• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

What do SIA's latest FY results say about the Local Aviation Industry?

Byebye Penis

What does SIA's latest FY results say about the Local Aviation Industry?

1. Passenger traffic is recovering but revenue per passenger is not strong. Passenger business could be facing higher expenses, competitive airfares from regional peers, and lack of demand for long-distance travel. Perhaps, the recent disruption in Chinese routes is slowing their recovery.

2. Cargo business is doing very well, that means the oldest planes in SIA are the ones making money for SIA. It is less efficient to use the bottom of passenger planes to fly cargo, and SIA continues to purchase new passenger planes, so the depreciation is likely to remain high.

3. Did SIA close some of their oil futures positions (various, till March 2025)? With current oil prices, the lack exceptional paper gains from their oil-hedge, hints that SIA either closed some of these positions at lower prices, or they didn't manage to impose much fuel-surcharges on their passenger/cargo business. https://www.reuters.com/article/us-singapore-air-results-idUSKBN22Q1GL

Interest rates will be higher in the years ahead, so it will erode SIA's margins if they refinance their debts. It will be cheaper for SIA to have another rights issue to strength their balance sheet.

Why not turn SIA into a not-for-profit airline, similar to how its GLC cousin SPH is managed?

Then you will stop bellyaching about fuel costs, passenger traffic, quarterly results etc.

Even North Korea could maintain a functional national airline.

Alternatively, sell SIA to some Middle East Arab country, like how to NOL was sold.

Stop clinging on to foolish patriotic pride.

Why not turn SIA into a not-for-profit airline, similar to how its GLC cousin SPH is managed?

Then you will stop bellyaching about fuel costs, passenger traffic, quarterly results etc.

Alternatively, sell SIA to some Middle East Arab country, like how to NOL was sold.

Sell means no more jobs leh. :unsure:

Alamakinky

you must be some kind of foreigner sabo king with an agenda to discourage and do harm to sinkies and sinkieland....hope no one here pays you much attention.

Not sure what that patriotic indignation is about. SPH got nationalized and it's still doing okay. Surely a similar arrangement can be made for SIA. :wink:

FYI, once upon a time I was a patriotic gongkia just like you... then I became an adult. Serving NS also opened my eyes. :cool:

CPTMiller

Not sure what that patriotic indignation is about. SPH got nationalized and it's still doing okay. Surely a similar arrangement can be made for SIA. :wink:

FYI, once upon a time I was a patriotic gongkia just like you... then I became an adult. Serving NS also opened my eyes. :cool:
Serving NS because Singapore as a country need foot soldiers. Its not even to protect Leader as they can easily hire elite soldiers guard their yard. Moreover thanks to SAF create many good jobs for Singaporean too. You know it how regular commander shout at you

Loofydralb

Send in General Ng to save everybody misery.

After all he managed to save SPH and turned NOL profitable under another name....

tobelightlight

He is one of the best sbf poster here. That is why he is unvaccinated. Sad that u have rejected his words of wisdom.

Rabbit7

How many billions lost in oil futures trading ?
..How Big / Who are the team who does the Hedging for SIA ?
Is this hedging team, in-house, or sub-contracted out ?

Are they "the well-connected elites" who gets the job of gambling with other people's monies, win/lost,... still earn commission ?

SaBoon

..How Big / Who are the team who does the Hedging for SIA ?
Is this hedging team, in-house, or sub-contracted out ?

Are they "the well-connected elites" who gets the job of gambling with other people's monies, win/lost,... still earn commission ?
We have the world grass garment, trains, education and this hedging team, best of the best, a notch above the rest. NO?

Byebye Penis

You mean SIA can help transport talents around the world. Good idea
It is low margin business, but we don't have a domestic market like JAL, ANA, Qantas, Philippines Airlines, etc
So we have to be part of India.

Finally, Boarding Time for Singapore Airlines’ Flight to India​

Analysis by Andy Mukherjee | Bloomberg
June 2, 2022 at 7:35 p.m. EDT
https://www.washingtonpost.com/busi...4bf89e-e2cc-11ec-ae64-6b23e5155b62_story.html

imrs.php

Its home base in Singapore is well-suited as a router of international passenger flows between India and the U.S. west coast.