• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Taxi Driver blogger tells about the gamblers he's met

10 tales from taxi passengers to and fro Singapore casinos
By The Taxi Driver | Taxi Talk<abbr title="2013-04-16T08:26:57Z" style="color: rgb(125, 125, 125); font-family: arial; font-size: 11px; line-height: 2.2em; border: 0px;">Tue, Apr 16, 2013</abbr>

casino.jpg

Our taxi driver reveals 10 tales from casino patrons he picks up in the course of his work. (AP photo)

Mr M, 47, was a former senior sales and marketing manager at an electronics MNC for nine years before he was retrenched in 2009. Married with a wife and twin teenage sons, he tried his hand at being a financial advisor for a year before deciding to become a taxi driver. He has been running his taxi service since 2011. He survived a heart-attack in late 2012 and now has four stents in his heart. His philosophy on life is now to live well, stay healthy and to share his real-life experiences. In his second post on Taxi Talk, he talks about real-life encounters with Singapore casino patrons.

Thank you for the many comments and encouragement after my first post last week.

This week, I would like to talk about the social impact of the casinos in Singapore and how they are affecting families in our community.

I pick up many casino patrons during the course of my work every week. These are real-stories shared by customers whom I have picked up at Marina Bay Sands (MBS) and Resort World Sentosa (RWS) over the last two years.

Passenger #1

A Thai permanent resident lady of about 35 years old who dresses as a tai-tai. She has lost S$300,000 at MBS over a period of 6 months, but she still continues to gamble at RWS because she "wins more than she loses". She stays at a condo in the city.

Passenger #2

A wholesale male worker of mid-twenties from China, whom I picked from Pasir Panjang wholesale centre one morning. He was heading to RWS and told me he had lost S$12,000 at RWS in one night. He currently earns S$1,200 per month and is now struggling to pay his debts and has defaulted payment to his family in China

Passenger #3

Picked up a Singaporean man in his late 40s one evening. He was well-groomed and wearing office attire but he did not have any money to pay for his fares of S$35 from MBS to Chua Chu Kang. He tried to use his mobile phone as “guarantor” so he can go back home to get money to pay his fares. I allowed the arrangement in good faith, as the mobile phone was genuine and in good working condition.

Passenger #4

An army regular in civilian clothes in his late twenties who goes to MBS every Thursday/Friday and plays from 6.00pm – 5.00am. He returns to his camp near Nee Soon the next working day to resume his work again.

Passenger #5

Singaporean lady in her 70s who goes to MBS daily to gamble from 8.00pm – 7.00am. She redeems her membership card points to stay in the hotel. She lives in a landed property. Her daughter would accompany her in the evening to MBS and pick her up in the late morning.

Passenger #6

A Singaporean male in his 40s who has lost his franchise convenience store business due to big gambling losses. He is currently unemployed now.

Passenger #7

A Singaporean male in his 50s who has incurred excessive gambling debts and is trying to recoup his losses amounting to S$100,000. He's now in the process of filing for bankruptcy.

Passenger #8

A Singaporean male in his 40s whose wife left him with 2 children after he incurred huge gambling losses totalling S$200,000. He has downgraded from a five-room flat to a three-room flat. His addiction to gambling started when he was a teen, coming from a broken family.

Passenger #9

An Indonesia PR in his 50s who gambles S$1,000 max at RWS every week. Refuses to bring his ATM/credit card along.

Passenger #10

A Japanese man in his 30s. He gave me a tip of S$39 on top of his fares of S$11 (gave me one S$50 dollar note and asked me to keep the change) whom I picked up from Lavender street to MBS in one morning. It was the highest tip given by a customer. I think he must have won big money the previous day and was continuing his second round that morning. However, my buddy taxi friend told me he had ever received tips of up to S$200 in just one night when he picked up a passenger at RWS.

I am not a gambling expert but I know enough from personal friends to know that addiction to gambling is NOT just a personal problem. It will end up affecting the entire family if there is no self-control and discipline.

Here are useful tips I've heard to keep gambling from becoming an addiction.

-- Allocate money for necessities first (eg: bills, daily expenses, transport, food, rental etc)
-- Never use more than 2 per cent of your income for gambling
-- Avoid temptation by not going to casinos or associating with gamblers
-- When you gamble, do not carry with you more money than you can afford to lose
-- Never borrow money to gamble. Never !
-- Don't lend money to a gambler. You will probably never get it back.

from all your 10 passengers i observe,

it seems like sinkies are the one who gamble until they got screwed..

the foreigners are the one who are more level minded..

That is why i say , stay away from sinkies.

who cares about these stupid people, i hope they kill themselves and their family too, so there are less stupid people in singapore.

Of all the customers only one jap is suspected winner?
Come on this taxi driver must be super sway lang ferry all the losers.....

Of all the customers only one jap is suspected winner?
Come on this taxi driver must be super sway lang ferry all the losers.....

Haven't you heard of the expression "10 gamble 9 lose"? hehehe....................................

Yes tongue in cheek bro....me been there done that....I am persona non grata at the locals IR....order signed by CP himself.
Actually is 10 gamble 9 lose.....10th person broke even.

this is just another npnt, ownself direct ownself act tua kang yao siu story.

simi lan jiao is Mr. M har? no wonder sinkees got fucked by the pappies for decades. this typr of mr. m or mrs n stories also got people read arh?

Yes tongue in cheek bro....me been there done that....I am persona non grata at the locals IR....order signed by CP himself.
Actually is 10 gamble 9 lose.....10th person broke even.

Ya lor, 10 gamble 9 lose, not 10 gamble 1 win.........................

I am persona non grata at both local casinoes too, never even stepped inside voluntarily.
The thought of paying the entrance fee already makes me sick. SG pools to me is ok but not this.

I am persona non grata at both local casinoes too, never even stepped inside voluntarily.
The thought of paying the entrance fee already makes me sick. SG pools to me is ok but not this.

another quote is 10 gamble, 9 cheat (zap pua gao pian - hokkien). have to admit i still play football and nba but not as crazy as before but mainly as entertainment, and with my own private room money. lose my bankroll, switch off pc and browser on phone.me still not that type that will take revenge until recover 2 times i lose.

STUCK_HERE

another show off taxi driver. soon he will be telling the press that he earn $7K bec he don't gamble and don't lend people money.

another quote is 10 gamble, 9 cheat (zap pua gao pian - hokkien). have to admit i still play football and nba but not as crazy as before but mainly as entertainment, and with my own private room money. lose my bankroll, switch off pc and browser on phone.me still not that type that will take revenge until recover 2 times i lose.

yeah, you are right about the entertainment part, stopping when you lose your bankroll and not playing to "recover double losses", the latter especially is the most dangerous type of thinking.

the part I still don't understand is why you need to have "private room money", hahaha..........................

fukyuman

The laws and odds of probability always works against you when you enter into the casino. So don't step into one thinking you are one of fortunes favorites. For gaming and fun, its okay. Read up and play games that the casino is able to win the least from you, odds wise. The newer games are usually suckers bets.

Here are useful tips I've heard to keep gambling from becoming an addiction.[/FONT][/COLOR]
-- Allocate money for necessities first (eg: bills, daily expenses, transport, food, rental etc)
-- Never use more than 2 per cent of your income for gambling
-- Avoid temptation by not going to casinos or associating with gamblers
-- When you gamble, do not carry with you more money than you can afford to lose
-- Never borrow money to gamble. Never !
-- Don't lend money to a gambler. You will probably never get it back.

ray_of_hope

Most cab drivers are happy to bring gamblers to the 2 casinos, but many would prefer not to pick up any from the casinos because they know the chances are very high that they are picking up someone who has lost everything and would not pay the cab fare.

chances are very high that they are picking up someone who has lost everything and would not pay the cab fare.

a few cabbies told me they hate picking up passengers from the casinos because most likely they've lost and are in bad mood. One driver said he nearly got into a fight with such a loser who became unreasonable and started cussing.

I_Hate_Pappies

a few cabbies told me they hate picking up passengers for the casinos because most likely they've lost and are in bad mood. One driver said he nearly got into a fight with such a loser who became unreasonable and started cussing.

Boh standard. :cool: Want curse also come here and FUCK THE PAP! :oIo::biggrin:

Charlie99

a few cabbies told me they hate picking up passengers for the casinos because most likely they've lost and are in bad mood. One driver said he nearly got into a fight with such a loser who became unreasonable and started cussing.

should be "from"
as in -- they hate picking up passengers from the casinos ........

the foreigners are the one who are more level minded..

You must be really illiterate tonycheebye!

Passenger #2*A wholesale male worker of mid-twenties from China, whom I picked from Pasir Panjang wholesale centre one morning. He was heading to RWS and told me he had lost S$12,000 at RWS in one night. He currently earns S$1,200 per month and is now struggling to pay his debts and has defaulted payment to his family in China

I_Hate_Pappies

Bro, SGPools odds is KNS also leh. :biggrin: