• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Pastor Rony go Phor Kar See temple to say sorry

MarrickG

At least this means Rony is sincere in his apology.

a1-1.jpg

Lighthouse Evangelism Senior Pastor Rony Tan paid a visit this morning to Phor Kar See Kong Meng San Temple (in Sin Ming) to tender his apology to the Secretary-General of the Singapore Buddhist Federation Venerable Kwang Sheng in person over the remarks he made about Buddhism.

Pastor Tan first made the remarks to his congregation about two weeks ago which was video-recorded and uploaded to Youtube where it was widely circulated in cyberspace.

In the three video clips, Pastor Rony Tan was seen interviewing a former Buddhist monk and nun about their experiences with Buddhism and appeared to make some disparaging comments on the tenets of its teachings such as nirvana, meditation and reincarnation.

In the hour long conversation, Pastor Rony Tan made a solemn promise to Venerable Kwang Sheng that the incident will not repeat itself again.

Venerable Kwang Sheng had accepted Pastor Rony Tan’s apology:

“He offered his sincere apologies which we have accepted. After all, we do not wish to see the matter being blown up,” he said.

He also urged the authorities to ensure no repeat of similar incidents as such:

“It is good that the authorities have looked at this matter, but this is a matter of national concern. We want to appeal to the public and the authorities to make sure there is no second time…….Singapore is a multi-religious, multiracial society. There is no point arguing over who is right and who is wrong,” he added.

Singapore Buddhist Lodge chairman Lee Bock Guan urged restraint on the part of Buddhists so that tension does not escalate:

“Buddhism teaches us to forgive; everybody makes mistakes.”

http://forums.asiaone.com/showthread.php?p=368439&posted=1#post368439

Maximilian Chua-Heng

Apologies accepted.

Just one more thing for Pastor Tan to do.

This Sunday ask him to devote his Sunday service to clarify the misconceptions of Buddhist practices & beliefs he had disseminated to his congregation.

观自在菩萨.行深般若波罗蜜多时.照见五蕴皆空.度一切苦厄.舍利子.色不异空.空不异色.色即是空.空即是色.受想行识.亦复如是.舍利子.是诸法空相.不生不灭.不垢不净.不增不减.是故空中无色.无受想行识.无眼耳鼻舌身意.无色声香味触法.无眼界.乃至无意识界.无无明.亦无无明尽.乃至无老死.亦无老死尽.无苦集灭道.无智亦无得.以无所得故.菩提萨埵.依般若波罗蜜多故.心无挂碍.无挂碍故.无有恐怖.远离颠倒梦想.究竟涅盘.三世诸佛.依般若波罗蜜多故.得阿耨多罗三藐三菩提. 故知般若波罗蜜多.是大神咒.是大明咒.是无上咒.是无等等咒.能除一切苦.真实不虚.故说般若波罗蜜多咒.即说咒曰.揭谛揭谛.波罗揭谛.波罗僧揭谛.菩提萨婆诃.

With the reactions like this, I'm sure something would be said about this by him.

Apologies accepted.

This Sunday ask him to devote his Sunday service to clarify the misconceptions of Buddhist practices & beliefs he had disseminated to his congregation.

观自在菩萨.行深般若波罗蜜多时.照见五蕴皆空.度一切苦厄.舍利子.色不异空.空不异色.色即是空.空即是色.受想行识.亦复如是.舍利子.是诸法空相.不生不灭.不垢不净.不增不减.是故空中无色.无受想行识.无眼耳鼻舌身意.无色声香味触法.无眼界.乃至无意识界.无无明.亦无无明尽.乃至无老死.亦无老死尽.无苦集灭道.无智亦无得.以无所得故.菩提萨埵.依般若波罗蜜多故.心无挂碍.无挂碍故.无有恐怖.远离颠倒梦想.究竟涅盘.三世诸佛.依般若波罗蜜多故.得阿耨多罗三藐三菩提. 故知般若波罗蜜多.是大神咒.是大明咒.是无上咒.是无等等咒.能除一切苦.真实不虚.故说般若波罗蜜多咒.即说咒曰.揭谛揭谛.波罗揭谛.波罗僧揭谛.菩提萨婆诃.

cheekenpie

Power la. Got forgiveness from Venerable Kwang Sheng.

Tomorrow can apologize to COMFORT cabs for using taxi driver!

It will be interesting to see what he's going say in the coming Sunday, but i dun think they will hold it, simi excuse leh? Chinese New Year lor, they will open the Church, let his followers give him big big ang baos, huatttt ah!!!!!!! :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

shOUTloud

Sorry hor, this Sunday CNY. No services. Busy visiting friends. Come again after Chap Goh Mei. keke

SneeringTree

I'll be damned if he even half understood this!

TNP(Tua Neh Pau)

Live in Joy

Live in Joy, In love,
Even among those who hate.

Live in joy, In health,
Even among the afflicted.

Live in joy, In peace,
Even among the troubled.

Look within. Be still.
Free from fear and attachment,
Know the sweet joy of living in the way.

~

There is no fire like greed,
No crime like hatred,
No sorrow like separation,
No sickness like hunger of heart,
And no joy like the joy of freedom.

Health, contentment and trust
Are your greatest possessions,
And freedom your greatest joy.

Look within. Be still.
Free from fear and attachment,
Know the sweet joy of living in the way.

from the Dhammapada, Words of the Buddha

TNP(Tua Neh Pau)

Practice for the New Millennium by the Dalai Lama
The Practice:

1. Spend 5 minutes at the beginning of each day remembering
we all want the same things (to be happy and be loved)
and we are all connected to one another.

2. Spend 5 minutes breathing in, cherishing yourself; and, breathing out
cherishing others. If you think about people you have difficulty cherishing,
extend your cherishing to them anyway.

3. During the day extend that attitude to everyone you meet.
Practice cherishing the "simplest" person (clerks, attendants, etc)
or people you dislike.

4. Continue this practice no matter what happens or what anyone does to you.

These thoughts are very simple, inspiring and helpful.
The practice of cherishing can be taken very deeply if done wordlessly,
allowing yourself to feel the love and appreciation that
already exists in your heart.

TNP(Tua Neh Pau)

He should have learnt his lesson. Even if some of us think otherwise, I'm sure he will not do it again as he had openly promised.

vamjok

its abt time ISD ask Tee Kee down to drink coffee as well, prehaps he will tone down too

exSINgaporean

It will be interesting to see what he's going say in the coming Sunday, but i dun think they will hold it, simi excuse leh? Chinese New Year lor, they will open the Church, let his followers give him big big ang baos, huatttt ah!!!!!!! :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

This Sun. he will either call in sick or tell his whole church of 12,000 that he has just convert himself to a Buddist Monk!....after fucking his secretary and Phillipino maid for the last time of course!

What a blood disgrace. Through him non-Christians can see what is being preached inside ALL churches. In one hand they preach love but on the other hteir might GOD committed mass murder in the flood, which only Noah and his family survived. The old testement is believed by the Jews, Muslim and Christians...you see all those wars and terrorists, where they come from?

Their God only created Adam and Eve so if you ask their pastors where are the other humans....they will tell you we are all from Adam and Eve...so we are fucking our own sisters and brothers...incest.....that's why we are "sinful" in nature.

Whereas, in Toaistism it teaches people to be like "water" ... the nature of water flood and changes its shape to the surrounding...thus we change ourselve to survive in different circumstances. It teaches healthy lifestype o fa balanced life and the Yin Yang circle with a dot of different colour reminds us NOT to go to the extreme.

Look at what the 3 religions teaches.....believe me or go to hell. Jesus tells us to love our enemies and yet he said for those who do not "believe" in him is cursed to hell. Not believe in him deserve to goto hell. He contridicts Himself...on one hand "love" and on the other hand "go to hell just bec. people do not believe in him." ...you don't even need to hate Him or be His enemy....just don't believe in Him you will go to hell.

I let you search though the old testament...remember even the Muslims read the old testament...and see for yourself. Read about Jesus and you will know why Senior Bastard R. TAN behave that way...."love you but fuck you to hell if you don't believe."

STUCK_HERE

Apologies accepted.

Of cos, no need you to say that, he knows what to do. Wa low he damn ugly.