• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Corpse Chop-Chop again because SPF simply FAILED their job

uncleyap

Something breaching laws must happen before there's something investigatible for the investigators. Police just can't go around arresting people in domestic or neighbourhood disputes saying hey, I think you're going to beat up or chop up somebody else. That's in the realm of ISA and CLTPA for political and criminal gang purposes. Even that, the suspects must have backgrounds to match the criteria for arrest.

famiLEE LEEgime already made this new law for preemptive arrests to do precisely that.

That was made particularly against political activities including showing a political film. :biggrin:

http://statutes.agc.gov.sg/aol/sear...lts.w3p;letter=C;pNum=2;type=actsAll#pr17-he-.
Procedure when arrestable offence is suspected
17.—(1) If, from information received or otherwise, a police officer has reason to suspect that an arrestable offence has been committed at any place, the police officer must, or if he is unable to attend to the case, another police officer acting in his place must —

(a) go as soon as practicable to the place to investigate the facts and circumstances of the case; and

(b) try to find the offender and, if appropriate, arrest the offender and report the case to the Public Prosecutor.

(2) Notwithstanding subsection (1) —

(a) if the police officer has reason to believe that the case is not of a serious nature, there shall be no need to go to the place to investigate the facts and circumstances of the case; or

(b) if the police officer has reason to believe that there are insufficient grounds for proceeding with the matter, he shall not do so.

(3) In each of the cases mentioned in subsection (2)(a) and (b), the police officer receiving the information shall state in his report his reason for not fully complying with subsection (1).

Above are copied from CPC 2010 (replaced the original classic CAP 168 Criminal Procedure Code CPC). Which is the one you all old timer mata were familiar. That CAP 168 CPC is entirely repealed. Your old timer mata training got OUT-DATED already. :wink:

This law is 100% surely applicable for this CORPSE CHOP-CHOP case.

in sf, the law against domestic violence has gone zero tolerance, and it seems to protect women in feminazi extremes. for example, if there are bruises, cuts, scratches, and blackeyes, neighbors, colleagues and relatives can call the domestic violence hotline and tip the police off. the husband, domestic partner, boyfriend, room mate or live-in partner will be arrested and charged based on pictures alone. even if the wife or partner refuses to cooperate, the district attorney will step in and prosecute. this is because in many domestic violence cases in the past, wives and partners rescind testimonies or refuse to help prosecutors for fear of personal retribution, fear of having harm come to their children, fear of losing the bread winner, fear of embarassment, and just pure fear or "love" of their partners.

a recent high profile case involves the former sheriff mirkarini and his venezuelan wife. the wife was bruised in her arm last christmas after a quarrel with the then sheriff designate. he allegedly held her too tight. she ran to her neighbor to find solace. her neighbor who happened to be a feminazi took a pic of her bruised arm and tipped off the hotline on her behalf without her full consent. police arrested the sheriff, after he was sworn in early in the year, and the district attorney filed motion with the court to prevent him from visiting his wife and kid while case was pending. his wife appeared on tv pleading for reunion with her husband and lambasting the police, prosecutors and city officials for turning what was a private family matter into a political witchhunt. she recanted her story of ever seeking refuge with her neighbor. mirkarini finally pleaded guilty to a misdemeanor charge of unlawful imprisonment (of his wife) at home, had to serve community service instead of jail time, but lost his sheriff's job. domestic violence charges were dropped with plea bargain. his wife left indefinitely with kid for venezuela, and he just filed a lawsuit against the city asking for his job back, or at least to have his pay restored. reason: the domestic violence case against him occurred before he was sworn in as sheriff and did not apply to the city's ordinance of official misconduct whereby any official could be dismissed by the mayor for breaking the law.

uncleyap

in sf, the law against domestic violence has gone zero tolerance, and it seems to protect women in feminazi extremes....

Ang Moh paranoid and kiasu does not really help here. Experienced mata must be able to correctly assess personal safety and security scenario of potential victim of violence, when they attend these emergency calls about disputes. The mata have the computers to check past police records of their subjects.

Safety can not be Assumed mah.:rolleyes:

Uncle Yap, read Sec. 17 (2) (a) and (b).

Eatshitndie, US and SF are different from Sg. Even bus driver can stop, take off the key and refuse to drive on just because passenger step over yellow line.

which is why sg is such a wonderful haven for abusers, bullies and dictators. dream island for winners and losers alike. what are you guys complaining about? :p

Ang Moh paranoid and kiasu does not really help here. Experienced mata must be able to correctly assess personal safety and security scenario of potential victim of violence, when they attend these emergency calls about disputes. The mata have the computers to check past police records of their subjects.

Safety can not be Assumed mah.:rolleyes:

from your own words, confirmed that sg is a better place for men as police don't bother with your private life unless you piss off old man harry. :p

Conqueror

MP4 and FLV Data Files

Mmmm... must have their own device driver build in to be able to do that. Not bad. I used to dump disc and lost data after multi-session disc got fucked up.

I tot you were showing a new video edit tool. :wink:

ISO Buster cost 30 bucks for a lifetime. ISO Buster analyse and recover your DVD video image (I think its NOT considered as data). The image is then stored on your HDD. After that, you can view it with a video enabled viewer like my VLC media player (it can be downloaded for free).

This isobuster is not a video editor. But, you can re-copy back onto another DVD to preserve or safeguard the important video that you need to backup.

My present problem is how to create MP4 and FLV files from video images in my DVDs.

uncleyap

sec 17 subsec 2 sub-sub:
(a) if the police officer has reason to believe that the case is not of a serious nature, there shall be no need to go to the place to investigate the facts and circumstances of the case; or

(b) if the police officer has reason to believe that there are insufficient grounds for proceeding with the matter, he shall not do so.

Then clearly the known facts proved that mata had their assessment drastically WRONG due to POOR DECISION and NEGLIGENCE. Which costed the victim's live which they had otherwise got a chance to protect. The victim was alive at the hands of SPF matas, but they left her there at the Great Risk and within just hours be Killed.

If the SPF mata had made a more accurate assessment or worked harder or took a safer precaution, they could had saved her live.

But you are covering their ass!:*::eek:

Arrest is not the only way she could had been saved. Suggestion and advices can help. Lengthen the investigation by making the subject go to mata-Chu to take statement immediately will also help. Investigation calling up the parents or brother of the victim to come to mata-Chu will also help - suggest the family to keep the victim accompanied until the dispute cooled off, her death would had been prevented.

Advice the guy to keep cool and be patient to resolve their matters peacefully will help, remind him of law and liability, warn him against violence, tell him that mata will be watching over their conducts closely etc. That would help.

Inform the couple to keep calm and take their time to resolve matter peacefully, and seek mata help ASAP if needed. Have an officer to call them 2 hrs later to ask if everything is OK or need any help, that will had averted a bloodshed.

They have law to arrest suspects, but there are more than one ways available.

Who are the PAP MPs responsible for that Blk 633 Jurong West St 65?:rolleyes::wink:

http://www.parliament.gov.sg/whos-my-mp?pageNum=2&submit=1&streetname=Jurong West Street 65

633640633Jurong West Street 65West Coast GRCFoo Mee Har
Arthur Fong
Lawrence Wong
S Iswaran
Lim Hng Kiang

<tbody>
</tbody>

Mata should ask them to see their MPs mah.

:p

In that case may be Lim Hng Kiang instead of Ms Lai got whacked in the head until eyeball flung off!

uncleyap

Re: MP4 and FLV Data Files

ISO Buster cost 30 bucks for a lifetime. ISO Buster analyse and recover your DVD video image (I think its NOT considered as data). The image is then stored on your HDD. After that, you can view it with a video enabled viewer like my VLC media player (it can be downloaded for free).

This isobuster is not a video editor. But, you can re-copy back onto another DVD to preserve or safeguard the important video that you need to backup.

My present problem is how to create MP4 and FLV files from video images in my DVDs.

These are tools that alike HDD file system repair tools reading the storage at low level, sector by sector in case of HDD then jig-saw-puzzle automatically to recover lost data.

This tool must peel open TOC, tracks, sessions, sectors, level by level, and work out the jig-saw-puzzle.

In any optical media there are actually error correction info, at low level ATA commands tools can access deeper. They can test by some assumptions and work on clues to piece out the confusions and errors.

Specialised tasks... But I can see service life of optical media coming soon to end. Even blue-ray not really picking up. Flash is getting cheap and fast. To spin a disc spent time and energy. Flash is very solid state. I loved optical technologies a lot and I owned a technology company in mastering CDs etc some 20 years ago. :wink: Today I see this cycle's end coming, time flies and technologies see revolutions.

Conqueror

I Don't Trust Optical Storage

But I can see service life of optical media coming soon to end. Even blue-ray not really picking up. Flash is getting cheap and fast. To spin a disc spent time and energy. Flash is very solid state. I loved optical technologies a lot and I owned a technology company in mastering CDs etc some 20 years ago. :wink: Today I see this cycle's end coming, time flies and technologies see revolutions.

I don't really trust optical storage when one of these IT sites questioned about optical storage like CDs or DVDs reliability. You don't know what will happen to them after 10 to 50 years time.

Sometimes, Media Corpse dramas were also having damaged video when you see pixelation at one part of the screening. I don't trust DVDs when people complained about not being able to see their painstaking works on their monitors or TV screens.

Why can't they use HDD as removable media instead ? I think HDD is slightly more reliable. Just don't drop them accidentally.

uncleyap

Re: I Don't Trust Optical Storage

I don't really trust optical storage when one of these IT sites questioned about optical storage like CDs or DVDs reliability. You don't know what will happen to them after 10 to 50 years time.

Sometimes, Media Corpse dramas were also having damaged video when you see pixelation at one part of the screening. I don't trust DVDs when people complained about not being able to see their painstaking works on their monitors or TV screens.

Why can't they use HDD as removable media instead ? I think HDD is slightly more reliable. Just don't drop them accidentally.

All important data must have multiple copies as backups. Archives are more reliable OFF-LINE that is not connected to electrical power and not spinning lifespan away.

Uncle Yap, while I have the ways to evade police responsbility, I must agree that police officers of all ranks have empowerment of commission over all public matters (only ASP and above can raid private premises without warrants). It thus depends on discretion and decision of the police officer concerned. I'm no longer one. My point of contention against you is, don't blame your dissatisfaction against police on PAP or politics in general. Police enforce enacted laws, whether by PAP, SDP or WP.

uncleyap

Y
Uncle Yap, while I have the ways to evade police responsbility, I must agree that police officers of all ranks have empowerment of commission over all public matters (only ASP and above can raid private premises without warrants). It thus depends on discretion and decision of the police officer concerned. I'm no longer one. My point of contention against you is, don't blame your dissatisfaction against police on PAP or politics in general. Police enforce enacted laws, whether by PAP, SDP or WP.

The mata may not like this but PAp use them as political tools. Then claim 1st worlf. mata as their political merits. u can notignore this connection.:*:

instead of blaming the matas, why not blame the co-tenants? They quarrel so violently, how come no one has the sense to knock on door to ask ? Or to barge inside to intervene?

mata =/= social workers, moreover, its considered a domestic quarrel - i believe the SOP is to ask both parties to cool it and quieten down. Unless the woman at that time expressed that her life was in danger, then there is a need to step in.

And looking back at the case, the woman despite knowing the ah bui is two timing her, have wife have kids still chose to stay - say as much. Even if they segregate them, then what?

This case is not finalised, it may turn out to be manslaughter or acting under provocation, we never know.

Which brings me to the case of Hilton bride. We blame the mata again for her ultimate demise?

saratogas

Kee Chiu's Ministry should have a social worker to assist them. Probably SPF should have refer such family quarrel cases to MCYS.

Social Workers are professionals who care about people and the social conditions in which they live in. They are primarily dedicated to:

* assisting people to manage their problems more effectively
* improving social conditions
* advocating for change when change is necessary to better human lives

As professionals, they provide developmental, preventive and remedial intervention utilizing social work principles, knowledge, skills and ethics in discharging their responsibilities. This requires that the social worker attains a Degree in Social Work or a Graduate Diploma in Social Work or other accredited Social Work degree qualifications.

@rmadill0

Cannot blame the police lah. If it is just a quarrel when police arrived, what can the police do? Is it an offence in Singapore for couple to quarrel? If the girl had been beaten up and asking for help but the police failed to do anything to render assistance, then it will be their mistake.

Raiders

Confined space is often one of the factor that triggers quarrel/murder/anger. If you noticed, they had been quarreling inside their room for the whole night. There was simply no breathing space for each other to cool down. Had either party just leave the room, go out, this tragedy might not have happen. Good luck for those idiots who bought those condos that is smaller than a 3 room flat at 800k each. For 800k, I could buy so many plots of land in Vietnam and the rates of return is as good or even better.

Bigfuck

If the Singapore Prostitution Force wants to show that it is a prostitute, people will begin to take things into their own hands, after going through the state of resignation. Working ladies just make a living - the real prostitutes are those who sell their souls.