• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

30 of the oddest-looking fruits and vegetables from around the world

30 of the weirdest fruits and vegetables from around the world​

They might look like something from another planet, but these odd-looking fruits and vegetables all bring something to the table. Some are known for their health-boosting properties, others for their taste and texture, and others even take the place of meat in vegan dishes.

1639834893308.png

1639834954553.png

Rambutan​

The name of this South East Asian fruit comes from the Malay word for hair, and it's not hard to see why. Unpeel the hairy-looking exterior for a sweet, creamy-tasting fruit that's packed with antioxidants and vitamin C.

1639834985493.png

Jackfruit​

Commonly found in parts of Asia, Africa, and South America, this strong-smelling behemoth of the fruit world is having a moment right now. Little-loved in fruit salads due to its unappetizing smell, it's come into its own as a natural vegan meat substitute.

1639835011065.png

Guaraná​

Know for its energy-boosting properties, this Amazonian power berry is best known as an ingredient in sports drinks and fatigue-reducing products. The seeds are usually dried and powdered, but in its natural form the fruit looks uncannily like an eyeball.

1639835041114.png

Noni​

Its pungent smell has earned it the nicknames of 'cheese fruit' and 'starvation fruit,' but don't let that put you off! Native to Asia, Australia, and Polynesia, the much-maligned fruit is known for its anti-inflammatory properties and for boosting the immune system.

1639835071606.png

Custard apple​

This gnarly green fruit tastes a whole lot better than it looks. Slice open the thick green skin for a deliciously rich, creamy fruit that can scooped out with a spoon like a dessert. Just be sure to spit out the inedible seeds.

OrLanChowHorFun

View attachment 129264

Noni​

Its pungent smell has earned it the nicknames of 'cheese fruit' and 'starvation fruit,' but don't let that put you off! Native to Asia, Australia, and Polynesia, the much-maligned fruit is known for its anti-inflammatory properties and for boosting the immune system.

so this fruit is noni................saw it at fruit stalls but didn't know.................drank noni juice for years..................smell and taste awful so the fruit should be jialat also............

View attachment 129265

Custard apple​

This gnarly green fruit tastes a whole lot better than it looks. Slice open the thick green skin for a deliciously rich, creamy fruit that can scooped out with a spoon like a dessert. Just be sure to spit out the inedible seeds.

this one not soursop meh ?

so this fruit is noni................saw it at fruit stalls but didn't know.................drank noni juice for years..................smell and taste awful so the fruit should be jialat also............

this one not soursop meh ?

They are slightly different. I also checked because I had the same question. :wink:

1639836401432.png

Soursop

1639836428711.png

Custard Apple

Soursop or graviola (in Spanish, guanábana) and cherimoya or custard apple (chirimoya or chirimoyo also in Spanish), are two different tropical fruits that are often mistaken one for the other. They both belong to the same Family; Annonaceae and are physically similar, however they both have very important differences that set them as two different fruits.

JOKERCHEW

Buddha's Hand :

Arguably, the strangest looking fruit on the planet,
Buddha's Hand is a fragrant citron variety whose fruit is
segmented into finger-like sections.

buddha.jpg

OrLanChowHorFun

They are slightly different. I also checked because I had the same question. :wink:

View attachment 129266

Soursop

View attachment 129267

Custard Apple

Soursop or graviola (in Spanish, guanábana) and cherimoya or custard apple (chirimoya or chirimoyo also in Spanish), are two different tropical fruits that are often mistaken one for the other. They both belong to the same Family; Annonaceae and are physically similar, however they both have very important differences that set them as two different fruits.

i see...............anyway, i rarely eat any exotic fruits...............no money lah.............

i don't know how many years never tasted durian liao...............

Reactions: jw5

Cempedak

Health-benefits-of-Cempedak-fruit.jpg

Then you fry it nice and crispy like banana fritters

real-format-2-2.jpg

Delicious. Can be lunch or dinner substitute. Better than McDonalds chicken nuggets.

Reactions: jw5

1639918755466.png

Physalis​

These tangy little orbs are popularly used as an edible decoration thanks to their intricate casing (don't eat the shell!). But Physalis' beauty is more than skin deep: the warm-climate fruit is rich in vitamins A and C, iron, and phosphorus.