mai tu liao, loan some money lah, chiew
at most i let u kiss my ankle like this
Cut yr losses and buy airline stocks? They seems to be doing well with low oil. Others are not as utilities such as electricity rates are not coming down.i really worried a lot on semb marine, i have a lot semb corp. at least 100k. now paper loss 30%. cry also useless.
Cut yr losses and buy airline stocks? They seems to be doing well with low oil. Others are not as utilities such as electricity rates are not coming down.
Yeah, airlines have doubled their profit industry-wide. Just don't buy those who hedge their oil prices. Delta lost $4b, Cathay lost $1b hedging oil last year @ $91 per barrel and @ $85 per barrel this year, is also looking at massive hedging losses.. Even with airlines betting so big on oil, oil price remains low.. scary...
Instead of using fundamentals & picking a sector to buy into. Does anyone take a shorter view & use chart reading to decide where to invest?
Chart reading is a skill but you can use it to invest in stocks, forex, ETFs,...
I really don't think you should be dumping money into random 'blue chips' for diversification.
Firstly, you don't look like you have the correct temperament, i.e. 1 stock drop 30% already freak out. Secondly you sound really clueless about the financial markets, in the long run you will just get eaten up by the sharks. If you are already quite old like 40 & above, my advice is not to continue like this.
For most people who have neither temperament nor knowledge, it is always prudent to spread out your money into a few bond and equity index funds. Short term wise hard to predict, but over the long term, i.e. 20-30 year time frame, it should return enough to cover inflation. The stock market is not the place for blur blur uncle/auntie to punt, most of my friends eventually kena makan by the big boys. Some straight away lose money like you, others enjoy few years of easy money before kapok, but in the end basically all end up either overall lose or make very little.
ok, 550k all in share. really
well, my semb corp average 3.7, not high. ended up. also lose lo
keppel corp i bought 6.5..see what price now
then ocbc, 9. dbs 16.8...
then ste 3.5
well. all add up. lose here lose there.
Cut yr losses and buy airline stocks? They seems to be doing well with low oil. Others are not as utilities such as electricity rates are not coming down.
this half million is good enough for retirement.
why want to stress yourself for more yield?
Airline stocks are subject to many events that can cause them to drop suddenly. They may look good at the moment due to the sustained low oil price but competition is also very cutthroat. Other factors that can cause loss of business and therefore fall in their stock price would include accidents, terrorism, diseases eg SARS and wrong management decisions.
A sign of a compulsive investor .![]()
i didn anyhow buy, i didn buy at high price. just buy too early
Further sign of a compulsive investor![]()
if i holding well, few years can recover mah?
look at my buying price, i didn buy at high price leh.
Mr Garlic, and uncle uvwxyz. give some advice.
thank you
Share prices should go up over the longer term unless Temasek buys into it. Jokes aside, shares prices for blue chip usually rise over the long term unless the Company for some reason or other cannot compete. Having said that, if you bought whatever blue chip stock at its peak then it may take a very long time before it goes back or surpasses its previous level. For example , if you bought SIA at nearly $20 then you will have to wait for a long time before you can realise any gain.