• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

More pressure for sinkie parents

annexa

My friend just tell me how pressure she is. She got good job, her husband also earning ok. They are middle class. By right they can save up to retire and afford their kid. But they got caught in the sinkie trap.

http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/index.php

WA LAN EH! I don't know sinkieland got so much ways to spend money even before you start earning them! smlg enrichment class also got! And after paying so much money, sorry you still lose to FT who get these subsidize and can climb promotion faster because they are not sinkie. Sinkie is becoming a very sad race to be!

IceLemonT

These are self induced pressure. All those enrichment expenses are not compulsory btw, no one point a gun on your head to pay up.

no_faith

yes expenses are high esp taking care of kids.

cant blame anyone if dey spend more than they earn.
take up piano, violin, swimming, taekwondo lessions etc, u gt so much money to support or not?

if dun have den reduce and reorganized ur spending again lor.
wat liew parents liao still screw up?:eek:

It's not about spending on the children, it's about getting them set for life, along with the parents themselves of course!

By sending their children to these classes, they hope to bump into and rub elbows with someone rich and powerful. Why do you think there is always a scramble to get into the top schools? What's the difference between getting all distinctions for your Os from say RI or Loyang Sec? In the end both also O levels what, what's the big deal? The difference is the rich well-connected people send their children to top schools, because they themselves were from there and have started an old boy network. So if one is from a humble background with no old boy network, there's the place to start! Merit alone will not cut it, even LKY himself has admitted that. It's getting to know people and getting people to know you. Same for ballet, piano, horse riding, etc classes. Hopefully you get to make friends with other parents who has it made and gain their favour, or even better, your child becomes the favourite of some scion of a business empire. Since these parents don't know of anyone, just send their children for every expensive class in expensive schools teaching rich people's past-times, and at the same time do everything to get into the top schools. It's a form of investment, not so much to turn their child into a superman, but to find a network of rich men and get into their good books!

no_faith

@123456787654321, u r not totally right.
those lessons also can enrich their kids.
dey not only invest to tap on rich fuckers, the parents also investing for kids future.

These are self induced pressure. All those enrichment expenses are not compulsory btw, no one point a gun on your head to pay up.

One of the best ways to enrich a kid is to teach him how to behave like a real human being and not adopt any sinkie behavior. You are doing the kid a great service and pave him to a good future.

The kid will be well-respected by the community when he or she grows up.

The problem here is that they are trying to keep up with the Joneses. Or the Lees or the Kweks or the Khoos if you like.

There would be no problem if they could simply keep up with themselves.

IceLemonT

One of the best ways to enrich a kid is to teach him how to behave like a real human being and not adopt any sinkie behavior. You are doing the kid a great service and pave him to a good future.

The kid will be well-respected by the community when he or she grows up.

Funny leh, these suppose to be coach from parents, since when its been outsource liao. :rolleyes:

silverfox@

The problem here is that they are trying to keep up with the Joneses. Or the Lees or the Kweks or the Khoos if you like.

There would be no problem if they could simply keep up with themselves.

It's not about how much you can earn, it's about how much one can save.

A person who earns $10K but spend $9900
and another who earns $2K but spend only $1000. Who is richer?:o

no pressure in thailand where the average IQ for kids is 35.

thai boys can grow up to be ah gwa, pimp or construction worker

thai girls can export out as prostitutes.

It's not about how much you can earn, it's about how much one can save.

A person who earns $10K but spend $9900
and another who earns $2K but spend only $1000. Who is richer?:o
There are many cases of people who earned a lot or had loads of money but ended up blowing it all away.
One of the most famous cases was Mike Tyson.
There are many other cases of rich celebrities or athletes who had 8 or 9 figure wealth, but ended up bankrupt or unable to pay their debts or their child support.
One former NBA player who signed a $100 million contract during his heyday ended up being bankrupt and unable to pay his debts.

Many people don't understand that in life, it's not about how much they earn or how much they have. It's about how they manage their lives.

annexa

I read and read until I blur also cannot finish. Hahaha really smlj also have man! I thinking, MOE should know all these right? If everyone is get pressure to buy all these class for their kids whatt happen to those who cannot afford? When go kindergarden already lose out, go primary school lagi lose out. So in the end, is not your kid stupid, but because someone else got more money to spend on their kid, your kid lose on the bell curve.

Is this meritocracy? Sound like got money, can play to win. Of course we can expect the politicians to come out say "it is your choice". But when you build in the pressure and competition, it is not a matter of choice what! When everyone got laptop to email employer and you only got pen and paper, you think you will make it?

No wonder sinkieland becoming low in children production. Cannot afford the maintainence! Hahaha! Ok I pity my friend.