• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Free Scholarship for Vietcongs, NS for Sporeans

[h=2]Viet scholar held up as success story of integrating into Singapore[/h]
PostDateIcon.png
August 27th, 2012 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Editorial

ST_20120827_CLVIET27_8_3272133e-300x170.jpg
Ms Le Ha Thanh Mai says, "My boyfriend is a Singaporean". (ST PHOTO)

During yesterday (26 Aug) National Day Rally 2012, a Vietnamese student Ms Le Ha Thanh Mai was held up as a success story of integrating into Singapore society by PM Lee.

Ms Mai, who is from Ho Chi Minh City, came to Singapore on a MOE scholarship when she was 15. She did not know a word of English then.
She had difficulty adjusting at first but things improved after she joined Temasek Junior College, where her classmates helped her to fit in.
Mr Lee said, “By the time she went to Singapore Management University (SMU), she was so localised that if you didn’t know her name, you wouldn’t know she came from somewhere else.”

He quoted her as saying: “I feel as much a Singaporean as I am a Vietnamese. I have come to love the hawker food, the Singapore River that I jog along, the fireworks every National Day on the magnificent background of Singapore’s skyline, the shopping malls… the cinemas where I spend many nights watching movies, the schools I attended and, most importantly, the friendships I have made.”

She plans to stay here.

She said, “I have a three-year government bond to serve and my boyfriend is a Singaporean.”

Of course, having a boyfriend is one thing but getting married is another. We can only hope that Ms Mai will truly be committed to Singapore and settle down in Singapore eventually, helping to increase Singapore’s low fertility rate.

However, some evidence suggests that cases like Ms Mai may be few in between.

prcstudent1.png
PRC student (right) said that only half of his batch of friends who graduated are still staying in Singapore. His two friends (left and one with yellow shirt) have gone back to China without serving their bonds (Photo from Chinanews.com)

There is anecdotal evidence indicating that more foreign scholars are defaulting (i.e, breaking their bonds without paying damages) in the last 2 years, as related by PRC students in this article on a Chinese site: http://www.chinanews.com/lxsh/2012/01-10/3593069.shtml.
The reason being since 2010, in response to Singaporeans’ demands and the approaching of a general election then, the government withdrew the automatic granting of PR to foreign scholars after their graduations from our local universities.

Without a PR status, their employability diminishes. Many couldn’t find a job in Singapore and promptly skipped town to return home. Others have returned home because they find the job prospects better, especially with their ability to speak better English than their peers at home.
Then, we have foreign scholars like Sun Xu, who after receiving generous benefits from Singapore taxpayers, wrote on a blog to condemn Singaporeans: “There are more dogs than humans in Singapore”.

And even for some foreign students who, indeed, were later given PR status, they preferred to go back home to serve their country as exemplified by PRC Zhang Yuanyuan who went back to China to participate in their national day parade:

zhangyuanyuan1.jpg
zhangyuanyuan2.jpg

zhangyuanyuan.png
zhaunyuanyuan3.jpg

Join our TRE facebook page here: http://www.facebook.com/TREmeritus

And the idiot said on the rally to be tolerant to THESE ppl?
Why didn't the idiot invite WP MPs to the rally? Aren't they voted in by the SG citizens as representatives?
Shouldn't the idiot lead by example by being tolerant to these MPs, since they are supposed to be working for SG's futuer and betterment?
Talk nonsense and expect ppl to listen.. gif these FTs scholarships for wat? so they can come, learn to be better and go back home to earn higher salaries at their birth country.. And what about our own ppl?

totally farked up!!

And the idiot said on the rally to be tolerant to THESE ppl?
Why didn't the idiot invite WP MPs to the rally? Aren't they voted in by the SG citizens as representatives?
Shouldn't the idiot lead by example by being tolerant to these MPs, since they are supposed to be working for SG's futuer and betterment?
Talk nonsense and expect ppl to listen.. gif these FTs scholarships for wat? so they can come, learn to be better and go back home to earn higher salaries at their birth country.. And what about our own ppl?

totally farked up!!

hi, i like you signature. can you tell us which country/place you consider to be fair? something that singapore should work towards?

i congratulate these new citizens on scholarships. many did well and many are grateful . i think we should not begrudge these new citizens. many of them are nice people. and they will contribute to our economy. many singaporeans do nothing like to kpkb only. be gracious and learn from our new citizens. learn to say 早安 and 謝謝......

hi, i like you signature. can you tell us which country/place you consider to be fair? something that singapore should work towards?

IMHO there is no one country that is truly and perfectly fair.
If a country has anti-discrimination laws in place.. it still doesn't guarantee that there is NO discrimination.. only that there are laws for ppl who feel that when they are being discriminated against.. there is a course of action to take.

However.. such laws are non-existent in SG.. one really wonders why.
We hear of women who get sacked when they are pregnant, or when they are on maternity leave.. or just as they are returning to work from maternity leave.. we also hear of age, sex, race and other forms of discrimination.. but yet nothing is REALLY done to punish those who practice such discrimination.

Should we be tolerant of such ppl, on top of the foreigners that are here competing wif us for jobs?
Why don't you share your thoughts on which place you might think will offer best anti-discrimination laws.. and hopefully a mre fairer ground for all to seek employment?

However.. such laws are non-existent in SG.. one really wonders why.
We hear of women who get sacked when they are pregnant, or when they are on maternity leave.. or just as they are returning to work from maternity leave.. we also hear of age, sex, race and other forms of discrimination.. but yet nothing is REALLY done to punish those who practice such discrimination.

Should we be tolerant of such ppl, on top of the foreigners that are here competing wif us for jobs?
Why don't you share your thoughts on which place you might think will offer best anti-discrimination laws.. and hopefully a mre fairer ground for all to seek employment?

i believe MOM has laws in place to prevent firing of pregnant women. i am unfamiliar with the exact workings of the law.

i would only say that employees who think they have been wrongly dismissed, should sue their employer's ass in court. hire a lawyer and fight the case to the end.

Singapore has not developed a litigious culture yet and this is stifling the people's rights.

for example, this nonsense about the fair trading act and "lemon law" (about defective goods) - that is utter rubbish. a lawyer once told me, you can sue under common law for this. but no one bothers to sue. i recall some years ago some lady bought a bimmer (or was it a merc) and it was inherently defective (went back workshop many times within 12 months, problem still not fixed). in the end, she sued and the company gave in to her demands. but not until she sued.

why do you think big businesses are so scared of consumers in the USA? and its no wonder that consumers in singapore have next to no rights!

This is really sick, what can we do but migrate, sad :(
Vote the pappies out but have a back up plan....
I am planning to fuckoff from this shithole.....in the meantime giving the fucktards 60.1% one last chance.....if after GE 2016 still status quo then leave.

Bro, better start planning your exit. I don't think 2016 will be much different.

Yes, this is the faith i have in the 60.1% fucktards.

based on what i have read in the emigration threads, you fall into the category of people who will never leave singapore.

The irony of it all is that when I was in NS, we were told that we had to take training seriously because one of the primary reasons of NS was to defend the country against the Vietcong.

That must be a long long long long time ago.

I don't remember seeing doctrine on defending against THAT neighbour.

That must be a long long long long time ago.

I don't remember seeing doctrine on defending against THAT neighbour.

It was one of the scenarios in the National Education Course that all of us had to attend.

now we lose the country without a single shot fired, thanks to PM

based on what i have read in the emigration threads, you fall into the category of people who will never leave singapore.

fucktard, please dun come start with me.
i hardly if ever posted in the emigration threads.
my lanjaio placed which location is none of your fucking business....unless you want to suck on it

Yes you must be from my era......back that the doctrine was 1 combat ready Vietcong is equal to 5 NS sinkies.

fucktard, please dun come start with me.
i hardly if ever posted in the emigration threads.
my lanjaio placed which location is none of your fucking business....unless you want to suck on it

you assume i was referring to something you posted.

what i mean is, based on what the people in the emigration thread talk about, you fall into the category of people who will probably not migrate.

it is an observation. your overreaction is telling.