• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

What's the point of barring companies from hiring foreigners if they can renew existi

[h=1]WHAT'S THE POINT OF BARRING COMPANIES FROM HIRING FOREIGNERS IF THEY CAN RENEW EXISTING PASSES?[/h]
<!-- /.block --> <style>.node-article .field-name-link-line-above-tags{float: right;}.node-article .field-name-ad-box-in-article {float: left;margin: 15px 15px 10px 0;}.node-article .field-tags{clear: both;}</style> Post date:
1 Jan 2015 - 3:15pm

<ins id="aswift_0_expand" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: inline-table; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><ins id="aswift_0_anchor" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: block; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><iframe name="aswift_0" width="336" height="280" id="aswift_0" frameBorder="0" marginWidth="0" marginHeight="0" scrolling="no" vspace="0" hspace="0" allowfullscreen="true" style="left: 0px; top: 0px; position: absolute;" allowTransparency="true"></iframe></ins></ins>

I overheard a conversation at a hawker centre between two persons who appear to be employers.

A: Hey, you heard or not. First case of MOM penalise employer you know – hire foreigner then sack Singaporean
B: Hah, so must be careful – means now must employ Singaporeans is it?

A: No lah. MOM say the employer can still renew the existing work permits lah.
B: Hah. So, this type of penalty is like no penalty leh. No sweat lah. I will employ foreigners lah – they two years cannot resign mah. Singaporeans all don’t really want to work one. Always resign give me headache lah. Eh but what you mean by ban from employing foreigners for two years?

A: Aiyah. Means meantime still can renew the foreign workers in the company – only cannot apply for new permit for two years only lah
B: Wah lao. MOM very good leh – always help us. Si bei wayang lah! haha. What company so sueh?

<ins id="aswift_1_expand" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: inline-table; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><ins id="aswift_1_anchor" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: block; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><iframe name="aswift_1" width="336" height="280" id="aswift_1" frameBorder="0" marginWidth="0" marginHeight="0" scrolling="no" vspace="0" hspace="0" allowfullscreen="true" style="left: 0px; top: 0px; position: absolute;" allowTransparency="true"></iframe></ins></ins>

A: Small PRC company lah. You think they will catch GLC, listed company meh? Aiyah – just go look at the hospitals and post office lah – so many foreigners
Can renew existing work permits
According to the Straits Times print edition news report “MOM bars marine firm from hiring foreigners” (Dec 30) – “The MOM however, declined to disclose when the two-year ban started. But the company can renew the work passes of its existing foreign workers, the MOM told The Straits Times.”
How come can “declined to disclose when the two-year ban started” one meh?
Wayang king lah!

Win battles lose war
TRS Contributor

Re: What's the point of barring companies from hiring foreigners if they can renew ex

[h=1]WHAT'S THE POINT OF BARRING COMPANIES FROM HIRING FOREIGNERS IF THEY CAN RENEW EXISTING PASSES?[/h]
<!-- /.block --> <style>.node-article .field-name-link-line-above-tags{float: right;}.node-article .field-name-ad-box-in-article {float: left;margin: 15px 15px 10px 0;}.node-article .field-tags{clear: both;}</style> Post date:
1 Jan 2015 - 3:15pm

<ins id="aswift_0_expand" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: inline-table; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><ins id="aswift_0_anchor" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: block; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><iframe name="aswift_0" width="336" height="280" id="aswift_0" frameBorder="0" marginWidth="0" marginHeight="0" scrolling="no" vspace="0" hspace="0" allowfullscreen="true" style="left: 0px; top: 0px; position: absolute;" allowTransparency="true"></iframe></ins></ins>

I overheard a conversation at a hawker centre between two persons who appear to be employers.

A: Hey, you heard or not. First case of MOM penalise employer you know – hire foreigner then sack Singaporean
B: Hah, so must be careful – means now must employ Singaporeans is it?

A: No lah. MOM say the employer can still renew the existing work permits lah.
B: Hah. So, this type of penalty is like no penalty leh. No sweat lah. I will employ foreigners lah – they two years cannot resign mah. Singaporeans all don’t really want to work one. Always resign give me headache lah. Eh but what you mean by ban from employing foreigners for two years?

A: Aiyah. Means meantime still can renew the foreign workers in the company – only cannot apply for new permit for two years only lah
B: Wah lao. MOM very good leh – always help us. Si bei wayang lah! haha. What company so sueh?

<ins id="aswift_1_expand" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: inline-table; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><ins id="aswift_1_anchor" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: block; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><iframe name="aswift_1" width="336" height="280" id="aswift_1" frameBorder="0" marginWidth="0" marginHeight="0" scrolling="no" vspace="0" hspace="0" allowfullscreen="true" style="left: 0px; top: 0px; position: absolute;" allowTransparency="true"></iframe></ins></ins>

A: Small PRC company lah. You think they will catch GLC, listed company meh? Aiyah – just go look at the hospitals and post office lah – so many foreigners
Can renew existing work permits
According to the Straits Times print edition news report “MOM bars marine firm from hiring foreigners” (Dec 30) – “The MOM however, declined to disclose when the two-year ban started. But the company can renew the work passes of its existing foreign workers, the MOM told The Straits Times.”
How come can “declined to disclose when the two-year ban started” one meh?
Wayang king lah!

Win battles lose war
TRS Contributor

Whenever they don't want to reveal even the basic information for their actions, you know that it is all WAYANG.

It is like telling the world that the PENQUINS books were available at the libraries without telling you that one copy each is found in Woodlands, Jurong and one other far-flung library that I cannot recall. It is actions like these that infuriate - and they seem totally at ease with such behaviour.

Re: What's the point of barring companies from hiring foreigners if they can renew ex

Because if we bar them completely from hiring foreigners, the company would simply uproot and move to a different location. Singapore won't even be able to collect any kind of taxes or fees, or enjoy any spillover benefits from their presence, which includes hiring local sinkies for taxi driving or hooker services.

Sinkies are more preoccupied with being employees than creating good jobs for themselves.

Two year ban started two years ago?

It's still a two year ban. That part didn't change. It only means you got to know of this case two years late.

I see. It all makes sense now. Kudos to the PAP for their vigilence. This case clearly shows that lawbreakers were punished.