywhere else. Maybe I imagined it,” I thought to myself, heart slightly racing at this point in time.

The minute I closed my eyes a second time, the same spine-chilling laughter began and again, I opened my eyes and sat up. By this time, I was beginning to get goosebumps. Nobody else was in the room but me, so who could be laughing? This time, I checked my windows and my door, toying with the idea that it could have been my neighbour from upstairs who happened to laugh at the same time I closed my eyes.

But my windows were shut and locked. It couldn’t have been my neighbour.

By now, I was drenched in cold sweat, running out of logical reasons why there was laughter in my room. Sure, this is the month of the Hungry Ghost Festival but it can’t possibly be that, can it?

Gathering all the remaining courage that a 10-year-old girl had, I sped to my parents’ room next door, furiously knocking on the door all while sobbing and staring into the dark void that was my living room. After what seemed like an eternity, my sleepy mother unlocked the door.

“What do yo- Why are you crying?” my mother asked groggily, a look of worry on her face.

“There’s someone laughing at me, Mummy! A woman!” I replied, in between sobs.
Instantly, my mother stood up and accompanied me back into my room and did something any mother with a traditional Chinese upbringing would do and yelled at the supposed ‘ghost’ that was residing in my room.

“Get out of this room! My daughter did nothing to you! Don’t bother her anymore!”

After yelling at the air for a few more times, my mother fished a beaded bracelet out of one of my drawers and made me put it on. It was a bracelet my grandmother got from a Taoist temple in China. I never knew we had such a thing in the house because we weren’t religious even though my mother occasionally accompanied my grandmother to the temple.

That night, my mother slept in my room with me and felt more relieved even though she was the one who fell asleep first. Still wary, I slowly closed my eyes and the next thing I knew, sunlight was pouring into my room – it was morning.

I never knew what happened that night but I overheard my mother complaining to my grandmother on the phone that my father was to blame for parking at a vacant lot at East Coast Park the day before where somebody left their incense paper and offerings untended.

Ahmeng. U believe in ghost..spirit?:)

Not really :D I just enjoy reading stories. :D

Actually teres some truth in it. :) Not cos my scripture told us to believe in the unseen. Not just i but group of us actually witnessed it. N teres tis ex neighbour of mine too. Long story lah:)

Actually teres some truth in it. :smile: Not cos my scripture told us to believe in the unseen. Not just i but group of us actually witnessed it. N teres tis ex neighbour of mine too. Long story lah:smile:
Share leh..

Share leh..

Those foods placed at public places. Meant for spirits? Sm part of it may be true. Of course sceptics would say is bs. Being a Malay Muslim i respect other beliefs.

God knows. All I know is they are bonus food for pigeons. The pigeons must be very heypi at this time of the year, every year :D

Bedok celebrates the Hungry Ghost month!

God knows. All I know is they are bonus food for pigeons. The pigeons must be very heypi at this time of the year, every year :D

Actually not only 7th mth. I used to live at Macpherson circuit rd. Used to go fishing n catch crabs along those canal neat kallang. Wahlou...alot of jin happily dinning away.:) Serious no bs.

@AhMeng why don't you write us your own ghost story? Please add lots of sex in there too.