• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Family allowed to pay $130,000 hospital bill in monthly instalment over 42 years

[h=6]Display[/h]

• <!-- see bottom of postbit.css for .userinfo .popupmenu styles -->Yesterday 08:32 PM#1
    bosso
    • profile.png
      View Profile
    • forum.png
      View Forum Posts
    • message.png
      Private Message

user-offline.png

<dl class="userinfo_extra"><dt>Join Date</dt> <dd>Jun 2007</dd><dt>Posts</dt> <dd>73</dd></dl>

[h=2]Family allowed to pay $130,000 hospital bill in monthly instalment over 42 years[/h]

October 16, 2012 - 1:05am

A 42-year arrangement. That is what the Ting family has with KK Women’s and Children’s Hospital (KKH) to settle their three-year-old boy’s medical bill.

This is the first time a hospital here has allowed a large medical bill to be broken up into interest-free monthly instalment payments over such a long period.

The bill came to a whopping $130,000 after the boy was treated for meningitis. He is now recovering at home, but his parents, Malaysians who are permanent residents here, could not pay up.

The boy's mother, housewife Koh Tat Hong, 34, said: "We were happy when we received a letter last month from the hospital informing us we could make payment in monthly instalments of $250.”

How come so expensive? I thought one minister pays only $8 for his hospital bill.​

Remember, Singapore has no natural resources, only people.
So wealth has to be extracted from your pockets lor.

I_Hate_Pappies

"This is the first time a hospital here has allowed a large medical bill to be broken up into interest-free monthly instalment payments over such a long period."

That means previously Singaporeans all kena charged interest? So hard up for this PR family to convert into Citizen?
Singaporeans are so screwed! :oIo:

This is really unfair to all those who promptly pay their medical bills in full. :mad:

$250 per month x 12 months = $3,000 per year.

So my advice to anyone with a $130,000 bill from KK is to NOT pay up front even if you have the money.

Instead, invest the $130,000 in bonds at 4%. This conservative return will yield $5,200 per year which would be more than enough to cover the generous interest free payment schedule that this wonderful hospital extends to foreigners.

42 years later, you'll still have your $130,000 PLUS pocket money of $2,200 per year for the next 4 decades!!!

batman1

If sinkee ,they will outsource to debt collectors or legal firms to demand immediate payments .
PAY NOW ON DEMAND OR FACE THE CONSEQUENCES.
Sinkees are 3rd class citizens,almost everything have to pay cash upfront,our CPF money held back for 10 years until 65
!?!? ,there is little value in the pink i/c.

Instead, invest the $130,000 in bonds at 4%. This conservative return will yield $5,200 per year which would be more than enough to cover the generous interest free payment schedule that this wonderful hospital extends to foreigners.

42 years later, you'll still have your $130,000 PLUS pocket money of $2,200 per year for the next 4 decades!!!

I suggest the licensed moneylender business. For 130k, easily 6-10k return per month not per year.

chupacabra

How did the bill came up to 130k in the first place? Its every parents knightmare when their kids fall sick, but at that cost is ridiculous. no one in this family can ever fall sick again. Plus the kid can say goodbye to his childhood and future overseas education. 60% are real idiots.

The bill came to 130k because meningitis is a serious disease. Diagnosis is complicated and so is treatment.

Cruxx

This is really unfair to all those who promptly pay their medical bills in full. :mad:

$250 per month x 12 months = $3,000 per year.

So my advice to anyone with a $130,000 bill from KK is to NOT pay up front even if you have the money.

Sounds attractive. Boss, how do I go about contracting meningitis? :confused:

Big Sexy

$8 only?? where you get that info? is it straight from the horse mouth?
which minister so big fuxk huh? only need to pay $8 for his horsepital bill..
is he from Malaysia also?:mad::biggrin:

How come so expensive? I thought one minister pays only $8 for his hospital bill.[/INDENT]

[/LIST]

wMulew

Dumb fuck TS doesn't even know the difference between Matlanders and Singaporean. Matlanders = foreigners = no medical subsidy. Singaporeans different story

ionzu

if KK tried to enforce the bill in full, the PR parents and their kid will just go back to mudland and write off the debt. now we hook them to stay in sgp and accumulate more assets. the day they miss a payment, kk will unleash their lawyers to get back the full sum + interest.

I_Hate_Pappies

Max HDB loan tenure for Singaporeans is 30yrs with and interest of 2.6% per annum at this moment. They are having a loan tenure of 42yrs interest free.

Consider that PRs are contributing to CPF too, they are getting 2.5% to 4% interest per annum.

Singaporeans are so screwed!:oIo:

I_Hate_Pappies

if KK tried to enforce the bill in full, the PR parents and their kid will just go back to mudland and write off the debt. now we hook them to stay in sgp and accumulate more assets. the day they miss a payment, kk will unleash their lawyers to get back the full sum + interest.

By your theory, PR and foreigners are BIG FUCK here in SG! Even the authorities are being held by the throat. Singaporeans can be screwed any time any place.

No money come to SG. Better stay in Malaysia gov hospital maybe only cost few thousand RM.

New solution to healthcare – pay by installments for 42 years

[h=2]New solution to healthcare – pay by installments for 42 years[/h]
PostDateIcon.png
October 23rd, 2012 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Editorial

GanKimYong-300x170.jpg
Minister for Health Gan Kim Yong

Whoever is the civil servant who came up with this “wonderful” solution to make healthcare affordable probably “deserves” a National Day Award from PM Lee.

In one stroke, he has solved the healthcare affordability problem in Singapore. Firstly, the Singapore govt can continue to allocate minimum amount of budget for healthcare thereby continue to save lots of money for the govt. Currently among the first world nations, Singaporeans shoulder the highest level of % of healthcare spending vs govt do and as such, Singaporeans have the highest out-of-pocket spending (‘PM: Raise individual’s Medisave contributions to cope with healthcare costs‘).

Secondly, by stretching the payment into long number of years, the amount payable becomes smaller and thus, “affordable” to the patient or his family.

In this regard, why not stretch the healthcare payments to 100 years, payable by 2 generations of the family? The amount payable would be even smaller and affordable to the family of the patient.

It was reported by TNP last week that a 3-year-old child, Ting De Keat, suffered meningitis and was admitted to KK Women’s and Children’s Hospital (KKH) for treatment.

The child first came down with fever on 21 Jun this year. His mother, housewife Mrs Ding, then brought him to see a GP. The next day, the child vomited and complained of a neck ache. The parents then took him to KKH.

He was given a stronger medication and sent home, but the temperature continued to rise. 5 days later, he was taken back to KKH and rushed into the Intensive Care Unit (ICU). It was then discovered that he had developed meningitis and it was causing his fits. Mrs Ding was in tears when she related the story to the reporter.

The child underwent three operations to relieve the pressure in his skull and had a shunt installed to drain excess water from his brain. He was in ICU for 24 days and was warded for a total of 50 days.

After the whole ordeal, the bill came to $130,000!

Mrs Ding said, “When we were handed the bill and told to settle $30,000 first, we were shocked. How could we afford to pay? We couldn’t even afford to settle the first $30,000 let alone the full bill.”

Finally, to show its magnanimity, KKH for the first time, allowed the large medical bill to be broken up into interest-free monthly instalment payments over 42 years (504 months) at about $250 per month.

As said, perhaps KKH should consider stretching it to 100 years payable over 2 generations. That would work out to be even lesser at $105 per month! How about 3 generations?

Indeed, the Ding family was happy. Mrs Ding said, “We were happy when we received a letter last month from the hospital informing us we could make payment in monthly installments of $250.”

The crux of the issue is not about coming up with fantastic repayment schemes to make medical bills appear to be affordable. We should really be asking, “Why a child’s hospitalization in a public hospital can come up to $130,000?”

Remember, if it happened to Ting De Keat, it can also happen to your children.

The child’s father is a container truck driver earning only about $1,000 a month and his wife is not working. Even with $250 monthly instalment (for 42 years), it may still be a heavy burden to the family.

What do you think, Minister Gan?
Related: Affordable healthcare in S’pore?