• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Salesman makan more than $1M to feed gambling habit

Former sales assistant jailed for cheating, CBT
By Alvina Soh | Posted: 12 December 2011 1916 hrs
display_image.php

Tang Yong Kwok (Photo Courtesy of Singapore Police Force)

SINGAPORE: A former sales assistant was sentenced to six years' jail on Monday after pleading guilty to eight counts of cheating and one count of criminal breach of trust.

Tang Yong Kwok, 31, was dismissed from his former company Norman Audio on February 28 this year after he failed to explain why some equipment went missing.

Despite his dismissal, Tang duped his past customers, convincing them that he was still selling audio equipment from the company but at a discounted price.

As a condition for selling the equipment at lower prices, Tang insisted that his customers pay in full and in cash.

His customers, who were unaware that Tang had left the company, paid him between $1,300 and $10,000 each time. He cheated customers with this ruse to a total of $86.600.

However, the goods were not delivered and Tang became uncontactable.

The court also heard that Tang used the money for gambling activities.

His ruse came to light after an inventory check revealed discrepancies between the stock levels and sales records.

- CNA/de

Gambling addict embezzles $1m from audio showroom

Salesman gets 6 years' jail; he swindled clients even after he was sacked

By Khushwant Singh

An audio equipment salesman embezzled more than $1 million of his employer's money, blowing most of it at a casino.

Gambling addict Tang Yong Kwok carried on swindling victims even after he was sacked from the showroom - coming up with a new ruse to cheat his customers, some of whom were old friends.

The 31-year-old was jailed for six years on Monday.

The court heard he was in debt to loan sharks and gambled regularly at Marina Bay Sands, as well as on the 4-D lottery.

Har? I thought Adelphi is the massage & happy ending hub?

The Adelphi is the place I go oogle at Audio Eppt., this was some while back, was very suprised to see massage joint at the basement. The building is next to supreme court & Parliament is just the next traffic lights, guess these people, 'got eyes no see TARZAn'..:biggrin:

alamak...........he con 86k after he left company...........he promise people goods but never deliver lah..........

this bunch of people gave him 86k...............
so total 1.086 million cheated? the 1 million dollars worth of equipment sold? that means alot of people got a bargain.

The Adelphi is the place I go oogle at Audio Eppt., this was some while back, was very suprised to see massage joint at the basement. The building is next to supreme court & Parliament is just the next traffic lights, guess these people, 'got eyes no see TARZAn'..:biggrin:

Thats right.. Been a few years since I last went to Adelphi.. Purchased a Marantz amp there few weeks ago.. Was surprised to see quite a few massage joints at the basement..Out of curiousity, I purposely jalan jalan outside one of the massage shop.. One gal smiled at me asking me in Mandarin whether I want to try her massage.. Quite tempting as the weather was hot that day.. :p

This salesman got a good deal. If he only earns $1,600 per month and he managed to scam $1,000,000, then that works out to be 52 years of working (excluding commission or bonuses).

Thats right.. Been a few years since I last went to Adelphi.. Purchased a Marantz amp there few weeks ago.. Was surprised to see quite a few massage joints at the basement..Out of curiousity, I purposely jalan jalan outside one of the massage shop.. One gal smiled at me asking me in Mandarin whether I want to try her massage.. Quite tempting as the weather was hot that day.. :p

So, she was twiddling your 'knob's eh? so you were tempted to use your 'gold plate RCA Jack' or the "HDMI" one?:biggrin:

Feel like connecting her to my ''Banana Plugs''....:biggrin: :p No lah.. In the end I just waved her off because I was in a hurry to go back home to test the new Amp..

Thankfully you got your processor in the right place, you let your ears do the walking... don't tell me you wanted to test your 'amp' with her in the cubicle. Remember, supreme court is round the corner & the judge may not had a good morning massage oops! morning breakfast!:biggrin:

This salesman got a good deal. If he only earns $1,600 per month and he managed to scam $1,000,000, then that works out to be 52 years of working (excluding commission or bonuses).
6 years for 1 mill is quite stiff? i think in future cannot use casino as mitigating factor.....i think they dun want casinos to be cast in bad light

maxpark

maybe the legal fellas also need a place to 'unwind'... afternoon chop chop finish, go back to work... :smile::smile: