• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

$20.5b Resilience Package

Rakyat

SINGAPORE, suffering its deepest recession since independence, will spend S$20.5 billion to help businesses and workers, Finance Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam said in Budget statement on Thursday.

The government will cut taxes and increase expenditure on infrastructure, education and healthcare, he said.

The spending will result in a deficit equivalent to 6 per cent of gross domestic product, he said.

'The package aims to help save jobs to the maximum extent possible in the recession and to help viable companies stay afloat,' the minister said.

A quarter or $5.1 billion would go towards saving jobs, while $5.8 billion is set aside to stimulate bank lending.

A further $2.6 billion would be spent on enhancing business cashflow and competitiveness, another $2.6 billion is earmarked to help support families and the remaining $4.4 billion will go towards building homes for the future.

Mr Shanmugaratnam stressed that the key risks to the Singapore economy are the severity of the global economic crisis and the loss of jobs, rather than inflation.

Mr Shanmugaratnam also announced a $4.5 billion Jobs Credit plan to lower the cost of retaining workers amid a global recession.

The programme will 'encourage our businesses to preserve jobs as much as is possible in the downturn,' he said.

Singapore's economy may contract as much as 5 percent this year, after growing 1.2 per cent in 2008, the trade ministry said on Wednesday, the second reduction in its 2009 GDP forecast in less than three weeks.

The government said the nation may experience deflation this year, with consumer prices falling as much as 1 per cent or staying unchanged.

More Budget reports to come.

Rakyat

Job credits to save jobs

THE Government will introduce a job credit scheme to help employers keep Singaporean workers.

Employers will be given cash grants to retain local workers on their payroll. These will be paid in four quarterly payments.

The job credits will amount to 9 per cent of the Central Provident Board cuts and will cost the Government $4.5 billion.

Finance Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam said the Government did consider cutting the employers' portion of the CPF contributions but decided against it.

He urged everyone to play a role and make adjustments to get over the economic crunch.

Rakyat

Top-up for workfare payout
LOW-WAGE workers on the Workfare scheme will get 50 per cent more in payout to help them cope with the economic downturn.

A 50-year-old work earning $1,000 a month stands to get $600 more, on top of the $1,200 he recieves from the workfare scheme for work done this year.

This means, he will get a total of $1,800.

Workfare Income Supplement provides incentives for older low wage workers to find work and stay in work, while at the same time helping them to save for their longer term needs.

It complements the changes to the CPF scheme that came into effect on July 1, 2007 where the employer's CPF contribution rate was increased by 1.5 percentage points.

This CPF increase did not apply to older low wage workers in order to help them cope with the effects of wage stagnation and structural unemployment as a result of global competition.

Instead, they received a reduction in employer CPF contributions to help improve their employability and a reduction in employee CPF contributions to increase their take-home pay.

The extra payout will cost the Government $150 million, said Finance Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam on Thursday.

WIS helps older low wage workers to make up for the reductions in CPF contributions. It is contingent on work - which means only those who are already working get to benefit from it. The payout ranges from about $80 to $1,600.

The state has given out $272 million, which works out to an average of about $1,000 per claimant.

Rakyat

40% property rebates

OWNERS of commercial and industrial properties will get a 40 per cent rebate this year.

Finance Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam on Thursday urged landlords to pass this rebate to their tenants and also make it easier for them to pay their rentals.

He said the Singapore Land Authority, Housing Board and Jurong Town Corporation will also give 15 per cent rebate to their tenants for the year of assessment this year.

Property tax for land approved for development will get a two-year deferment until Jan 2011, while private residential projects will get a one-year extension.

The rebates will cost the Govermment $290 million a year.

Rakyat

Scheme to create $11b in loans

THE Singapore Government has announced a new Special Risk-Sharing Initiative (SRY) to stimulate bank lending as part of a $20.5 billion resilience package to fight the ongoing recession.

$5.8 billion will be set aside in FY 2009 to allow a broader segment of domestic enterprises to be able to access financial credit in a scheme that will see the government shouldering a greater risk burden. It is expected to create $11 billion in loans.

Finance Minister Tharman Shanmugaratam said the scheme will encompass a new business loan programme which will see the government increasing its risk exposure from 50 per cent to 80 per cent. Banks will now be allowed to set their own interest rates and loan sizes will be increased.

The scheme will be in operation for one year and cater to loans with terms of up to four years' maturity.

Pointing out that this the first time the government is sharing the risks of trade financing, Mr Tharman deemed it 'the right time for the government to intervene'.

He warned, however, that costs to the fiscal budget are expected as not all loans would be paid up.

ALL they do is to put up some money $ and say that is some education package, protection package and now resilient package.

How come they didn't create certain ways to enhance the quality of its pple so they have the freedom to get to work to jumpstart the economy. Just like those Israelis.Or they just dunno how to do it as they are sinkie themselves.

The pple are still as sinkie as ever. When you put up a dunno how many billion of $, they expect the sinkies to clap and feel good and praise it just because the money amount it in billion $.

I hope what i say isn't true but it seems that way. Very shallow, money can solve all problem mindset.

Everything govt create this , create that. Just like those 3rd world communist.

Please lah.. Let the pple have the freedom to do things themselves lah. YOu think pple are stupid is it, but of course in sinkie context, it sure is. There are still some quality ones, even though many have emigrated.

silverfox@

Everything govt create this , create that. Just like those 3rd world communist.

Please lah.. Let the pple have the freedom to do things themselves lah. YOu think pple are stupid is it, but of course in sinkie context, it sure it but still there are some quality ones, even though many have emigrated.

Only know how to kao peh kao bu. Please give your parents a longer life for goodness sake :rolleyes:

A: I give you an egg.
B: Why the egg so small?

A: I don't think I should give you an egg.
B: nb, why aren't you giving me any egg?

A: I give you a big egg.
B: You give me a big egg also no point.

A: I give you many eggs.
B: You should have fuckin done that long ago.

A: I give you these eggs.
B: Excuse me, these eggs are supposed to be mine, not yours.

A: I give you this tasty egg.
B: eh Hello, how come inside got a bone?

He warned, however, that costs to the fiscal budget are expected as not all loans would be paid up.

Everything is fiscal. All you know is only fiscal. People dunno how to handle their things is it.

Oh your master ask you to come in here again is it.

They also create a fiscal policy for you to lick their balls? Yeah, you need a policy for you to act or else you dunno what to do.

NO wonder SIM From creative, sound out terrible on the way sinkie thinks.

When talks about stupidity, you appear straight away.

Rakyat

Corporate tax cut to 17%

SINGAPORE cut its corporate tax rate from 18 to to 17 per cent for the year of assesment 2010 to boost competitiveness and lure investment to spur job creation.

Finance Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam said this would save businesses up to $400 to 500 million a year in the medium term.

He added that businesses will now be allowed to accelerate the write-down of their capital investments over three years, up from the current period of two years. This is expected to let most companies write down 75 per cent of their investments in the first year.

Mr Tharman said this was designed to help Singapore companies sharpen their competitiveness and prepare for the economic recovery.

'It is a signal of the government's continued and future commitment to being the best hub for enterprises, small and large, from all over the world,' he said.

The tax cut will narrow Singapore's gap with Hong Kong as the government aims to attract investment in services and manufacturing industries.

Singapore had forecast fixed-asset investments to fall this year from a record in 2008 as demand weakens and companies face difficulty in securing funds for their projects.

With Thursday's announcement for a lower tax level, Singapore will has shaved nine percentage points off the corporate tax rate since 2000.

The government reduced rates by 2 percentage points to 18 per cent in 2007. Hong Kong last year lowered its company tax rate by 1 percentage point to 16.5 per cent.

This is the second time in three years Singapore has cut corporate tax rates to boost competitiveness and lure investment to spur job creation amid the island's deepest recession since independence, said Bloomberg news.

silverfox@

Oh your master ask you to come in here again is it.

They also create a fiscal policy for you to lick their balls? Yeah, you need a policy for you to act or else you dunno what to do.

NO wonder SIM From creative, sound out terrible on the way sinkie thinks.

U already hide your tail, run road to thailand become pimp, why you still bother? :rolleyes:

silverfox@

ALL they do is to put up some money $ and say that is some education package, protection package and now resilient package.

How come they didn't create certain ways to enhance the quality of its pple so they have the freedom to get to work to jumpstart the economy. Just like those Israelis.Or they just dunno how to do it as they are sinkie themselves.

Thailand also never do the same thing, why you never fuck Abhisit? Because you give him free blowjobs?:p

http://www.bangkokpost.com/news/local/10078/cabinet-approves-b40-billion-in-tax-cuts
The new package comes on top of a 115-billion-baht stimulus package passed by the cabinet a week ago to counter the economic slowdown in the face of the global recession.

Prime Minister Abhisit Vejjajiva said the new measures would further help ease the cost of living, help small and medium-sized businesses, and stimulate the property market...........

Beside cutting tax, put money here and money there, what else can they do?

oh yes, increase their salary, that is another way of putting money in certain ways.

So sinkies vote for someone to put money here and money there, anyone can do that.

Gosh, that is a 3rd world country, they do things in a 3rd world way. Still you want to compare with ur "First World" sinkieland to a 3rd world country again.

IS your sinkieland 1st world or 3rd world?

So can i say that sinkieland is a self-proclaimed 1st world country while doing things in the 3rd world way?

silverfox@

Beside cutting tax, put money here and money there, what else can they do?

oh yes, increase their salary, that is another way of putting money in certain ways.

So sinkies vote for someone to put money here and money there, anyone can do that.

I thought Thailand also do the same. 40billion baht. Why aren't you complaining:p

silverfox@

Gosh, that is a 3rd world country, they do things in a 3rd world way. Still you want to compare with ur "First World" sinkieland to a 3rd world country again.

IS your sinkieland 1st world or 3rd world?

So can i say that sinkieland is a self-proclaimed 1st world country while doing things in the 3rd world way?

Okay, then why you still bother?:p

Thailand 3rd world mah... They do things in 3rd world manner.

But isn't your sinkieland 1st world? Why compare to a 3rd world country? Compare to Aus, USA lah, why ? too coward?

silverfox@

Thailand 3rd world mah... They do things in 3rd world manner.

But isn't your sinkieland 1st world? Why compare to a 3rd world country? Compare to Aus, USA lah, why ? too coward?

Oh I see. 3rd world people act like this. :rolleyes: You mean you from 1st world become 3rd world?