• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

4,000 queue up for hongbao attemple

metalslug

4,000 queue up for hongbao attemple
By Liew Hanqing

December 14, 2008

NP_IMAGES_HQQUEUE.jpg

THEY showed up in droves and queued up for hours - just to get a hongbao.

Some 4,000 people formed a long line outside the Thong Teck Sian Tong Lian Sin Sia temple in Balestier yesterday for the hongbao, which contained between $10 and $30 each.

Temple volunteers, deployed to keep the crowd orderly, made sure the people entered the temple in small groups.

The temple's secretary, Ms Tay Poey Noy, said that only people over 60 years old who are on public assistance were eligible for the hongbao.

However, those who did not have their public assistance cards with them were still given a token $10 hongbao each for making the effort to show up.

Ms Tay said: 'We had to turn people away. There were some people who were younger than 60, but considered themselves elderly. It was difficult to have to turn them away, but we had no choice.'

Some 3,000 pieces of hongbao were prepared in advance, she said, but the temple ended up giving out more than originally planned, due to overwhelming demand.

Some of those in the queue were children who had shown up on behalf of their elderly parents to collect the hongbao.

No proof

NP_IMAGES_HQQUEUE-G8D.jpg

OVERWHELMING DEMAND: So many people turned up that the temple volunteers ended up giving away more hongbao than the 3,000 they had prepared. The crowd was much larger than in previous years. --PICTURES: SHIN MIN DAILY NEWS

Ms Tay said: 'But in some cases, they had no proof of their relationship with the public assistance cardholders, so we will have to make home visits later.'

She added that temple volunteers had taken down about 100 names of such cases, which have to be individually assessed for eligibility.

She said: 'Some of them aren't happy and have been calling us non-stop, asking when we're going to visit them. It is quite chaotic.'

This year's crowd, Ms Tay said, was significantly larger than in previous years.

She said: 'We officially opened at 7.30am, but people had started queuing from 6am.'

As an act of goodwill, the temple provided buns and beverages for the early birds.

Mr Chua Lai Teck, 51, a merchant, was on his way to work when he saw the queue outside the temple.

He said: 'I haven't seen such a long line for a long time. Times are really bad. I felt for the old folk.'

Mr Chua said that the last time he saw such a long line-up outside the temple was some 10 years ago, during the Asian financial crisis.

He added: 'Perhaps the charitable organisations will be able to band together to offer some additional help to the needy.'

ahbengsong

He said: 'I haven't seen such a long line for a long time. Times are really bad. I felt for the old folk.'
[unquote]

when times are bad.. good govt cares for its people... this only shows the pap govt is not for the people but for itself and cronies...

UseYourBrain

This cant happen. It cannot be chinese it must be the malays in disguise. Chinese immigrants are richer than the malay who are the son of the soil of singapore. This is live example of crutch mentality n it cud not be chinese because chinese have high moral and will not let their parents begging like this

myo539

[unquote]

when times are bad.. good govt cares for its people... this only shows the pap govt is not for the people but for itself and cronies...

Wah, PAP gahment so compassionate and considerate. When giving money such as Growth Package, no need to Q up, just GIRO into the bank account. Three cheers to the gahment.

2lanu

I thought those white scum had always said they had CPF safety nets in place for the people. How come so many still need assistance??? Even younger than 60 are going for the queue.

They still have the cheek to say they did a good job and ought to be paid million$$!

i1u12

This cant happen. It cannot be chinese it must be the malays in disguise. Chinese immigrants are richer than the malay who are the son of the soil of singapore. This is live example of crutch mentality n it cud not be chinese because chinese have high moral and will not let their parents begging like this

Agree with your observations.
If it happened it gives us a sense that the economy is really really bad!!!
No more holes in my belt to tighten further.

i_am_belle

Wah, PAP gahment so compassionate and considerate. When giving money such as Growth Package, no need to Q up, just GIRO into the bank account. Three cheers to the gahment.

old folks will Q up outside CPF to apply for growth dividends, GST rebates, workfare rebates, etc ... bcos they don't know how to apply electronically or thru internet ... :eek:

so there is still a queue, u see ... :wink:

theblackhole

many of these elderly folks have no jobs, no savings and no cpf at all...they live day by day from foot to mouth - many on charity. many depend on the allowances given by their childrean and grandchildre. when times are hard, the allowances get less and less and eventually no more. many of them are penniless.

when they're sick, they can't afford to see the doctors - not even polyclinics. when they are hungry, they go begging or just search the bins. many of them are sick. they can't work for long.many are casual workers and cleaners - you see them in hawker centres limping away pushing the trolleys. this is a damned sad and tragic scene now in singapore - uncles and aunties, grandpas and grandmas pushing the trolleys and cleaning tables and mopping floors....singapore's first world society???

i_am_belle

one of my PRC colleagues exclaimed 'singapore got so many poor people !'

me thinking 'knn, u dunno meh ? s'pore govt good at marketing the land has given u the impression that our streets are paved with gold ?' :eek:

or those stupid western expats over @ expat forum '... but i thought s'pore was first world ?' :rolleyes:

khunking

Next time think out loud! Don't be shy.

me thinking 'knn, u dunno meh ? s'pore govt good at marketing the land has given u the impression that our streets are paved with gold ?' :eek:

or those stupid western expats over @ expat forum '... but i thought s'pore was first world ?' :rolleyes:

theblackhole

one of my china prc friends asked me why singapore so many old and sick people!
why they dress so horribly? why they behave so sickly everywhere?
this one u can't take it anymore...why singaporeans are so stupid, so gullible and so scared of everything!!! you guys got a life or not!!!

chupacabra

Tell them compared to the number of prostitutes they have, poor people in peesai comes to nothing.

theblackhole

china's greatest human export can be found in almost every corner of the world...china has in fact invaded the hole wide world!!!

i_am_belle

one of my china prc friends asked me why singapore so many old and sick people!
why they dress so horribly? why they behave so sickly everywhere?
this one u can't take it anymore...why singaporeans are so stupid, so gullible and so scared of everything!!! you guys got a life or not!!!

before they ask why s'pore got so many old & sick, they will preface the question with -- 's'pore govt is SOOO good, why are there so many poor/sick old folks ?' :rolleyes:

little do they know their assumption is sala ... :o

i_am_belle

Next time think out loud! Don't be shy.

yeah, wait she ask me what is 'knn' ... then how ? :biggrin:

can imagine it goes like this --

PRC -- 'what did u say ? (i MUST learn as much english as possible from these sinkees, so later can go australia/USA) ...

me -- 'knn' ...

PRC -- (takes out electronic dict) it's not english, is it singlish ?

me -- actually its hokkien ...

PRC -- wow, u sinkees so smart ! can speak so many languages ... s'pore govt is SOOO good !

Getting free money, even a little amount, is a huge excitement for the sinkie chinese. They will not care what the rules are and try out if the giver will make a mistake and pass off as someone above 60 years old.

Such is the habit of a sinkie chinese.

Getting free money, even a little amount, is a huge excitement for the sinkie chinese. They will not care what the rules are and try out if the giver will make a mistake and pass off as someone above 60 years old.

Such is the habit of a sinkie chinese.

thai citizens protest in airport for free food as well :oIo:

Do you remember when the newspaper reported about the guy who went to get free packets of vegetarian food in his mercedes benz?
Wonder how many of those lining up came in their expensive cars?

I thought those white scum had always said they had CPF safety nets in place for the people. How come so many still need assistance??? Even younger than 60 are going for the queue.

They still have the cheek to say they did a good job and ought to be paid million$$!
The safety nets are for themselves and their families.
There are no safety nets for the peasants.