• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

secret societies operated in Singapore in the 1950s and the 1960s

Lumpar

Unfortunately Lim Ban Lim was not as notorious as Oh Kim Tee in the 50s

Lim Ban Lim is well respected by the poor and olds people in those day, why? because he rob the rich and the goverment give it to the poor, if i not wrong.

Ah Guan

These gangsters not only protected the Chinese living within their area of control but provided assurance and safety for all races (including Malays) who lived in the same area too. Such was their principle.

As always, thanks for sharing your stories. Actually more than just a trendy Mak Kor or Chan Hao Nan image in the movies, the first triads were formed because of political ideals to overthrow the tyrannical Qing dynasty.

Exported through coolie labour, they served an important social function for Chinese communities overseas since traditional values of honour, loyalty and respect allowed us to govern ourselves in a foreign land. In the early days of settlement, these associations served the same function of taking care of immigrants - there was no difference between a clan and a triad. Just people coming together to help themselves.

By the way the term 'triad' was coined by the British after their studies revealed the anti-Qing roots of these clans. 天地会 - the trinity of Heaven, Earth and Man = Triad.

snrcitizen

....the first triads were formed because of political ideals to overthrow the tyrannical Qing dynasty.

Exported through coolie labour, they served an important social function for Chinese communities overseas since traditional values of honour, loyalty and respect allowed us to govern ourselves in a foreign land. In the early days of settlement, these associations served the same function of taking care of immigrants - there was no difference between a clan and a triad. Just people coming together to help themselves.

By the way the term 'triad' was coined by the British after their studies revealed the anti-Qing roots of these clans. 天地会 - the trinity of Heaven, Earth and Man = Triad.

Hi Ah Guan,

I do admit I have very little knowledge of the of the origins of triads, much less of the organisation and the workings. Just posted from personal experience.

Thanks for sharing your deeper understanding of them. It's very informative.

sage

Lim Ban Lim is well repected by the poor and olds people in those day, why? because he rob the rich and the goverment give it to the poor, if i not wrong.

You are right. I think his appeal was also his good and decent look which every potential mother in law would not have objected.

allanlee

The gangsters those days may be outlaws but they have a strict code of conduct and principles which every member adheres to rigidly.

The same strict code of conduct and principles that ensured the MIW won their seat in Tanjong Pagar..... I heard the victory was guaranteed by a hakka triad chief nicknamed "Black Fist" whose men had control of the area and the voters..... in return for their help, these group of men were left alone and their activites grew & prospered in tandem with the fortunes of the MIWs..... many have become successful legitimate businessmen while their gangster rivals were eliminated under Sec 55.

Ah Hai

The gangs that take in members through chicken and blood rituals/initiations back in the old days of 1950s / 60s / 70s and goes to town with codes like songs / hymns and finger gestures had their sunset days in 1971/72/73 when ALL the headmen were tracked down and locked up under Section 55.

Ah Hai

The 10 most notorious gangs, according to the Sin MIng / Nanyang Siang Pau / Sin Chew Jit Poh chinese newspapers in 1971/72 (I can't recall exactly as I was still very young but vividly remembered the headlines) were:

1) 18 Seow Gi Ho - Lorong Tai Seng / Silat Rd / Kranji / Tak Ka
2) 18 Sio Kun Tong - Lorong Tai Seng / Kim Tian Rd / Beauty World
3) 24 Loh Kuan - Sago St / Kallang Gasworks
4) 24 Ang Koon - Redhill / Johore Rd
5) Si Tong (Death Gang) - Seah St / Everton Park
6) Sar Ji (3 Letters) - Yio Chu Kang / Teochew St
7) 21 Ang Soon Tong - Nee Soon / Geylang
8) 108 Sio Pek Leng San - Tanjong Pagar / Jln Membina / Naval Base
9) 24 Gi Leng Hor - Redhill
10) 24 Gi Leng Kiat - Beauty World

snrcitizen

The same strict code of conduct and principles that ensured the MIW won their seat in Tanjong Pagar..... I heard the victory was guaranteed by a hakka triad chief nicknamed "Black Fist" whose men had control of the area and the voters..... in return for their help, these group of men were left alone and their activites grew & prospered in tandem with the fortunes of the MIWs..... many have become successful legitimate businessmen while their gangster rivals were eliminated under Sec 55.

So hakka triad chief and hakka PAP chief had an agreement? I scratch your back, you scratch mine and both prosper till today? This is news to me. Wow!

allanlee

...... when ALL the headmen were tracked down and locked up under Section 55.

I beg to differ here..... not ALL were picked up.
Those that were willing to do the dirty work of the MIWs were spared.
Some were recruited into the poodles force as Ang Chia troopers and used to whack the other gangsters :biggrin:

tinyplanet

The 10 most notorious gangs, according to the Sin MIng / Nanyang Siang Pau / Sin Chew Jit Poh chinese newspapers in 1971/72 (I can't recall exactly as I was still very young but vividly remembered the headlines) were:

1) 18 Seow Gi Ho - Lorong Tai Seng / Silat Rd / Kranji / Tak Ka
2) 18 Sio Kun Tong - Lorong Tai Seng / Kim Tian Rd / Beauty World
3) 24 Loh Kuan - Sago St / Kallang Gasworks
4) 24 Ang Koon - Redhill / Johore Rd
5) Si Tong (Death Gang) - Seah St / Everton Park
6) Sar Ji (3 Letters) - Yio Chu Kang / Teochew St
7) 21 Ang Soon Tong - Nee Soon / Geylang
8) 108 Sio Pek Leng San - Tanjong Pagar / Jln Membina / Naval Base
9) 24 Gi Leng Hor - Redhill
10) 24 Gi Leng Kiat - Beauty World

Are these SS still active?

More than 20 years back when I was still a sec. school boy, 50% of the guys in my class "chup" all these SS groups, mainly "24" ... they are "active" in Clementi central, West Coast and Jurong East. Despite all their SS activities, I still mingle around with them sometimes after school and they normally ask me to stand one side and isolate from them when they have any "clash" with other gangs as I'm not a member. Their main issue with other gangs are none other than "staring". Those who went to the A&W fast food outlet at Clementi central will probably recall that this place is design with so many mirrors and as such, lead to alot of staring incidents.

I'm told to be careful when I visit places like Beauty World, Ginza Plaza, Jurong East Interchange as some SS will just try to pick a fight when they see your face buay song.

I'm told to be careful when I visit places like Beauty World, ....

Wahh, years ago used to stay around Beauty World. Didn't know the area had a reputation.

Beauty World long gone, heard there was some sort of fire. Maybe a victim of PAPs urban planning :confused:

Are these SS still active?

More than 20 years back when I was still a sec. school boy, 50% of the guys in my class "chup" all these SS groups, mainly "24" ... they are "active" in Clementi central, West Coast and Jurong East. Despite all their SS activities, I still mingle around with them sometimes after school and they normally ask me to stand one side and isolate from them when they have any "clash" with other gangs as I'm not a member. Their main issue with other gangs are none other than "staring". Those who went to the A&W fast food outlet at Clementi central will probably recall that this place is design with so many mirrors and as such, lead to alot of staring incidents.

I'm told to be careful when I visit places like Beauty World, Ginza Plaza, Jurong East Interchange as some SS will just try to pick a fight when they see your face buay song.

SS gangs continue to exist and the initiation ceremonies are still done but usually in Johor. Their marked territories are still ocasionally changings as one side weakens and other side grows stronger.

Their outward appearences however has changed. Fighting in gang formation and frequency is the biggest change to avoid attracting law enforcement and public attention. They have been in the Ah Long trade for the last 20 years which is more lucrative than protection and customers come to them. They have also learnt to avoid violence but rely on strong arm and harrassment tactics. Protection rackets still continue in the old areas, vice and gambling dens and small niteclubs and KTV joints. They also into Porn DVD and pirated DVD.

The hawkers at maxwell market continue to pack protection money. Banners sgtill appear at gang members funeral. The gang still turn up as a sign of respect at member's funerals.

There are still police supervisees(SS members) who turn up weekly at various police stations as part of the supervsion placed on active gang members and there are gang members that are detained.

Lastly recruitment in the neighbourhoods school continue but confrontation with school authorities have stopped.

In summary, they have learnt to be quieter, confrontational and violent incidents have dropped dramatically but the all the protocol, marked territory and their illegal income is all there.

Ah Hai

His gangs had a shoot out with detectives which they
had trailed him for years, he was a master of disguise.
I think the location is at Geylang, Lorong 40?
He carried 2 guns with him, dubbed 'double gun LBL'
His gangs operated in Lorong Tai Seng.

i think Lorong 40 is a hideout of wanted man Morgan Teo, ( Morgan is a kidnap king ) The house where Morgan was holed up was surrounded by police,who asked the gang to surrender. Teo's accomplices surrendered after no response was made and tear gas lopped into the house. Teo escaped by climbing into a neighbouring house, and fired a single gunshot, which hit police Insp in the head. Two hand grenades lopped at the police also injured another two policemen. police Insp died shortly after in hospital.