• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

9,500 Needy Students & Family Praised Minister Lim For His Charitable Contribution

clinton666

CDAC to sharpen focus to help 67,000 low-income SingaporeansBy Hetty Musfirah Abdul Khamid, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 19 December 2009 1909 hrs

SINGAPORE: The Chinese Development Assistance Council (CDAC) will sharpen its focus so that it can better help needy Singaporeans improve their lives.

The self-help group said on Saturday that it will set aside S$23 million next year to help 67,000 students, workers and their families.

On Saturday morning, 9,500 needy students got ready for school with some help from CDAC. They were each given a S$115 school-ready pack, which includes transport vouchers and stationery.

One of the recipients, Wan Sheng Yong, 11, said: "I feel very happy getting these things. I can save up without buying these things."

More people, including young job-seekers, have turned to CDAC for help to ride out the recession. This year, it has helped 65,500 low-income Singaporeans – an increase of 20 per cent, compared to 2008.

From next year, CDAC said its help schemes will be more targeted.

Minister in the Prime Minister's Office Lim Swee Say, who is also chairman of the CDAC Board of Directors, said: "We will not confine ourselves to just helping them to survive. We will step up our efforts... to help them achieve upward social mobility for the future."

Manpower Minister and chairman of CDAC Education Committee, Gan Kim Yong, said: "Earlier on, our focus was on helping students to pass their exams so that they can progress in their education. We should not just be satisfied with just passing; we have to look at ways to help these students achieve excellence."

The organisation will recruit more volunteers next year to enhance its community outreach and it intends to set up three more CDAC centres by 2012.

Re: 9,500 Needy Students & Family Praised Minister Lim For His Charitable Contributio

I have never seen the Opposition party helping the needy. They are sleeping on the job as always :mad:

Re: 9,500 Needy Students & Family Praised Minister Lim For His Charitable Contributio

I have never seen the Opposition party helping the needy. They are sleeping on the job as always :mad:

Hail ! the PAP, they have the heart for the people....;)

Hallelujah they are finally doing their job.

Elections must be comming :rolleyes:

Praise God!, for the PAP, soon the MP will come bearing gifts like the MAGI, and will be sweeping my corridors, cometh with money, food & presents..

Hellelujah!...did anyone mentioned, sharkfin soup?..

Spastic comments snipped..

Nice try. Elections coming. And nice try for rating your own threads. Let the Orochi army help you. :D

Praise God!, for the PAP, soon the MP will come bearing gifts like the MAGI, and will be sweeping my corridors, cometh with money, food & presents......

We all know that all this baby kissing is only for show lah. Will turn to hikes in prices, MP salaries,... after the elections. :rolleyes:

Anyone dare to bet against this :)

I suggest you learn to read and also get yourself more informed. It's the CDAC that's helping the poor, not PAP.

And for the matter, it is about time. Millions of Chinese makes pseudo mandatory contribution to the CDAC from their paychecks. In my opinion, they should be doing more.

We all know that all this baby kissing is only for show lah. Will turn to hikes in prices, MP salaries,... after the elections. :rolleyes:

Anyone dare to bet against this :)

" A fool and his money are soon parted", I won't dare wager on this!, we all know very well, what cometh next!.

Soon, they will lay claim to all the hard work done, and claim glory & reward...
so, you dare wager!?

Praise PAP is worst than praising Durai of NKF.

It shows nothing but stupidity.

PAP is the thief and can not be appreciated when they attempt to whitewash their sins.

oppositions got access to the state fund meh?

even though citizens in oppositions wards paid taxes? :D

Maybe it's just Christmas? :D

" A fool and his money are soon parted", I won't dare wager on this!, we all know very well, what cometh next!.

How come I have feelings of dejavu when I read this and thinking of Temasek and GIC at the same time? :D

Hail ! the PAP, they have the heart for the people....;)

yeah! they gave plenty heart attacks for the people...not to mention high blood pressure all the time..:D

Praise PAP is worst than praising Durai of NKF.

It shows nothing but stupidity.

PAP is the thief and can not be appreciated when they attempt to whitewash their sins.

Dun like that lah, God forgive all of our sins by sending his only son Jesus to be crucified, shed blood and died for our sins...

Surely you could also forgive them if they are genuine in their repentance?:D

It says the ministar used public funds to spread his propaganda. He never donate a single cent. Stingy bastard.

'Bitch' is more appropriate in this case..

Chao chee bye kia!

CDAC ... zhenghu $? Kor gao gan!

Fuck the PAP to hell
remember to vote for oppositions!

How did they ended up this way? :D

[COLOR="_______"]They keep using the next tier to help the poor farks .

Where is the end to this rainbow ?[/COLOR]