• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Scholar Director: Successful Parents Will Have Successful Kids. U Agree?

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR>GOVERNMENT SCHOLARSHIPS
</TR><!-- headline one : start --><TR>Equal chances for all
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><!-- show image if available --></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->WE REFER to Monday's editorial, 'Scholarships and the cut of relative merit'.
Meritocracy is one of Singapore's fundamental values and critical success factors. Every Singaporean, regardless of family background and circumstances, should have full opportunities to realise his potential. But we should not confuse meritocracy, where each succeeds based on his abilities, with affirmative action which seeks to equalise outcomes.
All government scholarships, including those from the Public Service Commission (PSC), are awarded strictly on merit. We encourage students from all family backgrounds to apply. There is no quota, so when two candidates are equally deserving, we never have to discriminate in favour of the student from a poorer background - we give the award to both.

=> Don't lie lah! FTrash cum first. Leftover is for Sporns to fight over!

About half of PSC scholars live in private property, but this is not because the system is unfair or un-meritocratic. One major reason is that they are likely to have able parents who have benefited from our meritocratic system. Successful parents then have children who are also likely to be able. This happens in every society, whether because of nature or nurture.

=> Other societies are transparent and democratic and take care of their citizens first. Why cherry pick again on the excuses to give?

We will do our utmost to give students from less privileged backgrounds as equal a start in life as possible. That is why we invest so much in education - not just in the top schools and universities, but also in all our neighbourhood schools, the ITE and polytechnics. We want every child to have the maximum chance of succeeding.
We have many bursaries and financial assistance schemes, from kindergarten all the way to university. Needy students also receive help to buy computers, attend enrichment programmes and go on overseas exchange programmes.
These schemes have helped many students to move up and do well. No deserving student is denied entry into a top school for lack of money. In short, we seek to level up everyone, not to pull down the successful. In this, we have done far better than many developing or developed countries.
One of Singapore's strengths is that a good number of our most able students, including those from well-off families, see purpose in public service and take up government scholarships. Our challenge is ensuring that outstanding students continue to do so in spite of the many attractive alternatives open to young people today. It would be Singapore's loss, and contrary to our fundamental values, to penalise students for their parents' success and deny capable students scholarships simply because they come from well-off families.
Ms Goh Soon Poh
Secretary
Public Service Commission

Mr Loh Ngai Seng
Deputy Secretary (Policy)
Ministry of Education

madmansg

Ms Goh Soon Poh
Secretary
Public Service Commissi
=========================

aiya no balls to go into private sector say so lar.

Ahemmm....Ms got balls one meh :biggrin:

25B_TEMASEK_wideweb__470x2730-1.jpg

Do u need me to show u mine? *hee*hee*

chinkangkor

One of Singapore's strengths is that a good number of our most able students, including those from well-off families, see purpose in public service and take up government scholarships. Our challenge is ensuring that outstanding students continue to do so in spite of the many attractive alternatives open to young people today.

For the rich, it is the prestige that their sons and daughters go for the scholarships. Try giving out the scholarships without any bonds attached and see how many still see "purpose in public service" and come back to serve.

blackmore

None of these rich kids have the slightest motivation to serve the country anyway. If it is just the prestige , then its a sad for the country as a whole. Most of these White Horses are pack off to a foreign land for education anyway. With or without government assistance; few years down the road with all the decadence . What good will it serve the nation; what leadership will rise from these rots.

Food for thought !

slohand2

[About half of PSC scholars live in private property, but this is not because the system is unfair or un-meritocratic. One major reason is that they are likely to have able parents who have benefited from our meritocratic system. Successful parents then have children who are also likely to be able. This happens in every society, whether because of nature or nurture. ]

By defination, scholarship often refers to financial aid given to a student of academic merit. I think they are mixing up meritocracy with scholarships. Her argument stresses on meritocracy, which is accurate, but she averts the true intentions of scholarships.

It is no great surprise that the more well to do will gain better academic results with their environment and often expensive tuitions. So its a question of nurture, and not necessary nature. I would think means testing here is a must, when you have students with good academic results, their family should be subjected to means testing.

... About half of PSC scholars live in private property, but this is not because the system is unfair or un-meritocratic. One major reason is that they are likely to have able parents who have benefited from our meritocratic system ...
wat a joke! ... wat kind of conclusion is tis? ... ppl live in pte property means dat dey hv benefited fr u? ... :rolleyes:

silverspoon

wat a joke! ... wat kind of conclusion is tis? ... ppl live in pte property means dat dey hv benefited fr u? ... :rolleyes:

ya i agreed...when pple succeed it is because they have good system...when pple failed it is because they are lazy.....

everything also they say one

Wobble

this kind of talk seems very familiar leh.....

macam the old policy of graduate mom able to give birth to better baby right?

siao lang

slohand2

this kind of talk seems very familiar leh.....

macam the old policy of graduate mom able to give birth to better baby right?

siao lang

Its hazy but you are right. In the 70s, part of the Stop at 2 campaign, married women of lesser academic qualifications were encouraged to ligate (sterilize) for a HDB grant. Our current baby bonus scheme were targetted at GRADUATE mothers below a certain age group. Its only now extended to all mothers.

My senior colleague married a young graduate, who bore him 3 sons and he paid very little tax. But guess what, he is now migrated to with his family and non of his sons served NS.

This smells of eugenics, highly lethal form of social engineering.

chinkangkor

I assume when applying for a scholarship, the applicants must fill in his parents details like name, occupation etc. If this is the case, then the selection panel will already know who are the sons & daughters of MPs, permanent secretaries, high ranking civil service and statutory boards officers, ministers, political office holders etc.

The selection panel may have given priority to applicants with such backgrounds, like the white horse scheme in NS, thereby leading to a disproportionate representation of those in pte housing getting the scholarships.

angry_one

Yes this is true. They even see what rank/vocation you are in NS and this may weigh against you.

Another surprise: the PSC applies to the top unis on the scholar's behalf, and WILL get it. If some of these jokers apply on their own, they may not actually succeed.

Scholarships should be converted to national loans, and CITIZENS should apply to top overseas uni themselves for places. Scholarship given to them unconditionally. But must repay at no interest. They are free to work wherever they want. Or a variation is: must come back to sinkapore and work anywhere they wish. Scholarships for foreign scum actually has this condition.

I assume when applying for a scholarship, the applicants must fill in his parents details like name, occupation etc. If this is the case, then the selection panel will already know who are the sons & daughters of MPs, permanent secretaries, high ranking civil service and statutory boards officers, ministers, political office holders etc.

The selection panel may have given priority to applicants with such backgrounds, like the white horse scheme in NS, thereby leading to a disproportionate representation of those in pte housing getting the scholarships.

BlueCat

this is one of the lousiest theory that i heard.
most of those "so call",high calibre or successful people,their kids are horrible.

pia

You know.. the statement "successful parents breed successful children" is very true. I won't refute that.

It's how you define "success". The taxi driver and housewife is successful when they bring up their kids with good values and education. The minister and his career wife bringing up their spoilt brat.. successful? Go figure.

He's a nut because he's measuring success by material wealth alone