• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Ong Ye Kun is clueless

LITTLEREDDOT

Said Mr Ong: "I don't have a watertight and detailed plan to present to the House, one that meets the much-vaunted high standards of our civil service. Instead, we can only be guided by an unfailing drive to keep pushing forward."

Budget debate: S'pore's aviation sector to see some recovery this year, goal is to reopen safely, says Ong Ye Kung
The Republic will work to help its battered air hub adapt to a new normal and reopen safely.

The Republic will work to help its battered air hub adapt to a new normal and reopen safely.PHOTO: ST FILE
toh_ting_wei.png

Toh Ting Wei

5 MAR 2021

SINGAPORE - Singapore's aviation sector will see some recovery this year as some countries reopen their borders, but it will not be realistic to expect a "V-shape" rebound, said Transport Minister Ong Ye Kung.

Instead of forcing a sharp recovery, the Republic will work to help its battered air hub adapt to a new normal and reopen safely, he added on Friday (March 5) during the debate on his ministry's budget.

One key goal will be to build up confidence and belief that Changi Airport will still be an international air hub beyond the Covid-19 pandemic, he said.

There are signs of this happening, he added, citing how scientists from the World Health Organisation decided to gather in Singapore and fly through Changi en-route to their study visit to Wuhan in China.

The minister was responding to MPs, including Ms Poh Li San (Sembawang GRC), on the Transport Ministry's strategies to revive the Changi air hub.

Said Mr Ong: "I don't have a watertight and detailed plan to present to the House, one that meets the much-vaunted high standards of our civil service. Instead, we can only be guided by an unfailing drive to keep pushing forward."

He told the House the Government will look to revive the aviation sector by replacing quarantine and stay-home notice requirements with measures that can also substantially reduce the risk of transmission.

This will be done in four ways - Covid-19 testing, "bubble wrapping" travellers to keep them away from the community, opening up to countries that have controlled the virus, and studying the implications of Covid-19 vaccinations.

Singapore can now perform more than 60,000 tests a day, which will help it detect infections early, he said.

On opening up to countries that are safe, Mr Ong cited how Singapore has unilaterally opened up to places such as Australia, Brunei and China.

"So far, the scheme has not led to any increase in local transmission," he said.

He added that Singapore has not given up on the idea of an air travel bubble, which allows for all forms of travel.

Singapore and Hong Kong were due to launch the arrangement in November, but it was postponed the day before its launch due to the rising number of Covid-19 cases in Hong Kong at the time.

On vaccinations, Mr Ong said Singapore is awaiting scientific data to determine the extent to which vaccinations can reduce transmission of the virus.

This could enable the country to allow vaccinated individuals to travel with fewer restrictions, and possibly without stay-home notices.

He added that Singapore has also been participating in discussions - both bilaterally and on international platforms - on a system to certify vaccinations against Covid-19.

He emphasised that the various measures to open up cannot work in isolation.

"In aviation... this lung needs inflating, but our head is under water. Each of these methods to reopen travel safely are like snorkels sticking out of the surface of the water," said Mr Ong. "They allow us to take in some oxygen, to keep Changi and Singapore Airlines going."

Currently, passenger volume at Changi Airport is at 2.5 per cent of the levels before the Covid-19 pandemic. Flight movements are at about 25 per cent of pre-pandemic levels, boosted by a surge in cargo flights.

Changi is currently connected to 66 cities around the world, compared with 160 cites before the pandemic.

Responding to Mr Melvin Yong (Tanjong Pagar GRC) and Workers' Party MP Dennis Tan (Hougang), Mr Ong said the aviation sector had lost 6,000 jobs as at the third quarter of last year.

About 500 were retrenchments, while the rest were due to early retirement and non-renewal of contracts. Most of the job losses have been shouldered by non-residents, and companies have managed to retain jobs due to various support measures, he added.

Mr Ong noted that the pandemic has claimed many casualties, in terms of lives, careers and years of hard work.

"Amongst them are notable brands - like Dan Ryans, Robinsons. I think we can get over the loss of these names... But if we lose SIA or Changi Airport, life in Singapore will never be the same. We will be bereft."

He also acknowledged that there will be setbacks in Singapore's bid to open up. "With each setback, we will be questioned why we even bothered with such an idea, why are we so naive, why we did not plan properly.

"But try we must. The worst thing to do now is not even try. That is giving up the fight. With vaccines, the fight is shifting in our favour."

I think this is the first transport minister who is utterly obsessed with air travel and aviation. :rolleyes:

He kena sai.
Struck jackpot in being given the Transport portfolio.
How he wished that he has only train breakdowns and overcrowded trains to deal with.

He's a noob. The chads dont bother for troublesome minister role. Go straight for mayorship.

He's a backdoor MP via GRC. As a PAP MP,The opportunity costs (benefits forfeited for the next best alternative) is too great - loss of career,status,financial rewards,etc.
He's a disgrace to his old man ex-BS MP.

Talk cock, any sinkies can be MPs ,even neh without NS n don know cert real or not can ve MP also, sg MPs really cmi n jia liao bee,look at Jo still happily collect high pay ,so many screw up still bo tai chi, in this wotld ibreally must be related to hold high post n high pay even tbough one is not capable but i think theyxwill be lau goh, money earn will spend on cancer or no life to emjoy it if cancer treatment paid by citizen money, of the son n daughter help him to spend it in their own karma

Some recovery means what? Who is so reckless as to allow peopke to travel. Bloody ah chan

Classic textbook answer - keep it vague and never commit but credit claimable when it materialise.

Not politically savvy at all. Air travel internationally is not within the control of any one country, including
the US and China. The only thing we can do is to be "future proof" in getting our infrastructure and people
operationally ready when things turn better. No transport minister in the world can solve the entire world's
problems.
I don't understand the shit about how good our civil servants are. Recent incidents across multiple ministries
show that they are anything but really world class competent in keeping with their world class salaries.

I wonder if his $m salary was a watertight and detail plan.....

Better cherish the moment as post covid FT surge will go back to saying sorry for train breakdowns, "we will do better" etc.

He is not the only clueless minister in your sink parliament

Let more foreigners in but don't let sinkies travel out. Kam Lan la. We need reciprocation from the other countries. Please talk to them to allow sinkies into their countries without having to do the quarantine bullshit.

Minister Ong Ye Kung extends Pongal greetings with a throwback selfie – while some netizens remind him to fix the potholes - The Online Citizen Asia
Minister Ong Ye Kung extends Pongal greetings with a throwback selfie – while some netizens remind him to fix the potholes
Transport Minister Ong Ye Kung on Thursday (15 January) extended Pongal greetings to the Tamil community in Singapore with a throwback photo of him and a calf.

Pongal is a four-day-long traditional Indian harvest festival that mostly celebrated in the month of Thai in the Tamil calendar, which generally falls on 14 January.

In a Facebook post yesterday, Mr Ong noted how the celebration is going virtual this year due to the coronavirus pandemic.

“During past years, we had physical celebrations that even included cows which our residents looked forward to. I was still able to take part in the Pongal making ritual, which is a very important part of Pongal celebrations,” the Minister wrote.

“This year, we will have to go virtual. Nevertheless, Happy Pongal to all residents who celebrate it!” he added.

Many netizens responded to his post with Pongal greetings in the comment section.

However, some, in spite of the festivities, were quick to remind the Minister to fix the potholes that have been appearing on the city-state’s roads recently.

One netizen commented that the potholes would endanger road users, especially bike riders during rainy days.

“I guess everyone wishes to reach home safely to celebrate this occasion. Thanks in advance,” said the netizen.

Another netizen, who claimed to be “a new rider on the road”, said the potholes issue was a “really 3rd world standard” and appealed to the Minister to fix them.

“I hate to think I’ll have or any rider to have an accident because of a pothole. Thank you for your consideration. I’m sure you’ll fix it ASAP,” he wrote.

One netizen stressed that the potholes issue is putting riders’ safety at risk.

Their comments were made in relation to the series of photos of potholes surfaced on Complaint Singapore Facebook group earlier today, which called the attention of authorities to the matter.

Mothership reported that some of the potholes have since been patched up by the authorities, while the Land Transport Authority (LTA) aims to fix them within 24 hours.

Share this:
No data found.

He can only talk big with bombastic language.He's a disgrace to his ex-BS father.