• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Renovation to your homes

crystal_tiong

Doa

Thanks for sharing , the Korea design is nice n sleek. I like it .
Wanna up yr pt but was told I need to up other ppl first ....

DREAMorACTION

Yah. I really like it. It will fit into any contemporary kitchen design, easily. Hope bro gunner won't curse and swear at me ...

Btw, heard amway is good. But didnt see their booth. Will KIV and check out their product at their shop, one of these days :smile:

Doa

DREAMorACTION

I bet u like korean restaurants, k-pop etc. basically anything to do with Korean culture/design, not to mention that your car is kimchi too :biggrin:

Doa

Andhika

Hi All, just a thought, do you guys go for a single ID or different contractors to do diff areas? I understand that its easier to have a single contact point but what's your opinion besides this factor. Was at persada yday and I realised that for ID, they are rather insistent on what they think is nice and for that jack up the price for their 'priceless' ideas. While we may not be experts in interior design, we do have an idea of what we want to do. Thing is, we are not doing up the entire house as we like the tiles / toilet / railings / etc. We just need downlights / kitchen cabinets / built in wardrobes (for some rooms) / air con / security. Thats all. So we thought kindda wasted to engage an ID just for this. But before you all say that I have answered my own question, the ID's work seems super catchy and attractive!! Further, did you all (who attended the fair) saw the landscape designer at the entrance of persada?? Awesome work! a

DREAMorACTION

Yah, stil need to say that to you - you have your own answer! Lol

All thins that u mentioned do not require ID, except maybe the lightings. I would just buy some magazines to read up, instead of spending money on the ID just for lightings. Or else, visit many many ID shops and try to learn some tips through your meetings with them

Yes, saw the water landscape. It's nice but it doesn't come cheap. I will first explore DIY before concluding on their prices tho ...

Hi All, just a thought, do you guys go for a single ID or different contractors to do diff areas? I understand that its easier to have a single contact point but what's your opinion besides this factor. Was at persada yday and I realised that for ID, they are rather insistent on what they think is nice and for that jack up the price for their 'priceless' ideas. While we may not be experts in interior design, we do have an idea of what we want to do. Thing is, we are not doing up the entire house as we like the tiles / toilet / railings / etc. We just need downlights / kitchen cabinets / built in wardrobes (for some rooms) / air con / security. Thats all. So we thought kindda wasted to engage an ID just for this. But before you all say that I have answered my own question, the ID's work seems super catchy and attractive!! Further, did you all (who attended the fair) saw the landscape designer at the entrance of persada?? Awesome work! a

LeMans2011

I've always been skeptical about ID companies. Firstly because there is no official certification of who is a certified ID specialist, 2ndly i have yet to see one executed and materialised exactly per plan, other than those highly acclaimed architectural firms.

Correct me if i'm wrong, but in MY and SG anyone can call himself an interior designer.

Because there is no certification nor punitive measures by any organisation for "errant" interior designers, there is no discipline in the industry to upkeep standards. Most are contractors who are keen to earn your money one-time. When they accumulate enough bad reputation, they just deregister and set up a company under a different name... i think this is widely practised in Singapore.

I would say unless you know the company and the people well enough, forget about ID. Be your own ID and tell a good contractor exactly what you want, supervise them closely.

arsenal

No problem lah.. I also want to learn.. Even though I bought because wife said the sales girl is cute and trying very hard, I didnt even know there is a Covan.. Only store I see if the Nesh.. How silly I am.. But as long as it make water better for drinking will be fine.. If the water is so good, I might as well store in mineral water and sell to golfers in HH to recover my cost...

Yah. I really like it. It will fit into any contemporary kitchen design, easily. Hope bro gunner won't curse and swear at me ...

Btw, heard amway is good. But didnt see their booth. Will KIV and check out their product at their shop, one of these days :smile:

Can drink la, I'm sure haha, nothing worse from drinking from tap :p But I have reserve on the ozone thingy, killing smells and bacteria without even the need of using hand wash detergent. So, I came home, did some research but I won't share la, since u have bought it. In short, nesh is not as receptive by those residents in KL. They mainly go with amway, coway, pana sonic or bacfree. Having said that, the water there is full of m&d/sands, so maybe nesh doesn't do as good a job on this, hence lowly ranked by them.

I find that water in JB is still decently clean, as in not brown nor smelly, so nesh might be popular in jb?

Based on the price, look, system and quality of coway and nesh I saw at their booths, I would go with coway, if I was to buy it without research. They even poured a cup for me to drink.

Sorry hor bro, just my honest feedback, since u and crystal asked.

Andhika

Hi LeMans, well said! Do you have any recommendations to a good contractor (s)?

In addition guys, any tips on what to focus on for reno? I read this reno mag tip that it is wiser to do different areas of the house at different times within say a year or two unless budget is not an issue. Do advise! :smile:

I've always been skeptical about ID companies. Firstly because there is no official certification of who is a certified ID specialist, 2ndly i have yet to see one executed and materialised exactly per plan, other than those highly acclaimed architectural firms.

Correct me if i'm wrong, but in MY and SG anyone can call himself an interior designer.

Because there is no certification nor punitive measures by any organisation for "errant" interior designers, there is no discipline in the industry to upkeep standards. Most are contractors who are keen to earn your money one-time. When they accumulate enough bad reputation, they just deregister and set up a company under a different name... i think this is widely practised in Singapore.

I would say unless you know the company and the people well enough, forget about ID. Be your own ID and tell a good contractor exactly what you want, supervise them closely.

EDTBA

Look for Eric LEONG , very famous in kl .....

Hi Crystal,

Thanks for the tip. Its early stage as the scheduled handover is next year. Still, it doesn't hurt to do my homework early. There was a number of ID exhibitors at the home fair and only a couple of them made an impression. The rest are quite mediocre.

crystal_tiong

Hi Crystal,

Thanks for the tip. Its early stage as the scheduled handover is next year. Still, it doesn't hurt to do my homework early. There was a number of ID exhibitors at the home fair and only a couple of them made an impression. The rest are quite mediocre.

U r welcome. I hope mine will be handover next yr too!

DREAMorACTION

Don't give up so easily leh ... It took me almost a full day to fully familiarize myself with the entire software. But once u get there, u will be able to play about and create your dream design. U might be able to design something better than those ID could offer, u know!

This one I downloaded quite some time ago , but still can't configure how to do so gave up!

crystal_tiong

Don't give up so easily leh ... It took me almost a full day to fully familiarize myself with the entire software. But once u get there, u will be able to play about and create your dream design. U might be able to design something better than those ID could offer, u know!

U so smart already took 1 day. Me jialet Liao. I think I leave to expert ba ..... My brain cells are limited.

contra

I agree. In persada I went to visit many ID stalls and I still could not figure out how they charge. All I can gather is they ask what is your budget and they work out for you the proposed design an sourcing of the furniture. So if your Budget is say 50k, you can expect a crappy design with low quality materials. Might as well be doing oneself. They looking for budgets of RM200k or so, normally...above my budget

Only benefit (but a very strong one at that for non-locals liek us) is they act as one-stop shop and handle all the local contractors, esp if you want to do the cloudy stuff like plaster ceilings and new wall etc....

So the jury is still out. For now, I plan to do bit by bit over time and no sophisticated designs for me for now. Lets see. In the meantime I will follow teck's blog http://iskandarliving.com/blog/?m=201201

EDTBA

I came across this blog from Meridian Design: http://meridiandesign.blogspot.com/.

Very informative and from the finished projects that were highlighted, I am quite impressed. For those contemplating engaging an ID, this company is worth checking out however they are located in KL area.