• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Idiot economist Jamus suggests 70 year lease for HDB

IMG_5446.jpeg

This clown suggested we start with baseline of 70 years and have the option to add on extra 29. Why not suggest 50 years lease? Most prob will be dead by then.

View attachment 218183

This clown suggested we start with baseline of 70 years and have the option to add on extra 29. Why not suggest 50 years lease? Most prob will be dead by then.
Wtf he stole my idea.
But 70 years still abit too long.
50 years abit too short.
60 years should be the most ideal.

IMHO hdb shouldn't even have a 99 years lease.
Reduce the lease and same time reduce the price.
Just like flexi bto.

This can also leemind sinkies that a human doesn't live that long.
This can also reduce speculations.
Leemember that hdb flat is a public housing for living, not to make money out of it.

This will never work because the whole point for the fixed 99 year lease is to have full control of what to do with the land at the very same time. You think it’s easy to control land use when everyone staying in the same block have differing expiry dates on their homes?

Stupid economics theorist without brain! Sometimes ppl study too hard till they cannot think of practical solutions.

This will never work because the whole point for the fixed 99 year lease is to have full control of what to do with the land at the very same time. You think it’s easy to control land use when everyone staying in the same block have differing expiry dates on their homes?

Stupid economics theorist without brain! Sometimes ppl study too hard till they cannot think of practical solutions.
Currently some bto already have a mixture of flexi 15 years to max 99 years de woh.

99 years lease was just a arbitrary figure pap anyhow issued long ago. They wouldn't think so far ahead then.

To bring down the cost of hdb for now, there is no better solution then to reduce the lease.
Human doesn't live that long.
Don't tell me about leaving a legacy to the descendant, it is supposed to be for them to live in.
Want to talk descendants then go pte freehold.

Currently some bto already have a mixture of flexi 15 years to max 99 years de woh.

99 years lease was just a arbitrary figure pap anyhow issued long ago. They wouldn't think so far ahead then.

To bring down the cost of hdb for now, there is no better solution then to reduce the lease.
Human doesn't live that long.
Don't tell me about leaving a legacy to the descendant, it is supposed to be for them to live in.
Want to talk descendants then go pte freehold.

At least can support them til middle age leh...lan jiao la

On average, sinkies will buy the flat at 30.
For a 60 years lease, it will last them till 90 yo.
On average, sinkies will have children at 30 too.
When the children reach 40, the flat will still have a good 20 years to live until 60.
Not enough mare, or you want to have jlb children? :cool:
If you talk about what if they buy leesale and left a little lease, then I said jiak sai lor, the orleeginal goal of a hdb is to have a shelter and not to make money out of it.

He should suggest the land costs must be capped at the 20% of the purchase costs of the flat. The flat should be minimum, no flooring,no deco and no tiles. Only basic amenities

By 2025 every sinkie should know property is a government tool for fattening its reserves in terms of bank loans.

This was still acceptable until Mah bow tan liberalised the public housing market and caused price levels to run away. Now Gen Z-ers will pay 1M for HDB flats because their parents didn't vote more opposition MPs 20 years ago.

World best safe haven asset
By 2025 every sinkie should know property is a government tool for fattening its reserves in terms of bank loans.

This was still acceptable until Mah bow tan liberalised the public housing market and caused price levels to run away. Now Gen Z-ers will pay 1M for HDB flats because their parents didn't vote more opposition MPs 20 years ago.