• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

154th: AssAF Transport is Bery Safe Woh!

Jul 16, 2010

Safety first for army trucks

<!-- by line --><!-- end by line -->
<!-- end left side bar --><!-- story content : start -->
I REFER to Mr Tan Lek Lek's letter ("Banning lorries for transport is wrong"; July 2).
I used to work in a transport unit in the army and there are many safety considerations when it comes to putting soldiers on the trucks and even smaller jeeps.
For instance, all trucks are fitted with seat belts and proper secured benches. They are also covered with a steel superstructure and canvas, which protect passengers against the elements and also minimise the danger of passengers tumbling out in the event that the truck tips over.
In the case of the jeeps, when there is no overhead cover, all passengers and the driver are required to wear helmets. Outside of training and regular operational purposes - for example, National Day Parade rehearsals - soldiers are usually ferried in commercial buses, while the trucks are used for transporting stores.
I think if similar measures were made in the transportation of foreign workers, there would definitely be fewer fatalities on the road.
If businesses can get a big enough van or covered truck with basic safety requirements, such as built-in seat belts and a canopy, there will be savings in the long term, given that the likelihood of employers having to pay compensation to injured workers because of traffic accidents would be sharply reduced.
Shaun Teo

Everyone who serves NS knows that not all will get the seats on the trucks. When the seats are taken up, the rest will squeeze & sit on the floor of the truck.

What safety?

50 smelly recruits squeezed into a 1960s built small mercedes 3 tonner, damn safe i tell u. We got no place to even stand up :D

Everyone who serves NS knows that not all will get the seats on the trucks. When the seats are taken up, the rest will squeeze & sit on the floor of the truck.

What safety?
I thought that nowadays, they take air con buses everywhere they go?

Not really.

For some field exercises in certain ulu areas, still take tonners.
For more 'relac' activities like range, got air-con bus. :)

I thought that nowadays, they take air con buses everywhere they go?

Not really.

Thanks for the clarification.
I always thought that the soldiers look damn silly in the air con buses.

Not really.

pls lah, dont complaint for the sake of complaining. Even thou i already MR, i knew my last few ICTs that all have to be seated on the benchs in compliance with the TSR. That a hell lot different when 50+ recruits in a benz 3 tonner from Tekong camp 3 to the pier for the RPL on friday nite that i experienced in BMT.

Of course having said that, SAF still a dangerous place to be in. Being from armour, i had seen my share of the accidents invloving armoured vehicles over the years. I am glad i come out in one piece and seriously hope the commanders have brain to ignore idiotic orders from higher rank officers. SAF always preach TSR TSR but it also them who ignore TSR when results demand it. My Bionix was relay an order from chief of armour (one star) thru a major to do a mounted assault up a steep slope. The gradient at least 40 degree, while it within the vehicle capablities but it not entirely safe. All of us refused to ride on it on the way down despite being order to. We slowly make our way down on foot despite the excerise still on going. KNN, really shit for brain brigadier.:oIo:

Safety 1st. If think about safety better don't join army or go to war zone. In real war zone 1000 time more unsafe.

Nowadays got seat belts hah?

But seat belts or not, during my time 3 tonners also carried metal store. If accident, kena crushed by the metal store first.

Safety 1st. If think about safety better don't join army or go to war zone. In real war zone 1000 time more unsafe.

Ehh Who want's to 'willingly' do NS :eek:

For male citizens the 2 most hated things about Spore is NS & the 2nd language policy.