• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Migrant's home

neddy

DynamicImage.axd

Usually, you will expect visitors from Singapore/Malaysia ...

The Pros
  • Singaporeans are quite fun to observe when they are overseas
  • You have the advantage of 1 or more maids helping you tend the veggie patch, garden or household chores

The Cons
  • They get into the way, esp the elderly ones who love your kitchen so much that it becomes their day room
  • The rest will chop your TV, and powerpoints
  • The whole house will be turned upside down.
  • They love to keep the flick taps centred (instead of right for cold water) - and they complain the water is a bit hot.
  • They occupied all the furnitures

Things to consider ...
1. If possible, create a kitchette upstairs for the kitchen lovers - don't use flick taps please, they waste hot water. (esp If you do not use solar HWS)
2. Have a bedroom downstairs for the elderly, the ski accident crippled chap (excuse the upper class term, I usu use 'bloke')
3. At least 2 WCs, and 2 Shower facilities
4. Common areas, try to use separate hot/cold water taps instead of flick taps.
5. Have ready a British multi-powerpoint sockets board
6. Create a separate living area (eg activity room) for the visitors. So you still have your own privacy when the quarrels start. If possible, have a TV room.
7. Cover the alfresco to keep the flies out and the people away from the elements. More people in the house means a good time for the good old Aussie Barbie. It is also a good living space when it gets too crowded. Always have a wok burner, not a "side" burner (no good for asian cooking) You can also install an outdoor kitchen.
8. Put a coffee table and comfy chairs at the balcony - complete with flower vase. This is another living space. Have an outdoor powerpoint install in case you need to put a coffee maker here, or the kids want to play videos, etc
9. Portable clothlines, extra rugs for dirty feet.
10. Set the house rules Eg closing the flyscreen door at all times !!! Do not touch the evaporative air-con (if you have one and do not have a pressure vent) because Singapore don't use one - the whole country is an evaporative air-con. Do not let the visitors use the ducted reverse cycle air-con. Ask them to close the windows&doors if too hot/cold.
11. Actvitiy room may use a sofa bed, for the maids.
12. Alfresco area need to have outdoor power and water, best if it is connected to WC. You do not want oily hands touching the sliding doors. My Alfresco area is covered so I have a separate reversee cycle air-con unit installed for comfort.
13. I found out that it save power if you have separate air-con unit install for your own master bedroom instead of running off the ducted one even in your zone.

DynamicImage.axd

axe168

Good analysis and good design !

I can be honest with you, typical Singaporean would prefer to apply their HDB experience to Australia. They are totally clueless in buying properties, let alone the house design and its orientation.

DynamicImage.axd

Usually, you will expect visitors from Singapore/Malaysia ...

The Pros
  • Singaporeans are quite fun to observe when they are overseas
  • You have the advantage of 1 or more maids helping you tend the veggie patch, garden or household chores

Aussie Prick

Or you could move. You are only 4 hour flight away from Singapore, some commute back and forth to Perth. When you get to the 8 hour away mark, for some reason they tend to show up a lot less often, or so I've been told.

neddy

Or you could move. You are only 4 hour flight away from Singapore, some commute back and forth to Perth. When you get to the 8 hour away mark, for some reason they tend to show up a lot less often, or so I've been told.

I don't move just because of someone I don't like turns up.

Anyway, they used to visit Crown casino, have property in Melbourne. 7 hours away.
They were in NZ a few years back.

These people just want to escape from Singapore. Some of these people really need a relaxing holiday. They are rude, speak in a commanding way and have no idea how to adapt to local weather/culture.

It is really funny to see them having English Afternoon tea using my Staffordshire china, in the patio with mini Roman fountain next to cottage style garden complaining about stupid Singapore peasants complaining too much.

These pretend elites do not even dare to ask me permission to use the expensive china, they ask my wife.

And before they leave Perth, they raid my garden!
Curry leaves, lemongrass, chillis, chives and other asian veggies gone.
They even cut my Italian herbs to bring back to Singapore.

The last time, they took back the whole plants to grow in Singapore. All plants died.

I will not expect them next year. They are going Hokkaido. Again, seeking advice from my Japanese wife.

Aussie Prick

Anyway, they used to visit Crown casino, have property in Melbourne. 7 hours away.

These people just want to escape from Singapore. Some of these people really need a relaxing holiday. They are rude, speak in a commanding way and have no idea how to adapt to local weather/culture.

It is really funny to see them having English Afternoon tea using my Staffordshire china, in the patio with mini Roman fountain next to cottage style garden complaining about stupid Singapore peasants complaining too much.

These pretend elites do not even dare to ask me permission to use the expensive china, they ask my wife.

The last time, they took back the whole plants to grow in Singapore. All plants died.

I will not expect them next year. They are going Hokkaido. Again, seeking advice from my Japanese wife.

I would'nt move but then again I know my family. My house would become a freakin train station if it was 4 hours away. Already have 2 air mattresses and this is still here. Next time they come and check out your plants mention you planted a certain herb with a distinctive leaf, popularly rolled and smoked to better one's outlook on life. Mention they might not want to "help themselves" to it as the local authorities in Singapore might make life difficult if they land at Changi with some of your plants.

Now if you do decide to grow some, not only might you have a big smile on your face, your garden might be happier too.

neddy

I would'nt move but then again I know my family. My house would become a freakin train station if it was 4 hours away. Already have 2 air mattresses and this is still here. Next time they come and check out your plants mention you planted a certain herb with a distinctive leaf, popularly rolled and smoked to better one's outlook on life. Mention they might not want to "help themselves" to it as the local authorities in Singapore might make life difficult if they land at Changi with some of your plants.

Now if you do decide to grow some, not only might you have a big smile on your face, your garden might be happier too.

They grow naturally here, no need hydroponics. :biggrin:
But if I grow them, my house will be train interchange station for Singapore!

She might want to let them know that Fukushima is nice this time of year! :biggrin:

Do you know that you can still find Fukushima Rice in Perth, old stock about to expire. :biggrin:
My wife saw it in Hi Mart next to Bamboo cafe.

neddy

storm_3_nicolechisnall_17bm110-17bm11a.jpg

Sydney & Melbourne Wild storm & hail.

Call me kiasu, but I always check my Home & Contents & Car Insurance for full coverage.
So when wild weather hit, I am protected.

My HK friend is still suing the insurers to claim from the Brisbane floods.
While his neighbour can move in soon after the insurer fixed the house.

Sydney-storm.jpg

neddy

HELP!

Need to charge Singaporeans for using my place as RESORT!!!

Why can't they just go somewhere else where they are more activities????

Because my house so quiet that they have peaceful night rest. In the morning, they wake up to the sound of wild birds singing and breathe in the crisp dry clean? air.

In Singapore, they have difficulties sleeping because of the noise from freeway and the noisy neighbours in their million dollars condo. (more expensive than my house!!!)

They love my alfresco kitchen because somehow, it makes food more delicious cooking in natural environment. In Singapore, they do not even need to cook. But over here, used up my free-range eggs ($5.50 per dozen expensive!!), used up my asian sauces (cost twice Singapore price) - but they still have guts to tell me Singapore food also getting expensive.

I only buy premium sauces since I am paying more for the sauces anyway. Eg 1st pressed Singapore Soy sauce that comes in individual box packaging from Kongs in Nedlands.
My Kaya also premium quality illegally imported from Singapore. (No eggs allowed in Custom. Custom Snoopy very cooperative). These Singaporean raiders finished everything!!!

They asked how come my prawns taste so delicious, because they are wild caught. Even the LaLa Clam shells so heavy. Yes, those are NZ u10 clams. Even enjoy hammering the fresh baby abalones to do stir-fry.

Of course they will not move here, tax too high. But frankly, if the tax go higher, we will have a revolution in Australia!!! But now, we just wait for Labor govt to die.

Why French Revolution happened, because tax too high.
Why US got Boston Tea Party, because the British tax them too much.
Why UK got raids and fire in year 1780s, same reason, tax too high.

I am beginning to like you guys here. That is what i have been saying about sinkies.

1. speak in a rude commanding way.
2. raid your garden..
3. cut your herbs and bring back home????? :eek:
4. Take whole plant back to grow in sinkieland??? :eek:
5. pretend elites.

Why do you invite these people to your home in the first place. They behave like those uneducated PRCs.. or they come uninvited..(i am not surprised)

By the way, your house is very cool..

They grow naturally here, no need hydroponics. :biggrin:
But if I grow them, my house will be train interchange station for Singapore!

Organic vegetables and i bet Australia has many vegetarian options for food and mostly are organic.. very very Cool!!! :smile:

ZorrorroZ

Organic vegetables and i bet Australia has many vegetarian options for food and mostly are organic.. very very Cool!!! :smile:

Yes, another reason I look forward AU. My aunt's garden in Melbourne has pomegranate bushes and other fruits and herbs .... man, I would love to have the opportunity to grow and eat homegrown food!

Do you have problems like rabbits and other wild animals coming to your garden and have its buffet feast there and left you with nothing?

neddy

I dunno about that... gotta find out if she has any rodent or pest problem.

You get insects. Not big problems, you can grow plants that repel insects. Otherwise, there are always natural ways to stop insects.

I even get worms in my chillies. It is not a surprise that they attack the best fruits !!!

http://www.abc.net.au/gardening/stories/s1872509.htm

Australia got some yuck pests. I have not seen this yet but the arbo claim they spit. I don't remember any spitting insect in Australia.

vulner6.jpg
Spitfire

http://lepidoptera.butterflyhouse.com.au/faqs/spit.html

neddy

You can add plants that attract birds into your garden. Add bird bath and keep cats away and you will have birds building nests in the garden. Just like Charlie Brown's cartoons.

Australia has some of the most colourful birds, some are not native to Perth, like rainbow lorrikeets and finch. Still, I see them around.

Anyone with Viewsonic monitors will see some Aussie birds on their logo.
pic_mian03.jpg