• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Buying a home in Canada

wendypoh

Here are what you need to pay across Canada to own a home.

Vancouver $922,000 - that is as much as what a house cost in Singapore?

Toronto $552,500 - this price is much better

Calgary $560,000 - this price looks a little expensive for a smaller city

Edmonton $535,000 - this price is even worse for a sub-zero climate city

Hamilton $400,000 - this seems to be the best price

To those who have not heard of Hamilton, Hamilton is the centre of the Golden Horseshoe, a highly industrialized area in the Toronto-Hamilton region. Major industrial products include motor vehicles and parts; iron, steel, and other metal products; foods and beverages; electrical goods; machinery; chemicals; petroleum and coal products; and paper products. All these industries in the Hamilton area means jobs - they need accountants, engineers etc.

wendypoh

Can you imagine paying $922,000 for a house in earthquake prone city? Considering the next Big One will come pretty soon.

4466674889_8d9ef7908e_o.jpg

Charlie9

Desirable City

Mississauga, Ontario
Municipally well managed by its Mayor Hazel McCallion, and without a deficit and debt.
Well planned, and with a broad base for property taxes.
Unlike many other Ontario cities outside of Toronto, where the number of businesses have been declining, Mississauga appears to be holding its own.
Please do not simply read what I have posted, but conduct your own research, and recce on the ground.

Asychee

Ah Wendy soh ar, I noticed hor the figures that you pick are all the highest possible prices leh. Only you know what is your own motive. But we have seen Pappy doing this massaging of statistics before oredi.

Kindly let this "O" level, put it into perspective.

The figure that you are using are all for new houses (you go to the builder - place order and wait for 9 - 12 months). As a new immigrant when you go to a new country - You do the above immediately? Meanwhile, where are you going to stay. You rent? Logic will tell you that you will go for resale rather than new build house.

You should be looking at resale mah? rite

In real estate, you look at the potential of a house form a over the horizon perspective not on a helicopter view.

wendypoh

Ah Wendy soh ar, I noticed hor the figures that you pick are all the highest possible prices leh.

Aiyoh, Ah Chee. Admit it lor, the fact of the matter is prices are high. There is no point in hiding this fact from Singaporeans.

I'm sure that won't deter Singaporeans from coming over, did you read the report from the Star? Some 26,100 Singaporeans have applied for PR in Canada, I'm sure some will be heading to your city, you can kawan kawan with them lor.

chuckyworld

Aiyoh, Ah Chee. Admit it lor, the fact of the matter is prices are high. There is no point in hiding this fact from Singaporeans.

I'm sure that won't deter Singaporeans from coming over, did you read the report from the Star? Some 26,100 Singaporeans have applied for PR in Canada, I'm sure some will be heading to your city, you can kawan kawan with them lor.

You want cheap, Winsdor is very cheap, half the price of what you have to pay in Mississauga, and Detroit is just on the other side.

http://www.windsorhomefind.com/index.php

Asychee

QUOTE]

The prices is high???.Freehold vs leasehold, Pigeon hole vs Landed Property. I am hiding this fact from Sgean? You gotta to be kidding.

Bras Basah flat sets HDB price record
Jessica Cheam
Fri, Mar 26, 2010
The Straits Times

A TAIWANESE couple have paid $650,000 for a four-room flat in Bain Street - smashing Housing Board (HDB) records and reflecting the strength in the red-hot resale market.

The sale price works out to be $736 per sq ft (psf) for the 30-year-old flat on the 25th floor of a block at Bras Basah.

wendypoh

This one is for Ah Chee :wink:

One in Five Canadians cannot afford homes

March 30, 2010

By SHARON SINGLETON
CONFERENCE BOARD OF CANADA

One-fifth of Canadian households struggle to pay for their homes because of a lack of supply of affordable private housing, according to a study by an independent think tank released on Tuesday.

The shortage in supply is having a negative effect on health and that in turn is affecting national productivity and competitiveness, the Conference Board of Canada said.

"The quality and cost of housing are major factors in the health of Canadians,” said Diana MacKay, the board’s director of education and health. “However, about one-fifth of Canadian households do not have the resources to afford both good-quality homes and other health-enhancing expenditures.”

The study adds to growing concern about the affordability of housing in Canada, which is being highlighted by runaway prices in the country’s property market.

A recent study by BMO Bank of Montreal found that almost three-quarters of current and prospective homeowners think housing prices are too high.

It also found that talk of rising prices and interest rates was pressuring people into buying and increasing the risk they may take on bigger loans than they can afford.

The Conference Board said housing is considered “unaffordable” when it accounts for more than 30% of pre-tax income. By this measure, 75% of households live in homes they can afford, while 5% are subsidized. That leaves the remaining fifth struggling, it said.

The study said the private sector focuses too heavily on providing housing for upper and middle-income families and not enough on the lower end of the market.

"Developers can be helped to build more affordable housing units through a combination of incentives and assistance from government, and increased awareness of the opportunities to make a profit serving this segment of the market," said MacKay.

Asychee

This one is for Ah Chee :wink:

One in Five Canadians cannot afford homes

March 30, 2010

By SHARON SINGLETON
CONFERENCE BOARD OF CANADA

One-fifth of Canadian households struggle to pay for their homes because of a lack of supply of affordable private housing, according to a study by an independent think tank released on Tuesday.

This means that new immigrant can easily pick up bargains - I love Canada. This one is for you Wendy

wendypoh

This means that new immigrant can easily pick up bargains - I love Canada. This one is for you Wendy

Very good, Ah Chee.

This is what would cost Singaporeans to buy a home in Canada. :biggrin:

Satan

Here are what you need to pay across Canada to own a home.

To those who have not heard of Hamilton, Hamilton is the centre of the Golden Horseshoe, a highly industrialized area in the Toronto-Hamilton region. Major industrial products include motor vehicles and parts; iron, steel, and other metal products; foods and beverages; electrical goods; machinery; chemicals; petroleum and coal products; and paper products. All these industries in the Hamilton area means jobs - they need accountants, engineers etc.

Sheeesh!!!! These prices are comparable to Sydney.

Asychee

This is what would cost Singaporeans to buy a home in Canada. :biggrin:

Ah Wendy soh ar, I noticed hor the figures that you pick are all the highest possible prices leh. Only you know what is your own motive. But we have seen Pappy doing this massaging of statistics before oredi.

Kindly let this "O" level, put it into perspective.

The figure that you are using are all for new houses (you go to the builder - place order and wait for 9 - 12 months). As a new immigrant when you go to a new country - You do the above immediately? Meanwhile, where are you going to stay. You rent? Logic will tell you that you will go for resale rather than new build house.

You should be looking at resale mah? rite

In real estate, you look at the potential of a house form a over the horizon perspective not on a helicopter view.

Asychee

Dear Wendy, i am posting this on behalf of your friend. He tried to register and post but kena ban when he tried to post.

There is no perfect country in this world. Every country has its pros and cons. You can spin it every which way you prefer.
Ms Wendy Poh has chosen to spin Canada in a negative light. There will always be a few Singaporeans who cannot adjust to the free and liberal life style of Canada just as most Canadians cannot bear the dictatorial and restricted life style of Singapore. To each his own.

I do not like Singapore so I quit my job and left the country for a better future in Canada. It is strange that Ms Wendy Poh who hates every aspect of the Canadian society remains in Vancouver and not return to her beloved island paradise of Singapore. It only shows the hypocrisy of a bitter woman.

Let us look at her arguments:
Racial discrimination - In any society, there will always be certain amount of racial disharmony. Citing a few examples does not make a country racist. Can Canada be called a racist society when the previous Governor General ( the equivalent of the President in Singapore) was a Chinese refugee from China and the present Governor-General is a lady immigrant from Haiti? In addition, there are many Chinese, Indians and other minority race immigrants who are holding important government positions like ministers, police chiefs, members of Parliament, etc. Racist? I don't think so.

My three children have never encountered racial discrimination in schools or at work. My eldest son is a senior bank manager with an international bank, my second son is a manager with Sony and my third daughter is a teacher. They do not have problems getting their jobs and are treated as equals.

Canadian Healthcare - A comparison between Canada and Singapore's healthcare system is a comparison between Heaven and Hell. In Singapore, most citizens will tell you that their healthcare system sucks and they prefer to die than to be sick. The Canadian universal healthcare system is available to all citizens and landed immigrants for a token fee or simply free. Majority of Canadians are proud and extremely pleased with the healthcare system.

I work as a volunteer at a Vancouver hospital and have witnessed patients being flown at government's expense from remote parts of the country for surgeries. I personally was ill for five years and was in and out of ICUs. My heart stopped three times. All the surgeries, the transplant operation,the hospitalization cost, the post transplant assessments, the medications that cost more than $1,000 a month are FREE. I repeat, FREE. In Singapore, I would be bankrupted by medical bills.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-ST4-UCPwVc
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DXXBCFnhsUc

High taxation - It is true that Singapore has a lower income tax rate compared with Canada. However it is a misleading way of looking at taxes. For example, the Canadian electrical fee is only one third that of Singapore's, water is free in Vancouver or only a fraction of the cost of Singapore's. Canadians can buy a brand new car for less than the cost of Singapore COE, the free healthcare, the cheaper housing, no maid levy, free social services like free transportation for seniors, free education, the old age pensions, etc. The savings on these items far outweigh the low tax rate of Singapore. Canadians pay a higher tax but they got value for their money.

A simple test is to compare a person making $50,000 a year in Canada to a person making an equivalent amount in Singapore and see who has a better and more meaningful life style. The Canadian can afford a car, pay down-payment for a freehold apartment (not just 99 years leasehold) and continue with the mortgage without help from the parents. In Singapore, most would require financial assistance from their parents.

My wife and I get combined pensions of S$3,000 a month as living expenses, free public transport, etc. If I had remained in Singapore, I would be collecting used cardboxes and living in void decks. So much for paying "low Singapore income taxes".

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ag0lvOA0ugw&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y-guxHFyz2A&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oikOBOD6XdI&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jcSwYXKwP0w&feature=related
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BygOYrP722Y&feature=related

I am sorry that Ms Wendy Poh has a miserable and bitter life that leads to her need to vent anger towards Canada with a twisted mind. Ms Wendy Poh should return to her comfort zone in Singapore's crowded living condition, hot weather, Singlish environment that help her recall her happier childhood days. The earlier she leaves, the better as the Mega earthquake she predicted that will dawn on Canada may happen tomorrow. It would be ironic for her to die in a country she despise so much.

Cheong Wing Lee

wendypoh

You can spin it every which way you prefer.

I leave it to the readers to judge more themselves. All my reports originated from major newspapers and goverment sources.

On the other hand, we have people here posting about senior citizen getting $1000 a month or $300 rental apartment. Sure, but they did not tell you, to qualify you need to be low income.

Here, this guy is saying he gets a combined pension of $3000 a month with his wife, which is about $1500. Keep in mind that, that $1500 did not come from nowhere, he gets $1500 a month because he has contributed to CPP (Canada Pension Plan) from his paycheque every month.

The difference is that the Singapore government lets Singaporean withdraw their CPF money in full. In Canada, you don't get one lump sum but monthly payments.

If the Canadian goverment readily gives out money, they won't be any homeless in Canada. Just go to any cities here, you will see the homeless. Think about why does a man choose to sleep out in the cold. These are the people who lack the foresight to plan for retirement, did not contribute to the CPP or a private pension plan. Just like the Singaporean who did not contribute to CPF or lose all their money when they withdraw from CPF. So they collect cardboards and pop cans. Incidentally, there is an increasing number of elderly chinese in Vancouver collecting pop can for recycling from rubbish bins. I wonder what happen to these elderly chinese pension cheques or they did not get a pension cheque from the government. I have to take a picture one day to post here.

As to healthcare, in Canada the average wait for procedures such as neurosurgery is more than four months; for cancer radiation treatment, over two months. The average wait for treatment after consulting a specialist for coronary bypass clocks in at up to 52 weeks, with four to 12 weeks for angioplasty. That’s the reality in our backlogged public health system, according to a recent survey by The Fraser Institute, a think tank based in Vancouver. In the United States, you can often be on an operating table within a week or two of referral to a surgeon. I bet it is as fast as in Singapore. The Canadian government fly people for free to USA? That's what our friend said and that's what he want you to think. He has provided nothing to back up what he says.

If earthquakes, high crime, gun violence, high housing costs is not a headache enough, now you have to deal with the neo-nazis.

Just giving out the facts and actual situation in Canada. You are very welcome to come to Canada :biggrin:

4504702894_d8f537fc1c_o.jpg