• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Living in JB 2 (Johore)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Polymin

Erm ... In addition, put another lock (from inside), your sliding door also has a lock (but weak one), then couple with CCTV and the magnetic strip alarm that bro wuqi recommended from daiso, enough le bah.... Haha

Yah, I also saw the toilet stuffs. And I learned about the distance of house piping vs their design. Not all their designs can fit in any bathroom. I didn't know this, still learning

Hi all,
If you have friends in USA get this slider lock. Prevents people from lifting the sliding doors. Also good for owners, just in case you forgotten to lock the flimsy base lock. It's also good for house with little kids.

Also safe for you to exit in case of fire. No need to fumble for keys !

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IRD3nr3bLOo&feature=player_embedded

DREAMorACTION

Oh wow, never thought that sliding door could be lifted easily. Very good point.

This lock looks good. Must order from USA? Has anyone seen it anywhere (or similar design by local brand)? I can see this lock being very useful when I design my balcony ...

Hi all,
If you have friends in USA get this slider lock. Prevents people from lifting the sliding doors. Also good for owners, just in case you forgotten to lock the flimsy base lock. It's also good for house with little kids.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Oh wow, never thought that sliding door could be lifted easily. Very good point.

This lock looks good. Must order from USA? Has anyone seen it anywhere (or similar design by local brand)? I can see this lock being very useful when I design my balcony ...

Yes, cheap and good way is to find a piece of wood and saw it to fit exactly. That way, once you stuff that piece of stout wood down, there is no easy opening of the sliding door even if they lift it.

avalon74

Hello avalon74,

The offer price was MYR589,000 for my unit. All the promotional discounts and fees absorbtion during the launch last year applied, so all in all, I think it was a fair deal. I was told the Alphenor handover will be around this time next year as the external works are still on-going.

Thanks for the pic, I look forward to enjoy such scenery in person :-) And yes, I look forward to meeting up with fellow residents at SEG. in the near future.

Cheers.

HI EDTBA,
Not alot of active bros staying in SEG besides us.. cathy & AP stays in Tropika while one bro recently bot Eco Cascadia..
Think for a corner unit, that is a good price based on current unit availability..

Usually it will be completed ard 1-3 months earlier so keep your fingers crossed..
Is your unit facing the road into precinct or facing Liviana?

Cheers

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Today got blown away, a small sampan saw a big ship passed by. Someone who already bought some just bought another 10 plus units of a certain type of a large, non residential property.
We small time investors (mainly i am small) salute the big ships passing by, very humbled by the size of these ships. Can feel the waves rocking. :smile:

CameraMan

Hi Bro Wuqi,

I like your idea. It is simply practical.

Yes, cheap and good way is to find a piece of wood and saw it to fit exactly. That way, once you stuff that piece of stout wood down, there is no easy opening of the sliding door even if they lift it.

avalon74

7k / month cannot buy 500k house? That's probably true - at 4.2% interest over 30 years, easily 2.2k RM,
Was thinking about how this reflects on Singapore - a can a Singaporean earning 7k SGD a month (gross) buy a HDB flat which can cost easily 500k? We have lower interest rates - assume std HDB concessionary loan at 2.6%, it's about 1.8 SGD a month. Oops - that's nearly 40% of gross pay gone, and 7k is already quite a bit above median income...

Think I did some calculations some time back.. a couple who earns 5K each & paying a 30 yr loan can afford a 570K HDB without any out of pocket cash payments (CPF concessionary rate of 2.6%) However it probably last for 2 generation before it is makan by gahmen.. due to 99 year lease..
So sometimes it baffles me when pple pay so much more for a HDB that has less than 70 years remaining..

avalon74

Haha my ex-Setia friend did say Setia Tropika had issues with Singaporeans who stayed there for weekends only, and refused to pay monthly maintenance fees. When these Singaporeans were not let into the compound, they would park their cars right outside the gate, creating a jam till the security guard is forced to let them in. My friend was utterly disgusted at them. These Singaporeans really gave us a bad name! Haiz....

Tot sgp are quite kiasi.. I paid the 6 months maintenance fees when I received the letter but my neighbour who stays there have not paid yet..
Good think Setia, lawyer & bank sends the document to my sg address.. only for water & electrical bill slips are dropped into my JB property mailbox..

Grago

What lock bro? The wire mesh comes with a frame that has lock on it. It has about 4 lock point I think. And lifetime guarantee on wear and tear. This certainly can replace the grills, and I like it better, because it can keep insects out, airiate the house, and refrain my pets from getting out of house. They customize their products at a cost, the standard sizes cost from 2k upwards. U can decide on colors to match your house as they will coat them. This is talking about door.

They also do window at lower cost accordingly.

So u can see it costs more than grilles but it serves many aspects that I like. I think it's good idea for majestec .. They have a showroom, why not have a visit? :smile: btw, dun need to do all areas with wire mess right? More prominent areas,especially the front porch with sliding door with this majestec will look awesome!

Bro thanks for the Infor on the earlier query. Does Majestec have a showroom at KSL. Is this the KSL at Century Gardens Johore Baru?

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Hi Bro Wuqi,

I like your idea. It is simply practical.

Thanks, this was borrowed from those uncles i saw but i will suggest to get something that is sawed to fit snugly and stuff it in, put a short piece of string around the wood before stuffing it in so that you can pull it out from the inside to dislodge it easily when you are back.

DREAMorACTION

Oh yeah, very logical Bro. Thanks for the tips

But if there are kids are home, this might not work as desired. The kids might just pick the wood up and in the process might accidentally hit something. Gotta deal this with care when implementing this method, I think ...

Grago

Hi all,

Bro. Excellent post. Thanks. Looking at the installation video, I would guess that it could also be use on the sliding windows which work on the same principle as sliding doors....

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Public Service Announcement

Bros, crime is everywhere, just be vigilant, whichever estate or development you stay in, there is no place that is 100% safe.

Also, it is safe to assume every single CR Turbo pickup, container truck, lorry and vans are out to take your life. Today
encoutered another few guys who just stomped on their brakes, run the light or basically were looking everywhere but
the right way. On my way back, in Jurong, saw a black vehicle from the distance with its middle caved in. Yesterday, saw
a car in Johore almost got banged by a container truck, luckily i horned and warned the driver and he stopped, he was angry
until he saw the truck. Then he waved.

Just like SG, there are good and bad drivers here, there are followers of the "Uh-nang Uh-nang" as well as the dark side, followers
of the "Bo-nang Bo-nang" Followers of the "Bo-nang Bo-nang" can be of any race but basically they do not care to see if there is
anyone in the lane that they are filtering out (suddenly) to.

(Bo-Nang =Hokkien/Teochew for "Nobody Nobody", meaning the driver can see no one else)

Nor do they care if they go into a lane and ebrake suddenly. Yet some will switch from being at extreme right at the traffic lights to
go to the left filter lane suddenly. These are clear and present dangers that these "Bo-nang Bo-nangs" present to all road users. It is
imperative that you take extra care with these people who thinks they are the only ones paying road tax and that they assume no one else
is using the roads except them.

Do not horn them as they are usually wearing very tight underwear and it takes little to provoke them when you disturb them with your presence.
Even saw another lorry just now, shooting out from the side lanes out onto the main road, only AFTER he reaches the main road, then he thought
to check to see if there is anyone behind him. Narrowly missed a motorcycle.

Other than owners of large vehicles, there are some small ones that has tremendous inferiority complexes that they need to show that they can
overtake you when you turning left or right. After that, on the main road, everyone else passes them by as they then drive very slowly........until
they see a woman driver, then its RRRRRrr overtaking time.

DREAMorACTION

They don't based in ksl. They were there doing a home fair.

From the brochure, their office is at:

76, Jalan rosemerah 2/17, taman Johor jaya, 81100 JB
Tel:07-3533792

I just googled the product and found this featured article.

http://www.starproperty.my/Shopping/WhatsNew/10664/0/0

U can also search in you tube. A few videos are available inside

Bro thanks for the Infor on the earlier query. Does Majestec have a showroom at KSL. Is this the KSL at Century Gardens Johore Baru?

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Found out we still need levy for all types of properties even though it was not discussed by the developer and their guy hinted it was covered as well as S&P.

Found out it was not when i spoke with their fiance guy today for term and loans,(doing due dilligence for T&Cs) but hit a stone wall and they refused to budge
as a lot of discounts were given already and this was really cheap as compared to every other development.

Quickly called and explained to a few bros before i even called my family members. Felt bad, made no excuses to them and offered to buy out bros who may be
unhappy. No one was luckily as they understood. I can always earn back a couple of 10k but not friendship nor trust.

vincentck

Hi all,

I can't remember where I saw/read, but you can also ask your contractor or sliding door guy to install an additional piece of metal along the tracks so that the sliding doors cannot be lifted out.

I like the Majestec mesh, but would need to see how effective or how strong is the mesh. Will probably install it for the windows and doors; and additional grill for the ground floor. My idea is to discourage would-be robbers when they see the grill. Because if other houses has grill and mine doesn't have; high chance the robber will wanna try robbing my house because it looks easier.

Grago

They don't based in ksl. They were there doing a home fair.

From the brochure, their office is at:

76, Jalan rosemerah 2/17, taman Johor jaya, 81100 JB
Tel:07-3533792

I just googled the product and found this featured article.

http://www.starproperty.my/Shopping/WhatsNew/10664/0/0

U can also search in you tube. A few videos are available inside

Bro, thanks for the info's and link. My contribution to your rep count :wink:

vincentck

Hahaha.. it s just merely started.. Had one friend to redo the lay out.. here is the major things i am intend to change
1. Wooden flooring for front porch (at the sliding door area), central courtyard and backyard
2. Change all bathrooms tiles to marble like big tiles
3. Remove the staircase handle bar..
4. Hack 2 bedrooms upstair to turn into one audio video room, which the wall facing the central courtyard also hacked and made a balcony inside the house with sliding door
5. Make a walk in wardrobe in the master bedroom with approximately 19' of wardrobes inside
6. Change part of masterbedroom wall to glass panel so can view directly to living hall
7. Woodflooring for dry kitchen with island (with basin)

These are the main things discussed so far... still got so many details to settle... wait to see the quotation first...
Hey bro bbbear, I like No 4. I'll be extending my house to the side to create 2 rooms, level 1 & 2. Level 1 room will be my AV room, while upstairs will be another bedroom or walk-in wardrobe.

Status
Not open for further replies.