• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Ravi to Become 2nd Chia Thye Poh!

Except that Ravi will be locked up in IMH instead of Mas Detention Centre and subjected to pychotic drugs to dull his brilliance and break his will to oppose the wicked Leegime. May the Familee kena struck by lightning or choked to death!

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR>Lawyer's remand at IMH extended
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><TR>Judge says his rights not violated; Ravi insists he is not of unsound mind </TR><!-- Author --><TR><TD class="padlrt8 georgia11 darkgrey bold" colSpan=2>By Khushwant Singh
</TD></TR><!-- show image if available --><TR vAlign=bottom><TD width=330>
ST_IMAGES_KSRAVI02A.jpg

</TD><TD width=10>
c.gif
</TD><TD vAlign=bottom>
c.gif

Ravi, who faces two charges of disturbing a religious prayer session and harassment at a mosque last month, says no lawyer is willing to represent him. -- ST PHOTO: WONG KWAI CHOW
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->FOR over an hour in court yesterday, lawyer M. Ravi fought against being sent back to a mental hospital.
Handcuffed and in the orange overalls of remand prisoners, Ravi, who had already been remanded at the Institute of Mental Health (IMH) for two weeks, insisted he was not of unsound mind.
<TABLE width=200 align=left valign="top"><TBODY><TR><TD class=padr8><!-- Vodcast --><!-- Background Story --><STYLE type=text/css> #related .quote {background-color:#E7F7FF; padding:8px;margin:0px 0px 5px 0px;} #related .quote .headline {font-family: Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; font-size:10px;font-weight:bold; border-bottom:3px double #007BFF; color:#036; text-transform:uppercase; padding-bottom:5px;} #related .quote .text {font-size:11px;color:#036;padding:5px 0px;} </STYLE>Clashes in court - and elsewhere
Sept 12, 2003: High Court judge Woo Bih Li reports M. Ravi to the Law Society for improper conduct.

When representing a client in a capital case, he continues presenting his arguments even after the judge tells him the case is over.

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>He faces two charges of disturbing a religious prayer session and harassment at a mosque in Chinatown last month.
The prosecution had asked that Ravi, 39, be sent to the IMH for psychiatric assessment - a request allowed in criminal cases to determine if the accused is fit to be charged with a crime.
On Aug 18, at the second asking, the prosecution's wish was granted by District Judge Carol Ling.
The case is believed to be the first in recent times involving a lawyer facing criminal charges who has been ordered to undergo a psychiatric examination.
Lawyer Violet Netto, a friend of Ravi, has filed a criminal motion in the High Court challenging his remand at IMH. Ravi also asked for permission to go to the court personally to fix a hearing date.
At yesterday's hearing, Ravi called himself the 'leading human rights lawyer' here and said he could even be a law professor. He also boasted that he was the lawyer who has filed the most criminal motions in the High Court.
Ravi said no lawyer was willing to represent him in his case, telling him that they would rather 'represent a terrorist, but not a politician'. 'Since no lawyer wants to represent me, I had no choice. But now I have the best choice because I have to act for myself,' he said.
He offered to produce a letter from his personal psychiatrist Ken Ung, indicating that he did not require hospitalisation.
Dr Ung of Adam Road Hospital had treated him since 2006 and was in the best position to assess his mental condition, Ravi added.
But doctors at the IMH required more time to assess his mental state, said Deputy Public Prosecutor Lim Tse Haw.
District Judge Victor Yeo said he found that Ravi's constitutional rights had not been violated and extended his stay at the mental hospital for two more weeks.
The judge also instructed the prosecution to check the allegations made by Ravi that police had treated him
roughly and damaged his spectacles and that he did not have food and clean drinking water.
While arguing his case, Ravi promised to 'disobey any unlawful order' passed by the court. But after Judge Yeo's decision, Ravi was led out of the court by his escorts without any commotion.
His case will come before the court again on Sept 15.
The disturbance charge Ravi faces carries a maximum jail term of three years or a fine, or both, while the harassment charge could set him back by up to $5,000 in fines, if convicted. [email protected]

In the name of cost cutting, the Papayas kicked out the true mental patients. Now it's clear that the money saved is used to house political detainees. How wicked can the Familee go?

yellow_people

Ravi truly belongs in a mental institution. So should JBJ. Why fight for a bunch of ingrate Chinese Singaporeans who can't fight for themselves and are soon to become extinct?

yellow_people

Yellow people like you belong to a mental institution.

Not to worry. At 1.07 replacement and free falling despite the slew of incentives (you and i both know it won't work) Yellow ppl the original flavor of course. will become extinct in Singapore in no time at all.

Ravi truly belongs in a mental institution. So should JBJ. Why fight for a bunch of ingrate Chinese Singaporeans who can't fight for themselves and are soon to become extinct?

66%: KNN! Say I stupid! Kok u with my coolie rice bowl then u know! *hee*hee*

Kid278

Haiz...my sympathy for him...it's a shame they had to fix him in such a way.:( Anyway, what goes around comes around.:p

Cheers.:biggrin:

Wow, bro.... your words are truly wise... up you lah...

cass888

Except that Ravi will be locked up in IMH instead of Mas Detention Centre and subjected to pychotic drugs to dull his brilliance and break his will to oppose the wicked Leegime. May the Familee kena struck by lightning or choked to death!

Brilliance cannot be attributed to the ramblings of a mad man.

A

Alu862

At least he isn't that mentally unsound to wear nothing to court