• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

3RD week as a new migrant in the outback

vassily

just arrived in central qld, what a culture shock!! So different compared to melbourne.People here are not so used to seeing asian. Trying to land a job here is much tougher. Last option will be working for Mac,pay is not too bad-$18 / hr:biggrin:. Any sinkie in Capella/Emerald region?

zuoom

what the local mac per hour here? $4 SGD per hour?

that's over 4.5 times high in Oz than here. super.

Ash007

what the local mac per hour here? $4 SGD per hour?

that's over 4.5 times high in Oz than here. super.

I believe there is something called minimum wage in this country. From what I heard, if you work in Mackers in Perth you can get like $1000 a week there. But be prepared to work in the rural area where its all miners there.

vassily

Its such a beautiful thing-this min wage policy.Back in Sing,workers get abused badly. Talk about the miners here,blue collar jobs paying 80-120k/yr.You need to be a top professional in Sing to earn that.Gonna get myself medically certified and attend all the induction training needed to apply for one of those jobs.:biggrin:

axe168

just arrived in central qld, what a culture shock!! So different compared to melbourne.People here are not so used to seeing asian. Trying to land a job here is much tougher. Last option will be working for Mac,pay is not too bad-$18 / hr:biggrin:. Any sinkie in Capella/Emerald region?

I remembered when I was on the job, I required to prove myself in order to gain recognition and this would give my stakeholders a peace of mind to handle the projects.. Soon, it became a norm for me..

In Australia, I dare say our efficiency and expertise are within the top 20%.. It is good to hear white Australians singing praises of our work.. I have to thank SG for the learning ground.. now I am contributing to Australia.. and gain recognition.. :smile:

plec140

Good on ya mate.
I did a service job in the first few weeks too. Then moved back into professional role that i was doing in singapore. Min wage is good , you can lead a very nice life in spite of your work / position etc.

IWC2006

Why Central Qld? a lot of redneck ppl there.

IWC2006

I remembered when I was on the job, I required to prove myself in order to gain recognition and this would give my stakeholders a peace of mind to handle the projects.. Soon, it became a norm for me..

In Australia, I dare say our efficiency and expertise are within the top 20%.. It is good to hear white Australians singing praises of our work.. I have to thank SG for the learning ground.. now I am contributing to Australia.. and gain recognition.. :smile:

The work here is actually not that difficult, but handling the people here is a different ball game, not easy to be a Manager (similiar to America). Tts probably better to be a specialist then a Manager, the salary difference is not that wide, most of my contractors (specialists) earn more then me even I'm the manager.

vassily

Why Central Qld? a lot of redneck ppl there.

Not by choice,PR given by sponsor scheme.My wife need to work for this company in Emerald for the next 36 mths(torture).Nearest civilization is 3hrs drive to Rockhampton(still redneck country).Now just have to endure for the next 3yrs..sigh.:(

neddy

Not by choice,PR given by sponsor scheme.My wife need to work for this company in Emerald for the next 36 mths(torture).Nearest civilization is 3hrs drive to Rockhampton(still redneck country).Now just have to endure for the next 3yrs..sigh.:(

Good luck to you.
Usually, the dummies will live out in WA remote areas
Eg the prison guard who open the door in the detention room because the prisoner complain hot. Of course, he did a runner and was never re-captured.

Eg an overpaid electrician who somehow mix up the warm and cool settings of an office air-con and insist that he did the right thing.
That is the least problem.
The staff who got this new powerful aircon still complain about the air being cold in winter and hot in summer.
It took a manager from the city just a few minutes to figure out the warm/cool settings mix-up.
The staff were shocked into silence. Maybe they spent too much time skiving under the gumtrees then trying to figure out what happened.
There is nothing wrong with the previous air-con as well. Another dodgy electrican - colourblind?

neddy

Its such a beautiful thing-this min wage policy.Back in Sing,workers get abused badly. Talk about the miners here,blue collar jobs paying 80-120k/yr.You need to be a top professional in Sing to earn that.Gonna get myself medically certified and attend all the induction training needed to apply for one of those jobs.:biggrin:

Thousands of low-skilled construction workers on the massive Gorgon LNG project will each earn about $150,000 a year under a deal which will set a new WA wages benchmark.

Construction union boss Kevin Reynolds said Gorgon tradesmen would become the industry's highest-earning workers in WA and would be on par with the best paid in Australia.

Calculations by the Master Builders Association show the union agreement with contractor Thiess would deliver wages of nearly $3000 a week, including allowances, to semi-skilled employees such as concrete workers and labourers.

Separate calculations by the Australian Mines and Metals Association show qualified tradesmen such as excavators would get at least $160,000 annually.

http://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/a/-/breaking/6839633/gorgon-workers-to-get-pay-bonanza/

axe168

The work here is actually not that difficult, but handling the people here is a different ball game, not easy to be a Manager (similiar to America). Tts probably better to be a specialist then a Manager, the salary difference is not that wide, most of my contractors (specialists) earn more then me even I'm the manager.

Spot on.. I reminded myself, this is what you get if ya in the 1st world. Its ppl must be well-informed.. they asked tough questions and they demand the right answers..

I always leave behind a "yes-no" answer when I am standing in front of the Unions :smile: This give me room to "siam" in worst scenario.. :biggrin: Last year my organisation ended up about 20 court cases to bring the Union to comply to certain issues. My mgt engaged 1 QC and 2 barristers.. LOL !

I'm glad my organisation recognised our hard work and they are giving us something.. My Boss get a Ford Falcon XR6.. and i get to have a Camry.. knn..nb.. Racist !!!:p

vassily

Send out more than 25 jobs applications and still no news.:( Out of desperation sent to Mac as well and they arrange for interview in less than 3hrs.Never dream that i'll be asking people if they wanna upsize their value meals:o
Look on the bright side,$18/hr is still better than a lot of jobs in Sing.No stress too.

IWC2006

Send out more than 25 jobs applications and still no news.:( Out of desperation sent to Mac as well and they arrange for interview in less than 3hrs.Never dream that i'll be asking people if they wanna upsize their value meals:o
Look on the bright side,$18/hr is still better than a lot of jobs in Sing.No stress too.

Don't be despair, just keep looking. There's nothing shame to work in Macdonald especially with a handsome $18 per hr wage.

plec140

aussie's pay rate quoted is before withholding tax of 30%

where did you get that from ? its more like an 20% for most average people ( annual 65-80k).
if you get in excess of 100k i suppose .

http://www.ato.gov.au/individuals/content.asp?doc=/content/12333.htm

Do not waste time with agents , directly approach companies . As long you have worked for your pay , should not matter if it is maccas or macquarie.

fishbuff

welcome to qld!
im not sure what is your specialisation or skill but if u are not afraid of hardwork and daring enough to run your own business such as;
- residential/commercial cleaning services.
- handiwork like painting, fencing, handiwork, gardening, mowing.
- coaching like IT or computing. Heck, any singaporeans has far more competent IT knowledge than those farmers in the outback.
- start your own chicken rice or char kway teow stall??

advertise your service on pinup at shopping centres notice boards, gumtree.com.au or local newspapers. dont be paiseh, paiseh wont earn u a living, and the most people will just say No to your offer of services.

Basically, you wont starve and you earn miserable pay. but u have to be audacious and brave to approach those aussies.

email me if u need any info or help.

Ash007

welcome to qld!
im not sure what is your specialisation or skill but if u are not afraid of hardwork and daring enough to run your own business such as;

You are absolutely right, Australia is the land of milk and honey, just look at the aborigines. Dig some hole in the ground and you get some worms, ants to eat. Scratch on some bark on some tree and you have something to chew on. Walk along the m&d banks and you find some snakes/fish as well. As long as you are hardworking and daring enough in Australia, you won't starve. :biggrin:

n1etzche

dig deep enough, you'll find iron ore, just like twiggy...hehehe

...just look at the aborigines. Dig some hole in the ground and you get some worms, ants to eat. Scratch on some bark on some tree and you have something to chew on. Walk along the m&d banks and you find some snakes/fish as well...