• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Liars LKY & LHL MUST ANSWER why JB + Batam NO FLOOD!

motormafia

Ass Loong Son said impossible to expect no flood. Old fart CB said no amount of engineering can prevent.

The CLEAR fact they had BLINDFOLDED and HOODWINKED Singaporeans is:

JB + Kota Tingi + Batam + Tg Penang (Bintan) etc etc... have NO FLOOD.

Precisely it was LEEgime's FUCKED UP ENGINEERING that caused it, that is why Uniquely Singapore we flood while all other places else did not flood.

:mad::mad::mad::oIo::oIo:

Why Malaysian & Indonesian people near here did not suffered e.g. flood like us? They did not pay for LEEgime's COSTLY & FUCKED UP Engineering. They did not paid for MILLION DOLLAR MINISTERS.

They did not import millions of FTs!

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1070718/1/.html

MM Lee says no amount of engineering can prevent flooding
By S Ramesh | Posted: 21 July 2010 2012 hrs

Photos 1 of 1

Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew

Video

SINGAPORE : Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew has said no amount of engineering can prevent flooding.

He was speaking to reporters after touring the waterfront development at the Kallang and Kolam Ayer areas.

The Active, Beautiful, Clean Waters (ABC Waters) programme is a long-term initiative which transforms Singapore's reservoirs and waterways into vibrant, aesthetically-pleasing rivers and lakes.

Mr Lee was given an update on the developments in the area which included a 250-metre stretch of the Kallang River.

But the river's condition caught Mr Lee's attention.

He said: "The pity is with the recent rains, the water is a bit murky. But if we can find some way to prevent the silt from getting into the river, it will be bluer and cleaner at most times. You have to wait for two days (with) no rain for the silt to settle."

"But it is very beautiful. It adds to the ambience of the whole place, rather than have a dirty river, no broad walks. It shows a well cultivated and well-tended river side."

Mr Lee was asked if he thought the response from the various agencies to the recent spate of floods in Singapore was sufficient.

He replied: "How can you say that the response is sufficient? At the same time, whatever we do when we get extraordinary rains like we had recently, no amount of engineering can prevent flooding.

"There's a limited amount of space that's been dug underground, limited amount of space you can run off for canals and if you have an extraordinary rainfall, well you got to prepare for it."

Singaporeans have reacted strongly to the last three incidents of floods in different parts of the country.

The Minister Mentor acknowledged that Singapore and Singaporeans expect everything to be perfect in the country and he said the leaders tried their best to do just that.

Mr Lee added: "Somethings are beyond (that); it's an act of God unless you want to lose half the roads and have canals."

Today's visit also gave Mr Lee a glimpse of some activities like kayaking that take place along the Kallang River.

Mr Lee was accompanied by the Environment and Water Resources Minister Yaacob Ibrahim and grassroots leaders.

- CNA/al

motormafia

I now also invite LEEgime LIARS to tell us one more time about their own CLOGGED CULVERT CAUSED ORCHARD FLOOD LIES!

Check out how they had attached obviously flawed and intelligence insulting diagram showing their own theory that a blockage upstream of Orchard Rd Scott Rd junction caused the flood. Pay attention to the flowing direction of culverts indicated by many arrows. Pay attention to the bottom right corner note -SOURCE: PUB

http://www.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne+News/Singapore/Story/A1Story20100618-222731.html

Blocked drain caused Orchard Road flood
Fri, Jun 18, 2010
my paper

culvert_culprit(1).jpg

By Annabelle Liang

A BLOCKED culvert - a drain that diverts water - caused the flood that submerged Orchard Road in knee-high water two days ago, the PUB said yesterday.

Click here to find out more!
The culvert, which is 2.7m in width and depth, diverts water from drains in Nassim Road and Cuscaden Road into two sections of Stamford Canal, which runs along Orchard Road.

But Wednesday's storm swept so much debris - such as leaves, branches and litter - into the culvert that part of it became clogged.

As a result, water could not flow into Stamford Canal's smaller section, which stretches from Delfi Orchard to Lucky Plaza.

Instead, it flowed into the canal's other section stretching from Orchard Parade Hotel to Liat Towers and Wisma Atria. It was unable to handle the full load despite being larger.

Water surged out from this channel onto the junction of Orchard Road and Scotts Road - the worst-hit area - and disrupted traffic and business.

Mr Yap Kheng Guan, PUB's director of 3P networks, said yesterday: "Capacity wasn't a factor at all, as there were similar storms in the past and the canal handled such storms."

About 100mm of rain fell in the central parts of Singapore between 8am and 11am on Wednesday. This was more than 60 per cent of the average monthly rainfall for June.

Mr Yap said that the same amount of rainfall was recorded in central Singapore during downpours in January 2008 and November last year.

This time, however, flooding occurred because of the pattern of rainfall: An intense amount of rain in short bursts at about 9.30am and at 10.30am.

The first burst of rain washed the debris into the culvert, but there was insufficient rain in the ensuing hour to flush it out.

The next burst of rain then washed more debris into the culvert, aggravating the initial blockage.

When PUB officers combed the entire canal to clear debris from the drains, starting from Wednesday afternoon after the flood subsided, they found a third of the culvert clogged at 10pm.

To tackle the problem, the PUB will install additional debris traps in the Stamford Canal, as well as in upstream drains leading to it.

Its officers will also inspect the canal more frequently - monthly, instead of quarterly.

In the future, it plans to install more sensors in the canal, on top of the existing two sensors, to better monitor the water level in it.

The PUB is still investigating why two other areas - Bukit Timah and Veerasamy Road - became flooded.

Yesterday, Orchard Road was almost back to normal. National Environment Agency (NEA) officers had cleaned affected pedestrian underpasses by 10pm on Wednesday.

It was business as usual for most shopping malls and hotels in the area. These included Wheelock Place, Wisma Atria, ION Orchard, Shaw Centre, Tangs, and Marriott Hotel, which were not damaged despite being near the junction of Orchard and Scotts roads.

Staff of McDonald's at Lucky Plaza cleaned up the outlet overnight, and business also resumed yesterday, following a check by NEA officers.

PUB officers and contractors finished pumping water out of the basements of Lucky Plaza, Liat Towers, Tong Building and Delfi Orchard at 3.30pm yesterday.

However, shops in the Liat Towers basement, which was almost submerged by flood waters yesterday, were still cleaning up the mess left by the flood. Fast-food restaurant Wendy's threeday- old outlet there will be closed for the next four to six weeks, so that costs can be calculated and damaged repaired.

Kopitiam Group, which runs the chain here, said the flood damaged equipment and infrastructure worth more than $500,000, on top of perishable items.

Its managing director, Mr Alden Tan, said the outlet's staff would be deployed to other outlets in Lau Pa Sat and Jurong Point, which will open round the clock from today to July 12.

Starbucks Coffee Singapore said it would probably remodel its Liat Towers store, as the damage was extensive.

Miss Madeleine Ho, the marketing director for retailer Hermes Singapore, said: "While our products escaped unscathed, the walls, window decorations, furniture and furnishings were badly damaged. Restoration will take some time, as a substantial portion of the fittings have to be imported."

Another retailer, Massimo Dutti, said it was cleaning up its store and assessing the damage.

All three stores were unable to say when they would reopen.

[email protected]

nickers9

"MM Lee says no amount of engineering can prevent flooding."
I loved our MM Lee said that no amount of engineering can prevent flooding. But I need to add on to that.

We Singaporeans have given you millions and millions of dollars as all your PAP ministers salaries with increment every year and yet, you all cannot solved a simple flooding problem.

Asked your PAP ministers to watch over Mas Selamat and yet you can let him run away. I understand your situations as it is a very difficult job to asked you all PAP ministers to do as your so called top talent cannot handle tough problems like example Mas Selamat.

Now a simple flooding problem you PAP ministers also cannot handle. Asked Lee Hsien Loong, LHL pushed to Yaccob, asked Yacco and he pushed it to PUB, asked PUB and PUB pushed to Singaporeans littering habits.

Fuck! Now I really know that all our top talent PAP ministers are not problems solvers but are all first class TaiChi Masters!

:oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo:

peterpan707

I now also invite LEEgime LIARS to tell us one more time about their own CLOGGED CULVERT CAUSED ORCHARD FLOOD LIES!

Check out how they had attached obviously flawed and intelligence insulting diagram showing their own theory that a blockage upstream of Orchard Rd Scott Rd junction caused the flood. Pay attention to the flowing direction of culverts indicated by many arrows. Pay attention to the bottom right corner note -SOURCE: PUB

http://www.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne+News/Singapore/Story/A1Story20100618-222731.html

Fri, Jun 18, 2010
my paper

culvert_culprit(1).jpg

By Annabelle Liang

A BLOCKED culvert - a drain that diverts water - caused the flood that submerged Orchard Road in knee-high water two days ago, the PUB said yesterday.

Click here to find out more!
The culvert, which is 2.7m in width and depth, diverts water from drains in Nassim Road and Cuscaden Road into two sections of Stamford Canal, which runs along Orchard Road.

But Wednesday's storm swept so much debris - such as leaves, branches and litter - into the culvert that part of it became clogged.

As a result, water could not flow into Stamford Canal's smaller section, which stretches from Delfi Orchard to Lucky Plaza.

Instead, it flowed into the canal's other section stretching from Orchard Parade Hotel to Liat Towers and Wisma Atria. It was unable to handle the full load despite being larger.

Water surged out from this channel onto the junction of Orchard Road and Scotts Road - the worst-hit area - and disrupted traffic and business.

Mr Yap Kheng Guan, PUB's director of 3P networks, said yesterday: "Capacity wasn't a factor at all, as there were similar storms in the past and the canal handled such storms."

About 100mm of rain fell in the central parts of Singapore between 8am and 11am on Wednesday. This was more than 60 per cent of the average monthly rainfall for June.

Mr Yap said that the same amount of rainfall was recorded in central Singapore during downpours in January 2008 and November last year.

This time, however, flooding occurred because of the pattern of rainfall: An intense amount of rain in short bursts at about 9.30am and at 10.30am.

The first burst of rain washed the debris into the culvert, but there was insufficient rain in the ensuing hour to flush it out.

The next burst of rain then washed more debris into the culvert, aggravating the initial blockage.

When PUB officers combed the entire canal to clear debris from the drains, starting from Wednesday afternoon after the flood subsided, they found a third of the culvert clogged at 10pm.

To tackle the problem, the PUB will install additional debris traps in the Stamford Canal, as well as in upstream drains leading to it.

Its officers will also inspect the canal more frequently - monthly, instead of quarterly.

In the future, it plans to install more sensors in the canal, on top of the existing two sensors, to better monitor the water level in it.

The PUB is still investigating why two other areas - Bukit Timah and Veerasamy Road - became flooded.

Yesterday, Orchard Road was almost back to normal. National Environment Agency (NEA) officers had cleaned affected pedestrian underpasses by 10pm on Wednesday.

It was business as usual for most shopping malls and hotels in the area. These included Wheelock Place, Wisma Atria, ION Orchard, Shaw Centre, Tangs, and Marriott Hotel, which were not damaged despite being near the junction of Orchard and Scotts roads.

Staff of McDonald's at Lucky Plaza cleaned up the outlet overnight, and business also resumed yesterday, following a check by NEA officers.

PUB officers and contractors finished pumping water out of the basements of Lucky Plaza, Liat Towers, Tong Building and Delfi Orchard at 3.30pm yesterday.

However, shops in the Liat Towers basement, which was almost submerged by flood waters yesterday, were still cleaning up the mess left by the flood. Fast-food restaurant Wendy's threeday- old outlet there will be closed for the next four to six weeks, so that costs can be calculated and damaged repaired.

Kopitiam Group, which runs the chain here, said the flood damaged equipment and infrastructure worth more than $500,000, on top of perishable items.

Its managing director, Mr Alden Tan, said the outlet's staff would be deployed to other outlets in Lau Pa Sat and Jurong Point, which will open round the clock from today to July 12.

Starbucks Coffee Singapore said it would probably remodel its Liat Towers store, as the damage was extensive.

Miss Madeleine Ho, the marketing director for retailer Hermes Singapore, said: "While our products escaped unscathed, the walls, window decorations, furniture and furnishings were badly damaged. Restoration will take some time, as a substantial portion of the fittings have to be imported."

Another retailer, Massimo Dutti, said it was cleaning up its store and assessing the damage.

All three stores were unable to say when they would reopen.

[email protected]

Do you need engineering to clear the block drain?
What engineering is he talking about?

aangsc

How can you compare us with the kampung. You must compare us with first world nations like Japan, USA , etc. The kampong never build casino, durain, and barrage plus many 1st class buildings and infrastructure. We did so well until we have no more space left to dig deeper longkang. What if we dig and 'sway sway' poke the mrt tunnel ? Very risky, so just trust me 'Act of God cannot be help, FULL STOP.

Floods tend be be choosy sometimes, JB and Batam as we know, are NOT 1st world countries.

God is very choosy these days, only islands with CaSINoes...extraordinary rains will fall together with intermittent microburst!!:biggrin: only the 'gods' can understand and say it is the acts of God!:wink:

PAP_Junta

Fri, Jun 18, 2010
my paper

culvert_culprit(1).jpg

By Annabelle Liang

[email protected]

再騙我一次
請你原諒我 我不能再次承諾 世上的情歌 每首都屬於我
我早已知道 它們都是你作的歌 那樣真的歌 卻好像在騙我
你常說愛像一把鎖 不能不掙脫 愛的鎖為什麼只鎖你一個
才知道都是我的錯 誰能了解我 嗯~~~~
再一次 再一次 請你再次欺騙我
愛的詩 情的歌 我會當作沒聽過
再一次 再一次 請你再次相信我
天長地久 我也一樣對你說
間 奏
才知道都是我的錯 誰能了解我 嗯~~~~
再一次 再一次 請你再次欺騙我
愛的詩 情的歌 我會當作沒聽過
再一次 再一次 請你再次相信我
天長地久 我也一樣對你說
間 奏
再一次 再 一次 請你再次欺騙我
愛的詩 情的歌 我會當作沒聽過
再一次 再一次 請你再次相信我
天長地久 我也一樣對你說

Lynn Anderson : Tell Me A Lie Lyrics

Tell me a lie say I look familiar though I know that you don't even know my name
Tell me a lie say you just got into town
Even though I've seen you here before just hangin' round
Tell me a lie say you're not a married man
Even though I saw you slip off your weddin' band
Tell me a lie say you got no place to stay
You'll be glad to drop me off cause it's on your way
Tell me a lie when you take me home
(Tell me a lie) I don't really wanna spend the night alone
Tell me a lie don't worry about my sorrow you'll be long gone tomorrow
Then you won't not to see me cry tell me a lie

Tell me a lie tell me that you need me
And I could tell me it's not real the way you want me to
C'mon tell me a lie when you're lyin' close beside me
And whisper when you hold me sweet words like I love you
Mhm tell me a lie when the night is almost over
Make it easy on us both when it's time for you to go
Tell me a lie say you really like to stay
Tell me please just one more time that you'll be back someday
Tell me a lie when you take me home...

hotabandit

再騙我一次
才知道都是我的錯 誰能了解我 嗯~~~~
再一次 再一次 請你再次欺騙我
愛的詩 情的歌 我會當作沒聽過
再一次 再一次 請你再次相信我
天長地久 我也一樣對你說
間 奏
才知道都是我的錯 誰能了解我 嗯~~~~
再一次 再一次 請你再次欺騙我
愛的詩 情的歌 我會當作沒聽過
再一次 再一次 請你再次相信我
天長地久 我也一樣對你說
間 奏
再一次 再 一次 請你再次欺騙我
愛的詩 情的歌 我會當作沒聽過
再一次 再一次 請你再次相信我
天長地久 我也一樣對你說

Tell me a lie say I look familiar though I know that you don't even know my name

Just modify these lyric for the oppositions to sing on Youtube.Com this GE, that is the best answer to any and all of the PAP GE propagandas.

Regardless what they say just play back this song that's it.

JI_Fled

再騙我一次
才知道都是我的錯 誰能了解我 嗯~~~~
再一次 再一次 請你再次欺騙我
愛的詩 情的歌 我會當作沒聽過
再一次 再一次 請你再次相信我
天長地久 我也一樣對你說
間 奏
才知道都是我的錯 誰能了解我 嗯~~~~
再一次 再一次 請你再次欺騙我
愛的詩 情的歌 我會當作沒聽過
再一次 再一次 請你再次相信我
天長地久 我也一樣對你說
間 奏
再一次 再 一次 請你再次欺騙我
愛的詩 情的歌 我會當作沒聽過
再一次 再一次 請你再次相信我
天長地久 我也一樣對你說

Make that the NDP song or YOG song?

Varuna

We know what sort of flood is acceptable and what sort of flood is not. And we also know what sort of natural calamities fall under "beyond human control". Those we saw the last few incidents were definitely not something we should live with it. When many people make noise, it must be over something very absurd and not just over small puddles water from choked drains. To cover up lapses with a sweeping remark as though we are some perfectionist trying be difficult by expecting ZERO flood is not right.

Teo Kok Eng

If no amount of engineering can prevent floods, then you should stop paying yourself million dollars, obviously you are not qualified.

garlic

From the number of decades that CTE's early morning traffic jams until now, one can estiimate see how competent their engineering is...

motormafia

MPs must put LKY & LHL to answer in parliament, why JB, Batam, Tg Penang etc all places else won't flood under the same weather.

It is obviously untrue that flood prevention is impossible.

It can not be the weather.

It can not be the drains clogged. Have you all seen the JB & Batam Long Kangs? They are much worse, but NEVER FLOOD leh!

We had NEVER had these kind of flooding in the entire past. Look at the Orchard Pictures.

We must invite LKY & LHL & Yaacob to sit at this place the next time when it rained 100mm.:biggrin:

16372508.jpg

For IQ test, does this photo look more like Orchard Road or Batam?:confused::rolleyes: