• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Zikapore Officially A Welfare State! Triples Social Expenditure To S$34 Billion!

tan-chuan-jin-handing-out-vouchers-to-residents-in-bedok.jpg

Mr Tan Chuan-Jin, Minister for Social and Family Development, giving out vouchers to needy residents in Bedok (Photo: BBTC)

SINGAPORE: The Government’s social expenditure in areas such as housing, healthcare, education and community development almost tripled from S$12.7 billion in financial year 2006 to S$34 billion in FY2016, revealed Finance Minister Heng Swee Keat on Thu (Mar 2).

“We introduced major schemes to open up multiple pathways to success for all, provide assurance in key areas of need and strengthen social safety nets,” said Mr Heng in his round-up speech after three days of Budget debates.

“In education, we significantly enhanced the quality, affordability and accessibility for all across all levels, from preschool to tertiary. In housing, we increased housing supply and housing subsidies. In healthcare, we enhanced Government subsidies across all care settings,” he described.

“We will continue to refine our social policies and study new ideas and suggestions.”

Mr Heng then emphasised the importance of community, noting. “Even the strongest social safety nets are no substitute for the caring hearts and helpful hands of neighbours.

“The Government will do more by helping to create the right supportive environment to encourage community efforts where everyone plays a part,” he said.

He noted that that the Community Network for Seniors has reached out to more than 15,000 senior citizens or 40 per cent of seniors in Singapore via its three pilot sites.

Acknowledging a growing spirit of enterprise in the social sector, Mr Heng said: “I hope that over time, there’ll be more enterprising Singaporeans in community organisations that start ground-up initiatives and make significant social impact.

“Last year, we introduced Our Singapore Fund and piloted the Business and IPC (Institution of a Public Character) Partnership scheme to encourage more businesses to organise their employees with volunteers and provide services to IPCs.”

Budget 2017 provides additional funding through the Voluntary Welfare Organisations Charities Capability Fund (VCF) to support such efforts, he said. “By building many overlapping networks of community self-help and Government support, we build a more caring and inclusive society and one resilient to weather change in whatever forms it takes.”

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news...iture-in-last-10-years/3562294.html?cid=FBcna

greedy and cunning

SINGAPORE: The Government’s social expenditure in areas such as housing, healthcare, education and community development almost tripled from S$12.7 billion in financial year 2006 to S$34 billion in FY2016, revealed Finance Minister Heng Swee Keat on Thu (Mar 2).

just say say only can or not ?
he got give u break down of the 2016 allotment ?

Many were surprise that foreigners are getting subsidised housing, education, $ from the PAP gov't.

So how much of this increase $$$ is actually going to Sporeans vs the poor foreign talent that the PAP are importing into Spore?

Ralders

Many were surprise that foreigners are getting subsidised housing, education, $ from the PAP gov't.

So how much of this increase $$$ is actually going to Sporeans vs the poor foreign talent that the PAP are importing into Spore?

Johnny u got take a look at the whiners thread n see how it starts

I thought there are no poor, no needy people in Sinkingtothefloor? Haven't they over the years, kept singing..."we have no poor" & we have the "SWISS STANDARD OF LIVING"..'YOUR ASSETS HAVE BEEN ENHANCED"...now, suddenly, we find so many needy.

In the past, people feel ashamed to seek help from "hock lee pour"..aka "social welfare"...nowadays...we see so many poor things, that the government have to give vouchers for them to survive, pay for their electricity, pay for their conservancy fees...have they ever pause & think, it is these people who are giving out all these...are costing them a lot of money in direct & indirect tax....??

What they receive is not FREE...they already paid for them, for being alive..you wake...you pay taxes...the needy, need to know....but they don't care...

they really spent 34 billion a year on welfare?divide by 5.5 million thats $6000 per person.lets say we cut off the top 30 percentile,the bottom 70 percentile gets welfare thats 4 million people thats $8000 per person welfare.....

why dont they cut the bullshit and give everyone $8000 basic income or welfare check a year?dont tell us its spend on this subsidy and that,or this infrastructure or that,most of it probably goes into ur cronies pockets.

just think how many people's lives will improve just by having $8000 welfare check a year.

bigboss

Just like the liberals in USA pressing for Govt financial assistance for illegal immigrants, pappies are more or less liberals in granting public transport concession fares and providing HDB rental flats to foreign aliens (permanent foreign squatters). Surely, social expenditures will shoot up. No wonder foreign aliens love pappies.

The PAP is spending far too much on welfare. Singapore is on the slippery slope towards whole swathes of society being dependent on welfare for survival.

The end result is a lazy, unmotivated and unproductive citizenry who are so used to getting something that they don't even bother looking for work anymore.

The photo speaks for itself. The very fact that those old sods display no shame whatsoever being publicly paraded for political ends says it all. None of them look needy either.

Haven't you seen videos showing bus loads of these poor old sods herded into pens and food being distributed within the pens? Some political rallies they call it, some fanfare and hot air I say.

The PAP is spending far too much on welfare. Singapore is on the slippery slope towards whole swathes of society being dependent on welfare for survival.

The end result is a lazy, unmotivated and unproductive citizenry who are so used to getting something that they don't even bother looking for work anymore.

It is a show...have you not read 'ANIMAL FARM"??....or watch the movie "SOYLENT GREEN"...they are preparing the old foggers for the "furnace"...the "blind old lemmings"...are not aware of what they getting into...

"SOYLENT GREEN IS PEOPLE"....after the desalination plants...it will be FOOD RECYCLING plant...so, these old foggers, will be SOYLENT GREEN!..

greedy and cunning

the usual rationale being trotted out in justification : welfare make people lazy ,
a waste of public fund , the rich supporting the poor.
yet most countries have a welfare system to provide support to their citizens.
norway and switzerland are good example.
if welfare makes its citizens unmotivated and unproductive ,
norway and switzerland should be bankrupt and crumpling many years old.

greedy and cunning

they really spent 34 billion a year on welfare?divide by 5.5 million thats $6000 per person.lets say we cut off the top 30 percentile,the bottom 70 percentile gets welfare thats 4 million people thats $8000 per person welfare.....

why dont they cut the bullshit and give everyone $8000 basic income or welfare check a year?dont tell us its spend on this subsidy and that,or this infrastructure or that,most of it probably goes into ur cronies pockets.

just think how many people's lives will improve just by having $8000 welfare check a year.

:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin: - good clear thinking man.

they can't give you $8000
because they said it is 34b
but actual amount used is much much less.
if that amount is distributed to everyone
it would be like $80 or $800.
34 billions is just said said only lah.

norway and switzerland should be bankrupt and crumpling many years old.

They are crumbling. Norway relied on oil reserves for it's prosperity. The collapse of oil prices has left the economy in tatters.

The Swiss are struggling too after the swiss franc peg was removed. Almost 8% of the population live in poverty.

by foreigners you mean non malays?malays got nothing and their kampung land acquired cheaply for hdb flats so ironiclally, forced to share their land with foreigners. so much for special privileges.

shittypore

by foreigners you mean non malays?malays got nothing and their kampung land acquired cheaply for hdb flats so ironiclally, forced to share their land with foreigners. so much for special privileges.

Yet the Malays are the true supporters of PAP, deserved to be screwed.

greedy and cunning

They are crumbling. Norway relied on oil reserves for it's prosperity. The collapse of oil prices has left the economy in tatters.

The Swiss are struggling too after the swiss franc peg was removed. Almost 8% of the population live in poverty.

and do u have prove that this is caused by the welfare system ?
8% of swiss live in poverty due to welfare ?