• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious The Curious Cases of Lucy Davis, Thum Ping-Tjin, Ben Bland

gatehousethetinkertailor

Embedded within this reflective piece (by another Singaporean born academic) on the Kusama exhibition and civic engagement by academics is a discussion on the fate of Lucy Davis who had her PR cancelled after living here for 14 years seemingly following her death penalty activism and the apparent blacklisting of Thum Ping-Tjin - it also touches on the space for civic engagement but such outlier thinkers in 2017 Singapore:

"Lucy Davis, an artist and writer. Lucy moved from the UK to Singapore with her parents in 1980, aged ten. She attended CHIJ and then UWC before leaving Singapore, from 1989-97, for university in the UK and Denmark.

In 2002 Lucy was appointed assistant professor at NTU, and became a Singapore PR under the NAC’s Arts Talent scheme. She grew to become a fixture in our local arts scene.

I first became acquainted with Lucy’s work when I saw Ten Storey Jungle Fowl, a 3-D mixed media piece that is a commentary on modernity, development and ecology in Singapore (see bottom of this post). It is set along the green corridor at Tanglin Halt, next to a lovely old town and food centre in the process of being redeveloped.

Better known is her Migrant Ecologies Project. “One investigation involved tracing the historic, genetic, material and poetic biographies of a 1930’s teak bed found in a Singapore karang guni store, back to a location in Southeast Asia [Sulawesi] where the original teak tree may have grown using DNA tracking technology.”

All very interesting stuff.

In 2006, upon Lucy’s return to Singapore from an arts conference in Cairo, she was told that her PR re-entry permit had expired and she would henceforth be given only a probationary one-year re-entry pass.

Over the next few years, she remained in residency purgatory. In 2013, she lost her PR; and in 2016, after 11 years as assistant professor at NTU, even her employment pass renewal was rejected.

Lucy had first fallen for Singapore as a ten-year-old and had lived here for more than twenty years. Yet, over the course of fourteen years, Singapore downgraded her from PR to foreigner who cannot work here.

Why? It could be because of her death penalty activism—she co-organised and participated in arts activities on the subject. It could be because in 2003 she was one of several artists and animal-lovers, including current MP Louis Ng, who attempted to rescue street cats during a SARS-related cull.

"Nobody knows for sure. And so Lucy joined the long line of artists, writers, academics and social activists, local and foreign, forced to leave Singapore. They are many. But we rarely hear about them because they have actually done nothing wrong; their only crime, often, is having unacceptable political views.

So foreigners like Lucy are booted out; locals like Thum Ping-Tjin, a Singaporean academic, are effectively barred from employment here. Singapore is left only with those people the PAP finds agreeable.

Yes, of course national security threats, like (we are told) professor Huang Jing, should be dealt with appropriately. But kicking out people simply because one political party doesn’t like them? That cripples us artistically and intellectually.

For all our recent championing of the arts, one must wonder: is this really a global city in which tomorrow’s Yayoi can thrive?"

"On banned artists, academics, writers. Thum Ping-Tjin is a fairly famous historian in Singapore. Donald Low and I were delighted that “PJ” could contribute a chapter to a book we co-authored, Hard Choices: Challenging the Singapore Consensus. His chapter, “The old normal is the new normal”, which illustrates the startling similarities between 1950s Singapore and today’s Singapore, is one of our favourites.

PJ has told me that he has been blacklisted by universities in Singapore, most probably for his revisionist historical views. As we know, it is folly to challenge the official PAP narrative (unless you bag a few Eisners along the way…).

OxleyGate exposed the stupidity of keeping somebody like PJ out of the country. During the entire saga, Singapore’s much vaunted policy and journalistic cabal failed to produce much intelligent, deep analysis. Instead it was left to PJ, based thousands of miles away in the UK where he can work, to give the most articulate and candid breakdown, on camera to Reuters.

There are too many others to mention all. You probably know about Cherian George. You probably don’t know about Ben Bland. Ben was a freelancer in Singapore in 2008-09. He wrote for, among other publications, The Economist and The Straits Times. I had just started freelancing for the former at the time, and so found out that Ben’s visa renewal had, after a year, been rejected. No reason given.

Most people suspect it is because Ben wrote for the Asia Sentinel, a supposedly taboo publication. And so, just like that, Singapore lost a very good journalist who has, for the past few years, been writing beautifully for the Financial Times.

Just not in Singapore. Shame
."

ScreenShot2017-08-12at8.31.08PM.png

ScreenShot2017-08-12at8.31.37PM.png

ScreenShot2017-08-12at8.32.27PM.png

ScreenShot2017-08-12at8.32.40PM.png

ScreenShot2017-08-12at8.32.57PM.png

ScreenShot2017-08-12at8.33.22PM.png

ScreenShot2017-08-12at8.33.38PM.png

ScreenShot2017-08-12at8.34.16PM.png

ScreenShot2017-08-12at8.33.51PM.png

https://sudhirtv.com/2017/08/10/yayoi-kusama-in-singapore/

If this women has been PR for soo long. Why dont she take up shitizenship? If she no intention to stay..than this cancellation has done her a good thing by encouraging her to go back earlier. And death penalty is a good thing for serious crimes and supported my majority of singkies and goes beyond politics. She is not a citizen and should not impose her left wing bleeding heart liberal garbage agenda where there is no interest locally. And for those countries that outlawed death penalty...they are regretting it now due to cost of life sentences...rise of violent crime...and keeping those that have no hope of rehabilitation alive.

Below is what I wrote to Ben Bland in 2009 in this forum when he lost his EP. Lucy did not get the message when she got the probationary re-entry in 2006. She lost her PR in 2013 and ask her what she did in 2012. Chua Beng Huat would have the answer behind Lucy's case. There are no-go zones for non-Singaporeans.

"Dear Ben

The old man detained/restricted Chia Thye Poh for 32 years ( including house arrest, a house that they chose on Sentosa) without trial . Longer than Mandela. That tells you how vindictive a person can be.

By the way, Asia Sentinel used to carry articles for Chee Soon Juan and SDP.

The day old man dies, you will see Singaporeans that you have known for sometime suddenly finding the voice to express their actual feelings.

Early this year Viswa Sadasivan, newly appointed NMP read the signals wrongly and tried to redirect attention to the Singapore Pledge. Old man fell on him like a ton of bricks. Viswa who was shortlisted for PAP MP and placed in SPH for a while but missed out did go on to chair the Government Feedback Body for years. The bulk of his consultancy work are for Govt bodies and GLCs. Even someone as close to the PAP for years can misread the signals. So you are in good company when the label dumb and ignorant was used.

Many years ago, the country Manager of the 2nd biggest bank in the world, met with MAS Mgmt to discuss a rather abrupt ruling to reduce credit card lines to 2 months of monthly income. As it was done in Oct/Nov and likely to impact Dec travel for obvious reason, he sought an extension. Expecting a robust discussion, he was told that the instruction came from the top and it was pointless discussing. When asked what would happen if the deadline was not met, they replied that his visa will be cancelled.

Here is the short summary of what you can do in Singapore - you can screw the chicks to kingdom come, you can even hire someone for 50 cents a day as there is no minimum wage laws here, you can even get a maid and with the full backing of the law confine her in your house and make her work 7 days a week with no break, you can even bring relatives and friends from anywhere in the world and displace locals in any vocation except driving taxis, you can even yell at a local, you can even jump queue if locals are ahead even in trendy restaurants but you must never associate with adversaries of the old man."

Below is what I wrote to Ben Bland in 2009 in this forum when he lost his EP. Lucy did not get the message when she got the probationary re-entry in 2006. She lost her PR in 2013 and ask her what she did in 2012. Chua Beng Huat would have the answer behind Lucy's case. There are no-go zones for non-Singaporeans.

There was are no go zones for Singkies too..but those art pieces are garbage. This sort of rubbish art is only good in ang mor lands...

It had to do with LGBT issues not art. Incoming expats are told of no go zones by the embassies and company relocation event even if its means just associating with the wrong Singaporeans. There is a reason why Alex Au has gone quiet. They will take it out on his foreign friends.

Agree on the art.

There was are no go zones for Singkies too..but those art pieces are garbage. This sort of rubbish art is only good in ang mor lands...

gatehousethetinkertailor

Thank you for the additional information - for the benefit of anyone else who may be wondering what had been discussed then: https://singsupplies.com/showthread.php?44092-Asia-Sentinel-Loses-A-S-pore-Correspondent-Ben-Bland

ScreenShot2017-08-13at10.56.29AM.png

As for the role of CBH in the LD saga any pointers?

It had to do with LGBT issues not art. Incoming expats are told of no go zones by the embassies and company relocation event even if its means just associating with the wrong Singaporeans. There is a reason why Alex Au has gone quiet. They will take it out on his foreign friends.

Agree on the art.

LGBT should be a non issue. It's is illegal and will never be condone. Faggots here are not frayed or persecuted. And being a faggot is not normal and should Never be encouraged. But right now these faggots want everything etc and insult the rest. This is a good example of the tyranny of the minority.

steffychun

LGBT should be a non issue. It's is illegal and will never be condone. Faggots here are not frayed or persecuted. And being a faggot is not normal and should Never be encouraged. But right now these faggots want everything etc and insult the rice. This is a good example of the tyranny of the minority.

like Hannah Winterbourne and Chelsea Manning

borom

If this women has been PR for soo long. Why dont she take up shitizenship? ..............She is not a citizen and should not impose her left wing bleeding heart liberal garbage agenda where there is no interest locally..........

On the same line of thinking, then why should PR's be allowed to buy HDB flats and enjoy subsidised education and other benefits?
Why should 1st generation PR's and many new citizens be exempted from NS?

CBH can be considered the conscious of our society. After the incident with HDB he has more or less focused on academia and he is one of our leading lights in academia without question. Note his age. He however acts as coordinator of sorts for events that pushes the boundaries for participants on social issues and political issues. These can be seminars, books, etc. "Path Not Taken" is an excellent example of his endeavour where key individuals were brought in to handle key issues where lapsed time has allowed sensitivities to subsidise. It answers gaps in our historical narratives and he sure picked the right folks.

Circa 2012 LGBT influence peddling and pressure groups started to get involved with outsiders and they also have a history of out reaching out to political leaders. When outsiders start getting close to locals expats alarm bells start ringing and some of these outsiders have other agenda. Unfortunately activism is also fad and if you become religious on one cause, you end up involved in other causes. Its amazing how small groups who are highly secretive about its members have even met Shanmugam in his office. Sayoni which some consider predatory by some quarters is an example. So naturally outsiders like to hook on to them. CBH events also becomes convenient mousetraps for the Intelligence services.

The Intelligence Services have to write a tome before someone is shown the door or old man plain did not like someone. Its usually the former.

Its usually a culmination of a series of events and sometimes the impacted person has little idea what happened.

As for the role of CBH in the LD saga any pointers?

gatehousethetinkertailor

CBH can be considered the conscious of our society. After the incident with HDB he has more or less focused on academia and he is one of our leading lights in academia without question. Note his age. He however acts as coordinator of sorts for events that pushes the boundaries for participants on social issues and political issues. These can be seminars, books, etc. "Path Not Taken" is an excellent example of his endeavour where key individuals were brought in to handle key issues where lapsed time has allowed sensitivities to subsidise. It answers gaps in our historical narratives and he sure picked the right folks.

Circa 2012 LGBT influence peddling and pressure groups started to get involved with outsiders and they also have a history of out reaching out to political leaders. When outsiders start getting close to locals expats alarm bells start ringing and some of these outsiders have other agenda. Unfortunately activism is also fad and if you become religious on one cause, you end up involved in other causes. Its amazing how small groups who are highly secretive about its members have even met Shanmugam in his office. Sayoni which some consider predatory by some quarters is an example. So naturally outsiders like to hook on to them. CBH events also becomes convenient mousetraps for the Intelligence services.

The Intelligence Services have to write a tome before someone is shown the door or old man plain did not like someone. Its usually the former.

Its usually a culmination of a series of events and sometimes the impacted person has little idea what happened.

Thank you for the background.

Annunaki

Why must every fucking foreign troublemaker be in some way linked to fat fuck Kirsten han and Killiney Kopitiam Daughter in law Jennifer Teo.

IMG_5347.JPG

On the same line of thinking, then why should PR's be allowed to buy HDB flats and enjoy subsidised education and other benefits?
Why should 1st generation PR's and many new citizens be exempted from NS?

Yup that is why such discriminatory policies against true blue Singkies should end. PRs should never have access to public housing.

steffychun

Don't be an academic lah, doesnt help you life or others.

In any case, see if you can get a job in many countries if you campaign against this and that. Chances are you wont. Hint, some one who drew butt-fucking pictures.