• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

IskandarRocks

Hi all, thanks for wealth of information. I made a trip to Nusajaya last month and place was an eye-opener. A very nice lady at UEM office took me around and I was quite impressed with the quality at East Ledang but also the infrastructure being built around the place. Having missed the boat on Semi-Ds and Terrace units, I am quite keen on UEMs upcoming condo launches.

As I understand, that have 2 launches in the pipeline, Crescent (likely to be renamed) at East Ledang and Imperia at Puteri Harbour. They did not confirm the price but gave me an indiicative range of RM 400 - 600 psf for the condo at East Ledang and RM 550 - 800 for Imperia at Puteri Harbour.

They definitely more expensive compared to the numbers I saw on the posts earlier. That said, it wuld be very helpful if someone may advise if Imperia's 40% odd premium over East Ledang condo is justified.

house

Not possible to marcot a papaya tree - soft bark, and so easy to grow [really!] no one has bothered to try.

Certainly use the seeds from a good papaya. They should be dried a couple of days then planted - probably where they are to end up, since they hate being disturbed. Remove the weak seedlings later.

Papayas start flowering when they are about one metre tall. The males flower first. Male flowers have long, thin stalks with several small blooms. Female flowers are usually single blooms, bigger, and very close to the trunk. Many are happily bi-sexual, so the tree will fruit. Small fruit can show when the tree is only a metre high. It can grow to 3-4 metres.

Soil

Papayas perform best on deep, well-drained soils with high organic matter. Most soil types are suitable but avoid heavy clay soils. A topsoil depth of 1 m is preferred for optimum growth and production, with a minimum depth of 0.5 m essential to avoid waterlogging. Just dig as deep as your back and patience will allow lah.

Drainage

Good drainage is very important for papaya production to minimise loss of trees to root rots and waterlogging. Papaya does not like wet soils, so avoid sites that are prone to seepage or waterlogging. NEVER water with salty water.

The above: some mine and some from the net. Explore the net for more info. This is the healthiest fruit to eat, the leaves wrapped round meat are natural tenderizers, the stems some people will know how to utilise. You can also eat green papaya - the Sikhs have a marvellous vegetarirecipe using it, as probably do most Indians.

very good information. thank you!!

Bigfatfish

My mentor was a statistics expert, specialist ... someone who was very high up ranking with the govt. learnt a lot from him. he had enuf one day and left his post. taught me a lot. i have to agree with our A Professor here on what he says. though a lot might disagree and still stick to lies. one of my early days were collection of all these bullshit data. in order to meet quota............................... the rest is history.

Agree with you bro

"Lies, damned lies, and statistics" is a phrase describing the persuasive power of numbers, particularly the use of statistics to bolster weak arguments, and the tendency of people to disparage statistics that do not support their positions. It is also sometimes colloquially used to doubt statistics used to prove an opponent's point.

The term was popularised in the United States by Mark Twain (among others), who attributed it to the 19th-century British Prime Minister Benjamin Disraeli (1804–1881): "There are three kinds of lies: lies, damned lies, and statistics." However, the phrase is not found in any of Disraeli's works and the earliest known appearances were years after his death. Other coiners have therefore been proposed. The most plausible, given current evidence, is Englishman Sir Charles Wentworth Dilke (1843–1911).

Statistics: The only science that enables different experts using the same figures to draw different conclusions.
Evan Esar, Esar's Comic Dictionary
American Humorist (1899 - 1995)

Bigfatfish

How much we miss those good old days. today i was at a condo handover project. developer china man, everything china man, so many problems, china man. it's so scary. by the way, singapore condos. their rectification work on the spot. lucky don't need to inspect the condo, if not sure kenna thrown out by china man.

At least in JB, we are served by true blue Malaysians most of the time ...we know we are in Malaysia ...

In our land, this identity is lost as we are served by different nationalities ...so I am always happy to go to NTUC ...at least most of the cashiers are our Singaporean aunties :smile: I know I am in Singapore then.

arsenal

Brother, can't be helped..flood gate opened so wide to lower manpower cost of business..but never looking at rental, utility which govt has vested interest.. I missed those days in the 70s, 80s when we felt more united as Singaporeans.. Today our society is divided between the employers or grassroots who love all PaP foreign policies...and the heartlanders have no choice..

I have no problems making friends with foreigners.. It is our govt policies..too realistic..with no heart and compassion..

How much we miss those good old days. today i was at a condo handover project. developer china man, everything china man, so many problems, china man. it's so scary. by the way, singapore condos. their rectification work on the spot. lucky don't need to inspect the condo, if not sure kenna thrown out by china man.

mallow

Thank you Mallow , great info and help . Wish I got more land for all these fun , cheer .

Most welcome! If you explore how people with tiny apartments have managed to grow in pots/cartons/black garbage bags all manner of herbs, fruit and veg (and flowers, which I also love but do not prefer) and those with small plots have a wealth of trees and bushes, you would learn so much and be really inspired.

Perhaps the kids will not appreciate the mushrooms grown in the bathroom ( ! ) but they will anyway find the process interesting. Mine were horrified when told they were to be eaten. Then I was informed how even your toothbrush needs to be two metres away from the toilet bowl, and relented.

Begin with the easy and move on to the more challenging. Grow what you will eat - no point growing ladies fingers if you find them icky. Sekali you will have a large crop and many friends and colleagues who will appreciate your fresh gift.

Grow also the unusual and unfashionable: the old fashioned passion fruit with a soft yellow skin where you bite the end off and suck the deliciously sweet contents that look like snot, giving full value to the name 'passion fruit' or bush susu. If you have the space, the cashew nut fruit is worth growing to eat (the nut is extremely difficult to process at home). I just love the traditional jambu batu or guava: round, yellow when ripe and very strong smelling, and look with scorn on the Thai large/smelless-/hard/green guava. Friends bring me the dark pink-centered variety from the hills of Java. The local tree also produces excellent wood for a catapult (as does the tembusu)- may I remind you that catapults are not illegal in Malaysia? An excellent non-lethal weapon. AP this is one of the joys of fatherhood - teaching your son how to make and use a catapult.

Alamak! writing on and on ... must use this in my weblog.

Most welcome! If you explore how people with tiny apartments have managed to grow in pots/cartons/black garbage bags all manner of herbs, fruit and veg (and flowers, which I also love but do not prefer) and those with small plots have a wealth of trees and bushes, you would learn so much and be really inspired.

Perhaps the kids will not appreciate the mushrooms grown in the bathroom ( ! ) but they will anyway find the process interesting. Mine were horrified when told they were to be eaten. Then I was informed how even your toothbrush needs to be two metres away from the toilet bowl, and relented.

Begin with the easy and move on to the more challenging. Grow what you will eat - no point growing ladies fingers if you find them icky. Sekali you will have a large crop and many friends and colleagues who will appreciate your fresh gift.

Grow also the unusual and unfashionable: the old fashioned passion fruit with a soft yellow skin where you bite the end off and suck the deliciously sweet contents that look like snot, giving full value to the name 'passion fruit' or bush susu. If you have the space, the cashew nut fruit is worth growing to eat (the nut is extremely difficult to process at home). I just love the traditional jambu batu or guava: round, yellow when ripe and very strong smelling, and look with scorn on the Thai large/smelless-/hard/green guava. Friends bring me the dark pink-centered variety from the hills of Java. The local tree also produces excellent wood for a catapult (as does the tembusu)- may I remind you that catapults are not illegal in Malaysia? An excellent non-lethal weapon. AP this is one of the joys of fatherhood - teaching your son how to make and use a catapult.

Alamak! writing on and on ... must use this in my weblog.

Hi, you have any experience growing yellow capsicum before? If yes, can share is it easy to grow in a pot? It is pretty pricey in the organic section. Eh how about broccoli, also quite pricey...

Analytical Professor

Great stuff.....

Please be gracious to foreigners..

Rachelle Ann Beguia: Singaporeans are INCOMPETENT!
In a sign that Singaporeans are losing their dignity in the eyes of foreigners, a Filipino ‘FT’ Rachelle Ann Beguia openly called Singaporeans ‘incompetent’ on the Facebook of PAP MP Penny Low from Malaysia.

Ms Rachelle was responding to a comment posted by a Singaporean on foreigners snatching jobs and flats from Singaporeans to which she replied callously:

“If foreigners can come and snatch your (Singaporean) jobs and flats it only shows one thing…how incompetent you are.”
Her comment appeared to be endorsed by Ms Low as she did not bother to delete it though she had a busy day yesterday deleting comments posted by Singaporeans lampooning her for not respecting the National Anthem.

Ms Rachelle also admitted readily that she is ‘bootlicking’ Ms Low because it ‘benefits’ her. It is not known what assistance Mrs Low is giving Ms Rachelle, if any. Foreigners usually seek PAP MPs’ help in PR and citizenship application or in obtaining social visit passes to bring their entire families to reside in Singapore.

According to information posted on Ms Rachelle’s Facebook, she graduated with a Bachelor in Community Health Service from Pamantasan ng Lungsod ng Maynila, a University in the Philipines.

She came over to Singapore to study for a diploma in Tourism and Hospitality Management at ERC Institute, a private school.

It was revealed online by a netizen that Ms Rachelle is currently working as a clerk at the Medical Record Office of National Heart Centre. Her manager is Ms Angela Ho who can be contacted at 64367648, email: [email protected]
Ms Rachelle’s remarks should not come as a surprise due to the PAP regime’s groveling of foreigners and constant exhortations to Singaporeans to ‘embrace’ them with an ‘open heart’.

During his recent National Day Rally, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong implored Singaporeans not to turn ‘negative’ on foreigners.

Due to the PAP’s pro-foreigner and ultra-liberal immigration policies, the number of foreigners now make up 43 percent of Singapore’s population, up from 14 percent in 1990. Of the remaining 57 percent who are so-called ‘citizens’, an increasing number are born overseas.

It is not known if Ms Rachelle is a Singapore PR or citizen, but no prizes for guessing who she will vote for in GE 2016 if she becomes a new Singapore citizen by then.

With the repressive PAP regime losing support from native Singaporeans, it is following the cue from Malaysia’s UMNO in mass-importing and fast-converting foreigners into instant ‘grateful citizens’ in exchange for their votes.

Analytical Professor

Aiyo gin u ah.....

That was said by our honourable lhl (i think) during ndp. I juz repeat only

U think i so smart to make such chim comments ah?

Me juz normal person working class

Analytical Professor

Pinoy ‘FT’ Rachelle Ann Beguia jumps to defence of Malaysian MP Penny Low and hurls insults at NSmen
A Filipino ‘foreign talent’ by the name of Rachelle Ann Beguia has jumped to the defence of embattled PAP MP from Malaysia Penny Low.

(Note: Ms Rachelle has since changed her Facebook profile to Jorach B Jorach)

Ms Low was rapped by netizens for looking down at her handphone when the National Anthem was sung during the National Day Parade two days ago.

In her zeal to defend Ms Low, Ms Beguia resorted to calling Singaporeans names:

In her comment on Ms Low’s Facebook, Ms Beguia described Singaporeans as ‘moronic’ whose ‘patriotism’ and ‘loyalty’ will all dropped “at the first sign of trouble.” She added that almost all Singaporean NSmen will “declare they will pack up and run” when asked to fight a war.

Ms Beguia does not seem to realize that native Singaporean men have to serve two years of National Service and 13 years or more of reservist to protect the likes of her and Malaysian MP Penny Low.

It is not known if Ms Beguia is a Singapore PR or citizen. She revealed on her Facebook that she studied Tourism and Hospitality Management at ERC Institute in Singapore.

This is not the first time a foreigner has hurled expletives at Singaporeans. In 2010, YPAP leader and new citizen from India Sinha Shekhar sparked an outcry when he called PAP critics ‘DOGS’ with his infamous statement – “When the DOGS bark at you, just ignore them.”

Mr Sinha Shekhar was subsequently awarded REACH’s “Outstanding Contributor’s Award” in person by Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong and he remained a key and influential leader in the Young PAP.

Recently, it was reported in the state media that the Community Mediation Center under the Ministry of Law disallowed a Singaporean Indian family to cook and eat curry when her PRC neighbors are at home just because the latter lodged a complaint against them.

In his recent National Day rally speech, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong implored Singaporeans not to turn ‘negative’ on foreigners. He doesn’t seem to realize that all along, it’s the foreigners who are the ones turning ‘negative’ on Singaporeans.

Aiyo gin u ah.....

That was said by our honourable lhl during ndp.

U think i so smart to make such chim comments ah?

Oic, he said that? We very gracious already leh, give them jobs and they bite the hand that feed them, let them buy HDB to rent out and I true blue Singaporean got to go JB to buy house to retire, what more he wants Singaporeans to do?!

Analytical Professor

Yeah lor thts what he said. Dun be negative to foreigners....

Now u see the foreigners like it.....

She calls us morons, incompetent etc...

Worse she insult our dear NS men...

Those who hv served NS know what its all about

Oic, he said that? We very gracious already leh, give them jobs and they bite the hand that feed them, let them buy HDB to rent out and I true blue Singaporean got to go JB to buy house to retire, what more he wants Singaporeans to do?!

Analytical Professor

And this is even more interesting.... We cant cook curry..... Woo hooo....

What next in spore? Faster go jb better i think...

Outcry against CMC for imposing restrictions on Singapore Indian family eating curry at home

Temasek Review

A massive outcry has erupted in cyberspace over a shocking decision made by the Community Mediation Center (CMC) to impose restrictions on a Singaporean Indian family cooking and eating curry at home following a complaint by their PRC neighbors.

The CMC is a semi-official body under the Minister of Law whose purpose is to provide mediation services in social, community or family disputes that do not involve a seizable offence (where police are legally empowered to arrest without a warrant) under any written law.

The Temasek Review Emeritus (TRE) carried a report yesterday on a PRC family lodging a complaint to the CMC about its neighbor cooking and eating curry at home:

“They said: ‘Can you please do something? Can you don’t cook curry? Can you don’t eat curry?’,” said Madam Marcellina Giam, a Community Mediation Centre mediator. But the Indian family stood firm.

In the end, Mdm Giam got the Indian family to agree to cook curry only when the Chinese family was not home. In return, they wanted their Chinese neighbours to at least give their dish a try.

Many netizens who do not understand why CMC made such a incomprehensible decision to ask the Singaporean Indian family to cook and eat curry only when the PRC family is not at home.

Curry is a staple diet of Singaporeans and the Chinese and Malay cook and eat curry as well in a variety of cuisines.

Shermaine Tan was astonished by CMC’s decision:

“I am simply amazed that CMC actually did this… Which part has our fellow Indian family done wrong? Tell us!! why must they closed windows & doors to cook curry???? They are not doing anything illegal!! What if they dun like races other than their own? Isit must move out then? Exactly who are the real owners in SG? We are educated to live harmoniously with all races since the minute we are born into this country and I am very proud to say we all have done a very good job over the decades… Totally disappointed with CMC of not solving the problem equally…

Tan Boon Huat blamed the mediator for suggesting a ’stupid’ solution:

“It is WRONG for the mediator to even suggest as settlement that the local family should only cook when the new PRC family is OUT…. what stupid logic is that? what if they alway have a housewife or old folk that always in the HOUSE, then the local family forever dont need to eat curry??!! WTF ’settlement great idea”, that “Giam” local mediator woman should just go and F herself.”

Pauline Lim felt CMC is opening a can of worms:

“The surprising thing to me was that the CMC actually asked the Indian family not to cook curry while the Chinese family was home. WTF? Can i also complain about my neighbors smoking IN THEIR OWN HOME but the smoke wafted over? How about durians? Incense? Where do they draw the line then? Absolute madness. CMC is opening a can of worms for themselves. Good luck.”

Lim H Y felt CMC was too accomodating:

“Why is CMC so accomodating to these so called “FT” that we the true blue S’poreans got to give in to them??? wat a joke!! if they can’t assimilate into our lifestyle & culture, PACK UP AND BALIK KAMPUNG OR VILLAGE!!….still got the cheek to boast abt your 5000 years of Chinese culture & history….. ; P….”

The PAP launched a $10 million dollar ‘Community Integration Fund’ last year to help the newcomers ‘integrate’ into Singapore last year to make them feel accepted, welcomed and happy in Singapore.

PAP leaders have also been exhorting Singaporeans to ‘embrace’ and welcome foreigners with an ‘open heart’.

One PAP MP even splurged taxpayers’ monies on organizing a ‘Water Festival’ to show foreigners that Singaporeans ‘respect’ them.

For all the ‘wayang’ put up by the PAP so far, it appears that it is native Singaporeans who need to be ‘re-integrated’ into a new Singapore which is becoming increasingly dominated by foreigners under the pro-foreigner PAP regime.

With 5 more years to go and another few shiploads of foreigners coming to Singapore, it is only a matter of time before Singaporeans become a minority in their own country of birth, no thanks to the PAP’s mass-immigration policies.

For those who are unhappy with CMC’s decision to disallow the Indian family to cook or eat curry when the PRC family is at home, you can contact CMC here to provide your feedback:

[email protected]

The CMC settlement is binding meaning that if the Indian family fails to adhere to it, the PRC family can sue them in court for damages. Please help our fellow Singaporeans or we may end up like them one day. Thanks!

Yeah lor thts what he said. Dun be negative to foreigners....

Now u see the foreigners like it.....

She calls us morons, incompetent etc...

Worse she insult our dear NS men...

Those who hv served NS know what its all about

All Singaporeans have family members who served NS. She is insulting all of us! As usual PAP has not said a word to scold the foreigners for bad behavour, and foreigners become more & more brazen!

Analytical Professor

Thats right...,

Just imagine a mums agony whose son is about to enter NS....

This is an issue close to our heart n then after doing all this we get some ordinary clerk to insult us n call us incompetent.

All Singaporeans have family members who served NS. She is insulting all of us! As usual PAP has not said a word to scold the foreigners for bad behavour, and foreigners become more & more brazen!

Analytical Professor

Talkinabt pap not doing anything ....

Y they let go the nurse who abused the stroke patient ah!

The issue died already ah?

mallow

Hi, you have any experience growing yellow capsicum before? If yes, can share is it easy to grow in a pot? It is pretty pricey in the organic section. Eh how about broccoli, also quite pricey...

Hi Gf - broccoli is a temperate climate veg, so unlikely to do well here. 59sen a kg (non-organic) at Jusco, which is more expensive than other markets.
Never tried capsicums before. Looked it up on the net and there is no reason not to try, since they love the sun. Get good seeds. Good luck - tell us if you were successful. Takes longer than chillies to fruit.

Analytical Professor

Im trying the capsicums....

My mum put them sonewhere....

Need to check

Hi Gf - broccoli is a temperate climate veg, so unlikely to do well here. 59sen a kg (non-organic) at Jusco, which is more expensive than other markets.
Never tried capsicums before. Looked it up on the net and there is no reason not to try, since they love the sun. Get good seeds. Good luck - tell us if you were successful. Takes longer than chillies to fruit.

Status
Not open for further replies.