• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Hope the sick be exempted from paying GST

pachinko

Just spoken to a friend who had prostrate cancer surgery , he was complaining on the GST in his bill ! It's not like something he enjoys having ( like eating in restaurants, overseas travel,buying a car which may attract GST ) yet he has been slapped with GST . Its like adding insult to injury , he is so upset with this additional tax on his hospitalization bill. Perhaps GST should not apply across the board , certain things should not attract GST , especially medical .Being sick is already sad enough , yet got to pay GST for being sick ?

Everybody must pay gst. The poor pays lesser then the rich. Thats the theory. What I don't understand is why the foreigners can claim gst rebate? I hope these one get scrapped for them. They come here to enjoy, they pay the same as us. Just like in US, we pay them tips like the locals do.

Foreigners only get GST rebates for buying stuff and not for services such as hotel, medical expenses or restaurants.

I don't get gst rebate when I'm in Australia? Or US? I pay the same as their locals. They come because they wanna visit and spend money here, why must give them gst rebates? Their money is not money meh?

Everybody must pay gst. The poor pays lesser then the rich. Thats the theory. What I don't understand is why the foreigners can claim gst rebate? I hope these one get scrapped for them. They come here to enjoy, they pay the same as us. Just like in US, we pay them tips like the locals do.

In Canada they don't pay gst on groceries, medical care, medicines , childrens clothing, school books & supplies.

If you want to avoid paying Spore gst on serious medical treatment it is better to look for treatment in Malaysia & Thailand.

My wife went for chemo today. Total Bill for today's chemo is S$7820.63. The GST is $511.63. Total 6 chemos, so bill X 6.

If she didn't have insurance, GST already buay tahan, more than total S$3000!!

:(

In Canada they don't pay gst on groceries, medical care, medicines , childrens clothing, school books & supplies.

If you want to avoid paying Spore gst on serious medical treatment it is better to look for treatment in Malaysia & Thailand.

What are you talking about? Gst for medical? Since we have gst and gst is suppose to be for helping the people rite? So medical should be free?

Nothing is free in Spore. Go ask our poor MP who had to pay $8 for his heart operation :rolleyes:

I wonder if he had to pay GST:confused:

So heart opt is $8? So cancer chemo should be $16?

Fortunately I don't have cancer. I sympathise with any "lesser mortal" who has to depend on Spore's medical system.

I have found it cheaper to get treatment outside of Spore & suggest others explore this avenue.

Pap the merciless

if we dun charge gst for medical bills, a lot of peasants will go for unnecessary operations. Ok.

After this it is impossible to get another insurance coverage.

You are correct, for critical illness and wholelife and term policy, no way she can buy new ones.

But her Health Insurance (Incomeshield), it still continuing with no premium loading (increase). So we die die also must not cancel this policy or let it lapse in anyway!!

:)

Singapore gov still want to make money when you sick by collect extra tax(called GST).
If can all medical bill should be exampted from GST.

My wife went for chemo today. Total Bill for today's chemo is S$7820.63. The GST is $511.63. Total 6 chemos, so bill X 6.

If she didn't have insurance, GST already buay tahan, more than total S$3000!!

:(

She didn't pay $8 after GST?

You are correct, for critical illness and wholelife and term policy, no way she can buy new ones.

But her Health Insurance (Incomeshield), it still continuing with no premium loading (increase). So we die die also must not cancel this policy or let it lapse in anyway!!

:)

And then when you reach age 80, after paying for it you whole life depleting all your medisave, it gets laspes just when you need it most?