• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

$310m building plan for City Harvest

MarrickG

CITY Harvest Church has announced a $310 million expansion plan to buy land, and to erect a building that will house shops, restaurants and a 12,000-seat auditorium.

Founder Kong Hee, 45, said during church services yesterday and last Saturday that the land sale would be completed later this month. He did not specify the location, but said the site would be in the 'central south' district.

He described the site as 'super large'. It is believed the site covers an area as large as three football fields - six times the size of the Protestant church's current home in Jurong West Street 91, which it owns.

Two mega churches in Singapore. I wonder where is Central South Singapore. Anyone knows of any decent site available down south?

It would be interesting to see them operating after 10 years.

wtf! 310m? wow so clever until need to building a bigger to church to recruit more members to join them. or getting bigger space to store the ill-gotten $$$ huh huh huh. the owner of the church spent away the money and need to replendish the stock ah???

310m cant help the needy meh???

:oIo:

Two mega churches in Singapore. I wonder where is Central South Singapore. Anyone knows of any decent site available down south?

Central South? Kallang Stadium?

Hear the congregation ROAR!
Feel the holy spirit WAVE!

http://theonlinecitizen.com/2010/01...es-land-for-s310m-in-central-south-singapore/

6) Observer on January 16th, 2010 10.03 pm

According to the financial statements disclosed in the church website: http://www.chc.org.sg/eng/church/financial_stt.php, City Harvest Church has not performed well financially over the past two financial periods.

Based on the Income Statements, during the 18 months period from 1 Jan 2006 to 30 Jun 2007, the church incurred a loss of S$441,000, and for the 16 months period ended 31 Oct 2008, the church incurred a loss that amounted to almost one million Singapore dollars (S$967,000).

The balance sheets show that the bank and cash balances held by the church had declined sharply from S$27million as at 30 Jun 2007 to less than S$5million as at 31 Oct 2008.

It is anyone’s guess whether the financial position of the church has continued to deteriorate in 2009.

So the questions now are:
Is the church really in the position to undertake this $310million building project? Will the members (mostly youngsters below the age of 25 years) be pressured to give their pocket money/ hard earned money to the church?

The xtian taleban is working fast...

39) Pierre on January 17th, 2010 1.38 pm

So what if CHC buys a piece of land at $310M? They did it with their own congregation members’ offerings and tithings, and the members had obviously approved it before they make the purchase.

What bloody business has it got to do with TOC and those busy-body, shallow and narrow-minded posters here? Did they used your tax money? Did they infringe on your rights? Did they create harm to the society?

TOC, what’s your agenda behind all these instigative articles? Is this another of those LGBT’s cynical and malicious movement to attack and belittle Christianity?

CHC really so clean? ....

58) Simon says... on January 18th, 2010 4.46 am

For those challenging and questioning CHC’s ethics, please go and attend their services to experience the dynamics. Otherwise, don’t speculate and instigate!

For those self-righteous questioning why CHC is not helping the poor and needy, you should be aware that CHC is also actively involved in community and social works and they’re a integral part of the National Council of Social Services’ network. Through many of their dedicated volunteers, I am aware of how people’s lives were changed, how poor families were taken and care for through regular visits by their volunteers, and how rebellious and destructive individuals became useful people to their families and the society.

So, mice is nice, care to join them in their community and social work? Are you helping the poor and needy yourself, or you are simply just an armchair critic?

It is a fact that CHC’s funds came from members, and it is properly accounted for and audited based on the stringent rules and requirements stipulated by the Commissioner of Charities (CoC) (don’t forget too that CoC had just completed a major independent audit of CHC’s fund in the previous years, and there was no irregularities found). So, anyone trying to implicate otherwise about their funds should write directly to the CoC for an in-depth investigation…otherwise, rest your peace and don’t insinuate something out of nothing!

CHC is using their legitimate money and how they used it is really none of TOC’s business, unless there’s a hidden agenda that we do not know of, as TOC had left it to the complete imagination of the readers as to why they had reported this news.

And if this is not speculative and instigative, what is it?

NCC building worth $449 million wor, CHC lose liao, hahaha :D:D:D

FCBC cannot lose face lor.

NCC got mega building in west, CHC got mega building in South,.... so FCBC must have Mega building in East!

Then you can have a "cross" across the island. and you can say..." in the name of the prince and the 2 kongs."

My guess is Marina South near the new business district.

Religion is really big business. No wonder so many want to be the messenger of "god". Cos there are so many suckers.

IR-Casinos takes away souls...

Churches save your souls!!

Always Remember!

City Harvest Church has 47,500 members as of 2008

$310,000,000/47500=$6526/pax

given say average salary of member $2,000/mth, 10% offerings minimum that is at least$2,400/pax/annum, 33 months can raise the money liao,,, small fry, especially if claiming to equal NCC in size and fervency, contribution per pax will be more than 10%, and you can ALMOST be assured that they will achieve the target,,,,,

and DON'T FORGET ABOUT those CEOs that will contribute more than the $2,400 per annum, they can contibute $2,400 per month or even per week if required

Religion is really big business. No wonder so many want to be the messenger of "god". Cos there are so many suckers.

suckers are really those who don't believed in Jesus...

someone tell you that it's possible to go to heaven and you still want to reject it?

now who is the real sucker? :D

My guess is Marina South near the new business district.

if you see major angmo cities, churches can be found alongside with seedy places like casinos, bars and whorehouses!!

after you sin, and you feel guilty, can go to church to repent? :D