• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Alan Shadrake case highlights Singapore censorship battle - BBC News

SNAblog

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-pacific-10849942

4 August 2010 Last updated at 23:54 GMT

Shadrake case highlights Singapore censorship battle

By Rachel Harvey South East Asia correspondent, BBC News

The title of Alan Shadrake's book leaves little room for doubt as to the tone of the content.

"Once A Jolly Hangman - Singapore Justice in the Dock" is a critique of the way the death penalty is applied in the city state. It alleges double standards and a lack of impartiality.

That has prompted Singapore's attorney general to charge the 75-year-old Briton with contempt, arguing that passages of the book "scandalise the Singapore judiciary" and "undermine the authority of the courts".

Mr Shadrake faces a possible jail sentence and a hefty fine if found guilty. He is also under investigation for criminal defamation.

Open defiance

The case has highlighted not just the use of capital punishment in Singapore, but also the broader issue of freedom of speech in a country where dissent is rare.

Human rights groups say the Singaporean authorities too often resort to the courts to silence their critics.

Alan Shadrake, however, shows no signs of staying quiet. He entered Singapore's High Court building for his first hearing holding up two fingers in a "V for victory" salute.

"Freedom and democracy for Singapore," he shouted, as he waited to walk through the security scanners.

Singapore is not used to that kind of open defiance. This tiny state prides itself on being one of the most stable and prosperous nations in Asia.

Gleaming high-rise office blocks nestle with pristinely maintained colonial buildings.

Traffic flows freely. Healthcare is among the best in the world. The air is clean. In fact, everything is clean. Movies are censored. Littering is unheard of.

There is no doubt that, compared to many of their regional neighbours, Singaporeans enjoy a high standard of living.

But critics say there is a price to be paid. People are expected to conform.

It is as if there is an unspoken but clearly understood deal between citizen and state: the system will look after you, as long as you do not question it.

That system has largely been designed by Singapore's founding father, Lee Kuan Yew, and managed by the People's Action Party, the PAP, which has been in power since independence in 1965.

Lee Kuan Yew has formally handed over the premiership to his son, Lee Hsien Loong, but retains the title of "minister mentor".

The government declined the BBC's request for an interview. But Abner Koh was willing to talk. He is a member of the youth wing of the PAP. Over Chinese tea at a riverside restaurant, he made the case for strong leadership and clear rules.

"We have to bear in mind that Singapore is a multi-racial and multi-religious society," he said. "Certain forms of restriction are definitely necessary to ensure harmonious living amongst the different communities in Singapore.

'Speaking up'

But other young Singaporeans are beginning to question the status quo.

Seelan Palay is a blogger, film-maker and political activist. He has just started serving a 12-day prison sentence for unlawful assembly. But speaking before he began his sentence, he said he had no regrets.

"I think life in Singapore would be much better if people started speaking up and standing up for what they believe in," he said.

But doesn't the prospect of a jail term deter you, I asked? "No, it does not," Mr Palay replied without hesitation. "Many others have gone to prison for what they believe in before me. Some of them have been detained without trial for 20 years, 30 years.

"I'm only going to do a 12-day sentence. And I have 10 other open cases which I may also have to go to prison for, so I'd better get used to it."

Mr Palay is a staunch supporter of Alan Shadrake, even going so far as to post the author's bail. Mr Shadrake's case has now been adjourned to allow his defence more time to prepare.

The charges could possibly be dropped if he acceded to the prosecution's request for an apology. But there seems little chance of that.

"I didn't do this to chicken out and say sorry and grovel to them like most Singaporeans have to do, to live a normal life," he told me as he left the High Court.

And somehow it no longer feels like this is just Alan Shadrake's fight. He has become a proxy for Singapore's own internal battles.

no_faith

it is so true.

on one hand, feel happy, sum1 really spoken up seriously on the issue, on the other, it is not the real sgporean who has spoken up.

am still waiting for the outcome of this matter.

bodycells

It is as if there is an unspoken but clearly understood deal between citizen and state: the system will look after you, as long as you do not question it.

This is so true.

butoh6050

it is so true.

on one hand, feel happy, sum1 really spoken up seriously on the issue, on the other, it is not the real sgporean who has spoken up.

am still waiting for the outcome of this matter.

It's good that he is a foreigner. He will bring the issue into international spotlight.
If he is a singaporean, he will be kept in remand and little will be heard from him. The authorities will have plenty to say from .... he being a troublemaker in kindergarden to him surfing porn in the workplace.

cheekenpie

It's good that he is a foreigner. He will bring the issue into international spotlight.
If he is a singaporean, he will be kept in remand and little will be heard from him. The authorities will have plenty to say from .... he being a troublemaker in kindergarden to him surfing porn in the workplace.

No le... Martyn See only gets his films banned, Catherine Lim only kena scolding, JBJ and CSJ can still sell their books....

Maybe when it comes from ang mo is treated as more credible. Thats why must destroy!

saratogas

Come to think of it, Sinkapore have YOG to bring Singapore Brand to the World Stage...

This Case also highlighted Sinkapore to the World. BBC NEWS! Negative publicity is still PUBLICITY.

bodycells

Alan shakdrake also bring sg to the world. Just that his method is not well-liked by the govt hehehe.

Balls2U

Shadrake has got BALLS man! I like this chap! By being prepared to let him off if he apologises is already a double standard in itself, which confirms what Shadrake said in his book!

silverfox@

In thailand, there is les majeste and prepared to be jailed (censorship)
In singapore, you get prosecuted or sued till pants drop. (censorship)

In the US, you get WIKILEAKS :biggrin: (non-censorship)

If WIKILEAKS is in Singapore, ahah, the founder would be in rogue camp by now. :o

wahlaneh

wahlaneh...
that angmoh ought to be hanged also lah.
british guy how can be singaporean?
are we still under british colony?

........Healthcare is among the best in the world. The air is clean. In fact,

"We have to bear in mind that Singapore is a multi-racial and multi-religious society," he said. "Certain forms of restriction are definitely necessary to ensure harmonious living amongst the different communities in Singapore.[/B][/COLOR]

'.

How many citizens can afford this so called "best in the world" healthcare:eek:

The questions I want answers to has nothing to do with race or religion.

It is to do with money: Where is my CPF money:confused: How much did Ho Ching really loose:confused: How much are the MPs really making :confused: Why are there price increases, ....

R

redlightmeansgo

Shadrake has got BALLS man! I like this chap! By being prepared to let him off if he apologises is already a double standard in itself, which confirms what Shadrake said in his book!

Why is there the need for him to apologise? Did he do anything wrong in the first place? Revealing the truth about big men with small pricks is gonna hurt but some one needs to say it.

Balls2U

Caption please!

svLEEKUAN_narrowweb__300x417,0.jpg

r

KuanTi01

Not forgetting that he may have cheated during school examinations or even plagiarise somebody's work!:biggrin::biggrin:

Received_by_Kings

This is my last shot as a tourist in your great country before the next one in zebra outfit holding a number plate as a student in your great maximum security rehabilitation resort. Life is great, and God save the Queen for this tremendous privilege. Thank you.