• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Living in JB 2 (Johore)

Status
Not open for further replies.

battleangel

What other things do people want?

Like all citizen in other countries, they want some security. Singapore now is like a company, no longer a country, their leaders are neglecting their citizen. They only care about GDP. Their only focus is economy growth at the expense of their citizen. No one want to grow old and spend their golden age wiping tables at foodcourt, works as security guard or collecting boxes, aluminium cans for living.
I'm an SPR and had never understand why Singaporean are not happy with their government. I was also bothered with negative vibe toward foreigners in Singapore. After sometime, I start to understand their pain and frustration. Its all boils down to basic human needs. They need security, we want to be able to retire in our lifetime with the comfort thought that our very basic needs at least will be taken care of.
Singaporean have most of their saving in CPF which government reward with pathetic interest. No one have ideas what have been done with those money. You can't withdraw until you are too old, you can't use it to invest to secure a better retirement. Look at the properties price, how on earth the average earning people going to afford their roof.
Just look at basic need for retirees such as medical. We all know how costly the medical cost in Singapore. A good example is Malaysia and Thailand - both not first world country, but they do understand this the basic need of their citizen. At Malaysia government hospitals, medical expenses is almost fully subsidized! I paid RM15 for a small surgery when I was student 15 years ago. Thailand has the 30 baht medical scheme.

DREAMorACTION

Hey bro, good to see u. How's the renovation? When would you move in? Good That you are enjoying life.

I am not so much bothered by these people.. JB is definitely not the best place in fact no place in the world is the best, they all have their flaws.
I myself work with mostly Singaporean and whenever they question the security issue, i'd tell them go whenever ppl go and don't act smart or doing something stupid like going into dark alleys or come out to pump petro at like 1am in the morning.. you are jus asking for troubles.
This applies to 90% of the cities of this world.

The main issue of course - the effectiveness and efficiencies of many agencies in Malaysia as a whole.. it s changing in a much slower and lower in expectation stage. (Just take it easy and work your own alternatives... )

I will share with them the good stuff here and the reason nowadays i dun spend my big meal or shopping in Singapore.
Reason being, its jus heaven in JB. What we do in Singapore often, is what i am doing in JB as well

Movie?- Usual price RM14. And I love TGV Saturday Citibank 1 for 1 which - RM7 per ticket (or S$3/ticket WTF!!)

Food? - I can go on and on, any street food here is hving much soul over in Sg so its the taste. Restaurant? no problem at all, Jap, Korean, Chinese (the best), Malay, Peranakan.. there is always something there.. we are spoilt with choices and the price??? we all know

Karaoke?- Many nice karaoke (not to mention spaciousness), Loud Speaker, K MOnster, etc etc.... Lunch 2 hrs karaoke in the range of RM20+ per pax

BUbble tea- GOt hooked recently, so much choices here... and the Taiwanese desserts like Big Ball.. yum yum yum

Parking?- You know free car park everywhere. Or park at Jusco with RM1/entry.

Space?- Yes.. space.. even my little apartment seems so big in any HDB flat in Singapore.. not to mention my upcoming 3000+sqft Terrace house.. lol

I love to live here.
hahahaha

DREAMorACTION

Agree. A little good deeds along the way goes a long way. I'm sure they will remember these good gestures. He is so helpful even in this virtual world, in real life, I bet he is really 人见人爱,车见车载 hehe

Wuqi, you are amazing. You're a rare breed -- probably one in a million or five million. Cheers.

Batok Seri

...I find that whwever I go to the clubhouse, I get stopped and have to get a pass!!! I don't mind that, minor inconvienence BUT do notice that cars with the HH stickers get waived on.
When I drive other cars w/o sticker, the guards wave me in when I flash my gate card.

DREAMorACTION

U filled up the tank during midnight? Bro, try to do it in day time bah, whenever possible ...

Thanks, i will. :smile:

Just off work and was going to bed when i remembered my wifes car needs petrol (all her cars "magically" refills/gets serviced/tyre inflated, etc)

On my way out, saw the guards looking abit tired so thought of buying drinks.

Went to fill up, saw a police roadblock on the opposite direction of the road. Was driving past a red light junction near the petrol station
and almost got banged by a car who just turned out of a junction and straightaway headed for the extreme right lane without looking.

Luckily that car has all disc brakes and new tyres so stopped in time. The driver did not see me and when he did, his whole car froze in
that lane. I then turned in and went to pump petrol and just ignored him. Some drivers are still practioners of the "Bo nang Bo nang"
(literally in Teochew/Hokkien = nobody, nobody) style of driving.

On the way to the coffee shop, another car practising "bo nang bo nang", this time a red plate SG one swerved into my lane and then
took two lanes as it took a long time to keep left but he waved, i waved too.

Went to coffeeshop, at first bought 2, then remembered that there were more guards so bought much more including tea for myself.
In the end, after giving to all the guards and keeping one for myself, went into my precint but encountered another guard so in the
end, now making my own tea. :smile:

DREAMorACTION

I have personally observed twice in the mrt. One fight broke out while the other was extensive vulgar exchange. I hate seeing these people behaving like hooligans polluting the kids' mind ...

Just now at Civics Centre I was inside the lift when the door opened and people were rushing out. There was this old Chinese arrogant old prick who were trying desperately to come in by force while the rest are still going out. One young chap, a Pinoy was with his pinoy wife, suddenly stopped in front of the life while exiting and raised his voice at the old man " I am right in front of you my friend! "

The old man got agitated and challenged " Not happy ah?! Wan to fight issit? Come lah!"

Both adults behaved like small boys. When the door was closing with the old man inside, he was not contented.. pressed opened the door again while 8 of us were inside and started shouting at the Pinoy to come and fight with him in the lift.

Damn sore loser old man the lift is already so crowded still ask people to come in and fight. Wan to fight please fight outside the lift. I was almost prepared to push both of them out by force if they were to start fighting as the lift consists of preggies, kids and ladies.

I can sense the anti-foreigners sentiments are running high in Spore. The old man looked like one whose job got squeezed out by the foreign talents. Thats why he flared up.

What other things do people want?

Like all citizen in other countries, they want some security. Singapore now is like a company, no longer a country, their leaders are neglecting their citizen. They only care about GDP. Their only focus is economy growth at the expense of their citizen. No one want to grow old and spend their golden age wiping tables at foodcourt, works as security guard or collecting boxes, aluminium cans for living.
I'm an SPR and had never understand why Singaporean are not happy with their government. I was also bothered with negative vibe toward foreigners in Singapore. After sometime, I start to understand their pain and frustration. Its all boils down to basic human needs. They need security, we want to be able to retire in our lifetime with the comfort thought that our very basic needs at least will be taken care of.
Singaporean have most of their saving in CPF which government reward with pathetic interest. No one have ideas what have been done with those money. You can't withdraw until you are too old, you can't use it to invest to secure a better retirement. Look at the properties price, how on earth the average earning people going to afford their roof.
Just look at basic need for retirees such as medical. We all know how costly the medical cost in Singapore. A good example is Malaysia and Thailand - both not first world country, but they do understand this the basic need of their citizen. At Malaysia government hospitals, medical expenses is almost fully subsidized! I paid RM15 for a small surgery when I was student 15 years ago. Thailand has the 30 baht medical scheme.

You are spot on! What people want is so basic, I think anyone can understand.

I have read quite a bit of complaints about Singapore being too costly, too crowded, too aggressive (not laid back). And frustration with policies, but I am never really sure what other policies are wanted?

Is is common to want to reduce the foreign workers (both the rich and poor ones)? What other things do people want?

It seems to me for reducing prices there isn't likely much that is going to work very well. I suppose if hundreds of thousands or a million people were asked to leave prices would come down some. Crowding would go down a bit. The economy would be hurt a great deal by that I would think. Eliminating future immigration would restrain the crowding and price increases some also.

It seems to me Iskandar can help Singapore deal with some issues a great deal (and it can help Malaysia even more which is why the potential is so great - both can gain a great deal). I really am getting more and more concerned about the delays getting back and forth though. Delays are essentially friction that reduce economic gains and will greatly increase people's frustration.

The delays getting back and forth is going to create serious problems for years, it seems to me. I can't see how Iskandar can grow as expected in the next 5 years without a new link being added. As well as a new subway link within 7-10 years. Much of the expectation for Iskandar are based on Singapore - JB cross traffic. It seems to me there is not much more capacity (unless maybe the efficiency of the current capacity can be greatly increased).

Hmm you asked what other things do people want? What is your position in asking so? Are you a foreigner living in JB and working in SG?

whoami

Past govt institutions offering cheap basic needs, bo leow. Pracitically all privatise leow.

Tat day was in a JB cab. The uncle told me after he alighted me, hes going to get his medicine. He got two different queue numbers. One cost him only M$1 and the other queue cost him only M$5. Whichever queue is short, he will get medicine fm tat queue. Dont expect such heavy subsidize med fm govt in tiny red dot!

DREAMorACTION

May I know how subsidy in Malaysia work? Have not examined it yet.

Is the subsidy (means further discount) only applicable to Malaysian, or are we talking about the general medical costs (means one price fits all)? Thanks

Past govt institutions offering cheap basic needs, bo leow. Pracitically all privatise leow.

Tat day was in a JB cab. The uncle told me after he alighted me, hes going to get his medicine. He got two different queue numbers. One cost him only M$1 and the other queue cost him only M$5. Whichever queue is short, he will get medicine fm tat queue. Dont expect such heavy subsidize med fm govt in tiny red dot!

whoami

Is the subsidy (means further discount) only applicable to Malaysian, or are we talking about the general medical costs (means one price fits all)? Thanks

Sorry lah DOA. Sukan bukan rakyat Msia. Kurang pasti. But Uncle only told me his mthly medication only cost him M$1 the lowest. Tink meant for his high blood pressure. Quality wise of course not superb. But at least the govt take care of their citizens in terms of medication. All races!

DREAMorACTION

Bro, channel 5 leh ...

Then I have question. If the meds are almost free and heavily subsidized, I wonder why there are so many private pharmacies? Unless these subsidies can be redeemed at private pharmacies too?

Sorry lah DOA. Sukan bukan rakyat Msia. Kurang pasti. But Uncle only told me his mthly medication only cost him M$1 the lowest. Tink meant for his high blood pressure. Quality wise of course not superb. But at least the govt take care of their citizens in terms of medication. All races!

Sagittarius

This is a really useful and fantastic forum, people feel relaxed here :smile: I can see wuqi put very big effort and 用心良苦为人指点迷津。艰辛的开始,途中横眉冷对千夫指,不容易的路。 thanks!

whoami

Bro, channel 5 leh ...

Then I have question. If the meds are almost free and heavily subsidized, I wonder why there are so many private pharmacies? Unless these subsidies can be redeemed at private pharmacies too?

Maybe true blue Msians here could answer ur questions. Maybe quality wise not tat excellent compared to pte pharmacies.

But my point is does tiny red dot poly provide such cheap medication OTC? We even have to consult the doctor to get our medication. Doctor charges and med charges, both separate charges hor.

westcoastbay

Not sure. Malaysian citizens not sporting. I think that is what whoami meant. Sorry melayu also tak bagus.

DREAMorACTION

Bro, no worries. We totally understood where you were coming from. Again, as much as we are not happy on a situation, we have to make changes and find ways for ourselves. Im glad all of us here are doing just that :smile:

Maybe true blue Msians here could answer ur questions. Maybe quality wise not tat excellent compared to pte pharmacies.

But my point is does tiny red dot poly provide such cheap medication OTC? We even have to consult the doctor to get our medication. Doctor charges and med charges, both separate charges hor.

battleangel

Yes, it's true that we need to pay only RM1 for medicine from government hospital. But because it's so cheap the queue is normally very long you have to literally take one day off or waited a few hours even before their operating time. I have been in singapore for almost a decade now so I don't know if things have changed. The latest I heard from my Malaysia friends, the hospital now offer medicine delivery service at RM5 for delivery cost.
Another reason people are going to private hospitals in Malaysia is because of the service and most ward are not air conditioned. Also, because following check up and everything else is so time consuming due to the queue. But I still feel no matter what, it's still an option - hope for those people who cant afford private hospitals.
As for foreigners in malaysia, I have no idea how the subsidy works for them. My family consists of both Singaporean and Malaysian. There was once my Singapore sister admitted at Sultanah Aminah Hospital due to severe food poisoning. She was hospitalized for a night. The nurse told us since she is a foreigner, she will be charged more. We expected it's going to be expensive. End up the hospital bill cost RM30 and it's still a joke for us now and still wonder how much will it cost for Malaysian.

Icyraine

Hey DoA,

For malaysian, if you see GPs in the government hospital ( for minor cases like coughing, fever, flu ), you pay RM1 for the examination and medicine. If the GPs could not handle you, they refer you to the specialist clinic and you will have to pay for RM5. However, if you get a referral from a private GP and see the specialist in the government hospital, you will be charged RM30. Surgery wise, you need to pay for some of the instrument cost such as implants etc but the procedure fees is minimal in most of the cases.

People still get medicine from private pharmacies coz they couldnt care about the waiting time. Besides, some of the medicine used in government hospital are generic.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Agree with the summary by bro icyraine, they have choices of whether its time or money basically for their medical needs. They have access to a wider choice of medication. I do notice that private clinics tend to give out the most generic meds and even government hospitals tend to use better ones than some of the private clinics. The main issue is time as there are long queues in their government hospitals, much like our polyclinics.

Like what bro whoami said, the medical coverage extends to all races but not everyone goes for it. In fact someone who had his wife give birth at a government hospital here told me some people are biased against government hospitals so they didn't give it a chance. A neighbour from UK sent his wife (both of them foreigners like us) to a government hospital recently and they charged her a grand total of 25 RM for light dental work.

Status
Not open for further replies.