• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

HSR and RTS Discussion

ECboy

Actually, there are not many locals who drive their cars to work, if you do go through the morning jam, reason being the S$20 LTA surcharge. Many park their cars near the checkpt & take the buses to work. These form the critical pool of future RTS commuters. RTS is a goldmine for the govt due to the huge ridership and short distance expected.

Both govts have already paid Aecom million of dollars for the RTS feasibility study. No reason to cane it now.

http://www.railway-technology.com/n...ract-johor-singapore-rapid-transit-link-study

I used to travel everyday from JB to SG (now i live in SG coz cannot tahan). A high frequency train from JB that integrates with Singapore MRT is definitely a gold mine. i'll happily pay S$10-15 for this train daily.

Newbie11

somehow i feel many doubt the convenience RTS can bring to Malaysians and SPR. Perhaps that's a good thing. Maybe prices are not fully priced in yet. For now, let's sit back and just watch la.

Arowana88

So far, nothing is done. MY not like SG. Once they say something they will do it. MY say say like no need money one, in the end delay delay, maybe nothing in the end. They just worry BN will lose power next time so not much action. Previous election has let them lose plenty of confidence and push!!

RedsYNWA

So far, nothing is done. MY not like SG. Once they say something they will do it. MY say say like no need money one, in the end delay delay, maybe nothing in the end.

I think RTS delay is perhaps due to structural work (overhead - SG preference or underground - MY preference) and location of RTS in MY. For the MY location, there are probably many vested interesst in the lobbying. SG may not be keen to build it at Zon for instance, as compared to Tanjong Puteri, as cost will be higher.

Then you have all these vested businessmen who are trying to lobby for Zon or (unrealistically) Danga Bay.

hippoheyhey

malaysians being boleh, build up fucking hype to trap foreigners in, plans sweep under the carpet, regulations change at a stroke of the pen. What mega project is malaysia proud of? BS m*lay thinking. It is still a country owned and ruled by malays, it will never change in 1000 years.

Funniman

Worst case scenario HSR cancelled RTS delayed cos wasn t brought up during the budget speech despite the heavy $commitment from BN. I fear worst case situation and truly hope I am wrong. I am heavily vested in Iskandar much more than most in this forum and pray both HSR and RTS will materialize.

No worries. Prices of properties will always be there, it is only the rate of increment that differs. Worst case scenario, the price remain the same as you bought it. Over time it can only go up as Malaysia imposed GST which means the cost of building is higher by at least 6%. It is a lot better than those unit trust shares. When all the properties are VPed and if you cannot cope up, all you need is to restructure and refinance as the value is different.

Funniman

malaysians being boleh, build up fucking hype to trap foreigners in, plans sweep under the carpet, regulations change at a stroke of the pen. What mega project is malaysia proud of? BS m*lay thinking. It is still a country owned and ruled by malays, it will never change in 1000 years.

Even Malaysians do not listen to these hype. They are very careful and never too greedy. Max is they buy only 1 or 2 units in Iskandar and for own stay. If for investments, they buy small units. Malaysians very poor ma...no money.

FHBH12

Yes, longer term wise, the RM 1m ruling will push developers to build more 3 storey cluster/semi-d, penthouse/townhouse condos etc, which will push up the prices of the 2 storey developments. It may take 2-3 years to reach RM 1m, though.

So for short-term flippers like me, it may pose a problem, as it reduces my resale buyer pool... But in the longer term, it should still be ok, as per what RM 500k ruling did to the properties.

A freehold landed property under $1 mil RM at good locations near Singapore is still under-priced. A similar one in Singapore in ulu location would have easily cost $6 mil RM. Most of the well-located ones around $750 RM now should breach the $1 mil RM in 3 years' time.

malpaso

Even Malaysians do not listen to these hype. They are very careful and never too greedy. Max is they buy only 1 or 2 units in Iskandar and for own stay. If for investments, they buy small units. Malaysians very poor ma...no money.

not what the banker told me. he mentioned blue collar malaysian couples working in sgp use DIBS to sapu a few condo for flipping, he opined that it was really risky for them. i believe lots of malaysians too (not SPR hor) will be burnt by the new policies.

kopikong99

not what the banker told me. he mentioned blue collar malaysian couples working in sgp use DIBS to sapu a few condo for flipping, he opined that it was really risky for them. i believe lots of malaysians too (not SPR hor) will be burnt by the new policies.

Even with DIBS, they need to arrange loan and would they be able to? Maybe they just talk talk swang with Banker only.One unit should be just nice for this ppl.

Artesan

I think RTS delay is perhaps due to structural work (overhead - SG preference or underground - MY preference) and location of RTS in MY. For the MY location, there are probably many vested interesst in the lobbying. SG may not be keen to build it at Zon for instance, as compared to Tanjong Puteri, as cost will be higher. Then you have all these vested businessmen who are trying to lobby for Zon or (unrealistically) Danga Bay.

The RTS project is a joint with SG. I don't think they can put anything into a budget when the budget on the RTS is not available. SG n MY has not met to agree the details so how much does it cost MY or the project??

Funniman

Even with DIBS, they need to arrange loan and would they be able to? Maybe they just talk talk swang with Banker only.One unit should be just nice for this ppl.

These ppl very smart. They will buy 1 unit in JB, 1 unit in Puchong, 1 unit in Cheras, 1 unit in Hakken city, etc. Afterall they are Malaysians.
They know the country well. If economy does well, they will make money wherever they buy.

snowbird

I think RTS delay is perhaps due to structural work (overhead - SG preference or underground - MY preference) and location of RTS in MY. For the MY location, there are probably many vested interesst in the lobbying. SG may not be keen to build it at Zon for instance, as compared to Tanjong Puteri, as cost will be higher.

Then you have all these vested businessmen who are trying to lobby for Zon or (unrealistically) Danga Bay.

The RTS proposal from SG side's terminal had already been confirmed in Woodlands near the Republic Poly and will join to the new Thomson Line to connect to the whole MRT system.
The problem is still on the MY side, the terminal station location for the line coming from SG is still not decided.
Looking at the map, if the line is coming from SG's location as proposed, the MY termination point can be anywhere from Stulang Laut to the disused former MY customs offices because the line will not be able to cross over the Causeway.
The second problem is unresolved is whether the line going across the Straits will be under or above water.
And the major construction consideration for this section of the line, both the economical and technical aspects, is still pending. The cost for an underwater tunnel or an above water bridge is very much different.
When such major decision is on the drawing board and pending, 2018 target is only a dream.

malpaso

well, banker job is to give as much loan out as possible right? in fact, the tightening of bank loans only happened mid of this year. before that, they just give loan anyhow.
the example given to me was: blue collar m/sian couple EP holders, hubby 2k pm SGD + wife 1.5 k pm = 3.5k sgd == 8.75k RM. so can grab 3 x 400k condo using DIBS. easy only. (until they cannot sell, cannot rent, one of them lose job).

austin_hts

Malaysia and Singapore government have always been very consistent. Consultancy work (costing s$ 30-40mil !) on locations, options (bridge,tunnel) and costs already completed early this year. Gov said on several occassions, they will take up to one year to decide. NO DELAY. just be patient and wait for announcement by end this year or early next year.

The RTS proposal from SG side's terminal had already been confirmed in Woodlands near the Republic Poly and will join to the new Thomson Line to connect to the whole MRT system.
The problem is still on the MY side, the terminal station location for the line coming from SG is still not decided.
Looking at the map, if the line is coming from SG's location as proposed, the MY termination point can be anywhere from Stulang Laut to the disused former MY customs offices because the line will not be able to cross over the Causeway.
The second problem is unresolved is whether the line going across the Straits will be under or above water.
And the major construction consideration for this section of the line, both the economical and technical aspects, is still pending. The cost for an underwater tunnel or an above water bridge is very much different.
When such major decision is on the drawing board and pending, 2018 target is only a dream.

sotong007

There is only 1 location for the RTS. Every other project is selling as near RTS. No one know for sure exact location. Same thing with HSR.

Best option is to wait till announcement. Otherwise just go casino faster! No point spectulating

Newbie11

EDTP works to start next year
By Sharen KaurPublished: 2013/10/26
http://www.btimes.com.my/Current_News/BTIMES/articles/SPAD25/Article/#ixzz2imFhHBYX

KUALA LUMPUR: Construction of the RM8 billion electrified double-tracking project (EDTP) from Gemas to Johor Baru will start next year before the high speed rail (HSR) project linking Kuala Lumpur and Singapore takes off.

Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) chief executive officer Mohd Nur Ismal Kamal said the HSR project will take longer to start as the awarding of contracts will start only in the latter part of next year.

The Gemas to Johor Baru EDTP project, involving around 200km of double-track on existing alignment, is among the key projects highlighted by Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak in the 2014 Budget.

Mohd Nur Ismal said both projects are important in cutting travel time between Kuala Lumpur and Johor Baru, introducing regional KTM services to serve Penang, Kedah and Johor, and increasing freight by rail.

"It will be very similar to the Klang Valley KTM Komuter services. I can't comment on the cost for the projects. The Transport Ministry will award the contracts," he said yesterday.

Nur Ikmal Ismal said the ministry has completed the Gemas-Johor Baru EDTP study and SPAD will review the railway scheme that it submitted.

"The Gemas-Johor Baru and the HSR projects are different. They will each have their own alignment."

The Gemas-Johor Baru line development will complete the entire EDTP network.

The government has awarded EDTP contracts for the Ipoh-Padang Besar stretch, worth RM12.5 billion, to the MMC-Gamuda joint venture, and the Seremban-Gemas stretch, worth RM3.45 billion, to India's Ircon International Ltd. Both are ongoing.

The Rawang-Ipoh stretch was completed in 2008.

Meanwhile, Syarikat Prasarana Negara Bhd group managing director Datuk Shahril Mokhtar said he had hoped for allocation under the 2014 Budget for stage buses as this segment of public transport is facing tremendous challenges.

He said there was an urgent need to address the rising cost of tyres, spare parts and diesel.

On the extension of the light rail transit system to Port Klang, Shahril said he is unable to comment unless the feasibility study is completed and submitted to the authorities for approval.

Newbie11

Japan group to build rail line in Bangkok
Japanese rail operators are making tracks abroad, exporting expertise

*World*|*Updated today at 01:01 AM
By AGENCE FRANCE-PRESSE
TOKYO - A Japanese consortium will build an urban transit system in Bangkok, as part of Japan's drive to expand exports of railway infrastructure to the rest of Asia, a report said yesterday.

East Japan Railway, trading house Marubeni and electronics giant Toshiba have landed the deal, at an estimated price of 40 billion yen (S$504 million), the business daily Nikkei reported.

Under the deal with Bangkok Metro Public, the consortium will construct a new 23km rail line in the Thai capital, the daily said, adding the rail operation is set to start in 2016.

The Japanese group will supply 63 train cars and build the power grid, signals and rail yards as well as 16 stations. It will also provide maintenance services under a 10-year contract and about 20 technicians will be stationed in Bangkok, the report said.

Japanese railway operators are expected to broaden their reach overseas by joining forces with heavy-industry manufacturers and trading houses to promote comprehensive services, Nikkei said. East Japan Railway will aim now to win a contract to build a high-speed train line between Malaysia and Singapore, it added.

Another Japanese train operator, Central Japan Railway, has provided technology for renovating the automatic train control system of Taiwan's super-express train service, Nikkei said.

Meanwhile, Tokyo Metro, which runs an intricate subway network in the Japanese capital, has been cooperating in an urban train project in the Vietnamese capital Hanoi, the daily said.

Jakarta and Tokyo have also agreed to conduct a detailed feasibility study on adopting Japan's Shinkansen high-speed rail technology in Indonesia, the country's Deputy Transport Minister Bambang Susantono told The Straits Times last month.

Japanese bullet trains may hurtle across Indonesia's main island of Java in about a decade, covering the 150km distance between Jakarta and Bandung in under one hour, if the study slated to begin in January finds it feasible.

The study is expected to assess a viable route, passenger demand, and ways to secure funding for a line between Jakarta and Bandung, Indonesia's largest and third-largest cities respectively. Officials hope the trains can also connect Jakarta and Surabaya, which are 730km apart, in less than three hours.

Japan's overtures in the region come at a time when China too is wielding its infrastructure know- how. During Chinese President Xi Jinping's visit to Jakarta last month, China Communications Construction signed a deal with Jakarta Monorail to build trains and lines for a 30km network.