• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Impose Sugar Tax got use meh

rambo22

just like sg very high cigarette tax

our sg ppl also boh hue

so Sugar Lee ran out of ideas

encourage ppl to ride bicycle

do you know that if a guy cycle too much

his Lam Par will become bigger

ownself kena prostate cancer also want others to kena

Sugar Lee, Sugar Lee

u really mo lan yong

Like that, I buy 1 kg of fine sugar I have to pay tax....might as tax salt too....tax rice too, for it increases your blood sugars, not only taking sugars..carbo...then have carbo tax...tax all the shops that sell sugar drinks, plus the dessert shops...

Might as well, like cigs....Shops & Supermarkets , can do not display them....you want, you ask...ha ha ha....soon, you cannot smoke anywhere, use sugars, drink liquor.....etc...might as well....go cut my foreskin...and change my name to ALI!

The amount of sugar added into drinks is ridiculous. Sugar makes u fat! Stupid ppl think buying non-fat items means its all good!

Better drink more kopi while you can. Next year, the prices will go up once the sugar tax kicks in.

Otherwise, switch to drinking more chink tea like I do.

hofmann

Like that, I buy 1 kg of fine sugar I have to pay tax....might as tax salt too....tax rice too, for it increases your blood sugars, not only taking sugars..carbo...then have carbo tax...tax all the shops that sell sugar drinks, plus the dessert shops...

Might as well, like cigs....Shops & Supermarkets , can do not display them....you want, you ask...ha ha ha....soon, you cannot smoke anywhere, use sugars, drink liquor.....etc...might as well....go cut my foreskin...and change my name to ALI!

Not being able to smoke all over the place is a good thing. The Japanese have adapted well to it.

Sugar in moderation helps enhance flavour. But 40g of sugar in a single soda drink is ridiculous. 8 bloody teaspoons of sugar. That's just insane. And what's worse is seeing morbidly obese individuals chugging away at can after can of soda.

Sugar is a short cut for the beverage industry (amongst others) to get people to pay for flavoured water. Water costs almost next to nothing for 330ml. But add in 8 teaspoons of sugar and you charge $1 for 330ml of water . (Bottled water is another big con, but that's for another time)

Liquor is here to stay so don't fret. Anything to numb the masses will not be fiddled with. Just like TV. (Hence we tolerate piracy at the consumer level - how are the poor huddled masses going to entertain themselves if not for bittorrent?)

If sugar is repriced accordingly, then we would consume less of it . In fact (not fake news) the sugar industry paid for studies to shift the blame for obesity to fats many decades ago. So in a way, the truth is only now coming out.

It's always about money in the end.

garlic

Being a sinkie is tough, need to do mozzie wipeout, be a conserve-water hero, conserve-energy warrior and now cut sugar as well.. on top of being a move-in molly blah, blah, blah... and procreate little sinkies..

Semaj2357

Better drink more kopi while you can. Next year, the prices will go up once the sugar tax kicks in.

Otherwise, switch to drinking more chink tea like I do.
price will increase regardless, as was the recent water increase where the cuppa went uppa :wink:

Sugar tax got use. .as a revenue raiser....which is basically wat pappie is After . Ok I will be the devil's advocate on this. I realise alot of food producers just add huge amount of sugar n salt to make things tastier. N sell better. Alot of snacks n beverages..even stuff that is healthy etc is turned bad due to high salt n sugar. Look at those 3 in one coffee etc...it's tastier because huge amounts of sugar is added. There are no incentives to change n improve. If this sugar tax is done in conjunction with putting pressure on producers to improve it's ok. For example soft drinks no need soo much sugar but they add more than needed to get you hooked...of sugar is reduced to X amount by y percent etc. The tax is reduced in the less sugar item...so the classic softdrink will cost more.

I remember one article that highlight a beverage maker saying I cannot just reduce sugar..the taste affected. This tax will force producers to change. I do see some changes in coffee mix where by less n no sugar varieties are available but there is more to do.

The amount of sugar added into drinks is ridiculous. Sugar makes u fat! Stupid ppl think buying non-fat items means its all good!

Does mee siam mai hum know that EATING RICE CAUSES DIABETES too?? now only sugars making one overweight? & age, is another factor for type 2 diabetes....the pancreas, as we age, age too...90% of people gets type 2 diabetes...pregnancy can cause diabetes too...in some or most woman, it is a risk....

So, it is not only SUGARS...you can "ask" the drinks manufacturer to reduce sugar contents...but how about the likes of Coffee Beans? Bao Bao Cha & all those what nots, "cha" shops?, the many mushrooming desserts shops...??

So, where, do we start?

It's all about money right?

If i make the food and drinks less sweet, can i earn more? No right?! Maybe kena complain somemore for lack of taste!

gingerlyn

if you go to supermarket, u notice that unsweetened food is more expensive then sweetened food.
what is the logic?
unsweetened soya bean drink is more expensive than sweetened soya bean drink.
pls tell me why

gingerlyn

if you go to ahkoon, kopi-o kosong is same price as kopi-o.
if sugar is expensive, why dont customers get 10cent discount when buying kopi-o kosong instead of kopi-o?

rambo22

if sugar is expensive, why dont customers get 10cent discount when buying kopi-o kosong instead of kopi-o?

later sugar will be more expensive

all thanks to our Sugar Lee

rambo22

If smoking is bad, why don't ban cigarettes? haha....

If gambling is bad, why build casino?

If sg ban both then most cars owners must take mrt liao

ERP rates will be $20 at every gantry