• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

3 more days to make a difference - a Singaporean's plight

Dear countryman and countrywoman

3 more days to go and if you have the opportunity to vote do recognise that what you decide will shape this country even for those who can't vote. This includes your children who will inherit this land or what's left of it.

The PAP first came to power in 1959 and the country has seen 12 general elections and each time returning the PAP to power. That is close to 51 years of uninterrupted power. The first 25 years was staggering. We were lucky to find a good group of individuals who made this country stand out beyond expectation. The CPF hit all time high of 25% contribution from the employee and another 25 % from the employer giving a staggering 50% in retirement savings in 1985. It was scheme that was devised by the British and built on by the first team. Then it became to slide and it has never stopped.

When Lim Kim San built the first tranche of public housing everyone qualified. Those who did not have steady employment or money for deposit, there were scores of 1 and 2 room rental flats. No one was required to jump thru hoops or sleep at beaches. The mention of subsidy was hardly heard. 51 years later and the younger generation seems to postpone marriage, procreation and an early family life in order to have enough savings to buy a flat. And this includes a huge grant (and the often mentioned subsidy) from HDB and the Govt if not they would not even make it to the front door. Public housing a preserve of citizens in Singapore and the world over is no longer the case in this country. We have Malaysians having a HDB flat here and another house in Malaysia and then cashing out on the HDB flat when moving back. The PRC Chinese and the foreign Indians are now doing the same. You can lose an arm or a leg while doing NS but it does not amount to much when applying for public housing.

We have 2 sovereign funds, Temasek run by the wife of the PM and GIC which is headed by a board which is headed by the PM's father. Would you think that men like Goh Keng Swee, Lim Kim San and senior civil servants like Pillay, Sim Kee Boon, Bogaars etc would have tolerated such a structure. Is Singapore so small or short of talent that it should be end up being a family run enterprise.

PAP MP and minister of State Lim Hwee Hua 2 days ago queried the accounts of Hougang. This lady had responsibilities in Ministry of Finance but has never queried the accounts of Temasek or GIC. The PAP has never published the accounts of Temasek or GIC. When the international financial community threathen to delist Singapore companies from benchmarking indices, Temasek relented and published some high level numbers. Its common knowledge that Temasek made a series of investment errors and lost a fortune. It resulted in the laws were changed in parliament to allow Temasek to stop sending dividends to the consolidated funds on a scheduled basis. What happened. There has been no transparency in Temasek and GIC which impacts every citizens yet Lim Hwee Hua think that Hougang's accounts are an issue. During the mini-bond crisis, both Hougang and PP did not lose a penny due to erroneous investment decisions yet PAP wards did. The audacity of this lady is quite staggering.

These are just sprinkling of truths that have been hidden by PAP with the complicity of the state controlled press. PAP did not reveal that Ms Tin Pei Ling got her first job on the bidding of PAP MP Hri Kumar who asked his wife to hire her. She still reports to the MP's wife. These are crucial details which are never revealed. These are important facts that goes into the mix when a citizen decides to vote. How did the PAP pick Foo Mee Har whose husband had bankruptcy initiated by her own employers who are bankers. I know for a fact that MAS will intervene in such matters as Bankers have fiduciary duties that are serious. Then there is the well known conduct of hers in her workplace. Lets not forget Steve Tan was withdrawn at the last minute but told a blatant lie at a media session about his wife having doubts about he running. When netizens revealed the real reason, the PM had to come in to steady the waters and he then revealed the reason for his withdrawal.

As a voter do not worry if the opposition team has a chance of winning. There are now many quality candidates so there is no excuse. Every vote cast against the PAP is a clear message sent to the arrogant ruling party that we are not happy. Every vote case against the PAP tells that PM that he cannot run a family enterprise involving family members. Every vote cast against the PAP tell them that we are looking for accountability and transparency. Every vote cast against the PAP tells you that you have taken a major decision in your life to help this nation go forward in a fair and just manner. It is decision that will protect you as a citizen and your young one's future. That worry that you, members of your family and friends are less likely to be displaced by a cheap foreign talent whose credentials are suspect in some of the cases.

Do remember that no less the then PM Goh Chok Tong wife fully supported TT Durai and his shennigans. It was Lim Hng Kian as Minister of Health who in parliament fully endorsed NKF despite an NMP raising issues and his own Ministry Deputy Sec been shown the door by Durai. Do realise that less than 10 cents from each dollar collected as donations reached the intended beneficiaries while management staff travelled 1st class.

You can make a difference. And you can do it in 3 days time.

tioliaohuat

how much did the pap pay you to join SDP to fools the people of singapore

<!--[if gte mso 9]><xml> <w:WordDocument> <w:View>Normal</w:View> <w:Zoom>0</w:Zoom> <w:biggrin:oNotOptimizeForBrowser/> </w:WordDocument> </xml><![endif]-->[FONT=&quot]Originally Posted by scroobal

[/FONT]<!--[if gte mso 9]><xml> <w:WordDocument> <w:View>Normal</w:View> <w:Zoom>0</w:Zoom> <w:biggrin:oNotOptimizeForBrowser/> </w:WordDocument> </xml><![endif]-->[FONT=&quot]Years ago, I was on an interview panel [/FONT][FONT=&quot]and interestingly [/FONT][FONT=&quot]an ACS alumnus [/FONT][FONT=&quot]hinted why he felt for Singapore by mentioning that he voluntered for NS. I asked him what was the consequence if he did not volunteer for NS. Not only his jaw dropped but [/FONT][FONT=&quot]those of 3 other interview panel members.[/FONT][FONT=&quot] He then admitted that he did it to retain his PR and to be with his mum and dad. After the conclusion of the interview sessions, all three members asked me to fill them in. I told them that NS is a not charity and why would someone not take up citizenship yet do NS. When I told them that someone who is not eligibile for citizenship cannot do NS even if he paid the Govt, it then made sense. [/FONT][FONT=&quot]Mind you the 3 were senior civil servants [/FONT][FONT=&quot]and they too had no clue.

[/FONT]<!--[if !mso]> <style> v\:* {behavior:url(#default#VML);} o\:* {behavior:url(#default#VML);} w\:* {behavior:url(#default#VML);} .shape {behavior:url(#default#VML);} </style> <![endif]--><!--[if gte mso 9]><xml> <w:WordDocument> <w:View>Normal</w:View> <w:Zoom>0</w:Zoom> <w:biggrin:oNotOptimizeForBrowser/> </w:WordDocument> </xml><![endif]--> Originally Posted by coolguy

These latest 2 SDP candidates are fed by the PAP golden rice bowl.
Seems too good to be true that they are joining the opposition, some more
they choose to join SDP, PAP most hated enemy.
Something smells fishy here. Could they be PAP mole?

When VW joined SDP, quite hard to believe. Now, these 2 high fliers join SDP. Maybe SDP got barang? With CSJ helming the party, why would inteliigent chaps join SDP? Surely there exists other opposition parties in S'pore.

bullfrog

Sorry hor, if we didnt always get it right, I am sorry.

3 more days to go and if you have the opportunity to vote do recognise that what you decide will shape this country even for those who can't vote. This includes your children who will inherit this land or what's left of it.

The PAP first came to power in 1959 and the country has seen 12 general elections and each time returning the PAP to power. That is close to 51 years of uninterrupted power. The first 25 years was staggering. We were lucky to find a good group of individuals who made this country stand out beyond expectation. The CPF hit all time high of 25% contribution from the employee and another 25 % from the employer giving a staggering 50% in retirement savings in 1985. It was scheme that was devised by the British and built on by the first team. Then it became to slide and it has never stopped.

When Lim Kim San built the first tranche of public housing everyone qualified. Those who did not have steady employment or money for deposit, there were scores of 1 and 2 room rental flats. No one was required to jump thru hoops or sleep at beaches. The mention of subsidy was hardly heard. 51 years later and the younger generation seems to postpone marriage, procreation and an early family life in order to have enough savings to buy a flat. And this includes a huge grant (and the often mentioned subsidy) from HDB and the Govt if not they would not even make it to the front door. Public housing a preserve of citizens in Singapore and the world over is no longer the case in this country. We have Malaysians having a HDB flat here and another house in Malaysia and then cashing out on the HDB flat when moving back. The PRC Chinese and the foreign Indians are now doing the same. You can lose an arm or a leg while doing NS but it does not amount to much when applying for public housing.

We have 2 sovereign funds, Temasek run by the wife of the PM and GIC which is headed by a board which is headed by the PM's father. Would you think that men like Goh Keng Swee, Lim Kim San and senior civil servants like Pillay, Sim Kee Boon, Bogaars etc would have tolerated such a structure. Is Singapore so small or short of talent that it should be end up being a family run enterprise.

PAP MP and minister of State Lim Hwee Hua 2 days ago queried the accounts of Hougang. This lady had responsibilities in Ministry of Finance but has never queried the accounts of Temasek or GIC. The PAP has never published the accounts of Temasek or GIC. When the international financial community threathen to delist Singapore companies from benchmarking indices, Temasek relented and published some high level numbers. Its common knowledge that Temasek made a series of investment errors and lost a fortune. It resulted in the laws were changed in parliament to allow Temasek to stop sending dividends to the consolidated funds on a scheduled basis. What happened. There has been no transparency in Temasek and GIC which impacts every citizens yet Lim Hwee Hua think that Hougang's accounts are an issue. During the mini-bond crisis, both Hougang and PP did not lose a penny due to erroneous investment decisions yet PAP wards did. The audacity of this lady is quite staggering.

These are just sprinkling of truths that have been hidden by PAP with the complicity of the state controlled press. PAP did not reveal that Ms Tin Pei Ling got her first job on the bidding of PAP MP Hri Kumar who asked his wife to hire her. She still reports to the MP's wife. These are crucial details which are never revealed. These are important facts that goes into the mix when a citizen decides to vote. How did the PAP pick Foo Mee Har whose husband had bankruptcy initiated by her own employers who are bankers. I know for a fact that MAS will intervene in such matters as Bankers have fiduciary duties that are serious. Then there is the well known conduct of hers in her workplace. Lets not forget Steve Tan was withdrawn at the last minute but told a blatant lie at a media session about his wife having doubts about he running. When netizens revealed the real reason, the PM had to come in to steady the waters and he then revealed the reason for his withdrawal.

As a voter do not worry if the opposition team has a chance of winning. There are now many quality candidates so there is no excuse. Every vote cast against the PAP is a clear message sent to the arrogant ruling party that we are not happy. Every vote case against the PAP tells that PM that he cannot run a family enterprise involving family members. Every vote cast against the PAP tell them that we are looking for accountability and transparency. Every vote cast against the PAP tells you that you have taken a major decision in your life to help this nation go forward in a fair and just manner. It is decision that will protect you as a citizen and your young one's future. That worry that you, members of your family and friends are less likely to be displaced by a cheap foreign talent whose credentials are suspect in some of the cases.

Do remember that no less the then PM Goh Chok Tong wife fully supported TT Durai and his shennigans. It was Lim Hng Kian as Minister of Health who in parliament fully endorsed NKF despite an NMP raising issues and his own Ministry Deputy Sec been shown the door by Durai. Do realise that less than 10 cents from each dollar collected as donations reached the intended beneficiaries while management staff travelled 1st class.

You can make a difference. And you can do it in 3 days time.

Debonerman

I must give my support for this thread.............I.........wait! let me bring my wireless keyboard to the floor...and now as I lay prostrate before this thread...........wait a minute..............let me go puke first.......................

Fearless Jedi

Remember Choo Wee Kiang? The one that was with the table tennis and later got into some trouble. Why doesn't the PAP be honest and tell us that Desmond Choo is his nephew? What's going on? They hide things from the public when they feel that it is not to their advantage? With such dishonesty, they have no moral authority to form the government.