• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Encounter With Peasants

I had the good fortune of encountering these peasants recently. Btw, I'm also a peasant.

First encounter:
Was walking along the road when a woman came up to me (in her 50s or 60s) and said in English:
"Can give me a dollar?"
I asked: "What for"
She replied "Makan".
I ignored her and walked away.
I noticed that she was approaching everyone who was walking in the same area.
What do you think about her request and methods? What could she have done differently? How should I have responded?

Second encounter:
Was waiting for the MRT when I saw a boy (between 6 to 9 years old) eating something while also waiting for the train. His mother was seated beside him.
I went up to them and said to the boy:
"Can you please stop eating?"
He actually stopped. His mother looked at me but she didn't say anything to me or the boy. Perhaps she stared at me after I walked away, but I didn't look back.
What do you think about what I said and how the woman reacted?

middaydog

"Can give me a dollar?"
She replied "You can screw me".
I asked: "You so old, who want to screw you ?"
She replied "That why I only ask for a dollar_ anyway it's a thought that count lah, just give me a dollar".

dysentry

yesterday a bicycle banged into me from behind at ECP, the mother just kept quiet while the boy cyclist quickly rode away

theblackhole

you see peasants cycling all over the heartlands. you see them crossing and jay walking all over the place. you see them littering all over the place. you see them loitering in the void decks. you see them drinking black coffee and tea at the kopitiam. you see them listening to the koyok man at the market and buying the koyok to cure cancer. you see them all over the place in foot reflexology and acupuncture centres. you see them put koyok on the face, on the hands and all over their body. you see them talking all sorts of cures of all sorts of illnesses. you see them wearing all sorts of amulets to ward off evils and demons. you see them queueing up for toto and 4 d. you see them selling tissue papers.you see them searching the bins. you see them selling cardboards. you see them begging.you see them in opds and in $1 value shops. they dress horribly - all in one: pyjamas and market and shopping and home attire. they are the peasants of singapore and many of them are china prs. well done!

ahleebabasingaporethief

i had the good fortune of encountering these peasants recently. Btw, i'm also a peasant.

First encounter:
Was walking along the road when a woman came up to me (in her 50s or 60s) and said in english:
"can give me a dollar?"
i asked: "what for"
she replied "makan".
I ignored her and walked away.
I noticed that she was approaching everyone who was walking in the same area.
What do you think about her request and methods? What could she have done differently? How should i have responded?

Second encounter:
Was waiting for the mrt when i saw a boy (between 6 to 9 years old) eating something while also waiting for the train. His mother was seated beside him.
I went up to them and said to the boy:
"can you please stop eating?"
he actually stopped. His mother looked at me but she didn't say anything to me or the boy. Perhaps she stared at me after i walked away, but i didn't look back.
What do you think about what i said and how the woman reacted?

you are an arsehole for denying one dollar who begged.
Yes there are beggars that are sydicated but i would think most are not.
You fucking think it's easy to beg if you don't really need money?
Just try asking your friends to borrow some money next time.
It's worst asking from starngers on the streets.
The situation in singapore is dire for many.
...and u chow chee bye would deny giving $1 to a starnger who begged from you in the streets?
You are a moron.
I really hate to use strong words on anyone, but you make me mad.

How can you not help a fellow human being and singaporean in need?

"Can give me a dollar?"
She replied "You can screw me".
I asked: "You so old, who want to screw you ?"
She replied "That why I only ask for a dollar_ anyway it's a thought that count lah, just give me a dollar".
So did you screw her or not? :smile:

you are an arsehole for denying one dollar who begged.
Yes there are beggars that are sydicated but i would think most are not.
You fucking think it's easy to beg if you don't really need money?
Just try asking your friends to borrow some money next time.
It's worst asking from starngers on the streets.
The situation in singapore is dire for many.
...and u chow chee bye would deny giving $1 to a starnger who begged from you in the streets?
You are a moron.
I really hate to use strong words on anyone, but you make me mad.

How can you not help a fellow human being and singaporean in need?
Yes, I am an arsehole. But I'm sure you have one too.
The question is:
Why is she going around asking everyone for a dollar? Is that the right thing to do? Would you give her a dollar everytime you see her and she asks you?

you see peasants cycling all over the heartlands. you see them crossing and jay walking all over the place. you see them littering all over the place. you see them loitering in the void decks. you see them drinking black coffee and tea at the kopitiam. you see them listening to the koyok man at the market and buying the koyok to cure cancer. you see them all over the place in foot reflexology and acupuncture centres. you see them put koyok on the face, on the hands and all over their body. you see them talking all sorts of cures of all sorts of illnesses. you see them wearing all sorts of amulets to ward off evils and demons. you see them queueing up for toto and 4 d. you see them selling tissue papers.you see them searching the bins. you see them selling cardboards. you see them begging.you see them in opds and in $1 value shops. they dress horribly - all in one: pyjamas and market and shopping and home attire. they are the peasants of singapore and many of them are china prs. well done!
Have you done anything or said anything to such people you see or meet?

tiulehloumoh

buy her makan lah.... don't give cash.... if she always ask from you, then it is fate that you owe her in your previous life......:p

Good point. But what if we don't have time to buy makan? It also appears that she is not really looking for makan but looking for a little cash from everyone.

tiulehloumoh

Good point. But what if we don't have time to buy makan? It also appears that she is not really looking for makan but looking for a little cash from everyone.

Just tell her that you are busy and will buy her makan the next time ....:biggrin:

imperialarms

Yes, I am an arsehole. But I'm sure you have one too.
The question is:
Why is she going around asking everyone for a dollar? Is that the right thing to do? Would you give her a dollar everytime you see her and she asks you?

what i would do, is i used to take 50 change into small notes and go arnd eveyr weekend, give to whoever wnats it.

it teaches u that money is not impt, and that compassion is our greatest treasure

lolabunny

can't believe an entire thread is spent griping about whether or not to give $1 to some poor old woman, lying or otherwise. :cool:

sage

1st encounter - Dont want to give old lady just keep mouth shut. Asked for reason still didn't give $1 and walked off. On what detail basis would you part with your $1. I expect you give and tell her what to do next election or go pappies' mcys. 2nd encounter - You more worried about the boy's mother than the issue and if they are loud FTs I am sure you are the sort to keep dead quiet.

R4g3

yesterday i brought my kids down to the condo swimming pool for a swim, then the whole pool was sealed. Ask the security what happen, he told me a mother brought her toddler child into the baby pool without diaper and the toddler did his big business in the pool.

whole pool has to be sealed and ask the specialist come to clear the pool and the filter.