• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Shit useless SAF creates another anti-terrorist unit, Hen says our borders are porous

SINGAPORE: The Singapore Armed Forces (SAF) will form a new unit, called the Army Deployment Force (ADF), to sharpen Singapore's ability to combat terrorism, said Defence Minister Ng Eng Hen on Thursday (Jun 30).

The Army Deployment Force will be a battalion-sized unit comprising highly-trained regulars with niche capabilities, able to respond to terrorist threats in an urban setting. They are also expected to complement other SAF task forces such as the Special Operations Task Force (SOTF) and the Island Defence Task Force (IDTF), Dr Ng said in an interview.

"The basic task for the Army Deployment Force is a rapid response element because speed is important in counter terrorism. It's really not quite like conventional missions where you have time. This time you have to respond in minutes," the minister said.
The first batch will be inaugurated on Jul 12, he added.
Additionally, Dr Ng said the Defence Science and Technology Agency (DSTA) will set up the National Security Centre, and this will help coordinate counter-terrorism efforts between MINDEF and MHA.

RESPONSIBILITY IS TO BE READY

Dr Ng illustrated a scenario where multiple terrorist attacks take place, and the ADF's role is to surround an affected area to contain the armed attackers. They will be equipped with assault weapons like the SAR 21 and the 870 MCS, as well as the Peacekeeper Protected Response Vehicles, for their mission, he said.

Meanwhile, the SOTF will close in to neutralise the attackers and rescue hostages, if any, he added.
Dr Ng said these task forces will support the Home Team agencies, which will be the first to respond in such events.
"As we have agreed with MHA, that there may be situations where the SAF may be called in. And it may not be sequentially, it may be at the same time, because you are able to assess the threat that you have multiple areas of attack. For example, with what happened in France," he said.
Besides dealing with terrorism, the ADF has other functions such as assisting the IDTF in civil contingencies like mass evacuations and to enhance domestic security. For such operations, soldiers will be equipped with pistols and tasers as well as the Protected Light Utility Vehicle, the Defence Minister said.

The ADF can also be activated for overseas missions in areas like humanitarian assistance and disaster relief, as well as peace support operations that involve aiding in reconstruction efforts, Dr Ng noted.

Selected National Servicemen (NS) units will be trained to operate alongside the ADF, so that they can be part of the response team, the Minister said.

Dr Ng said setting up the ADF is part of SAF's continuing efforts to ramp up the Republic's counter-terrorism capabilities in light of the growing threat. At this year's Committee of Supply debate, he had announced that more SAF units will be trained to take on a wider range of security tasks such as conducting deterrence patrols in populous areas.

INTERNATIONAL COOPERATION NEEDED

The Defence Minister also raised concerns about "lone wolf" terrorists and the Islamic State (IS). He said even if IS is neutralised, it does not mean that the threat level will go down; in fact, the threat level may worsen.

"Why? Because you have a thousand or more foreign fighters from this region that have gone there. If IS is weakened there, they will come back. So this is a problem that will confront us easily for the next two decades," he explained.
He added that porous borders between countries make it easy for terrorists to smuggle weapons and form small training enclaves.
This is why the fight against terrorism requires international cooperation, Dr Ng said.
For example, Singapore and Australia have announced they are deepening military ties through initiatives such as building a training facility in Australia that is 10 times the size of Singapore. The facility will allow Singapore troops a place to train over the next 25 years, focusing on honing their capabilities in operating in an urban setting as well as counter-terrorism operations.
"It will mean many more training opportunities for NS soldiers. But we want to have realistic training and we need to have a good training facility. So, on the cards are combined arms live firing range, which means you have the ability to fire in concert to test the scenarios where both artillery, air force, Apaches, armour and infantry can fire," the Defence Minister said.
This collaboration comes under the Comprehensive Strategic Partnership, which Singapore signed with Australia in May this year.
Dr Ng also noted that Indonesia, Philippines and Malaysia are looking to conduct joint patrols in the Sulu Sea, and Singapore will join if invited as this is also in the Republic's interest.
He added that Singapore has offered its Information Fusion Centre - an initiative started by the country's navy - as a resource for the joint patrols.

Re: Shit useless SAF creates another anti-terrorist unit, Hen says our borders are po

We have a very long and extensive coastline.

Re: Shit useless SAF creates another anti-terrorist unit, Hen says our borders are po

We have a very long and extensive coastline.

Yes, that is true. Its long and extensive so as to discourage sinkies from swimming away to a better life.

Dont worry they will only b deploy to protect the l337 where got time to feed mossie. That part is mpa's job.

ng eng hen is creating a CS:GO task force?

i suggest building a wall to make our borders less porous.

actually the whole of sinkapore is one big conscripted army,so why need terrorism unit?our army not good enough to fight terrorists?just give every ns men a carbine and 4 magazines....got any terrorist attack just chiong ah!!!!!!mass shootout in hdb flats.

Bonut

Yes, that is true. Its long and extensive so as to discourage sinkies from swimming away to a better life.

If a limp m&d could swim across the Straits of Johor under the watchful eyes of our Home Team, I don't see why sinkies can't swim away to a better life.

so did Mas or one of his khakis go for another walk:confused:

If I remember correctly they let this terrorist walk out of his jail cell:biggrin:
So how would another anti-terrorist unit prevent this:confused:

They obviously have idiots committing honest mistakes in the gov't.

steffychun

ADF why copy Australia's excellent defence force?

Bonut

If I remember correctly they let this terrorist walk out of his jail cell:biggrin:

"I thought the member would eventually come to this question ....even the member has not suggested that I should resign because I appointed WKS....a line has to be drawn and we have to see this in perspective....

...let me ask the member if he thinks the DPM ought to resign because of this.....1 sec, 2 sec, 3 sec ......no answer ? So I think that settles the point."

greedy and cunning

ADF why copy Australia's excellent defence force?

to justify their grossly excessive salary
once in a while
they need to come out with some new idea to placate
the silly , the dumb , the ignorant

to justify their grossly excessive salary
once in a while
they need to come out with some new idea to placate
the silly , the dumb , the ignorant

By creating another shit useless chiak liao bee "anti terrorism unit", it creates an opportunity to install a few SAF scholars in there, and also it means they must buy new equipment and go on many free trips to Europe and US to study anti terrorism methods. Its basically a pork barrel unit benefit the shit useless PAP cronies.

crazyMod

Looks like a fun job!

Trained to get ready to shoot terrorists!

If I am younger by 10 years, I would have sign on SAF!

If a limp m&d could swim across the Straits of Johor under the watchful eyes of our Home Team, I don't see why sinkies can't swim away to a better life.

The swimming over was a myth concocted to buy time, so that, they can come up with another excuse to hide the truth that, they are still solving the mystery.....the limping matt....went over in a sarong kebaya....settled down way south of Johor doing gardening...before he was found ...

Did this "hen' buy a fleet of well stocked & equipped ambulances.....for these 'terrorists' are much hardened than the ah nehs rioters.....

No lah!...MSK took two coconuts & a bevy of beautiful minahs....& 'floated' out of jail & into johor..

crazyMod

pourous is good!

it helps sweat to evaporate faster and thus we can cool down easily.

steffychun

The swimming over was a myth concocted to buy time, so that, they can come up with another excuse to hide the truth that, they are still solving the mystery.....the limping matt....went over in a sarong kebaya....settled down way south of Johor doing gardening...before he was found ...

Did this "hen' buy a fleet of well stocked & equipped ambulances.....for these 'terrorists' are much hardened than the ah nehs rioters.....

Mas became Hannah Winterbourne

24D2D89400000578-0-image-m-12_1421630775057.jpg

That's how he/she escaped.

Why don't SAF and Minister Hen explain how much it will cost to set this jiak liao bee unit up. We already have so many anti terrorist units in singapore. What's wrong with the SOF? Same people who did the SQ hostage rescue years ago.

Maybe someone can add to the list.

We have :

1) SOF
2) STAR
3) Police Tactical team
4) Police Tactical Unit
5) Gurkha integrated anti terrorist unit
6) Special Operations Command
7) Now the ADF

Am I missing anything?