• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

This fear must go

me think this fella still happy happy collecting his life long Pension.:thumbsdown:

Altogether now!!! HUAT AH!!!

no matter what
in the end
still pap
people will forever trust pap
no way out for any party
dont believe
wake up 11 July and see 90% landslide victory

The fear that is continually instilled into the population: SG is a small country with no natural resources.
SG, on a per capital basis, is one of the richest countries in the world in terms of reserves.
Singaporeans, through the GIC and Temasek, have ownerships in hundreds of profitable companies, real estate, other assets. Investments that has steadily bolstered SG's reserves and provide a more than comfortable safety net, as borne out by the covid-19 pandemic.
However, these reserves are controlled by the PAP who refuses to disclose what Singaporeans own.

It is not about pushing oneself harder in the rat race.
It is about making the ones in charge responsible for why Sinkies have to be in a rat race.
Sinkies who studied hard hoping to get a good job finds that jobs are taken up by foreign talent, especially CECA FTs.
Those in the rat race should pause, think about who they voted, and then ask questions of their MPs and ministers.
Make the elected politicians work. This is working smart.
That is less work than puffing away in the rat race.

Why Singaporeans cannot afford to give up the rat race​

The writer says that in Singapore, which has a small population, every individual contribution counts. He adds that Singaporeans cannot afford to be complacent.

JUN 21, 2021

The Straits Times editorial published on June 17 referred to the young in China wanting to give up the rat race ('Lying flat' in China bears watching).
Some young people in China want to "tang ping", translated as "lying down" or "lying flat".
As mentioned in an earlier article published on June 12 ('Tang ping' trend: China youth join calls to get out of gruelling rat race), the practice may have led some to lose ambition and adopt a passive attitude towards work.
It may eventually lead to "nei juan" or involution, the opposite of evolution, which in turn could affect China's progress and development.
I think the authorities in China do not have to worry much about "tang ping". Big countries like the US, Britain and China with huge populations can afford to relax.
But in Singapore, which has a small population, every individual contribution counts. We cannot afford to be complacent. Moreover, we have no natural resources. The only asset that Singapore has is its people.

Fortunately, we do not have natural disasters such as typhoons, earthquakes or extreme weather.
Therefore, to survive in this competitive world, it is important that we have good leaders and a well-educated and hard-working population ready to face the future with confidence.
That should be the fundamental approach to begin with, and the rest is about how we adapt to the changing circumstances and make ourselves relevant to the rest of the world.
We must never ever rest on our laurels. Constantly acquiring knowledge and skills is the only way for us to stay ahead in this survival race.

Ong Heng Poh

The fear that is continually instilled into the population: SG is a small country with no natural resources.
SG, on a per capital basis, is one of the richest countries in the world in terms of reserves.
Singaporeans, through the GIC and Temasek, have ownerships in hundreds of profitable companies, real estate, other assets. Investments that has steadily bolstered SG's reserves and provide a more than comfortable safety net, as borne out by the covid-19 pandemic.
However, these reserves are controlled by the PAP who refuses to disclose what Singaporeans own.

JUN 21, 2021

The Straits Times editorial published on June 17 referred to the young in China wanting to give up the rat race ('Lying flat' in China bears watching).
Some young people in China want to "tang ping", translated as "lying down" or "lying flat".
As mentioned in an earlier article published on June 12 ('Tang ping' trend: China youth join calls to get out of gruelling rat race), the practice may have led some to lose ambition and adopt a passive attitude towards work.
It may eventually lead to "nei juan" or involution, the opposite of evolution, which in turn could affect China's progress and development.
I think the authorities in China do not have to worry much about "tang ping". Big countries like the US, Britain and China with huge populations can afford to relax.
But in Singapore, which has a small population, every individual contribution counts. We cannot afford to be complacent. Moreover, we have no natural resources. The only asset that Singapore has is its people.

Fortunately, we do not have natural disasters such as typhoons, earthquakes or extreme weather.
Therefore, to survive in this competitive world, it is important that we have good leaders and a well-educated and hard-working population ready to face the future with confidence.
That should be the fundamental approach to begin with, and the rest is about how we adapt to the changing circumstances and make ourselves relevant to the rest of the world.
We must never ever rest on our laurels. Constantly acquiring knowledge and skills is the only way for us to stay ahead in this survival race.

Ong Heng Poh

Start a fake degree Upton uni in Singapore, then get them in to learn as they earn scheme in PAP companies and banks... cheap labours at its best.

No worries, 6 million unemployed ahnehs a year in India waiting for PAP to scoop...

Who shd not be complacent? Only Rich country Singapore can do this trick time after time...

Then 5 years later these ahneh with real work experiences go to 5 eye to steal jobs from angmohs caused unemployed angmoh angry and furious...

One fake degree ahneh doctor did well in NUH learn as you earn scheme to get real work experiences. He was a Superstar doctor won a lot of advanced medical breakthrough in NUH and make PAP proud..

So PAP can see ahneh are superstars FTs and CECA is a great deal... keep scoop more unemployed fake degree ahneh to flood Singapore workplaces..

and he was ambitious to take his real working experiences in NUH cross over to USA.

Then get caught and exposed by angmoh kias for start out with his fake doctor degree in the first instance ... PAP pride....

Angmohs have so many superstars in US....

The amount of Fines one has paid will automatically instill fear in oneself of PAP.

It is not about pushing oneself harder in the rat race.
It is about making the ones in charge responsible for why Sinkies have to be in a rat race.
Sinkies who studied hard hoping to get a good job finds that jobs are taken up by foreign talent, especially CECA FTs.
Those in the rat race should pause, think about who they voted, and then ask questions of their MPs and ministers.
Make the elected politicians work. This is working smart.
That is less work than puffing away in the rat race.

JUN 21, 2021

Ong Heng Poh

As usual, only the most odious lanjiao lang write to the Shitty Times forum. And their letters are published by their own kind. :wink:

This is not the first time Ong Heng Poh had written to the Shitty Times forum. Previously there was another guy named Harry Ong Heng Poh. Are they the same person? What are the odds? :cool:

https://www.google.com/search?q="Ong+Heng+Poh"

https://www.straitstimes.com/opinio...-part-to-help-those-with-mental-health-issues

1574221222941-png.68079

S'poreans must brace themselves for a less peaceful region, period of high inflation: PM Lee​

fhmessage080822.jpg

Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong delivered the National Day message from Gardens by the Bay. PHOTO: MINISTRY OF COMMUNICATIONS AND INFORMATION
goh_yan_han.png

Goh Yan Han
Political Correspondent

Aug 8, 2022

SINGAPORE - Singaporeans must brace themselves and be psychologically prepared that in the next decades, the region might not be as peaceful and stable as it has been, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong said on Monday (Aug 8).
And the world is not likely to return any time soon to the low inflation levels and interest rates people have enjoyed in recent decades, he added in his National Day message.
The Prime Minister acknowledged that the cost of living is at the top of everyone's minds, and gave the assurance that the Government stands ready to do more to help Singaporeans if things worsen.
But the basic reality, he said, is that global economic conditions have shifted.
Singapore's deeper response must therefore be to transform industries, upgrade skills and raise productivity.
Only then can wages beat inflation and citizens earn more in real terms year by year.

PM Lee gave this sobering outlook on geopolitics and the economy in his speech that was recorded at Gardens by the Bay, and broadcast to the nation.

He noted that after battling Covid-19 for 2½ years, Singaporeans have come through as one united people.
Key to its success has been the high level of trust - not just people trusting the Government and following its advice on safe management measures and vaccinations, but also trusting one another to be responsible.
"We did the right thing even when no one was checking," he said. "Our mutual trust in one another made all the difference."

Singaporeans have emerged stronger and united from the pandemic, he added.
This unity is crucial as the country moves forward.

PM Lee noted that US-China relations are worsening, with intractable issues, deep suspicions and limited engagement between the two sides.
This is unlikely to improve any time soon, and miscalculations or mishaps can easily make things worse, he added.
Russia's invasion of Ukraine also has profound implications for the world and for Singapore.
First, it has set Russia, a nuclear power, bitterly against many states, especially the US and Nato countries. This hostility is deep and will not be resolved easily.
Second, the invasion violates fundamental principles of sovereignty and territorial integrity under the United Nations Charter. Such principles are vital to Singapore, as they underpin its security and existence, he said.
Third, war in Europe will affect regional security in the Asia-Pacific. It has further strained China's ties with the US, and with America's partners in Asia. "Singapore will be buffeted by intense rivalry and tensions in the region around us," he added.
"Staying united is key to Singapore's survival - it is the only way to deal with challenges in an increasingly troubled world," he said. "We must look to our Total Defence, and maintain a strong and credible SAF and Home Team."

Turning to the economy, PM Lee noted that while Singapore has emerged strongly from the pandemic, the outlook has clouded considerably.
The pandemic had disrupted supply chains and inflation was already on the rise.
Russia's invasion of Ukraine aggravated both problems, and food and energy prices are rising globally.
The Government is doing everything necessary to help Singaporeans cope with rising prices, PM Lee said.
Multiple support packages target assistance at those who need it most, with some measures already in place, while others will be rolled out in the coming months, he added.
"We have acted decisively to secure supplies of food and other essentials, diversifying our sources and building up adequate stockpiles."
MORE ON THIS TOPIC
Electricity, petrol prices to keep rising as global supply outlook worsens
How $1.5b support package will help S'poreans cope with inflation
PM Lee added that he was glad to see companies and community groups starting their own support programmes.
"By helping each other, Singapore can be stronger together," he said.
Meanwhile, the Government has tightened its exchange rate policy and strengthened the Singapore dollar to dampen imported inflation.
"The Government also stands ready to do more to help Singaporeans if things worsen," he added.
PM Lee said: "More storms and turbulence lie ahead. But do not fear.
"As long as we stay united and resolute, we can keep our nation peaceful and secure, build a more prosperous economy, and forge an inclusive society that all of us can belong to and be proud of, for many years to come."

Singapore’s reserves cannot be built up again once gone: PM Lee​

MCIPhoto02.jpg

PM Lee Hsien Loong said he was proud that Singapore had built up the reserves, and is anxious that the country keeps it like this for as long as it can. PHOTO: MINISTRY OF COMMUNICATIONS AND INFORMATION
goh_yan_han.png

Goh Yan Han
Political Correspondent

August 16, 2023

SINGAPORE - Singapore’s reserves cannot be built up again once they are gone, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong said in an interview published on Wednesday.
The country is no longer in a situation like it was in the 1970s and early 80s. This was when it had strong growth and budget surpluses yearly, and there was the possibility of putting aside some of the prosperity for a future rainy day, he said.
Today, Singapore is not as poor as it was before, with higher incomes and a higher standard of living. But expectations and needs have also grown, noted PM Lee.
“So, to say today you put aside systematically 2 per cent, 3 per cent of GDP (gross domestic product) and build up a sovereign fund from scratch, I think it is very hard. The economy will not be able to take it,” he said.
PM Lee said he was proud that Singapore had built up the reserves, and is anxious that the country keeps it like this for as long as it can.
“Because it is one of those things – once it is gone, it will never come back again. It is finished,” he said.
“I think we need to be very, very conscious that this is a Garden of Eden state. You are here, it is marvellous. You may not always feel great, but please be aware this is the Garden of Eden because if you come out from it, you cannot go back in again by the sweat of your brow.”

PM Lee was responding to questions on Singapore’s reserves, including its functions and its history, in an interview with national broadcaster CNA that was aired on Wednesday in a documentary titled Singapore Reserves Revealed. The interview was conducted on June 8.
When asked what the reserves mean to him, PM Lee said they are a great source of comfort and reassurance that if Singapore runs into a jam, it will not be destitute and will have “one extra card to play”.
It gives the Government confidence, but is also a reminder of the forefathers’ contributions and a responsibility to generations to come, he added.

Singapore’s reserves are managed by the Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS), the Republic’s investment company Temasek and sovereign wealth fund GIC.
The reserves also include those of key statutory boards like the Housing Board, Central Provident Fund and JTC Corporation, which together with MAS, GIC and Temasek are listed in the Constitution as Fifth Schedule entities.

PM Lee said that the biggest misconception among Singaporeans on the reserves was that “there is such (a) thing as enough”.
“And how much is enough? If I have more than that, I can spend it. If I have less than that, well, maybe I hope to get there. I do not know how much is enough. There is no such idea of how much is enough,” he said.
The future is unpredictable and many things can go wrong, he added.
“From the long-term point of view, will I have enough if the world is steady and peaceful? I hope so. Will I have enough under all circumstances? That is what I do not know, and that is what the Government has to worry about on behalf of Singaporeans.”
He noted that when the global financial crisis of 2008 hit, the Government needed to draw $4 billion to $5 billion from the reserves. For the Covid-19 crisis, it needed over $40 billion.
“So, you have no idea how much you will need because Covid-19 is far from the worst thing that can happen to us,” he said.
He suggested that Singaporeans look at the reserves as “rainy-day money”.
“If it is not raining, I do not touch it. If it is a sunny day and I can afford to, I put a little bit more into it.
“However much there is, I keep on having this attitude that I would like to build it up a little bit more when I can, so that the next generation will be in a more secure position than I am today,” he said.
PM Lee added that while the Government managed to put back the money it drew for the global financial crisis, he did not think it was possible for the Covid-19 draws to be put back.
20210626763745630156f29c-9ebc-42f9-92fe-9cd87622fea2.jpg

The Covid-19 vaccination centre at Potong Pasir Community Club on June 26, 2021. The Government needed to draw over $40 billion from the reserves for the Covid-19 crisis. ST PHOTO: CHONG JUN LIANG
When asked if there was any anxiety over Singapore’s response to the Covid-19 crisis, PM Lee said he had no doubt that the Government was doing the right thing, and it was doing what it needed to do.
“I was relieved that we were not held back because of the lack of resources to do, at least not lack of dollars, to do what we needed to do.
“It could have been overdone, but in such situations, it is not worth trying to fine-tune,” he said, adding that the eventual spending was less than expected, though still substantial.
When asked how large the reserves are, PM Lee said he could not answer the question, but said they are “enough for most circumstances” and enough to provide a substantial support in the Budget every year, by contributing to a fifth of the Government’s revenues.
“But it may or may not be enough if you have a catastrophe – who knows what the world will bring? So, I do not ask whether it is enough; I ask, can we husband it and if possible, gradually grow it bit by bit year by year,” he said.
He noted the importance of the contributions from the reserves to Singapore’s Budget, without which the Government might have to make up the revenue from other sources, such as doubling corporate income tax or personal income tax, or increasing the goods and services tax rate further.
“When people say, why don’t we use the reserves in order to benefit the current generation? The answer – we are, to a very big degree. But you may not realise because we have gotten used to it,” he said.
When asked if the structure of having MAS, Temasek and GIC overseeing the reserves is correct and useful in today’s context, PM Lee said that from time to time, the Government has asked itself if it should have two GICs.
“Because you have a certain amount of funds now, it is not small. Conceivably, you could have two and they could compete with one another, then you would know who is doing well and who is not doing so well,” he said.
“Every few years we argue about this, but finally we will conclude that building one team is hard enough, let us concentrate on making that one team succeed. And I think we keep it like that.”

On the singular pivotal moment in the history of Singapore’s reserves, PM Lee pointed to the time when the Government decided to recognise the reserves as being a lot of money, and needing to have a second key.
The idea was first floated by former prime minister Lee Kuan Yew in his 1984 National Day Rally speech, before the scheme was worked out and implemented over the next few years.
“I think that was the key turning point because it crystallised people’s focus. They knew that there is such a thing called the reserves, that it is quite a lot of money and that it needs to be protected,” said PM Lee.
When drafting the system, it was important to protect the reserves but not paralyse the government of the day, noted PM Lee.
He noted a phrase used by the late Mr Lee on the topic.
“The phrase which he used was that one day, if you have a rogue government, everything is finished.
“That was the way we explained and marketed it, that one day, if you have a freak election, you have the wrong team in charge, you have a rogue government who wants to raid the reserves, in one term, all your life savings of generations of Singaporeans will be gone. And therefore, we must prevent that,” said PM Lee.
He also noted that when the system of the elected presidency was first devised, there was no clear distinction in the original legislation between income from the reserves and investment returns.
In those days, the portfolio was not invested as systematically and comprehensively as it is today. The premise then was that the principal sum would be locked up, and all of the income from the reserves could be spent.
ST14603.JPG

When the system of the elected presidency was first devised, there was no clear distinction in the original legislation between income from the reserves and investment returns. ST PHOTO: SHINTARO TAY
PM Lee said that when former president Ong Teng Cheong took on the role, Mr Ong asked why all the income was being spent, and asked the Government to set some aside for the future.
Mr Ong then suggested that half be split for now, and the other half for the future.
The Government accepted the suggestion and amended the Constitution.
There was an arbitrariness to the decision of the 50-50 split, said PM Lee.
“But when you do deals, 50 per cent is not an arbitrary number. Fifty per cent has a certain psychological resonance to it,” he said.
At the same time, barring accidents and if everything goes well, the reserves should be able to grow by about 2 per cent yearly.
This will ensure the contribution to the Budget every year can be maintained, said PM Lee.
The Net Investment Returns Contribution (NIRC), which comes from the reserves, is the largest contributor to the Government’s revenue yearly.
When asked about potential scenarios where the 50-50 rule could be changed, PM Lee replied: “If the world completely changed, and I would say several successors from me, from now.”
He added: “Where we are does not give me any reason to need to reconsider this 50-50 NIRC rule.”

PM Wong urges Singaporeans to remain united in ‘a far more dangerous world’​

photo2024-11-2411-01-142028229_0.jpg

PM Wong said he had good discussions with many counterparts during overseas work trips, including the recent Group of 20 Summit in Brazil. ST PHOTO: LIM YAOHUI
goh_yan_han.png

Goh Yan Han
Political Correspondent

Nov 24, 2024

SINGAPORE - Singaporeans must remain united in a far more dangerous world that is in flux, with more conflict and instability on the horizon, said Prime Minister Lawrence Wong on Nov 24.

“Then we can speak with one voice on the world stage. And we will be valued as a safe and secure, a stable and reliable nation, even in a troubled and uncertain world,” he said.

Speaking at the People’s Action Party (PAP) conference, he said the Government would not be able to navigate this turbulent new world or withstand hostile foreign influence operations without the steadfast support of Singaporeans.

Singapore’s reputation and international standing is high, PM Wong noted at the conference, where cadres had gathered in the morning to vote for the next iteration of the party’s top decision-making body that would lead it in the next general election.

“What makes Singapore so exceptional? It’s because when we speak, others know that it is a Singaporean point of view, coherently articulated by the Government and supported by Singaporeans,” he said.

“They know we mean business, and we do not waver,” added PM Wong, who is currently the ruling PAP’s deputy secretary-general.

He is slated to take on the role of party chief from Senior Minister Lee Hsien Loong after the first meeting of the new central executive committee.

Addressing about 3,000 PAP cadres, activists and guests, PM Wong laid out the challenges in the global situation that Singapore will have to navigate as it embarks on its next phase.

The Prime Minister said he had good discussions with many of his counterparts during various overseas work trips, including the recent Group of 20 Summit in Brazil.

Everyone is worried, he said, given the major wars raging in Europe and the Middle East, and US-China relations in a more challenging place.

“There are many moving pieces geopolitically where things can easily go wrong,” he added.

PM Wong said for decades, countries everywhere benefited from an American-led global order that was supported by multilateral institutions.

But the United States – while still pre-eminent – no longer wishes to be the world’s policeman. Former US president Donald Trump has been re-elected to office, on the basis of “America First”, he noted.

His mandate reflects the growing sentiment among the American public that they are paying too high a price to uphold the global order, and not enjoying the commensurate benefits.

Other rising powers like China and India are also focused on their own domestic issues, and are not in a position to take on larger global responsibilities yet, said PM Wong.

The world is in flux, with established norms fading but a new order yet to take shape, he added.

“Amidst this vacuum of leadership, we can expect more conflict and instability in the world, as state and non-state actors will be emboldened to test boundaries, often with little or no consequence,” he added, citing the ongoing conflicts in Ukraine and the Middle East.

Ideally, the major powers should come together to coordinate their positions and work for the larger good, but there is deep suspicion and mistrust between America and China, said PM Wong.

Each regards the other as a strategic threat, with both taking steps to enlarge their spheres of influence and strengthen their own positions – so it will get harder to find common ground, he said.

“These are the realities of the world we live in. And these dynamics will be with us for some time – we’re not talking about one or two years... I think we will have to grapple with this perhaps for the next decade or beyond,” said PM Wong.

“We will find it more difficult to make a living, and keep ourselves safe. Other countries may test our limits, and we must be ready to stand firm and defend our interests. At the same time, we must redouble our efforts to make friends with everyone, big and small, near and far,” he added.

Singaporeans must hence remain united, even as they are bound to have different views on global developments.

“We cannot let our differences pull us apart. It is already tough to be a small country for our voices to be heard. It will be even tougher if our voice is diffused and incoherent. At the end of the day, we must consider the larger national interest and take a united position,” he said.

PM Wong said he does not take the trust and support of Singaporeans lightly.

“My team and I will work hard to earn your trust, and to be a steadfast voice for Singapore and Singaporeans on the world stage.”

Stakes in GE2025 are high; no guarantee PAP will win and form a stable govt, says PM Wong​

aipmwongspeech241124.jpg

Prime Minister Lawrence Wong outlined steps taken to refresh the party at the People’s Action Party conference on Nov 24. ST PHOTO: LIM YAOHUI
kennethcheng-newbyline.png

Kenneth Cheng
Assistant News Editor

Nov 24, 2024

SINGAPORE - The upcoming general election in 2025 will be a high-stakes one, and Singapore risks ending up with a much weaker government if there is just a modest swing in popular votes against the ruling party, said Prime Minister Lawrence Wong.

Speaking at the People’s Action Party conference at the Singapore Expo on Nov 24, PM Wong told party members: “Please don’t think it is guaranteed that the PAP will win and form a stable government.”

In a speech lasting about 40 minutes, the Prime Minister also highlighted the need for Singaporeans to stay united in the midst of trying circumstances beyond its borders, and spoke of the urgency for the PAP to have a fresh crop of younger candidates who can take Singapore forward.

He noted that in the 2020 General Election, the Opposition had warned Singaporeans against an “Opposition wipe-out”.

“Actually, there is no chance of that happening at all,” PM Wong said, adding that the Opposition in Singapore is here to stay.

There have been opposition MPs in Parliament since 1981, and the Non-Constituency MP scheme guarantees at least 12 opposition MPs in the House, noted PM Wong, who is set to take over as the PAP’s secretary-general. He is now the party’s deputy secretary-general.

“In fact, given the desire for more opposition voices, the bigger risk we face is the loss of a stable and strong and good government,” he said.

The Opposition themselves admit they are far from ready to form the Government, he told an audience of about 3,000 PAP cadres, activists and guests.

“They say that partly because they know that Singaporeans will not support them if they openly declare their intention to govern,” he added.

But if more and more voters are persuaded by the Opposition’s argument to vote them in so they can oppose the government of the day, “you can be sure that what is now the Opposition will soon be the Government”, said PM Wong.

He cautioned that such a scenario would not require a large swing in votes at the next general election, which must be called by November 2025.

A modest swing in popular votes against the PAP, he noted, can lead to very different electoral outcomes, and very possibly the loss of another three or four group representation constituencies.

This means the party will lose four or five ministers - or a quarter of the Cabinet.

“We will end up with a much weaker government, with far less ability to solve the problems facing our people and our country at a time when the world is becoming more uncertain and troubled,” he said.

“So, comrades, the stakes in the next election are high.”

PM Wong urged the party to work hard for every vote, to earn the confidence and trust of Singaporeans, win the mandate to govern, and ultimately, serve fellow Singaporeans.

“We know from the last election, and more so in the next election, there are no longer any safe seats,” he said.

“So every resident, every vote counts, and all our efforts matter.”

He noted that the PAP faces a rather unique political challenge, having governed Singapore for 65 years.

It is the party’s desire to keep serving Singaporeans for as long as possible, but he warned that members must never assume they will not see a change in government in their lifetime.

He said the PAP has to refresh its approach, adding that the party can no longer “operate from the back” in a more contested political landscape.

The party must “come out in front” to explain its policies, engage Singaporeans on the issues they care about, and show them why they can trust and depend on the PAP, he added.

PM Wong outlined steps taken to refresh the party, including forming climate action and mental health groups. A new party app will be launched to engage members and widen the party’s network, he added.

Turning to leadership renewal, PM Wong said his priority is to form the best team for Singapore, and that it remains difficult to recruit good people into politics. This is the “most important, the most crucial, the most urgent thing I have to do”, he stressed.

While he has been spending a lot of time engaging potential candidates, Singaporeans who have excelled in their professional lives are very comfortable where they are and are very reluctant to change their lifestyles, he noted.

“Also, why subject themselves to public glare and scrutiny? Often, they tell me: ‘Let someone else do the job. So many people in Singapore; you find someone else.’

“Or they may say: ‘Don’t worry, the PAP is already in a very strong position. You have just started. Why are you in such a hurry? Take your time’,” added PM Wong.

Stressing the urgent need for younger candidates who can “provide vigour and continuity” and eventually form Singapore’s next leadership team, PM Wong, 52, said more than half of the 19 ministers in the present Cabinet are aged 60 and older.

The older ministers on the team provide experience and wise counsel, and many of them will still serve for another five to 10 years, assuming they are in good health.

“But can I wait until they retire before bringing in new blood? Surely not. I must start now to renew the team,” the Prime Minister said.

When new candidates are brought in, it is very hard to parachute them directly into ministerial roles, as they need time to learn, he added.

There is, therefore, tremendous value in having them start early, gain experience, and progressively build up the confidence and capabilities to take on larger responsibilities.

The Prime Minister said that he has made some progress in recruiting potential office-holders, but still hopes to persuade a few more to join the team.

“I look forward to presenting the candidates as our election campaign approaches,” he told party members.

“When we field them, please support all of them, and help me to spread the word and persuade our fellow citizens to support them too, because we cannot leave this to

Strong Govt and united people needed for Singapore to thrive in troubled world: SM Lee​

ST20250208-202512400562-Lim Yaohui-Chin Soo Fang-sfdinner08/Senior Minister Mr Lee Hsien Loong on stage for tossing of the yusheng at Teck Ghee Community Club on Feb 8, 2025. More than 1,200 residents and their guests coming together at the Teck Ghee Chinese New Year dinner on Feb 8, 2025. (ST PHOTO: LIM YAOHUI)

Senior Minister Lee Hsien Loong said the Government has worked out plans to take Singapore forward amid global uncertainty.ST PHOTO: LIM YAOHUI
Chin Soo Fang
Feb 09, 2025

SINGAPORE – Singapore can continue to survive and thrive in this troubled world by sticking to two fundamental factors that have brought the nation to where it is today, said Senior Minister Lee Hsien Loong on Feb 8.

First, it has to have a strong and competent Government that anticipates challenges, earns people’s trust, and makes good decisions to secure their future.

Second, Singaporeans have to stay united, understand the world they live in and the challenges they face, and work closely with the Government to make their dreams a reality, he said.

SM Lee, who is MP for the Teck Ghee ward in Ang Mo Kio GRC, spoke in English, Malay and Mandarin at a Chinese New Year dinner for 1,200 residents and their guests at Teck Ghee Community Club.

In 2024, Singapore enjoyed a smooth leadership transition and grew its economy by 4 per cent, while inflation has come down, he said.

But much uncertainty awaits in the new year, he noted.

Besides tense international geopolitics and unresolved US-China differences, the new US administration has a very different approach to government and the world, SM Lee said. It is defining American interests more narrowly, and takes a transactional approach to achieve its immediate objectives, SM Lee said.

It looks at tariffs favourably as a preferred policy tool and an external source of revenue, as well as a way to force other countries to make concessions. It is also withdrawing from multilateral commitments like the World Health Organisation and the Paris Agreement on climate change.

“The US is no longer prepared to underwrite the global order. This makes the international environment far less orderly and predictable,” said SM Lee. “Singapore, like all other countries, must adapt to this new reality, even as we seek to maintain our strong ties and friendship with the US.”

The Government understands the challenges ahead, and has worked out plans to take Singapore forward amid global uncertainty, just as it has done in the past, he added.

With strong trust and partnership between the Government and Singaporeans for over 60 years, the nation has been able to make consistent progress decade after decade, instead of “chopping and changing course” every few years, he said.

SM Lee said that in the past two years, the Government has provided various forms of assistance to support Singaporeans with immediate cost-of-living concerns, especially those who need help most. These include CDC vouchers, GST vouchers, U-Save rebates and public transport vouchers.

More help can be expected at the upcoming Budget, he said.

Housing remains a key priority, he said, noting that the Housing Board has caught up with the Covid-19 backlog, and is on track to launch more than 100,000 flats by 2025, in the five years since 2021. The new Standard, Plus and Prime framework will help keep Build-To-Order flats affordable and available for all, he said.

“Beyond immediate issues, we are investing heavily in Singapore’s future,” he said, citing investments in education, training and upskilling so that the youth and workers have the skills to remain competitive and secure good jobs, even as the economy is transformed by new technologies like artificial intelligence.

The Government is also investing in infrastructure and building Changi Airport Terminal 5 and Tuas Megaport, which will make Singapore’s world-class airport and seaport even better, said SM Lee.

New train lines and expressways are also being built to improve connectivity and convenience, including the Thomson-East Coast Line, Cross Island Line and the North-South Corridor in Ang Mo Kio, he said.

There are also new hospitals and community care facilities such as the Woodlands Health Campus to take better care of Singapore’s ageing population.

Long Island – a massive, decades-long reclamation project along the East Coast, will protect the Republic from rising sea levels once completed.

At a local level, facilities and infrastructure have been enhanced in Ang Mo Kio GRC and Teck Ghee, including the upgrading of Ang Mo Kio town centre, said SM Lee.

The new “Friendly Streets” along Ang Mo Kio Street 31 are one of the amenities catering to the elderly in Teck Ghee, so that getting around the estate is safer and more convenient.

There will also be a new Teck Ghee MRT station when the Cross Island Line is completed.

Most importantly, Singapore is also investing in its social fabric through Forward SG, said SM Lee.

The nationwide conversation was launched by Prime Minister Lawrence Wong to shape the nation’s future and its social compact.

Programmes such as ComLink+ and the Fresh Start Housing Scheme will uplift the vulnerable and enhance social mobility, SM Lee said, adding that Singapore has also recently launched SGShare, a national regular giving programme linked to SG60 – the country’s 60th year of independence – and ComChest to spur volunteerism and strengthen bonds among fellow Singaporeans.

“We are building a Singapore where every citizen belongs, where everyone will have every opportunity to succeed, no matter your starting point in life, where we all share a sense of participation and purpose, and where we take ownership of our nation’s future together,” he said.

“None of these good things will happen by themselves... It requires a capable, caring Government with the foresight to look ahead, and the courage to do the right things,” he added. “And a people who will stay united, and be willing to work with the Government over the long term.”

Immigration is essential and existential for Singapore’s survival: SM Lee​

Senior Minister Lee Hsien Loong delivering his speech during the Teck Ghee Citizenship Ceremony at Nanyang Polytechnic on Mar 9.

Senior Minister Lee Hsien Loong delivering his speech during the Teck Ghee Citizenship Ceremony at Nanyang Polytechnic on March 9.ST PHOTO: GIN TAY
Chin Soo Fang
Mar 09, 2025

SINGAPORE – New citizens bring with them something extra that is vital to Singapore, enriching its society and invigorating its economy, said Senior Minister Lee Hsien Loong on March 9.

“New arrivals bring fresh experiences, diverse perspectives and global connections. You help us to plug into the world, and thrive as a regional hub and a global node,” said SM Lee.

This was how cities like London, New York and Shanghai became great centres of culture and prosperity – by attracting talent from all over the world and creating an environment of constant innovation and enterprise, he added.

This dynamism spurs growth and reinforces the success of these cities, and attracts even more talent, said SM Lee, who was speaking at the Teck Ghee Citizenship Ceremony held at Nanyang Polytechnic.

“Singapore, too, must always be open to ideas and talent from around the world,” he told about 200 new citizens. “This is how we became a shining red dot.”

He pointed out that immigration is essential – even existential – for Singapore’s survival.

While larger nations may have the population, resources and hinterland to fall back on, Singapore does not. Singaporeans are not having enough children of their own, and the resident workforce is already at full employment, and ageing, he said.

Singapore needs new citizens to top up its numbers and to keep its economy growing, he said.

Immigration will bring more competition and put pressure on Singaporeans to work harder and meet higher standards, but this will create a more vibrant economy and generate better opportunities and brighter prospects for future generations, he added.

“If Singapore closes ourselves up, opportunities will pass us by. We will fall behind, and become just like any other city in the region, and our descendants will be the worse off for it,” said SM Lee.

Every year, the Republic has about 30,000 citizen babies born and takes in about 22,000 new citizens.

Given that the inflows are not small, the Government is keenly aware of the need to handle immigration and integration sensitively, said SM Lee.

(From left): Mr Lee Hsien Loong, Senior Minister, presenting the citizenship certificates to the new citizens,  Prithikka Divyashini, 19)student; and her mother, Deivanai Subbarayan,50, homemaker; during  the Teck Ghee Citizenship Ceremony at Nanyang Polytechnic on Mar 9, 2025.

Senior Minister Lee Hsien Loong presenting the citizenship certificate to Ms Prithikka Divyashini during the Teck Ghee Citizenship Ceremony. With her is her mother, Madam Deivanai Subbarayan, a Singapore PR.ST PHOTO: GIN TAY
He noted that immigration is a sensitive issue in every country, and there is always some tension between newcomers and those who are already here.

Governments play a big part in managing these tensions to make immigration a net plus for societies, SM Lee said.

Unfortunately, this does not always happen, he noted.

In many European countries, the immigration inflows have triggered a strong nativist pushback. And when immigrants commit violent crimes, that further turns the mood against them, and deepens divisions in society.

It is therefore crucial that Singapore manages its immigration inflow carefully: keeping it measured and balanced, paying close attention to relations and harmony between different ethnic groups, between new arrivals and people who are here, and taking in people who can fit in and add to Singapore’s society, SM Lee said.

In Singapore, every new citizen goes through the Singapore Citizenship Journey on what it means to be Singaporean before getting citizenship. Integration and Naturalisation Champions from the People’s Association also run many programmes to welcome and integrate new citizens into their communities.

SM Lee urged the new citizens to play their part by learning Singapore’s values and cultural norms, as well as getting involved and contributing actively to their communities

Other Singaporeans must play their part too by making friends with the new arrivals, and be big-hearted in welcoming them as valuable members of the Singapore team, he said.

They should firmly reject those who play up nativist and xenophobic sentiments for political gain, which will do great harm to Singapore’s society, he added.

The new citizens received their citizenship certificates from SM Lee, recited the National Pledge and sang the National Anthem to reinforce their commitment to Singapore and their shared identity as Singaporeans.

Among the new citizens was Ms Prithikka Divyashini, 19, who moved to Singapore from Johor Bahru, Malaysia, about 12 years ago.

The second-year chemical process technology student at ITE College East is the president of her school’s student ambassadors, and an active volunteer with local charity Meals on Wheels, distributing food to the elderly monthly.

Her father is a Singaporean, and two of her three older siblings had received their Singapore citizenship before her. Her mother and sister are Singapore permanent residents (PRs).

Mr Lee Hsien Loong, Senior Minister and MP for Ang Mo Kio GRC, interacts with the new citizens, Dr Pham The Hanh (left); and Pham Cao Hai Phong (centre); , during the Teck Ghee Citizenship Ceremony at Nanyang Polytechnic on Mar 9, 2025.

Senior Minister Lee Hsien Loong interacts with new citizens Pham The Hanh (left) and Pham Cao Hai Phong (centre).ST PHOTO: GIN TAY
“I’m very grateful for this citizenship, and I feel really proud to be reciting the pledge as a Singaporean,” said the aspiring pharmacist. “I believe I will have more opportunities to excel as a citizen.”

Dr Pham The Hanh, 46, came to Singapore from Hanoi, Vietnam, in 2003 on a Ministry of Education scholarship to do his PhD in electronics and computer engineering at the National University of Singapore.

He stayed on as a researcher, and has been an engineering lecturer at Ngee Ann Polytechnic for over a decade. He has also been giving free tuition to primary and secondary school children at Teck Ghee Community Club once a week for more than five years.

“I was back in Hanoi and felt that I missed my char kway teow,” he said. “But mainly, it was the kindness and warmth of my colleagues and friends in Singapore that made me decide to be a Singaporean.”

With him was his 16-year-old son, Pham Cao Hai Phong, a Deyi secondary 4 student, who also received his citizenship at the event.

Dr Pham’s wife is a Singapore PR, and his 10-year-old daughter became a Singaporean earlier.

“It was easy for me to adapt to life here as I like the weather, food and people,” he said. “I will give back to Singapore by helping to educate young Singaporeans.”

S’pore must build economic, social resilience amid darkening economic clouds: President Tharman​

President Tharman Shanmugaratnam and Singapore Chinese Chamber of Commerce and Industry (SCCCI) president Kho Choon Keng at SCCCI's 62nd installation ceremony.

President Tharman Shanmugaratnam and Singapore Chinese Chamber of Commerce and Industry president Kho Choon Keng at SCCCI's 62nd council's installation ceremony.PHOTO: LIANHE ZAOBAO

Esther Loi
Mar 15, 2025

SINGAPORE – It is now a time of darkening economic clouds, with a growing trade war taking place against the backdrop of a weakened international order, said President Tharman Shanmugaratnam on March 15.

Singapore must develop the capacity and networks for economic and social resilience, and grow opportunities in these challenging times, he added.

Addressing members of the Singapore Chinese Chamber of Commerce and Industry (SCCCI) at the installation ceremony of its 62nd council, Mr Tharman said the nation must brace itself for prolonged instability and uncertainty.

“It is not a passing phase. Nor can anyone tell how damaging this will get – for growth, for peace and stability everywhere,” he added.

The President outlined a three-pronged approach to building the nation’s capabilities: strengthening existing and new international partnerships, accelerating efforts to build advanced skills and capabilities within individual enterprises and collectively, as well as deepening a sense of community.

First, on international partnerships, he noted that Singapore is strengthening ties with its economic partners – Asean, China, the US, India and Europe – in addition to building bridges to Africa and Latin America.

“It will do us well to take the long view on our economic partnerships. It helps to avoid absolutist views on any of these economies,” he said.

“In fact, each of the major economies – the US, China, India and Europe – faces short-term challenges, but each also has significant underlying strengths.”

He said there is more to be achieved within Asean, through bilateral initiatives such as the Johor-Singapore Special Economic Zone, and possible new linkages with Batam, Bintan and Karimun.

There is also huge potential in opening up Asean’s digital economy, Mr Tharman noted. The governments are already working on the standards and interoperable payment systems to facilitate a digitally-enabled market for small-medium enterprises across the region, he added.

The Asean power grid can be further developed, allowing every country with renewable energy potential to grow capacity, improve its energy resilience and lower the costs of transition to clean energy.

Second, Mr Tharman said Singapore must further develop capabilities to ensure its relevance in a time of uncertainty and possible supply chain disruptions.

He cited SCCCI’s efforts in catalysing business transformation by guiding over 5,000 companies to navigate government support schemes.

The chamber has also been helping individuals upskill in areas like digitalisation and international expansion.

Third, Mr Tharman spoke of strengthening Singapore’s resilience as a society, drawing reference to SCCCI’s role in preserving the nation’s multicultural fabric and social compact.

“There is much ahead of us. But this will be a journey that ultimately defines why we call ourselves Singaporeans. Not just Singaporeans by birth or because we take on Singaporean citizenship, but because of what we contribute to each other.

“And how together we make this a society where everyone – regardless of race, religion or social background – can live a life of dignity, and feel respected by others,” he added.

CMG20250315-WooFL01 /SCCCI 62nd Council Installation Ceremony [SCCCI Auditorium, SCCCI Building, 47 Hill Street ] - 尚达曼总统与全体董事合照留念

President Tharman Shanmugaratnam (front row, centre, right) with the 62nd council of the Singapore Chinese Chamber of Commerce and Industry.PHOTO: LIANHE ZAOBAO
Mr Tharman acknowledged the contributions of SCCCI in all the three aspects. It has helped local businesses build their international presence, particularly in China, where it has supported almost 300 companies in forging partnerships and navigating the challenges of entering a new market.

During the ceremony at the chamber’s building in Hill Street, the 62nd council was installed, with its members and leaders of local trade associations in attendance.

SCCCI president Kho Choon Keng echoed Mr Tharman’s call to strengthen ties, adding that the chamber will focus on expanding its global network and influence to unlock international business opportunities.

He emphasised that SCCCI will establish an international advisory panel to strengthen Singapore’s position as a global business and trade hub, while also creating investment opportunities for international advisers and the chamber’s members.

Singapore’s harmony is precious, and must always be cherished, protected: PM Wong​

PM Lawrence Wong taking a wefie with youths at the Iftar Utara 2025 - Break of Fast @ Marsiling at Marsiling Mega Sports Park on March 16.

PM Lawrence Wong taking a wefie with residents at Iftar Utara 2025 at Marsiling Mega Sports Park on March 16.ST PHOTO: SHINTARO TAY

Anjali Raguraman
Mar 16, 2025

SINGAPORE - Daily global developments are a reminder that it is a dangerous world, and the only people who can protect Singapore and advance its interests are Singaporeans themselves, said Prime Minister Lawrence Wong on March 16, as he called for people to stay strong and united.

“There is no other country you can find in this world where people of different faiths, different beliefs can come together, can break fast together, (and) can live in peace and harmony together as one family,” said PM Wong.

“This is very precious, and this is something we must always cherish and protect here in Singapore.”

He was speaking at Iftar Utara, a mass iftar, or break-fast meal, attended by around 7,000 residents and guests at Marsiling Mega Sports Park. The event was organised by the Marsiling Citizens’ Consultative Committee, the Indian Muslim Social Service Association and Masjid An-Nur.

PM Wong noted how the world is undergoing profound changes, with things changing quickly in places, from the United States and China to Europe.

“And every day, we are worried there are things that will impact Singapore.”

He added: “The only people who can help us are Singaporeans ourselves. We are the only ones who can come together to defend Singapore, to protect Singapore, to advance Singapore’s interest in this troubled and volatile world.”

This was a sentiment mirrored by Senior Minister of State for Defence and Manpower Zaqy Mohamad, who said: “Conflicts and tensions in various parts of the world serve as stark reminders that our harmony here in Singapore cannot be taken for granted.”

Mr Zaqy, who like PM Wong is an MP for Marsiling-Yew Tee GRC, was at the annual event alongside the constituency’s other MPs, Mr Alex Yam and Ms Hany Soh.

Mr Zaqy said: “There are not many places in the world that we all sit together to break fast in peace, and certainly not across different faiths and religions, different faiths and races.

“This privilege is not by chance, but it is the result of our forefathers and founding generation of leaders who recognised that harmony can only come about if you have racial and religious understanding.”

As Singapore celebrates its 60 years of independence in 2025, Mr Zaqy stressed the shared responsibility to protect what has been built over the last 60 years.

In 2025, Iftar Utara introduced a collaboration with Youth Leaders @ Harmony Circle to engage youth in inter-faith dialogue and promote religious harmony through conversations and sharing sessions.

Residents at the Iftar Utara 2025 - Break of Fast @ Marsiling at Marsiling Mega Sports Park on March 16, 2025. ST PHOTO: SHINTARO TAY

Residents at Iftar Utara 2025 at Marsiling Mega Sports Park on March 16.ST PHOTO: SHINTARO TAY
“The prevalence of misinformation and radical views means that we must engage our younger generation of today,” Mr Zaqy said, noting that in today’s interconnected world, youth face complex challenges in navigating digital spaces.

“We must protect ourselves, whether it’s misinformation, divisive ideologies, or extremism that seeks to sow discord among all of us,” he said, adding that initiatives such as youth inter-faith dialogues are crucial.

“By investing in our youth, we equip them with the knowledge, values and confidence to counter narratives that threaten our social cohesion here in Singapore.”

PM Wong renewed the call for Singaporeans to stay strong and united, and – whatever their differences – to always have Singapore at heart.

“Always think about how we can make Singapore better (not just) for ourselves, but also for our children, our grandchildren and for the next generation, so that whatever we have here in Singapore... this tiny, little red dot made-in-Singapore miracle, we want this to keep on going for as long as we can.

“I’m sure we can all look forward to a better Singapore, not just for the next 60 years, but for many, many more years to come.”

Heightened tensions, policy uncertainty could signal ‘next turning point’ in world trade: SM Lee​

Senior Minister Lee Hsien Loong said it is Singapore’s hope that world trade would continue growing, whatever the uncertainties and turbulence ahead.

Senior Minister Lee Hsien Loong says it is Singapore’s hope that world trade will continue growing, whatever the uncertainties and turbulence ahead.ST PHOTO: LIM YAOHUI

Vanessa Paige Chelvan
Mar 24, 2025

SINGAPORE – The world cannot assume global trade will continue keeping pace with gross domestic product amid heightened strategic tensions and policy uncertainty, including those brought about by a new administration in the United States, Senior Minister Lee Hsien Loong said.

If the trade-to-GDP ratio begins to fall, there will be serious economic and strategic implications, which will dampen economic growth in many countries at the least, said SM Lee at a lecture during the opening of the Singapore Maritime Week. This will cause further social and political problems domestically and internationally.

“In that event, the world would truly enter a new epoch, which it has not seen since the Second World War,” the former prime minister said on March 24, adding that the present moment could prove to be the “next turning point”.

SM Lee said it is Singapore’s hope that world trade will continue growing, whatever the uncertainties and turbulence ahead. This is not just to sustain the maritime industry, but also to enable more productive and prosperous lives around the world.

Singapore’s task, he said, is to do its part to enable and foster growth of international trade, and make its economy and maritime industry more efficient, competitive and trusted.

This is so that others will still want to trade and do business here, whatever the state of the world, and the Republic can continue to make a living for itself, added SM Lee at the Suntec Singapore Convention and Exhibition Centre.

Over the past 60 years, Singapore’s economy has flourished in tandem with globalisation. The world was generally peaceful and stable, and the global order was underwritten by the US, supported by its allies in Asia and Europe, SM Lee said.

It was during this time that multilateral institutions, such as the United Nations, were established, and international laws and treaties were negotiated and adopted. These included the UN Convention of the Law of the Sea, a universal legal framework on the governance of the ocean.

Countries big and small generally acknowledged these international rules and norms, with the understanding that economic liberalisation and freer trade would benefit everyone, SM Lee noted.

“Many countries acted on this understanding and reaped the benefits, including small economies like Singapore and huge ones like China,” he said.

As international trade boomed, the global maritime industry grew with it.

“Singapore rode these waves and made the most of them,” SM Lee said. “We made investments and implemented policies to build an open, reliable and trusted trade and maritime hub.”

This allowed Singapore to become a key link in global supply chains, “a gateway between East and West”, said the Senior Minister.

But it is a different world today as attitudes towards trade and trade patterns have shifted, he noted, and geopolitical developments have severely strained the global trading system.

As tensions between the major powers have intensified over the past decade, countries have become increasingly anxious to stay ahead of one another.

“They are prioritising security, resilience and self-reliance over interdependence and cooperation,” he added.

Once optimised for economic efficiency, supply chains are being reconfigured “through friend-shoring, near-shoring and re-shoring”.

Friend-shoring refers to when supply chain networks are rearranged to focus on a country’s allies. Near-shoring is a scenario where companies relocate their operations to a nearby country, often with a shared border, while re-shoring is when a business transfers operations back to its home country.

In addition to these supply chain challenges, restrictions have been imposed on things that can preserve a country’s lead over its competitors, from investments to data, and critical minerals to semiconductor chips.

“Some big powers are adopting a more transactional, sometimes coercive, approach to achieve immediate objectives,” SM Lee said.

For example, the new administration in the US believes that under the previous system, the US had been treated unfairly by its trading partners, both friend and foe, he noted.

This is “far from the erstwhile win-win view of international trade, investments or multilateral agreements”.

The US now treats tariffs not only as a preferred economic instrument, but also as bargaining leverage in non-economic domains, to protect its overall national interests, SM Lee said.

Other countries have responded in kind, and these strategic and policy shifts are reshaping the landscape of world trade.

Earlier in 2025, US President Donald Trump announced significant new import taxes aimed Canada, Mexico and China, the three largest trading partners of the US. China and Canada have retaliated by imposing their own tariffs.

The maritime industry has been directly affected, with countries acting to reduce their reliance on competitors for freight shipping and shipbuilding, or displace rivals controlling strategically located ports, SM Lee said.

ST20250324-202578000377-Lim Yaohui-Vanessa Paige Chelvan-vcmaritime24/ Mr Lee Hsien Loong, Senior Minister of Singapore, at his fireside chat moderated by Ambassador Chan Heng Chee, Ambassador-at-Large, Singapore’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs, during the opening ceremony of the annual Singapore Maritime Week (SMW) at Suntec Singapore Convention and Exhibition Centre on March 24, 2025. Organised by the Maritime and Port Authority of Singapore, SMW 2025 returns for its 19th edition as a SG60 Signature Event. Taking place from 24 to 28 March 2025, SMW 2025 is expected to welcome more than 20,000 attendees from close to 80 countries, including government officials, port authorities, industry leaders, and maritime professionals. The expanded EXPO@SMW will feature close to 200 local and international exhibitors, including nine country pavilions, reflecting the growing global interest in Singapore as a leading maritime hub. (ST PHOTO: LIM YAOHUI)

SM Lee speaking at a fireside chat, which was moderated by Ambassador-at-Large Chan Heng Chee, during the opening of the Singapore Maritime Week at Suntec convention centre on March 24.ST PHOTO: LIM YAOHUI
More on this Topic
Interactive: How the global shipping disruption can affect youPSA International reports handling a record 100.2 million containers in 2024
Besides the strains on the global trading system, a second powerful force – climate change – is quietly impacting global trade patterns.

Climate change and extreme weather events are already affecting established trade routes, SM Lee said.

Droughts have lowered water levels in reservoirs supplying the Panama Canal, a waterway connecting the Caribbean Sea with the Pacific Ocean. Meanwhile, new routes such as the Northeast Passage, which runs mainly along Siberia’s northern coast, are opening up due to the melting of Arctic ice.

SM Lee said that as a significant emitter, the maritime industry is under pressure to reduce planet-warming carbon emissions through the use of greener fuels and more efficient ships.

International shipping accounts for 3 per cent of all greenhouse gas emissions, roughly as much as the share taken up by global aviation emissions.

SM Lee said patterns of trade are likely to shift to account for the environmental impact of carbon emissions from shipping.

“Whether this happens through carbon taxes on fuel or carbon border adjustment taxes, the result will be to reorient existing supply chains and trade routes,” he added. Carbon border adjustments refer to tariffs on high-carbon imports.

These global shifts will have a major impact on Singapore. “To us, trade is existential,” SM Lee said, adding that the maritime industry is also a major contributor to Singapore’s economy.

But while trade faces significant headwinds, globalisation is unlikely to completely reverse itself, SM Lee said, as the world still needs to trade, and countries still need to do business with one another.

This is a matter of survival for some countries, as more than 80 per cent of the world’s population live in countries that are net importers of food, including Singapore, he said.

“Without trade, these countries would simply starve.”

For other countries, trade is a crucial driver of prosperity, enabling the international division of labour, and creating efficiencies and economies of scale.

“No country can produce on its own a modern car, aeroplane or handphone without relying on materials and components from abroad, usually from many countries,” SM Lee said.

He noted that for decades until the global financial crisis (GFC) in 2008, international trade grew faster than world GDP.

More on this Topic
Singapore boosts maritime, aviation hub role as cargo flows shift and supply chain risks riseRecent geopolitical moves could lead to further trade disruptions, warns Chee Hong Tat
In the 1950s, international trade was around 15 per cent of world GDP. By the time the GFC hit, this figure was 55 per cent.

“This was how countries around the world sustained economic growth and productivity gains, and steadily improved their peoples’ lives,” SM Lee said.

While globalisation slowed after the GFC, international trade generally kept pace, remaining at 55 per cent of world GDP.

In the decade and a half since the GFC, world trade continued to rise and reached a record US$33 trillion (S$44 trillion) in 2024.

To foster the growth of international trade and boost its economy, Singapore is committed to staying open, SM Lee said.

“Even with globalisation in retreat, many countries still believe that trade can be a win-win proposition and want to preserve as much of the benefits of the multinational trading system as possible,” SM Lee said.

Singapore will continue to support a multilateral rules-based order, international cooperation and interdependence.

Singapore joined the International Maritime Organisation, a UN agency, as a member state soon after its independence, and became a council member in 1993.

Singapore also hosted the first general assembly of the International Organisation for Marine Aids to Navigation, which harmonises global maritime navigation systems, in February.

“Beyond multilateral frameworks, we pursue many regional and bilateral trade partnerships and arrangements,” said SM Lee.

Singapore has 27 free trade agreements, which collectively cover 90 per cent of its trade, and is “doubling down on staying open”, he said.

Singapore will continue to strengthen itself as a regional hub and global node, as modern Singapore had grown and prospered by “being an entrepot, an emporium of the Orient,” SM Lee said.

The city-state has also steadily invested in its port infrastructure and has built up an ecosystem to support the maritime industry, including its port, shipping lines, shipyards, bunkering services and legal services.

Today, Singapore is one the busiest ports in the world, with more than 1,000 vessels in its port at any time, SM Lee said. The maritime sector contributes to more than 6 per cent of Singapore’s GDP and about 140,000 jobs.

SM Lee said Singapore will continue to build up the maritime industry and to invest in capabilities and infrastructure, such as the upcoming Tuas mega port, as well as help to mitigate climate change.

He said Singapore’s maritime workers must be prepared to take on new and more productive roles, and not be sidelined or displaced by technology or artificial intelligence (AI).

The Republic is, therefore, investing heavily in its people, such as upskilling them to operate new AI and digital systems, and advanced technologies such as drones and underwater robots.

On the climate front, Singapore has committed to peaking emissions before 2030 and achieving net-zero emissions by 2050.

“This is an extremely difficult task for an island nation with hardly any energy sources of our own, whether renewable or fossil,” SM Lee said.

To respond to climate change in the maritime industry, Singapore is investing in green technologies and alternative fuels, as well as training workers to handle such fuels to prepare for their widespread use, SM Lee added.

While the world cannot escape the turbulent times ahead, “if we plan ahead and take the right steps now, we have every chance of continuing to thrive”, he said.

The 19th edition of the Singapore Maritime Week, which will be attended by more than 20,000 people from nearly 80 countries, runs from March 24 to 28.

‘You don’t want a govt that is embroiled in paralysis’, says Ong Ye Kung ahead of GE2025​

Health Minister Ong Ye Kung (left) at Studio+65 for the recording of The Usual Place Podcast with ST correspondent and host Natasha Zachariah.

Health Minister Ong Ye Kung (left) at Studio+65 for the recording of The Usual Place Podcast with ST correspondent and host Natasha Zachariah.ST PHOTO: AZMI ATHNI

Tham Yuen-C
Mar 25, 2025

SINGAPORE - Singapore needs a good and effective government to navigate rising global tensions and economic uncertainty, and this is something that Singaporeans are aware of, Health Minister Ong Ye Kung said.

Mr Ong gave this response on March 23 when he was asked about whether a growing desire for more elected opposition in Parliament would destabilise the political balance in Singapore.

He cited the Government’s trust in the people during the pandemic years to keep to the Covid-19 protocols – such as staying at home and testing themselves when unwell – adding that Singaporeans would do what is right for the country.

“We trust that Singaporeans know what to do. So, likewise, in the election, I think it’s the same. Singaporeans know that especially in this geopolitical environment, with so many changes happening, you need a good, effective government,” he added.

“You don’t want a government that is embroiled in paralysis, things cannot go forward. I think Singaporeans are deeply aware of that, and so they will take it, I believe, step by step and do what is right for Singapore.”

He acknowledged that people have wanted a larger opposition presence in Parliament across successive elections, adding that he had felt the brunt of these desires first-hand when he was fielded and lost as part of the PAP team in Aljunied GRC in the 2011 general election.

Recounting his experience during that election, he said that after four or five days into the campaign period, he had told his fellow candidates and activists that he felt like he was “in quick sand”.

“As much as you try to swim and float, you sink, and the harder you struggle, sometimes the faster you sink. There’s almost nothing you can do about it,” he said of his experience then.

He attributed this to the seemingly inexorable march towards greater opposition representation in Parliament.

But he added that elections are about producing an effective system of government.

“Of course in people’s minds now... their thinking is a good outcome – a PAP government, but with opposition as a check and balance. That’s a good system of government. I don’t disagree,” he said.

“As to ‘What is the equilibrium?’, I think we are still finding out as a people… To me, it’s a journey that with each successive election we will find out.”

He noted that there were now 12 opposition MPs in Parliament, up from two before the 2011 general election, but said “it’s not a numbers game”.

The equilibrium is not determined solely by the ratio of ruling party and opposition MPs in Parliament, he added.

Many other factors come into play in deciding where the balance should lie and whether Singapore has become a mature democracy, he said.

Besides looking at the external environment and its impact on Singapore, people will also be looking at the PAP to see how well it has performed in Government and whether it has listened to the people, he added.

“What is the PAP’s attitude? Do they listen to me? Are they arrogant, or are they humble? Do they look like they’re listening more? Taking in my suggestions, acknowledging my problems?” he said.

Voters will also be looking at MPs from both sides of the aisle, such as whether they are people with integrity, whether they want to serve the people or whether they are merely looking out for their own political interests, he added.

“Singaporeans have different aspirations for the country, for politics,” he said.

“When it comes to an election, sometimes it looks as if we are moving further apart. It shouldn’t be. When the dust settles, we still got to be together.”

Asked where he might be fielded in the upcoming election, Mr Ong turned to the party’s current holding line - that it would be up to Prime Minister Lawrence Wong.

But he said having been an MP in Sembawang GRC for 10 years, he would “love to stay in Sembawang until I retire”.

He said the MPs in his team had bonded with residents there, and had worked together with them to develop the constituency, while still retaining its character.

Noting that Sembawang was a swamp before, he said: “Today it’s developed. But we didn’t develop it in a way that make it look like Tampines or Clementi or Ang Mo Kio. It has a certain character,” he said, noting that features such as the hot spring, beach as well as the kampung mosque, Masjid Petempatan Melayu Sembawang, had been preserved.

Occasionally, some new residents who moved to Sembawang from other parts of Singapore would lament the lack of amenities such as big shopping centres, said Mr Ong.

He would tell them that Sembawang was more “ulu”, he said using the Malay word for remote.

“Here is the kampung vibe, the sun, the sea, the breeze, the hot spring. So, you really (have) to like the place. But we will not change the character. I’ll try my best not to change the character of the town,” he said.