• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Malays angry with Masagos over not supporting for Tudung debate in parliament

duluxe

faizal-masago.jpg

By Alfian Sa'at

Are we not sick already of the way certain issues are debated in Parliament? The raising of the perennial 'tudung issue' has become some kind of weird tussle for legitimacy--as representative of minority rights-- between opposition MP Faisal Manap and PAP MP Masagos Zulkifli.

Masagos seems to be an advocate for closed-door, behind-the-scenes deliberations, which is another name for elite governance. (Who gets invited to these sessions? How do we know that the supposedly representative committee that is assembled is not a rigged public?) Faisal believes that public debate is important, and seems to have more faith in ordinary Singaporeans being able to think through an issue that involves religious freedom, secularism and occupational requirements.

Of course, in all the rhetoric about how an issue is 'sensitive' or 'divisive', one avoids addressing the issue altogether. So let's start from the beginning. Some Muslim women wear the hijab in public. It is important to note that this does not only consist of a head-covering but also clothes which conceal the whole body with the exception of the face and hands. This is an important point because any modification of uniforms to accommodate the hijab will mean introducing long sleeves and long pants to replace short sleeves and skirts.

Why do they wear the hijab in public? If you live in the US and watch nothing but Fox News, you would think that it is because they were pressured to do so by their brothers and fathers, who believe that a woman's modesty is a commodity to be perpetually guarded. But if you live in Singapore, you will know that there is a high degree of autonomy practised by those Muslim women who choose to wear a hijab. And two of the reasons often cited might be counterintuitive to those who think of the hijab as some kind of patriarchal constraint: comfort and freedom.

'Comfort' does not only mean physical comfort, but also the psychological and spiritual comfort that one feels by doing something which one thinks is consonant with one's religious teachings. (And here we must also make space for women who are equally comfortable with *not* wearing the hijab, because they don't think it is dissonant with religious teachings.) And 'freedom' is often freedom from the kinds of gazes and judgments that seek to objectify a woman's body—from the way her hair is styled, to the tanlines on her shoulders, to the hair on her arms or legs. It is a way, for some people, of unplugging from pernicious body standards, or a gentle request that one is evaluated on the basis of something other than mere appearance.

The picture is of course a lot more complex than above. Why is it that young, single women wearing the hijab can sometimes signal that they are suitable prospects in the marriage market, or at least advertise for the kinds of partners they seek? (Clue: not the abang-abang havoc.) And why do some hijab-wearing women wear make-up if the aim is to deflect male attention? An answer would be: because they are not nuns. The interesting thing about the hijab is that it occupies a space of reconciliation between the clerical and the worldly. We associate the wearing of headdresses with those who have taken clerical vows, such as nuns with their wimples. Veiling is often a strategy to retreat from the social and secular, and to concentrate on self-cultivation.

The hijab then affords a compromise between a spiritual turning-inward and a projection of a public self, and in a sense speaks of that lack of distinction, in Islam, between a ‘person of God’ and a ‘person of the world’. (Something outsiders sometimes have difficulty understanding, when many religions have a separation between the clergy and lay believers). And this is why this particular religious garb also manifests itself as fashion, in an explosion of colour and styles.

There have been concerns about how the wearing of the hijab was never as widespread ‘in the past’, and how its ubiquitousness is hence a sign of growing conservatism, and even worse, separatism. Well, in that past, the place for women was in the domestic sphere, where husbands were supposed to be sole breadwinners and women were expected to stay at home. However, over time, more women were receiving education and entering the workforce in larger numbers than before.

In that navigation between traditional gender roles and modern economic pressures, the hijab afforded some women an unprecedented measure of mobility. Rather than being a manifestation of conservatism, the hijab was these women’s answer to conservatism, a response to the voices of elders insisting that the home is the only safe place for women, their fears about ‘improper’ interactions in work environments. It was a form of negotiation with modernity and again, a way of being free. While the primary reason often cited by women for wearing the hijab is a religious one, it’s also useful to look at its sociological dimensions.

I realise only too acutely that I stand accused of speaking on behalf of women who wear the hijab. The choice to wear (or not wear) it is a deeply personal one, and there is something coarse about subjecting such choices to any form of scrutiny. But I really feel that we need to counter those prevalent modes of thinking that sees the hijab as a tool of patriarchal oppression, or as segregationist rejection of mainstream clothing norms, or as fierce assertion of a resurgent Islamic identity. There are women among our fellow citizens who choose to wear the hijab when they are out in public, or in their working environments. It makes them feel comfortable, secure, peaceful and at ease with themselves. What can we do, as a multicultural, multireligious society, to respect that choice and ensure their wellbeing?

This post was first published on Alfian Sa'at's Facebook page

duluxe

SDP EX-CHAIRMAN: MALAY COMMUNITY CANNOT TRUST MASAGOS ZULKIFLI ANYMORE!

images.allsingaporestuff.comJufri_Mahmood_Masagos_Zul-ab58bb626caa7bf4a86cf1b361ae59293280337e.jpg

Facebook post from SDP ex chairman Jufri Mahmood.
(Translated from Malay in origanal post)

I thought as a Muslim Minister, you would be more understanding of the aspirations of the Muslimahs in this issue.
I thought you would give more hope and have more opportunities to convince the Government that this is a very important issue to the very community you are representing.
I thought you are more devout than the colleagues and friends in your little group.
Never would I have thought that you had a knife all along, and you stabbed us in the back.
You are truly manipulative.
How could you!

KUSANGKA SEBAGAI SEORANG MENTERI BERAGAMA ISLAM KAU LEBIH MEMAHAMI ASPIRASI KAUM HAWA KITA DALAM ISU INI.
KUSANGKA KAU AKAN MENCERAHKAN LAGI PELUANG UNTUK MEYAKINKAN PEMERINTAH TENTANG PENTINGNYA ISU INI KEPADA MASYARAKAT YANG KAU SEPATUTNYA MEWAKALI.
KUSANGKA KAU LEBIH WARAK DARI RAKAN-RAKAN DALAM KELOMPOKMU.
SEDIKIT TAK KU SANGKA KAU BAWA BERSAMAMU SEBILAH PISAU DAN MENIKAMKU DARI BELAKANG.
KAU SUNGGUH UNSANGKARABLE.
SAMPAI HATIMU!

MyMother

Why are they debating over this kind of nonsense?
Those who wear or don't wear is their business, are we a muslim state here?

garlic

I dont give a flying rat's arse who wears what headgear as long as they are comfortable and dont die from heatstroke, but i can tell you minahs wearing nothing is one of the best views... more often than not, they are clean-shaven and always up for an itch-soothing bonk, with a nice, rounded ass.

Why are they debating over this kind of nonsense?
Those who wear or don't wear is their business, are we a muslim state here?

agreed this is a matter of religiousness and should not be debated by the secular,the unholy and the foul.what happened to seperation of church and state,is the government going to decide whats best now even for GOD?

does the government dictate whether the fuckein chinks should burn incense and kim chua for their buddhist or taoist gods or not?in fact thats a bigger issue to me than whatever the fuck the muslims wants to wear.

shit why dont the government decree that all fuckein chinks should wear pigtails and ques and submit to the manchu dynasty and the son of heaven,

already i can hear the sounds of fuckeins slapping their sleeves and kowtowing.

Fuck what tudongs. All go naked. That's the best.

Then again if you allow tudongs, the idea of uniform is out of the window. We r not a Muslim country why must we agree to any thing of another religion ? If u agree to allow tudong what happen if a request come to say one day must stop work five times for prayers ? Do we stop the world for them ?

Not happy can fuck off to mudland up north.

shittypore

Fuck what tudongs. All go naked. That's the best.

Then again if you allow tudongs, the idea of uniform is out of the window. We r not a Muslim country why must we agree to any thing of another religion ? If u agree to allow tudong what happen if a request come to say one day must stop work five times for prayers ? Do we stop the world for them ?

Not happy can fuck off to mudland up north.

The modern Singh dont wear Turban in the Army, its his choice. Col Janjit Singh wore one and did many others. No fucking off, Spore belongs to Sinkies.

ChineseDog

agreed this is a matter of religiousness and should not be debated by the secular,the unholy and the foul.what happened to seperation of church and state,is the government going to decide whats best now even for GOD?

does the government dictate whether the fuckein chinks should burn incense and kim chua for their buddhist or taoist gods or not?in fact thats a bigger issue to me than whatever the fuck the muslims wants to wear.

shit why dont the government decree that all fuckein chinks should wear pigtails and ques and submit to the manchu dynasty and the son of heaven,

already i can hear the sounds of fuckeins slapping their sleeves and kowtowing.

Good job my fellow Chinese dog. All we chinks must wear pigtails and submit to the manchu dynasty. I have my pigtail hairstyle and so should you to show that you are a lowly chink like me! :p

Lots of respect for Alfian but he got it wrong about Malays and Tudung. He was however right about the role of Parliament and the nonsense that Masagoes is spewing. It is indeed an issue for all Singaporans and Parliament is the right place. Masagoes should have the balls to clearly the position the reasons why which most Singaporeans would agree.

Alfian's comment about Tudung being a deep personal choice is BS. Its the dress of the Arabs and has nothing to do with Malays or their culture. The tudung, hijbab etc have become a political tool for deviants. The locals are pressured to don it in order for community acceptance. Besides being foreign, one must be remarkably gifted to argue that it fits our weather and climate.

Faisal is playing the race cards here. He has raft of other issues, many are of immediate concern and Tudung is not one of them. Again he is seeking community acceptance.

UltimaOnline

Zhun Zhun! Esp on Alfian's naïve thinking, and Faisal's ulterior motive.

You must spread some Reputation around before giving it to scroobal again.

Lots of respect for Alfian but he got it wrong about Malays and Tudung. He was however right about the role of Parliament and the nonsense that Masagoes is spewing. It is indeed an issue for all Singaporans and Parliament is the right place. Masagoes should have the balls to clearly the position the reasons why which most Singaporeans would agree.

Alfian's comment about Tudung being a deep personal choice is BS. Its the dress of the Arabs and has nothing to do with Malays or their culture. The tudung, hijbab etc have become a political tool for deviants. The locals are pressured to don it in order for community acceptance. Besides being foreign, one must be remarkably gifted to argue that it fits our weather and climate.

Faisal is playing the race cards here. He has raft of other issues, many are of immediate concern and Tudung is not one of them. Again he is seeking community acceptance.

But if you live in Singapore, you will know that there is a high degree of autonomy practised by those Muslim women who choose to wear a hijab. And two of the reasons often cited might be counterintuitive to those who think of the hijab as some kind of patriarchal constraint: comfort and freedom.

What a load of rubbish by m&d oppie Alfian!

We know that local m&ds take their religious and bumi cues from mudland. If mudland becomes more religious and intolerant, our local m&ds follow closely behind. m&ds in the past hardly wore hijabs and everyone was happy. My impression of Muslims decades ago was much better than it is today even though most muslim women didn't wear hijabs.

Today, many muslims, including locals, have been radicalized. Intolerance, hatred for non-Muslims, especially towards Jews, Christians, Westerners and Americans are becoming the norm.

UltimaOnline

You must spread some Reputation around before giving it to JohnTan again.

What a load of rubbish by m&d oppie Alfian!

We know that local m&ds take their religious and bumi cues from mudland. If mudland becomes more religious and intolerant, our local m&ds follow closely behind. m&ds in the past hardly wore hijabs and everyone was happy. My impression of Muslims decades ago was much better than it is today even though most muslim women didn't wear hijabs.

Today, many muslims, including locals, have been radicalized. Intolerance, hatred for non-Muslims, especially towards Jews, Christians, Westerners and Americans are becoming the norm.

gatehousethetinkertailor

By your logic then Islam is just the religion of the Arabs so should similarly not have encroached on Hindu Nusantara? The tudung/hijab is a piece of cloth that is meant to encourage modesty (not force it). Certain Meditarranean and Central Asians communities also have a similar concept of modesty for women (eg. Greece and Cyprus so it is not particular only to Muslims). I suggest to have a look at photos of the Gulf Arabs at the turn of the century in particular the women - they looked nothing like what they do now in terms of dress - it was not a sea of white and black in the Gulf states (again the label Arab is generic and inappropriate to use in such a wide-brushed manner so let's be specific).

Also note that the Arabs of Yemen do not dress like the rest of the Gulf states except for Oman (which is not a Sunni state). I agree that the enforcement of the notion of increased religiosity to show adherence to faith is the issue here - even Faisal's declaration that as a Muslim father it is a dear matter is hogwash as it stems for an interpretation of responsibility that is misplaced when applied to minors.

Anyway your point about the weather here is also silly - the weather in the Gulf is much more brutal than Singapore. In actuality the Gulf Arabs don white and black as it distinguishes them as locals/natives from the foreigners and for cultural reasons - the sheyla is also a cultural manifestation which varies in presentation depending on tribes and where you may be (look at the girls in Bahrain who are very influenced by the lowering the sheyla half-way down their heads in emulation of the styles of Iranian girls (who are not Arabs)). Again it is not done for strictly religious adherence but for their tribal/cultural requirements. This is the part that the locals in Singapore/Malaysia just don't understand and grasp.

Unfortunately no matter how much one tries to inform the local Muslims here they just don't see it because they have never been there or lived there for prolonged periods of time. They live in la-la-land thinking that just because they are Muslims they will be embraced and celebrated when they are in those societies - nothing is further from the truth. Also if you are around Orchard Road you will see Gulf Arabs dressed quite liberally in Westernised clothes with a colourful tudong - it amuses them to no end to see local Malays dressing in black abayas and tudungs and men in white thobes when it has nothing to do with their inherent culture.

I don't disagree with Alfian completely as he is not being dishonest that there is pressure in the local Malay community for girls to don the hijab and some do in order to liberate themselves somewhat - again it is a generalisation to think each one is doing it for that same reason. But it is a perspective of some. The advent of the internet has also changed everything. No longer do you need to go to the mosque to learn about your faith - just look at your phone and videos aplenty but you can also be easily misinformed because laziness typically means you accept at face value without checking the source of information. One seller of hijabs said there are multitudes of women who regularly watch Youtube videos to try and out-do one another in terms of how they tie their hijabs and it is a fashion thing. Again, some not all.

The rise of the hijab has also coincided with the militancy of those requiring halal only cafes and restaurants. Look at the queues outside the new burger bar opened by Fat Boys in Arab Street - a smart move for him to team up with Sheikh Haykel and going Halal by not diluting his original brand equity.

You will note especially if you are in the vicinity of Little India that the majority of women wearing black abayas are the South Indians Muslims - a rather quiet community that have been wearing the black abaya for years without making a song and dance about it as it is their community identity.

By your logic then Islam is just the religion of the Arabs so should similarly not have encroached on Hindu Nusantara? The tudung/hijab is a piece of cloth that is meant to encourage modesty (not force it). I suggest to have a look at photos of the Gulf Arabs at the turn of the century - they look nothing like what they do now - it was not a sea of white and black in the Gulf states (again the label Arab is generic and inappropriate to use in such a wide-brushed manner so let's be specific). Also note that the Arabs of Yemen do not dress like the rest of the Gulf states except for Oman (which is not a Sunni state). I agree that the enforcement of the notion of increased religiosity to show adherence to faith is the issue here - even Faisal's declaration that as a Muslim father it is a dear matter is hogwash as it stems for an interpretation of responsibility that is misplaced when applied to minors.

Anyway your point about the weather here is also surprising - the weather in the Gulf is much more brutal than Singapore. In actuality the Gulf Arabs don white and black as it distinguishes them as locals/natives from the foreigners and for cultural reasons - the sheyla is also a cultural manifestation which varies in presentation depending on tribes and where you may be (look at the girls in Bahrain who are very influenced by the lowering the sheyla half-way down their heads in emulation of the styles of Iranian girls (who are not Arabs)). Again it is not done for strictly religious adherence but for their tribal/cultural requirements. This is the part that the locals in Singapore/Malaysia just don't understand and grasp.

Unfortunately no matter how much one tries to inform the local Muslims here they just don't see it because they have never been there or lived there for prolonged periods of time. They live in la-la-land thinking that just because they are Muslims they will be embraced and celebrated when they are in those societies - nothing is further from the truth. Also if you are around Orchard Road you will see Gulf Arabs dressed quite liberally in Westernised clothes with a colourful tudong - it amuses them to no end to see local Malays dressing in black abayas and tudungs and men in white thobes when it has nothing to do with their inherent culture.

I don't disagree with Alfian completely as he is not being dishonest that there is pressure in the local Malay community for girls to don the hijab and some do in order to liberate themselves somewhat - again it is a generalisation to think each one is doing it for that same reason. But it is a perspective of some. The advent of the internet has also changed everything. No longer do you need to go to the mosque to learn about your faith - just look at your phone and videos aplenty. One seller of hijabs said there are multitudes of women who regularly watch Youtube videos to try and out-do one another in terms of how they tie their hijabs and it is a fashion thing. Again, some not all.

The rise of the hijab has also coincided with the militancy of those requiring halal only cafes and restaurants. Look at the queues outside the new burger bar opened by Fat Boys in Arab Street - stroke of genius for him to team up with Sheikh Haykel and going Halal by not diluting his original brand equity.

You will note especially if you are in the vicinity of Little India that the majority of women wearing black abayas are the South Indians Muslims - a rather quiet community that have been wearing the black abaya for years without making a song and dance about it as it is their community identity.

same debate was raging in christianity over a thousand years ago when women were instructed to don "head covering" in line with jewish practice. the dubious pauline doctrine and position then was that women caused angels to rebel and fall and thus must cover their heads to stop the temptation and prevent wholesale rebellion in heaven. it was then modified much later to allow women to simply wear a piece of cloth over the heads. the jewish version is about reverence to authority of men and elders plus the refrain from exposed hairdo (as jewish women had flowing locks) and immodest revelation of cumfuckme face and other bodily flesh. jewish elders were also required to don headwear in reverence of yahweh in which they serve. in very old fashioned orthodox or conservative churches these days, women are prevented from entry if they don't wear some form of headgear. i encourage them to wear a bicycle helmet with go pro camera mounted.

whoami

Sikh can wear turban in civil service. Even exempted fm wearing helmet. No issue n no hoo haa here n tere.

Ya Al murtad Duluxe bayi sing happy sia...

Sikh can wear turban in civil service. Even exempted fm wearing helmet. No issue n no hoo haa here n tere.

Ya Al murtad Duluxe bayi sing happy sia...

Actually, do they really care if the minah is covered or not?...as long, as "you know where" is not covered...that is ok with one & all...wasting parliament time over such silly thing..