• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat $15k new designer wear and bags among luggage stolen from VTL tour group in Italy

bobby

1640234104339.png

A shopping trip to Italy turned into a nightmare for a mother and daughter duo when their luggage containing $15,000 worth of new designer shoes, bags and clothing was stolen from their tour bus.

It was the pair's first trip in two years.

They discovered the theft on Saturday evening (Dec 18).

"We reached our hotel in Naples after dinner and were about to check in. It was only when the cargo hold of the bus was unloaded that we discovered that the bags were missing," said Madam Yeo, 50, who declined to give her full name.

Eight pieces of luggage belonging to 12 people on a vaccinated travel lane (VTL) tour operated by Singapore-based agency EU Holidays were stolen from the cargo hold of the bus.

Madam Yeo's daughter, 19, who did not want to be named, said the theft likely took place while the tour group was having dinner.

She said: "The last time we saw our bags was when we departed from Assisi in the morning... The driver stopped at a few petrol stations along the way so that he could refuel and we could use the restrooms. We then had dinner before reaching our hotel."

Another victim, Ms Irene Chye, 57, lamented the inconvenience caused, and said the situation could have been avoided.

She added: "My clothes and medication are all gone, and it's worse because of the cold weather. I think the bus driver should have been more careful to keep an eye on the bus, as the safety of our luggage was entrusted to him."

According to Shin Min Daily News, EU Holidays director Wong Yew Hoong said his company would assist the travellers in making claims against their travel insurance policies. Mr Wong added that the bus operator had also agreed to bear a portion of the loss.

Madam Yeo said this was the first time she had experienced such an incident, adding: "The bus companies should take more precaution on this. I was looking forward to this trip after not having travelled for two years.

"Even though I bought travel insurance, I'll still be losing money - I can claim up to $500 for each item, and some of the bags and shoes I bought cost a few thousand."

An IT professional who wanted to be known only as Mr Chen had one piece of luggage stolen. He was travelling with his family of five.

He praised their tour guide for doing his best to help those affected by the theft.

"He took us to the police station in Naples that same evening so we could report the theft and then took us out the next day to replace our essential items," he said.

The group is currently in Rome, and will return to Singapore on Thursday (Dec 23).

Madam Yeo said she was determined to make the most of the rest of the trip.

She said: "Even though I was still in a state of shock, having lost all of my shopping and my belongings, I followed the rest of the group the next day when they visited the island of Capri.

"It's not like staying in my hotel room will help the situation, so I might as well make the best of what time I still have here."

Madam Yeo said this was the first time she had experienced such an incident, adding: "The bus companies should take more precaution on this. I was looking forward to this trip after not having travelled for two years.

"Even though I bought travel insurance, I'll still be losing money - I can claim up to $500 for each item, and some of the bags and shoes I bought cost a few thousand."
Lol.... good luck claiming for the Hermes whatever. But looking at the small bag i doubt its a Birkin.

bobby

These fuckers must be damn suay....especially when Italy ban SIngapore travelers from 16 December 2021 to 31 January 2022. Huat ahhh !!!!!

There are more exciting things to do in Rome.

For example, wearing a Lazio jersey and go sit with the home fans in the AS Roma stadium.

Daft Sinkies are only into superficial materialistic thrills.

winners

Many years ago when I was at the Milan's Central Cathedral, 2 of my Malaysian colleagues had just landed at the Linate Airport and I had brought them to see the renown Cathedral. When they put down their luggage and started to take some photos, there was a Negro who came along and took some of their luggage. One of us saw it, shouted and gave chase. The Negro panicked, dropped off the luggage and ran straight down into the Metro (MRT) station. I was told by my company staff not to leave valuables in the car when in Milan due to common break-ins, but it seemed that hand carrying them was equally dangerous when left unattended, even for a very short duration. WTF?

At another time when my wife and I were in a Chinese restaurant in London. One of our group member had left his wallet in the restaurant's toilet. He realized it only shortly after the group had left the restaurant. The tour guide immediately called to the restaurant, but the wallet was already gone for good.

Those Scandinavian countries are more honest. As usual, on our trip to see the Northern Lights in Norway, another stupid group member had left his handphone in the hotel's room. He only realized it after about 1 hour since departing from the hotel. The tour guide called to the hotel and the handphone could be retrieved, but we all wasted 2 hours to/fro to the hotel to retrieve his handphone, before continuing our journey again. Of course many of us were not happy as we eventually reached our next hotel for the evening very late. The tour guide had always reminded us everyday before checking out to make sure that all our belongings are double-checked and are with us, but yet this stupid guy had to make this mistake.

nightsafari

Mafia is honorable, they will not disturb tourists. Unless you are disrespectful to them.
that is not true. what do you mean disturb?

theft from tourist is one part, scams where they jack up the rates for tourists oso have. If you mean murder or outright harassment then no they won't, but if there's easy money you can be sure the mafia is part of it.

LordElrond

theft has always been very high in Italy. Almost everyone I know has a theft story.
I personally got pickpocketed in Barcelona though I never believed it would happen to me, so I have some respect for these fast hands european pickpockets

nightsafari

I personally got pickpocketed in Barcelona though I never believed it would happen to me, so I have some respect for these fast hands european pickpockets
I had an Aussie friend kena in Madrid. He said it didn't even take 3 seconds! Fast hands are one thing, but maybe just as impressive is the hand offs that they do. The pickpocket never holds on to the item. Within a minute, it's changed hands 2-3 times.