• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

How Much To SURVIVE in Sinkieland

Raiders

All this thread does is show what a pathetic bunch most of you are. :rolleyes:

Instead of discussing how to be wildly successful, views are sought on how much it costs to keep your head just above water.

It's pretty obvious why the government has opened the floodgates to foreigners. The locals are so devoid of drive and ambition that the country was in danger of disappearing from the map.

Hey, I need to ask you. Which sitebuilder is best to create a website similar to interpals.net

Thank you in advance.

NoOnEsAwMe

the following expenses are approximates..

daily
bus fare/mrt go work = 2.00
morning breakfast = 2.50 (beehoon with 1 egg + 1 tofu, this used to be 1.70 just 2-3 years ago!)
drink = 0.80 (non-iced) or 1.30 (iced milo), (both optional)
lunch = 3.00 (2.50 , strictly 2 vege + 1 meat, if not careful, will hit 2.80, or 3.00)
drink = 0.80 or 1.30 (optional)
dinner = 3.00 (3.00 , if eat rice and vege all day very boring la)
drink = 0.80 or 1.30 (optional)
bus fare/mrt go home = 2.00
total = min.$12.50 , max.. the sky's the limit
x30 days = $360-$400

monthly bills
hdb loan = cpf account paying..
sp services (3-room hdb flat) = 100.00 (approximate, safe estimate)
handphone bill = 40 (maybe can be cheaper if use prepaid card?)
internet = 0 (surf net in office)

so it's $500-$600 for this kind of mundane life.
might as well get dead and buried faster?
forget about supporting our aged parents
forget about having kids

because..

1x makan for hubby and wife at chilli's at J-cube (2x main dish only, no drinks) = 45
1x movie for hubby and wife at gv = 22 (or if can qualify for credit card, buy $75 prepaid hsbc gv card, 7.50 per movie)

so for a "life",
we can see what kind of crazy prices that are out there..

Raiders

To 'live' in Singapore means different things for different people.

If my hobby is play golf, then i need to pay club membership which is extremely costly.

If my hobby is play basketball, it practically cost nothing.

Thats my point Im putting across. To many people, living like me may seem to be miserable to them but my wife and myself are actually very happy with our life. The money we saved are put to proper savings and investments. Thats the most important thing to us.

I think start with singles first.....

for support family with kids i have calculated you need 10k per month to lead a normal life.

this is for a family of 4 (2 kids)....wife not working with maid, HDB 5 room, a jap car, yearly holidays, kids upkeep, etc

All this thread does is show what a pathetic bunch most of you are. :rolleyes:

Instead of discussing how to be wildly successful, views are sought on how much it costs to keep your head just above water.

It's pretty obvious why the government has opened the floodgates to foreigners. The locals are so devoid of drive and ambition that the country was in danger of disappearing from the map.

1. sammy, i don't think the bros who have "revealed" their expenses as losers or being pathetic.
2. each & everyone of us here has different expectations & lifestyles.
3. how much we spend or save does not make anyone here as losers or low rung!
4. now, tell us here what are your expenses?

ZorrorroZ

I would say a minimum of $2000 in cash to get by comfortably without luxuries or savings (a small family of 4) ... or at least $5K a month to have a car, savings and the occasional short holiday... or at least $10K a month to live in a condo, with a nice car and nice holidays.

My wife works shift. So most Weekends, she is not at home. When she is at home on weekdays, I am working. :biggrin: But of course lah, we go go for our holidays and we do buy ourselves something good now and then. This thread is about surviving in Sinkieland so Im replying to that point alone. If you put aside SURVIVING in SINKIELAND, then my expenses will have to add another $500 for ECA :biggrin:

oh...like that not so bad ...i thought you dont have life ...only ECA . :wink:

Ok brother.

1. SCV/MIO TV = Never subscribe. Wanna watch movies or football, internet have alot. Why pay?
2. No car
3. No maid
4. No children
5. Father and mother no need us to give them money
6. My wife and I go out maybe only 3 times MAX a month. We are actually very homely people and we hate the weather in Singapore and especially the crowd. If we were living in a bigger country with nicer weather, I think we will be going out very often.
7. I dont smoke and dont club, dont smoke
8. I dont go Geylang or massage since I have free fucks from PRCs. Of course its not entirely free. The hotel rooms, meals, movies, taxi comes up to be about $500 a month

Thats all.

1. bro, kudos to you for being "good".
2. except for clause 5 & 8.
3. salute you!

Raiders

oh...like that not so bad ...i thought you dont have life ...only ECA . :wink:

Got lah. We can afford to go for nice long holidays but decided against it as we wanted to save the money in this type of unstable climate. Next time if we go japan, maybe we stay at your house lor :biggrin:

erection2015

Alfrescian (InfP) + C
now its ok already...drifter lent me 10 cents...i bank in already ...so 3 days time can draw the $ 50. Heng ah...thanks bro drifter.

Oei, you got money to eat this month or not. Heard you are left with $49.90. Now ATM cannot withdraw lesser than $50, then what you going to do? :biggrin:

Raiders

1. bro, kudos to you for being "good".
2. except for clause 5 & 8.
3. salute you!

We're lucky that our parents on both side have their small small busineses. I have often heard about foreign parents wanting money from their sinkie son-in-law and I am grateful that my parents-in-law are not like that. In fact, when we wanted to buy our first house in Singapore and our first piece of land in Vietnam, my wife's family actually offered to lend us part of the money.

HDB $360
Household Bills(PUB + Internet + Town Council) $200
Transport $150
Meals(Outdoor makan) $300

Thats all ...
datz not all ... u've left out ...

mobile access, ciggie, spools ... festival (cny) xtras ... clothings, pc, hp, shoes, etc ... other misc items ...

Mike Tyson's career earnings was more than $300 Million, and eventually he was still declared a bankrupt, unable to pay alimony and child support.
Many NBA players in the same plight, including former all star Shawn Kemp, who has double digit number of children with multiple women.
Life can be tough and sometimes a struggle just to survive, especially in a place where they look after their own first.
But sometimes, perhaps we also need to examine and manage our own lives properly.
Food for thought this thread and the posts, perhaps self reflection and control is more useful than comparison.
If we look hard enough, we can find a million people who are worse off than we are. And probably a million who are better off.