• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Beware of greedy hawker that imposed cny surcharge without putting any notice or tell customer beforehand

sbfuncle

My pay first then eat theory finally put into good use today (3rd day of cny)
Some marder farking stall self imposed a $1 surcharge only after when they passed the food to me.
There are many food stalls also open in the same coffee shop, so there is no reason to self collect angpow.
Even they want to, they have to tell patrons upfront and not after serving.

Although it is just $1 but it is not right to do this kind of thing.

I told them why you didn't informed me and there also doesn't have any signboard indicating surcharge and simply walked away. They didn't stopped me or else there probably will be punching incident.

There are opportunists everywhere; just vote with your wallet by not supporting these greedy stallholders.

Cash.jpg

They have many other creative ways to milk more money from you. How else to deal with the escalating rent and food prices? :biggrin:

Can list some of the creative ways and uncle shall counter it 1by1 :sneaky:

Sinkies cannot afford please fuck off and eat at home. Only retards expect others to work on CNY without any additional compensation to service their needs.

bus interchange bus driver canteen oso price hike for CNY ... today their kopi-O still surcharge .... so how? government oso no control, who else can control them? :unsure:

Sinkies cannot afford please fuck off and eat at home. Only retards expect others to work on CNY without any additional compensation to service their needs.
My family has been hosting and eating at our relatives' homes during CNY. If we have to eat out at restaurants and hawker centres, expect a surcharge as these businesses need to pay their staff extra to work during the festive period.

I was charge a $1 more fore each plate of chicken rice and two plates nearly cost me $10 which I would have paid $7.50 during normal day. The hawkers in Singapore are telling sinkies that what PAPPY did to us, they can do the same with no guilt nor batting an eyelid. Song boh, Sinkies?

It is the well-known "transference effect" when middle managers fu-k their staff after getting screwed by senior management.

cny is without contest THE most stupid festival in mankind,
idiots queue up at the bank to change new notes to give away........and everything costs double for 1 week

No such thing as greedy hawkers…only stupid customers

It is an unwritten rule for hawkers to charge extra during the first 3 or 5 or 7 days of the CNY, the actual time period may vary.

Usually they will tell you beforehand or put up a sign at the stall.

It's a way to 'compensate' them for sacrificing their CNY holidays to open their business and provide food for you.

Nothing wrong with that, that's why you stockpile food in your fridge and snack shelf before the first day of CNY.

If you don't like this, feel free to give your business to McDonalds or non-Chinese hawkers.

By the way, keep a lookout for Malay and Indian hawkers who do a similar CNY surcharge. That should be a dealbreaker.

cny is without contest THE most stupid festival in mankind, idiots queue up at the bank to change new notes to give away........and everything costs double for 1 week
I heard from my Malay and Indian friends that the same profiteering happens during the Hari Raya and Deepavali festive period as well.

It is an unwritten rule for hawkers to charge extra during the first 3 or 5 or 7 days of the CNY, the actual time period may vary. Usually they will tell you beforehand or put up a sign at the stall.
It's a way to 'compensate' them for sacrificing their CNY holidays to open their business and provide food for you. Nothing wrong with that, that's why you stockpile food in your fridge and snack shelf before the first day of CNY. If you don't like this, feel free to give your business to McDonalds or non-Chinese hawkers. By the way, keep a lookout for Malay and Indian hawkers who do a similar CNY surcharge. That should be a dealbreaker.
My family eats at home or at our relatives' during the CNY period. Even when I am back in the office, I will patronise fast food or non-Chinese eateries.