• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Another scathing condemnation of Sinkieland aka Moneylaunderpore

To money launderers, tax havens mean nothing to them. They are NEVER concerned about the National tax rates, as proven by their operations in Australia, discovered & charged. They have BILLIONS more in hiding, even under their beds, to be laundered. So what is even a 40% tax rate? Only the corrupted. foolish, greedy. lowly educated despots ruling in Caribbean islands would offer even free tax, let alone citizenship for just a few thousand corrupted dollars to remain in power to exploit its even lowly educated but ' free & easy' citizens. It is LEGITIMACY that money launderers want.

For example, let's use legalized Casinos. In today's age, there would be surveillance cameras everywhere unlike the past. The launderer would spend hrs there, & place bets based upon careful observations of winner & loser players/dealers. He cares not if he lost $200,000 in bets in one day. What he wants is a win of mere $100,000, to be exchanged for a LEGITIMATE official DOCUMENT from the LEGALIZED Casino, of which he can PROVE to authorities of his wealth.

It may seem beyond comprehension why he doesn't mind losing $200,000 to win $100,000. It seemed stupid. But the money launderer is FAR MORE intelligent. With the legal document from the legalized Casino, he can buy a car, & show to TAX AUTHORITIES & Banks where his SOURCE of income came from. It is just for ONE purchase. He can then USE THE SAME DOCUMENT to purchase a house, & relevant authorities would pursue NO FATHER, although it had already been $200,000 he had spent using the SAME document from the legalized Casino.

And he have BILLIONS more under his bed, to build up his WEALTH LEGITIMACY thru Casinos, established legitimate biz directorships, etc.

Thus it is NOT & NEVER tax rates that the money launderer worries about, or his clients, as such wealth are NOT their own hard earned money, expected to at least give off 30% in commissions or 'grease' money so that they will have 70% of the funds, which is NOT their money anyway, to LEGITIMATELY spend....

I have no issues with going after dirty money. What galls me is the fact that the very governments that are making the rules are run by the biggest offenders of all.

Ask yourself how someone who was US president for a mere 8 years on $400,000 per year can now be worth 70 MILLION bucks and that is just the official figure which can be explained away by claiming that the $200,000 he earned for a 20 minute speech was the market rate for his "wisdom". Anyone i with half a brain knows full well that there are far more sinister forces at play.

https://wealthygorilla.com/barack-obama-net-worth/

The system is rigged to protect the very people who are supposed to uphold justice and integrity.

Willamshakespear

Now that you've done such an excellent job identifying the evils of money laundering, how do you as a Singaporean personally feel about living in a country with it's high GDP and developed status? How do you feel about calling yourself Singaporean and knowing that a good portion of your wealth and benefits accrue from your government offering a safe haven for such monies?

Thanks for your comments on my post.

1 a). Ah Seng has a stall selling $5-$8 per plate Hokkien noodles. Each night after 12hrs of serving 2000 customers he banks in his gross profits of $10,000. There are Hundreds thousand others like him.

b)Ah Tan is an SME owner who produces noodles. EACH day he receives orders for kilos of such noodles from thousands of stall owners like Ah Seng, whom have no warehouses, transfers $500 each to his company account for such purchases, as he no longer offers 30 day credit terms. Each day, his company accounts show a few hundred thousands of dollars. There are Hundreds thousand others like him, serving in the supply chains for goods or services in a competitive market.

c)Abd Salleh is an importer of flour who supplies such to thousands of SME owners like Ah Tan. As he too no longer offer credit terms, his clients transfers hundred thousands of dollars to his company account. There are thousands like him, serving in the supply chains for goods or services in a competitive market.

Add all that up, how many LEGITIMATE hundred of thousands dollars daily are transacted? DARE anyone accuse those hardworking Singaporeans of money laundering? How many supposed red flags can the authorities keep track of? And this is just small Singapore. How about Worldwide biz transactions?

2. Money laundering is evil. However, make NO mistakes - such launderers DO NOT keep their funds for Singapore to USE. As soon as it is legitimate, they would use it for purchases, hiding amongst thousands of other LEGITIMATE purchases or transfer those funds out of Singapore.

Singapore built its WEALTH thru revenues from our innovative biz entreprenuers & biz orientated leaders, as well as hardworking gainfully employed fellow citizens whom are the REAL Contributors to our National Treasury for budgeted social expenditure. It is these fellow citizens to thank & show appreciation for.

As I mentioned before, do not throw the baby out along with the bathwater. There are much more LEGITIMATE biz in circulation than dirty money. Money laundering is not restricted to only Singapore. It exists in almost every nation on Earth. We are an established Rule of Law Nation. Anyone who has CREDIBLE information on money laundering and NOT mealy mouthed conjectures or unsubstantiated claims, are invited to share such information with our authorities & may even gain a reward.

Willamshakespear

I have no issues with going after dirty money. What galls me is the fact that the very governments that are making the rules are run by the biggest offenders of all.

Ask yourself how someone who was US president for a mere 8 years on $400,000 per year can now be worth 70 MILLION bucks and that is just the official figure which can be explained away by claiming that the $200,000 he earned for a 20 minute speech was the market rate for his "wisdom". Anyone i with half a brain knows full well that there are far more sinister forces at play.

The system is rigged to protect the very people who are supposed to uphold justice and integrity.

Perhaps it came from his published book?

The royalty rate for an unknown author is about 10%. The book agent gets 90% as he has to pay for mgmt fees, logistics, publishing materials, logistics, etc.

The Singapore market is small. If every 2 Million adult citizen were to buy an unknown author's book, even if a best seller, at $10 per book, his royalties will be only $200,000.

However, as he is an American, with a market of est 200 Million adults, his royalties fee in USA alone would be $60 Million at $30/book purchase price. As he is not an unknown author, his royalty fee would be higher than 10%. Furthermore, he is known to 7 Billion Humankind. Add it all up, along with his inheritance as he came from an upper middle class family, that $70 million dollar net worth may be justifiable.

Loong clean house? :o-o:

What you smoking you can share with me? :tongue:

He's the principal looking for more of these "wealthy contributors to Singapore's economy".
Need to clean up to remove incriminating evidence mah no meh? As the author suggests it is reasonable to assume the powers that be stands to gain personally when all the moneys of dubious origins cums a knocking. :cool:

To money launderers, tax havens mean nothing to them. They are NEVER concerned about the National tax rates, as proven by their operations in Australia, discovered & charged. They have BILLIONS more in hiding, even under their beds, to be laundered. So what is even a 40% tax rate? Only the corrupted. foolish, greedy. lowly educated despots ruling in Caribbean islands would offer even free tax, let alone citizenship for just a few thousand corrupted dollars to remain in power to exploit its even lowly educated but ' free & easy' citizens. It is LEGITIMACY that money launderers want.

For example, let's use legalized Casinos. In today's age, there would be surveillance cameras everywhere unlike the past. The launderer would spend hrs there, & place bets based upon careful observations of winner & loser players/dealers. He cares not if he lost $200,000 in bets in one day. What he wants is a win of mere $100,000, to be exchanged for a LEGITIMATE official DOCUMENT from the LEGALIZED Casino, of which he can PROVE to authorities of his wealth.

It may seem beyond comprehension why he doesn't mind losing $200,000 to win $100,000. It seemed stupid. But the money launderer is FAR MORE intelligent. With the legal document from the legalized Casino, he can buy a car, & show to TAX AUTHORITIES & Banks where his SOURCE of income came from. It is just for ONE purchase. He can then USE THE SAME DOCUMENT to purchase a house, & relevant authorities would pursue NO FATHER, although it had already been $200,000 he had spent using the SAME document from the legalized Casino.

And he have BILLIONS more under his bed, to build up his WEALTH LEGITIMACY thru Casinos, established legitimate biz directorships, etc.

Thus it is NOT & NEVER tax rates that the money launderer worries about, or his clients, as such wealth are NOT their own hard earned money, expected to at least give off 30% in commissions or 'grease' money so that they will have 70% of the funds, which is NOT their money anyway, to LEGITIMATELY spend....
You are talking about money launderers. I am talking about legit businesses.

1.None will deny the POSSIBILITIES of what you & I wrote. However, the DIFFERENCE between you & me is that YOU chose to SPECIFICALLY claimed that a SPECIFIC institution & a SPECIFIC political org are assisting in money laundering. The onus is upon you to provide EVIDENCES, otherwise you are merely spreading malicious lies amounting to slander & should be sued for defamation, should the authorities choose to do so.

However if you DO have CREDIBLE EVIDENCES of wrong doing, they will welcome your evidences & even REWARD you.

I guess, sadly, some old men just grow old & bitter, instead of growing up. Let us not throw the baby out of the window along with the bathwater. There are many MORE biz transactions by the trillions daily that are legitimate than the few illicit ones.

2. During the 70s & 80s, money laundering was not a hot button issue, nor were there international institutions that offered credible resources & help to
stem such activities, unlike today. Furthermore, there is NO law in the World that says political leaders or their kin cannot own or hold shares in companies. As such, so long as they show LEGITIMATE documents, they are welcome to park their funds here in Singapore. We have NO international jurisdiction to investigate overseas funds. It is up to their citizens to show evidences of wrong doings & only then can we assist them to recover such funds.

Similarly, in ex PM Najib's case, he was an ELECTED leader & his official statement on the LEGITIMACY of funds came from 'persian gulf donors'. Who is Singapore to deny him the right to park his fund here or investigate both him & persian gulf donors? It is up to Malaysians to investigate & show evidences that only then can Singapore assist. The same principles apply to Generals & leaders of resource rich Myanmar - agriculture, minerals, etc which are LEGITIMATE sources of income.

For example:- we all know ex-Prez Trump is a Billionaire. Are we to deny him to right of opportunity to park his funds here, to take advantage of our low tax regime & high bank interest rates just because he has unresolved issues with his own political class in USA?

3. To watch out for dubious bank transactions by the trillions DAILY, no Human or a huge group of Humans will be able to do so. AI tech is the only one whom can do so as it will be able to track multiple transactions from similar accounts every hour. It will take huge computing power as well as a vast amount of data storage servers to do so, provided ALL banks are linked to allow AI to keep track.
In najib's case. Only when DOJ in Washington started seizing assets of 1MDB did PAP took action.
In recent case, china pressured or threatened and PAP took action.
But if Indonesia complained, nothing done. Indonesia should use threats to get sinkie to comply the next time.

Willamshakespear

In najib's case. Only when DOJ in Washington started seizing assets of 1MDB did PAP took action.
In recent case, china pressured or threatened and PAP took action.
But if Indonesia complained, nothing done. Indonesia should use threats to get sinkie to comply the next time.

With due respects to you dear Mr Syed Putra, a fellow Human,

Singapore is a Rule of Law Nation. NONE will be denied of legal representation & a fair trial. Singapore is NOT a dictatorship or theologically driven nation that some other nations had abused & misused to stay in power.

Mainstream religion is but a guide for the evolution of Humanity, but sadly often MISINTERPRETATED & TAKEN OUT OF CONTEXT to ensure those who gained power remains in power.

As NONE will be denied fair justice, & Singapore has NO international jurisdiction beyond its own legal boundaries, it is up to foreign citizens & their legally elected representatives & leaders to SHOW CAUSE with CREDIBLE EVIDENCES to initiate assistance from us to help to recover any funds.

HOWEVER, do take note in mind that EQUALLY, any accused have a right to legal representation & a fair trial, to seek LEGAL justice from Singapore Courts, for the DISTRIBUTION of funds, either to the claimant or the defendant, based upon COMMON & INTERNATIONAL LAW & not upon whimsical fantasies or populist agendas.

Do take note also that in the Suharto's era, himself a General, with support from his military along with economic driven Indonesians, were the only ones whom were willing to take risks to help build up MASSIVE agricultural & industrial undertakings LEGITIMATELY that uplifted the lives of many more Indonesians whom were only happy to live in villages & fishing townships while the WORLD was massively evolving in tech & scientific advances....

The insignificant nobody me is not blind to what happened in Indonesia. I saw its chaos & public sentiment thru decades without any blinkers on, how it had to progress economics & societal upgrades to uplift lives in resource rich Indonesia with wonderful but sadly education deprived docile citizens, & how power corrupts all eventually. However, without inclusive Rule of Law for ALL citizens, Indonesia will NEVER get out of its quagmire of populist theological power driven impulses.

We Singapore stand ready to help our fellow Indonesians in ASEAN & World. We Singaporeans have NO need of dirty money to progress. We each have our own motivations & resilience, passed down from our courageous forefathers & founding fathers, whom simply rolled up their sleeves & got to work honestly, to build up Singapore to what it is today & tomorrow, PROVEN, for future innocent generations to come.

We Singaporeans do so NOT out of fear or threats, but only out of compassion & what is right under the Rule of Law, as our courageous & resilient forefathers & founding fathers whom had suffered far worse, under brutal & racist imperial colonialism from not just one but several powers of past eras, had taught us whom gave us our todays...

SinkieExile

Why no PORFMA?

No POFMA because PAP fucked themselves by geoblocking Asia Sentinel from SG internet.

They cannot throw POFMA at a site they themselves blocked their own citizens from freely reading online, because then they will be shot down with accusations of hypocrisy as to why PAPPIE gov can read sites they blocked but their own citizens/voters cannot.

Only thing they can do is if they got balls they go to a California court and sue Asia Sentinel for defamation. But 100% will not happen. US also marking PAP and SG very closely now. You think UOB suddenly announce that they cutting off their Myanmar banks and individual clients from Sep 1 happened out of the blue innocently on their own without the US sharp elbowing SG to stop helping the military junta evade sanctions?

exact net worth of $69m rounded up to $70m.

time to investigate certain cretins in mas for rigging the approval process for some foreign billionaires to park their ill gotten gains in sg. when it’s over $69m they don’t go directly to banks, applications and uses of funds go to mas with the family office / investment / trust programs.

nightsafari

Need to clean up to remove incriminating evidence mah no meh? As the author suggests it is reasonable to assume the powers that be stands to gain personally when all the moneys of dubious origins cums a knocking. :cool:
As I've said before, I need really sharp brain to catch your ball... :tongue:

nightsafari

Singapore built its WEALTH thru revenues from our innovative biz entreprenuers & biz orientated leaders, as well as hardworking gainfully employed fellow citizens whom are the REAL Contributors to our National Treasury for budgeted social expenditure. It is these fellow citizens to thank & show appreciation for.
Sorry, I can't agree with you here at all. Singapore's wealth was built on 2 different mechanisms.

1 was bringing in foreign tua kee with deep pockets. The earliest that comes to mind was HP and Compaq. It has been a succession of these capital intensive things that led to temporary booms for sinkieland. The latest episode is the casinos. But the problem with most of these is that they are temporary. Electronics manufacturing hub - dead. Hard drive hub - dead. Biotech hub - didn't even kick off in any measurable way. Arts hub - dead (see Lucasfilm Singapore). As I said, temporary.

Which brings me to #2. The only long term solution that has kept sinkieland afloat is as a sink for corrupted money. Your Indonesian office for example. All that money pouring in from Indonesia (Singapore's longest backer), Malaysia, Thailand, Philippines and lately China. Do you think Ah loong going to India and Africa for legitimate business purposes? What legitimate businesses can run there? No, it's to ask all their leaders to dump their ill-gotten gains to Singapore. Next time you see your shiny new airport or MRT station. Think about it.

Your hardworking Singaporeans literally cannot generate this GDP on their own efforts. They do have a REAL contribution, but you would be slightly better of than KL only.

As I mentioned before, do not throw the baby out along with the bathwater. There are much more LEGITIMATE biz in circulation than dirty money. Money laundering is not restricted to only Singapore. It exists in almost every nation on Earth. We are an established Rule of Law Nation. Anyone who has CREDIBLE information on money laundering and NOT mealy mouthed conjectures or unsubstantiated claims, are invited to share such information with our authorities & may even gain a reward.
I think you should reconsider which legitimate businesses you are talking about. Please tell me which business you know in Singapore that are legitimate and contribute so strongly to the economy. I've already thought through this years ago, but if you can please surprise me.

Perhaps it came from his published book?

The royalty rate for an unknown author is about 10%. The book agent gets 90% as he has to pay for mgmt fees, logistics, publishing materials, logistics, etc.

The Singapore market is small. If every 2 Million adult citizen were to buy an unknown author's book, even if a best seller, at $10 per book, his royalties will be only $200,000.

However, as he is an American, with a market of est 200 Million adults, his royalties fee in USA alone would be $60 Million at $30/book purchase price. As he is not an unknown author, his royalty fee would be higher than 10%. Furthermore, he is known to 7 Billion Humankind. Add it all up, along with his inheritance as he came from an upper middle class family, that $70 million dollar net worth may be justifiable.

OK so what about this one :roflmao:

She has done a lot better than Obama on half the salary. USD223,000 is peanuts in today's world.

Also ask yourself exactly how CNN is still in business given that their total daily viewership is probably less than 10% that of the Joe Rogan podcast.

Screenshot 2023-08-27 at 8.26.26 AM.png

OK so what about this one :roflmao:

She has done a lot better than Obama on half the salary. USD223,000 is peanuts in today's world.

Also ask yourself exactly how CNN is still in business given that their total daily viewership is probably less than 10% that of the Joe Rogan podcast.

View attachment 187905
if hubby’s earnings are not included in her household incum, much of pelosi’s net worth are attributed to her campaign funds over decades of donation from her supporters. although she cannot consider these funds her personal money after retirement she can place them in a trust with her as trustee. at retirement she can spend them in a pac she creates, on other candidates, and on “charity” programs she champions. before and after retirement nonetheless she can use the funds for expenses related to both fund raising and political activities including all her expensive dining, partying (no pun intended), travel, retreats, r&r related to her political activism (euphemism for asking for more money from her donors and engagement “fees” connected to access to the d.c. machinery for either business favors or lobbying).

they get very rich from campaign funds and many get addicted to the stash of cash over decades of political activism. as an example, a viet milf in sillycon valley wasn’t making much as a county clerk but since there was a dearth or absence of viet representation in local politics, she decided to join the bandwagon. with just the viet voting bloc alone in the valley she raised millions in the 1st year and tried running for a city supervisor role. she lost but she campaigned for a lessor role in a local district the subsequent election year, and she lost again. hispanic candidates were hard to beat in redistricted (gerrymandered) precincts comprising majority hispanic votes (it’s a race thing in all local races). but last year she was elected to the local school board (whoopee), and she will contest for a higher district role next year. her campaign funds from her viet community has swelled, and now she’s worth over $10m. with that kind of easy money, she gets her campaign manager (usually a close relative) to organize $800 per person dinners at the french laundry in yountville to celebrate her win and kickoff for the next election. all her family members show up including her campaign manager, and all expenses are paid with her campaign funds, including gas and mileage. repeat the same formula for governor newsom, sf mayor breed, former oakland mayor schaaf, countless city supervisors, county supervisors, school board administrators, sheriffs, etc. in the entire sillycon valley’s 6.9 counties, and you’ll understand why it’s near impossible to book a weekend table for 6 at the most expensive restaurants in napa and sonoma.

Thanks for your comments on my post.

1 a). Ah Seng has a stall selling $5-$8 per plate Hokkien noodles. Each night after 12hrs of serving 2000 customers he banks in his gross profits of $10,000. There are Hundreds thousand others like him.
Hahaha, the quality of PAP IB is really falling. U can't even do basic maths now. According to your formula above if Ah Seng serve 2000 customers a day, that means he serves 166.67 customers an hour. Or almost 3 customers a minute on average. And that is non stop with no breaks. This is hardly sustainable and I have yet to find one single hawker who can cook 3 portions of hokkien mee every one minute. Ah Seng will be dead at this pace. The reality, which you have not bothered to tell us, is on average a stall serves maybe 200-300 customers at the most. A very popular stall may serve 1000 or so. Any stall that can serve 2000 customers a day is not the representative stall and therefore there are NO HUNDREDS OF THOUSANDS others like him. Got it?
b)Ah Tan is an SME owner who produces noodles. EACH day he receives orders for kilos of such noodles from thousands of stall owners like Ah Seng, whom have no warehouses, transfers $500 each to his company account for such purchases, as he no longer offers 30 day credit terms. Each day, his company accounts show a few hundred thousands of dollars. There are Hundreds thousand others like him, serving in the supply chains for goods or services in a competitive market.

c)Abd Salleh is an importer of flour who supplies such to thousands of SME owners like Ah Tan. As he too no longer offer credit terms, his clients transfers hundred thousands of dollars to his company account. There are thousands like him, serving in the supply chains for goods or services in a competitive market.

Add all that up, how many LEGITIMATE hundred of thousands dollars daily are transacted? DARE anyone accuse those hardworking Singaporeans of money laundering? How many supposed red flags can the authorities keep track of? And this is just small Singapore. How about Worldwide biz transactions?
Where do u get all these stoopid examples from? Obviously, normal regular people do not engage in money laundering. Don't be a fucking clown. Every example given above has involved foreigners let in by the PAP and allowed to do that.
2. Money laundering is evil. However, make NO mistakes - such launderers DO NOT keep their funds for Singapore to USE. As soon as it is legitimate, they would use it for purchases, hiding amongst thousands of other LEGITIMATE purchases or transfer those funds out of Singapore.

Yes but no other country in the world claim to have the best politicians and so must pay them the highest salary in the world. And if these singaporean politicians are the best in the world, why do we have money launderers running around singapore? The whole world knows now. If the singapore govt aka the PAP will allow in an international forensic accounting team, supervised by the oppo, to run audits on MAS and everyone else, I can 100% guarantee u they will find tons of evidence. This credible information exists. But the PAP has this information and hence covers it up. If China had not applied pressure on the PAP, these chinese money launderers who accumulated $1 billion in assets under the nose of the PAP, will still be allowed to run free. Which part of this is your small brain confused with.

No POFMA because PAP fucked themselves by geoblocking Asia Sentinel from SG internet.

They cannot throw POFMA at a site they themselves blocked their own citizens from freely reading online, because then they will be shot down with accusations of hypocrisy as to why PAPPIE gov can read sites they blocked but their own citizens/voters cannot.

Only thing they can do is if they got balls they go to a California court and sue Asia Sentinel for defamation. But 100% will not happen. US also marking PAP and SG very closely now. You think UOB suddenly announce that they cutting off their Myanmar banks and individual clients from Sep 1 happened out of the blue innocently on their own without the US sharp elbowing SG to stop helping the military junta evade sanctions?
This is the reason why the PAP dare not go overseas. Old fart lost to Devan Nair in a Canadian court. Those fuckers in white learn their lessons after that.

SM Lee loses motion in Canadian court​

Posted by under News on 21 August 2002

SM Lee Kuan Yew lost a motion against Globe and Mail, and Devan Nair in the Ontario Superior Court. Read the judgement.

Case Name: Yew v. Globe and Mail Between Lee Kuan Yew, Plaintiff,

and

The Globe and Mail, Thomson Canada Limited, William Thorsell, Margaret Wente, Marcus Gee, Devan Nair, Defendants

[2002] O.J. No. 16 Court File No. 99-CV-171574

Ontario Superior Court of Justice Greer J. Heard: November 28, 2001. Judgment: January 7, 2002. (20 paras.)

Counsel: Julian Porter, Q.C. and Odette S. Soriano, for the Plaintiff. Sean Dewart, for the Defendant.

1 GREER J.: The Plaintiff, Lee Kuan Yew ("Lee") is the former Prime Minister of the Republic of Singapore and is now Senior Minister of Singapore. He took offence at the content of an article entitled "Singapore Sage", which appeared on March 29, 1999, in the Globe & Mail. The article was written by Marcus Gee about Singapore, the government of Lee and included an interview with the Defendant, Devan Nair ("Nair"), a former President of Singapore from October 1981 to March of 1985. Nair is now a resident of Hamilton, Ontario. Nair had once been the head of Singapore's most powerful trade union association, and he believes that he had been perceived by Lee as being a potential political threat. By Statement of Claim dated June 19, 1999, Lee sued the above-named Defendants, saying that he has suffered damage and "been brought into hatred, ridicule and contempt", by reason of the libel he says is contained in the article.

2 Nair, in his Statement of Defence and Counterclaim dated July 6, 2001, by way of Counterclaim, claims damages for the tort of abuse of process. The abuse is said to include, but is not limited to loss of income, out-of-pocket expenses, unrecoverable costs, and mental anguish, distress and anxiety associated with defending the litigation financed on Lee's behalf with the essentially unlimited resources of the Government of the Republic of Singapore. Nair says this could prove to be financially ruinous to him.

3 Lee moves for an Order striking out the Counterclaim in its entirety on the grounds that the Counterclaim for the tort of abuse of process, on its face, fails to plead the necessary elements of the tort. He says that the Counterclaim discloses no reasonable cause of action and that it is scandalous, vexatious or an abuse of process of the Court. Finally he says that it constitutes, includes or directs an inflammatory attack on the integrity of the Government of Singapore, which is not a party to this action.

Some of the background

4 The article notes that Nair left Singapore in approximately 1988, and did not return, after "publicly quarrelling with Mr. Lee over the arrest of a well-known government critic. Then he dropped from sight." It sets out the earlier history between the two men, when they both fought together to prevent an attempted takeover of Singapore by the Communists and helped build their country to an "economic dynamo bristling with skyscrapers." It also sets out some of the problems Nair experienced when he and Lee began disagreeing about how Lee was governing Singapore and how Nair found himself the centre of a "rumour-mongering campaign that labelled him a drinker and a womanizer." Nair says that he was neither. The article says that Nair suspects that Lee had government doctors slip him hallucinatory drugs to make him appear befuddled in order to "begin a total demolishment of his character. He's very good at that." The article then says that "Singapore doesn't lock up its critics any more; it sues them, instead", noting that a critic of the government, Mr. Jeyarethnam has faced countless libel suits from Mr. Lee and other members of his government.

5 Nair's Factum sets out, in some detail, more of what Nair says Lee did to remove him as a political threat. This includes a white paper tabled in the parliament of Singapore before Nair left, because of Nair's public statements in opposition to what the government was doing to oppress a leading dissident in Singapore. Further, it is Nair's position that this action was commenced by Lee for the collateral and improper purpose of silencing his critics, including but not limited to Nair. In Singapore, this is done, says Nair by fostering a climate of fear and intimidation among residents.

6 It is Nair's position in paragraph 16 of his Factum that: Mr. Lee is indifferent to his reputation among the readership of the Globe & Mail, but has an established and well publicized record within the Republic of Singapore for suing his critics for defamation, and using other measures which are contrary to established international rights in respect of freedom of expression, with a view to silencing his critics.

7 It is within the framework of this background that the action was brought on, and that the Counterclaim of Nair is structured. Lee asks the Court to strike the whole Counterclaim.

The issues

8 Lee says that the issue to be determined by the Court is whether it is plain and obvious that the Counterclaim cannot succeed because the pleading does not disclose a reasonable cause of action in that Nair has failed to plead the necessary elements of the tort of abuse of process.

9 Nair says that the issues are what is the test on a motion to strike a Counterclaim as not disclosing a cause of action; and does the Counterclaim set out the two constituent elements of the tort of abuse of process namely, that in prosecuting the action, Mr. Lee is using the process of this court for a collateral and improper purpose; and, that Mr. Lee has made an overt and definite act or threat, separate and distinct from the proceedings themselves in furtherance of this improper purpose.

Test on the Motion

10 Lee moves under rule 21.01(1)(b) of the Rules of Civil Procedure to strike out the Counterclaim on the grounds that it discloses no reasonable cause of action or defence. He says that the libel is a precise, narrow libel, and claims that Nair has invented false allegations in his Statement of Defence and Counterclaim.

11 The court may also, under rule 25.11, strike out or expunge all or part of a pleading on the ground that the pleading is scandalous, frivolous or vexatious, or that it is an abuse of the process of the court.

12 The test for determining whether a pleading should be struck is set out by the Supreme Court of Canada in Hunt v. Carey Canada Inc., [1990] 2 S.C.R. 959, 74 D.L.R. (4th) 321. Assuming that the facts as stated in the Counterclaim can be proven, the Court said in Hunt, supra, one must look to see if it is "plain and obvious" that the Counterclaim discloses no reasonable cause of action. The Court also notes that if there is a chance that the plaintiff might succeed, then the plaintiff should not be "driven from the judgment seat." In Nash v. Ontario (1995), 27 O.R. (3d) 1 (C.A.), the Court of Appeal, at p. 6 says:

On a motion to strike out a pleading, the court must accept the facts alleged in the statement of claim as proven unless they are patently ridiculous or incapable of proof, and must read the statement of claim generously with allowance for inadequacies due to drafting deficiencies.

Nor, should the Court dispose of matters of law that are not fully settled.

13 The Court of Appeal in Prete v. Ontario (1993), 16 O.R. (3d) 161, [1993] O.J. No. 2794, Action No. C9963 at p. 9 of the Quicklaw version, examines both the tests under rule 21.01(1) and rule 25.11. In that case, the Court was split on the issue of whether the Court can look beyond the pleadings and determine if the action has a chance of success. The majority found that it could not because if you consider the statement of claim to be an abuse of the process of the court, it can only be because it discloses no reasonable cause of action. Weiler J.A, in dissent, found that the Court could look beyond the pleading. Even if one cannot look beyond the pleading, the pleading must be examined to see if it is scandalous, frivolous or vexatious, or otherwise constituting an abuse of the court's process.

The Tort of Abuse of Process

14 The two elements of the tort of abuse of process, both of which must be pleaded, are whether the plaintiff, in bringing the action, is using the court process for a collateral and improper purpose; and whether he or she has made an overt and definite act or threat, separate and distinct from the proceedings themselves, in furtherance of the improper purpose. See: Tsiopoulos v. Commercial Union Assurance Co. (1986), 57 O.R. (2d) 117 (Gen. Div.) at pp. 119 and 120, where the Court notes that the process is very narrow in scope. Further, the Court has noted that the alleged collateral and improper purpose cannot be related to a direct or indirect purpose or to an intended or unintended purpose such as intimidation or the fact that it would impoverish the defendant. See also: Dooley v. C.N. Weber Ltd. (1994), 19 O.R. (3d) 779 (Gen. Div.).

15 The Courts have consistently held that the intention to silence through a defamation action is not a collateral or improper purpose, as this is a result, which naturally flows from the litigation itself and is a legitimate purpose. See: Pizza Pizza Limited v. Toronto Star Newspapers Ltd., [1996] O.J. No. 3227, (24 July 1996), Toronto 93-CQ-33824 (Gen. Div.), aff'd [1997] O.J. No. 3891 (C.A.).

16 The second element of the tort, that is an act or threat in furtherance of the improper purpose, must be separate and distinct from the proceedings themselves. If it is not, there cannot be an abuse of process. This has been set out by Eberle J. in Teledata Communications Inc. v. Westburne Industrial Enterprises Ltd. (1990), 65 D.L.R. (4th) 636 (Ont. H. Ct.). The Court has also said that there must be a nexus between any threat and the improper pleading complained of. See: Dooley, supra at p. 791. It is Lee's position that Nair's pleading in his Counterclaim, has not met the two elements of the test.

17 Nair says that he has met the two-part test. He says that Lee commenced the libel action for the collateral and improper purpose of silencing all of Mr. Lee's critics, including Nair, but not limited to him. It must be remembered, in examining what is in the article itself, not only can the writer be considered a critic, and Nair considered a critic, but others in Singapore and elsewhere, who attempt to criticize Lee and his government's methods of trying to silence critics and opposition, are open to silencing because of what Nair says is a pattern of using the libel process to succeed in generally using whatever measures Lee considers necessary to thwart the "established international rights in respect of freedom of expression." Whether or not this can be supported at Trial is not for me to decide. It is, however, not scandalous, frivolous or vexatious. Lee's action is being brought in a country which prides itself in allowing freedom of political expression. Nair says that this is not the case in Singapore, where there is a climate of fear and intimidation among the residents.

18 Nair says that his situation can be distinguished from that in Pizza Pizza, supra, where Cameron J. struck the counterclaim as having a purpose concurrent with the legitimate purpose of the plaintiff in bringing its libel action. Nair claims that there is no legitimate purpose which could save Lee's libel action since Lee is indifferent to his reputation among the readership of the Globe & Mail. Nair says that Lee's action, "... is a mere stalking horse intended to further foster and continue a climate of fear and intimidation." I agree with Nair's position that the issue is whether the "predominate" (as opposed to exclusive) purpose is ulterior. Given the political and international aspect of the tenor of the article, and given that Lee has seemingly no residence/domicile or other connection to Canada, it is within the scope of the test for Nair to argue that the predominate purpose is ulterior. See: Hilltop Group Ltd. v. Katana, [2000] O.J. No. 2576, Court File No. 96-CU-106768, where Campbell Colin J. examines what Sharpe J., as he then was, set out in Scintilore Explorations Ltd. v. Larche (1999), 48 B.L.R. (2d) 248. There Sharpe J. noted at p. 317 that the predominate purpose must "be outside the ambit of the legal claim on which the Court is asked to adjudicate". I am satisfied that the first element of the tort, as pleaded, has been met.

19 Nair says that he has also met the second part of the test, in that Lee has taken an overt act or step in furtherance of his improper purpose in invoking the legal process. Nair says that he was forced to resign as President of the Republic of Singapore in March of 1985 and was falsely labeled as an alcoholic. Several years later when Nair says he first spoke out politically for the first time since resigning, Lee tabled a white paper in the Singapore's parliament, which included extracts of a confidential nature from Nair's personal medical records and correspondence. Nair says this was done to silence his political views and Nair says that Lee further threatened to and ultimately did arrange to have Nair's pension withheld. Nair then left Singapore and did not speak out politically from 1988 until he granted the interview for the Globe and Mail article in question. Given these actions and steps taken by Lee in Singapore to create a climate of fear and intimidation of critics, Nair says that this new action is intended to be and is a threat which is on-going and pervasive. Nair says these overt acts and threats in the past by Lee against Nair only went below the surface, but remained always there even though Nair left Singapore and remained silent for over a decade. These threats have resurfaced and re-emerged in this new libel action in the country in which Nair sought freedom from political threats and overt legal actions against him. To Nair, the threat is on-going and pervasive, and in my view, it meets the second part of the test.

20 I am therefore satisfied, in these unusual circumstances, that Nair has met the two-part test. Lee's Motion is therefore dismissed. If the parties cannot otherwise agree on Costs, I will receive brief written submissions by them.

GREER J.