• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Goh Choon Phong - The man who is destroying SIA

garlic

Anybody shorted SIA shares? If not, then read every one's wise comments here with a grain of salt, all are just Captain obvious.

nayr69sg

Staff member
Anybody shorted SIA shares? If not, then read every one's wise comments here with a grain of salt, all are just Captain obvious.

Yeah this forum is FULL of "No action talk only" (NATO) people. And this forum also tends to be anti-government and even anti-singapore. And most of the people spouting this are SINGAPOREANS themselves.

Back to the point of NATO people, can see why they stay in Singapore being unhappy and all they do is talk ie kpkb no action.

sadshishamo

Yes ESND....you are basically correct. The younger pilots in SIA are a mix of former SAF pilots, ab initios and inexplicably foreigners ( but thankfully not so many).

Many of the ex Airforce pilots move into commercial flying these days ....you see them in SIA, Scoot and even more so in Silkair and Jetstar. A large group of them led by Ronal Lim even plied their trade overseas.

Regarding the big loss recently, to be fair to SIA, I recall that it included a fine of $132 million that was imposed by the EU on SIA cargo for being involved in cartel activities. The operational loss for that quarter was actually in the region of $6 to 8 million.

The landscape is very difficult these days with the Chinese and Middle Eastern airlines and Air Asia providing very strong competition. Their costs are very low and in the case of the ME airlines their pockets are very deep. SIA has got to go another round of improving efficiency and holding costs down which may include reviewing crew management. In this area SIA may still be carrying some fat as compared to the other legacy carriers.

Goh Choon Phong may not be as charismatic or as visible as his predecessors but he is actually doing quite well as evidenced by him turning around the fortunes of the budget arm of the Group.

Scoot, Tiger and Silkair are doing okay but the parent airline itself has to fight hard against fierce competition....but I think another revamp may be in the offing.

SIA's golden days of the 70s and 80s appear to be gone and are unlikely to return but I think they will still be there in the mix with the other airlines for many many more years. The middle class of China , India and ASEAN is growing and they love to travel and tour. That translates into a huge new pool of passengers that can keep airlines afloat.

saf pilots not automatic sia pilots, and sia pilots not many saf (fighter) pilots. they are hiring cheap, young, and good from other cuntries. where is our sadharshimo to verify this?

ckmpd

If lack of representation is so bad, why are shareholders so stupid still holding on to SIA stocks? Shareholders are free to sell their stock if they don't like it. Obviously things are still good in SIA. Don't listen to all the naysayers trolling on the internet. :smile:

Obviously you are not familiar with the SG market

TH is using CPF money to manipulate share prices in SIA, DBS, Kep Corp SCI, SPH, etc. These are the companies it has major shares. These manipulation works for a short while but cant be sustained in a prolonged recession like in 2008.

Better to know the industry and the company you want to invest in and to go back to its fundamentals.

Right now, the airline industry is bad, SIA is bad. I want to see how long TH can support SIA's price

ckmpd

Yes ESND....you are basically correct. The younger pilots in SIA are a mix of former SAF pilots, ab initios and inexplicably foreigners ( but thankfully not so many).

Many of the ex Airforce pilots move into commercial flying these days ....you see them in SIA, Scoot and even more so in Silkair and Jetstar. A large group of them led by Ronal Lim even plied their trade overseas.

Regarding the big loss recently, to be fair to SIA, I recall that it included a fine of $132 million that was imposed by the EU on SIA cargo for being involved in cartel activities. The operational loss for that quarter was actually in the region of $6 to 8 million.

The landscape is very difficult these days with the Chinese and Middle Eastern airlines and Air Asia providing very strong competition. Their costs are very low and in the case of the ME airlines their pockets are very deep. SIA has got to go another round of improving efficiency and holding costs down which may include reviewing crew management. In this area SIA may still be carrying some fat as compared to the other legacy carriers.

Goh Choon Phong may not be as charismatic or as visible as his predecessors but he is actually doing quite well as evidenced by him turning around the fortunes of the budget arm of the Group.

Scoot, Tiger and Silkair are doing okay but the parent airline itself has to fight hard against fierce competition....but I think another revamp may be in the offing.

SIA's golden days of the 70s and 80s appear to be gone and are unlikely to return but I think they will still be there in the mix with the other airlines for many many more years. The middle class of China , India and ASEAN is growing and they love to travel and tour. That translates into a huge new pool of passengers that can keep airlines afloat.

Ronald Lim failed big time in his personal life.

ckmpd

Yeah this forum is FULL of "No action talk only" (NATO) people. And this forum also tends to be anti-government and even anti-singapore. And most of the people spouting this are SINGAPOREANS themselves.

Back to the point of NATO people, can see why they stay in Singapore being unhappy and all they do is talk ie kpkb no action.

People here may not be happy with PAP but many are happy with their lives. Like me, many are here just to speak the truth and share what they know abt the pap. You must not think that you know them better than they know themselves. Dont think they are unhappy with their lives just because they speak against the pap. If you are objective, just evaluate what they say and whether they said the truth. Dont have to insinuate or character assassinate when you lose ur argument.

Be gracious in defeat and congratulate those who tore you to shreds. Admit they are better prepared than you and you dont have to be a sour grape. By being sour, it shows your lack of character

Try to do better the next time you pick a fight with forumners here.

Happy learning and be humble

Satyr

direct roundtrip flight from sfo to sin for $699 how not to book? not just the low price, but service remains great. if i ask for white wine i know i get good bordeaux white. if i ask for red wine i know i get good bordeaux red which is usually a combo of cabernet sauvignon and merlot. on united flight for the same route i face fat and old attendants and scowling cheebye faces. only gay male attendants are friendly as they like to attract male passengers. all other cabin crew members are unionized holdouts with an attitude. even in biz class they tell you to fuck off. a passenger came in last in line and couldn't find space to hang his coat on the upper deck of an old 747 and when he approached the female attendant was promptly ordered by her to run downstairs to find space in clothes cabinets at the biz section below. with sia, they will bend over backwards to take care of you if you're in biz class. they will bend a little to show cleavage if you're in economy. better than grandma attendants who cover their wrinkled necks with scarves. all these little things add up. but i know when i fly sq, the cockpit crew is seasoned and the plane is new.

My feelings exactly. Don't know why any guy would diss SQ. For females it is another matter. We know it's all an act. But on a 12 hour flight little things matter.

cocobobo

sigh.... i got 10 lots holding on....

now got same feeling like when i was holding on to chartered semi 15 yrs ago :(

garlic

sigh.... i got 10 lots holding on....

now got same feeling like when i was holding on to chartered semi 15 yrs ago :(

At least Chartered got acquired, cant be that bad for you in the end. Don't think SIA will be acquired...

Very well said. :wink:

People here may not be happy with PAP but many are happy with their lives. Like me, many are here just to speak the truth and share what they know abt the pap. You must not think that you know them better than they know themselves. Dont think they are unhappy with their lives just because they speak against the pap. If you are objective, just evaluate what they say and whether they said the truth. Dont have to insinuate or character assassinate when you lose ur argument.

Be gracious in defeat and congratulate those who tore you to shreds. Admit they are better prepared than you and you dont have to be a sour grape. By being sour, it shows your lack of character

ckmpd

Warned about NOL before or after it became obvious? If it's the latter, like what many are discussing now after ER of SIA is out, i choose to ignore.

of course before it became obvious. if it is obvious, everyone would have believed

So basically u just admit u are the daft 70 percent.if u are perfectly happy with ur life,to continue existing within ur tiny bubble,it poses even less incentive for u to change,to move out of ur comfort zone.instead u compensate with the unhappiness and internal conflict and pacify urself by going online to kpkb about the govt before retreating back to ur happy life.after all women love to talk and talking is the easiest thing to do,just like my mom,the last thing on Earth u see a woman doing is tackling the problem,talking and gossiping is usually the number one go to solution.all of women's fears and anxieties can be assuanged simply by talking that's why they need Ang mohs and shitskins in their lives.and happily stick their heads in the sand and pretend all is going well at least for themselves.

Me on the other hand with all my unhappiness will be seeking a alternate reality and route out of the situation,first to establish myself in another country as a backup plan, then to become rich so I can help the disenfranchised and impoverished young and old in sg and set up a socialist state or neighbourhood in singapore funded with my own money so people can see the difference between a socialist "paid by taxpayers" country versus PAPs u die ur biz country.thirdly to become filthy rich semi billionaire and support politics in sinkieland,and hope to change the status quo like tan kah kee,failing which I will die a broken man in China or Australia.